Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Kingdom wrote: »
    Now now! :) I hear Clondalkin has gone that bad these days that they've taken out the bridge over the train line to keep yis in!

Haha i live in the posher part of Dalkin if there is a posh part..That place is a warzone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Not a bad idea Kingdom,considering that one of the main obstacles of this comp was the traveling between clubs.I remember the first year or two were a logistical nightmare.(It has got better with some better planning in recent years).With two courses on each side of the city this could ease the burden of travel on one of the two days anyway.
    As for the northside edition well lets just say,can you imagine 72 people on 18 holes in cy at the same time.(hard hats at the ready is what I say).

To be honest I was trying to come up with SKIP (the C outta cy was the closest I came) so the SCIP would have to do! It would be a good idea though. I'm very surprised Cork hasn't had one or Tipperary either. Louth would be a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

To be honest I was trying to come up with SKIP (the C outta cy was the closest I came) so the SCIP would have to do! It would be a good idea though. I'm very surprised Cork hasn't had one or Tipperary either. Louth would be a good one.

U could have called it pics - that could work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

Tipperman are your games over 36 holes? Where is it on?

Kingdom has Mr Buckley in 1 st round Offaly Matchplay in Ferbane. Oh the pain!

Yes all over 36 at Larkpsur Park... I feel your pain

We have a Scramble in Tipp... This year you play 18 in Riverdale and then 18 in Lakeside... It ran in Oct

GerCPM wrote: »
    Haha i live in the posher part of Dalkin if there is a posh part..That place is a warzone

You're not a Rowlagh man then ! There a few nice spots in the Dalkin alright. Most people don't get that far.

Tipperman, yeah tough match but lookin forward to it. We both play Ferbane well so it should be a good game.

Tipperman wrote: »
    We have a Scramble in Tipp... This year you play 18 in Riverdale and then 18 in Lakeside... It ran in Oct

Thats not a scramble! Thats scramble Light! Thats like saying Budweiser is a beer! :D

Imagine one weekend you'd be playing the Short Gras and the next you're doing the premier (Cashel, Templemore, Clonmel, Nenagh) man you'd a months detox.

08:30 Philip Reynolds Seapoint & Eoin Shannon Collins
    08:34 Brian Webster Larkspur Park & Paudie O'Sullivan Majestic
    08:38 Owen Smith McBride & Darren O'Reilly C.P.M.
    08:42 William Buckley Jnr. Erry & Chris Gallagher Lucan
    08:46 Robbie Donovan Fermoy & Kieron Morrissey St. Patrick's
    08:50 Gus Hayes Parteen & David Doyle Elton
    08:54 John Carton Kilbeggan & James Carroll Castletown
    08:58 John Paul Bowes Old County & John Walsh Collins
    09:02 Jim Judge Jnr Cement & Liam Sheridan Stackallen
    09:06 Patrick Curran Majestic & Joseph McGrath Jnr Erry
    09:10 Kevin McArdle R.G.S.C. & Colin Somers Stackallen
    09:14 Eoin Mithen Loughlinstown & Anthony Galvin Tullamore
    09:18 Anto Gray Glenville & Chris Scannell Collins
    09:22 Tom Bolger Lucan & Patrick McBride Stackallen
    09:26 John Cullen Glenville & Damien Fleming Deerpark
    09:30 Kieran Dunscombe St. Anne's & Pat Dooley St. Bridget's
    09:34 John O'Meara Riverdale & Frank Dineen St. Anne's
    09:38 Tom O'Donovan Bruff & Feichin Rath Seapoint
    09:42 Owen Walsh Collins & Noel Stapleton Lakeside
    09:46 Sean Goggin Cement & Noel Collins Majestic
    Second Session
    11:30 Declan McConville Cloghogue & Paul O'Brien Lakeside
    11:34 Ian Dillon St. Bridget's & Mick O'Halloran Parteen
    11:38 Steven Keegan Lucan & Alan Hanlon Collinstown
    11:42 Sean Harkins R.G.S.C. & Stephen Bourke Parteen
    11:46 Martin Fawl Clare Road & Patrick O'Connor C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    11:50 Brian Delaney E.S.B. & Sean Downes Stackallen
    11:54 Larry McGinn Collinstown & Rory Hogan Riverdale
    11:58 Frank Ryan R.G.S.C. & Michael Byrne Tullamore
    12:02 Pacelli Darcy Bruff & Ray Murphy Templebreedy
    12:06 Paul O'Gorman Tullamore & Noel Comiskey Snr Granard
    12:10 Hubert Kelly Loughlinstown & Gary O'Sullivan Majestic
    12:14 Jonathon Goodall Tralee & Junior Smith R.G.S.C.
    12:18 Patsy Reamsbottom Ferbane & Derek Courtney Glenville
    12:22 Larry Maher Jnr Erry & Frank O'Donoghue Templebreedy
    12:26 Ivan Ashe Deerpark & Tom Mason Loughlinstown
    12:30 James O'Donovan Bruff & Dave Hayden Lucan
    12:34 George Beardsley Cement & Liam O'Donovan Bruff
    12:38 Ian Farrelly Duleek & Pat Earls Parteen
    12:42 Dennis Monaghan Shandon & Patsy Farrell Bruff
    12:46 John Cahill Fermoy & Philip Sweeney Lucan

SENIOR FINAL -- TULLAMORE OFFALY
    CHAMPIONSHIPS 2008
    NATIONAL GENTS STROKEPLAY
    SUNDAY, 27 JULY 2008
    80 to play, top 20 to qualify for final 18.

Thats not a scramble! Thats scramble Light! Thats like saying Budweiser is a beer! :D

Imagine one weekend you'd be playing the Short Gras and the next you're doing the premier (Cashel, Templemore, Clonmel, Nenagh) man you'd a months detox.

It would make a great comp alright but would it work, I wonder?

8.30 Sean O'Donovan Parteen & Declan Callopy St. Bridget's
    8.34 Niall Seery Clare Road & Alan Flanagan Glenville
    8.38 Brendan Muldoon Castletown & Chris Richmond Rocklodge
    8.42 Michael O'Connell Tullamore & PJ Ryan Riverdale
    8.46 Mark Foley St. Patrick's & Kieran Buckley Deerpark
    8.50 Noel Harty Parteen & Finbarr Noonan Kilshannig
    8.54 David Hanlon St. Bridget's & David Scanlon Gaeil Colmcille
    8.58 Davy Hallinan Hillview & Connie Doolan Templebreedy
    9.02 John Clarke Kilbeggan & Trevor Farrell Kilshannig
    9.06 Gerry Doyle St. Bridget's & William Browne Cunnigar
    9.10 Trevor O'Donovan Majestic & Michael Mullen Erry
    9.14 Seamus Gleeson Riverdale & Tony Browne Castletown
    9.18 Stephen Needham Lucan & John Ryan Kilshannig
    9.22 Patrick Maher Erry & Joe Lee Crosshaven

Intermediate Grade

11.00 Daniel Carney Newtown & Bobby O'Neill Athgarvan
    11.04 Garreth Kerin Clare Road & Billy Fitton Lakewood
    11.08 Ronnie O'Shea Tullamore & Ian Wilkins St. Anne's
    11.12 Mick Walsh Parteen & Ray McKenna McBride
    11.16 Richard Harkin Loughlinstown & Ronan Loughnane Lakeside
    11.20 John Tett Pfizer & John Dunlea St. Anne's
    11.24 Darren Finney Castletown & Noel Ring Majestic
    11.28 Brendan Fitzpatrick Old County & Kieran Earls Parteen
    11.32 Pat Liddy Clare Road & Chris McCarthy Pfizer
    11.36 Bob Gorman Kilbeggan & Peter Collins Bellewstown
    11.40 Liam Sheridan St. Patrick's & Anthony Mahoney Guinness
    11.44 Pat McCarthy Rochfortbridge & Tom Kennedy Bellewstown
    11.48 Chris Cawley Loughlinstown & John O'Brien Deerpark
    11.52 Don Sheehan Claycastle & Davy Reddin Custume
    11.56 Jason Roche Collins & Celistine Ryan Larkspur Park
    12.00 Mark O'Riordan Pfizer & Eddie English Cloghogue
    12.04 Stephen Shoer Riverdale & Pat Horgan Majestic
    12.08 Aidan O'Connor Castleisland & Brian Daly Drimoleague
    12.12 Mark Hogan Tullamore & Colm Brown Loughlinstown
    12.16 John O'Shea Cunnigar & Paul Collins Majestic
    12.20 Paul Galvin Tullamore & Seamus Reilly Stackallen
    12.24 Carl Murphy C.Y.M.C./L.C. & Graham Newman Erry
    12.28 Anthony McDonnell Lucan & Anthony Burke Granard
    12.32 Martin Fitzgearld Parteen & Dennis Dennehy Douglas
    12.36 George Mulcahy St. Anne's & Alan Cooper McBride
    12.40 Seamus Dolan Ferbane & Julian Kelly Glenville

JUNIOR GRADE: Details : 28 to play, top 8 to qualify for final 18.
    INTER: 52 to play, top 14 to qualify for final 18.

INTER & JUNIOR FINALS -- TULLAMORE OFFALY
    CHAMPIONSHIPS 2008
    SATURDAY, 26 JULY 2008

You're not a Rowlagh man then ! There a few nice spots in the Dalkin alright. Most people don't get that far.

Tipperman, yeah tough match but lookin forward to it. We both play Ferbane well so it should be a good game.

No way im not a Neilstown head. Im from ya kno Bawnogue 5 mins from Cpm

08:30 Philip Reynolds Seapoint & Eoin Shannon Collins
    08:34 Brian Webster Larkspur Park & Paudie O'Sullivan Majestic
    08:38 Owen Smith McBride & Darren O'Reilly C.P.M.
    08:42 William Buckley Jnr. Erry & Chris Gallagher Lucan
    08:46 Robbie Donovan Fermoy & Kieron Morrissey St. Patrick's
    08:50 Gus Hayes Parteen & David Doyle Elton
    08:54 John Carton Kilbeggan & James Carroll Castletown
    08:58 John Paul Bowes Old County & John Walsh Collins
    09:02 Jim Judge Jnr Cement & Liam Sheridan Stackallen
    09:06 Patrick Curran Majestic & Joseph McGrath Jnr Erry
    09:10 Kevin McArdle R.G.S.C. & Colin Somers Stackallen
    09:14 Eoin Mithen Loughlinstown & Anthony Galvin Tullamore
    09:18 Anto Gray Glenville & Chris Scannell Collins
    09:22 Tom Bolger Lucan & Patrick McBride Stackallen
    09:26 John Cullen Glenville & Damien Fleming Deerpark
    09:30 Kieran Dunscombe St. Anne's & Pat Dooley St. Bridget's
    09:34 John O'Meara Riverdale & Frank Dineen St. Anne's
    09:38 Tom O'Donovan Bruff & Feichin Rath Seapoint
    09:42 Owen Walsh Collins & Noel Stapleton Lakeside
    09:46 Sean Goggin Cement & Noel Collins Majestic
    Second Session
    11:30 Declan McConville Cloghogue & Paul O'Brien Lakeside
    11:34 Ian Dillon St. Bridget's & Mick O'Halloran Parteen
    11:38 Steven Keegan Lucan & Alan Hanlon Collinstown
    11:42 Sean Harkins R.G.S.C. & Stephen Bourke Parteen
    11:46 Martin Fawl Clare Road & Patrick O'Connor C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    11:50 Brian Delaney E.S.B. & Sean Downes Stackallen
    11:54 Larry McGinn Collinstown & Rory Hogan Riverdale
    11:58 Frank Ryan R.G.S.C. & Michael Byrne Tullamore
    12:02 Pacelli Darcy Bruff & Ray Murphy Templebreedy
    12:06 Paul O'Gorman Tullamore & Noel Comiskey Snr Granard
    12:10 Hubert Kelly Loughlinstown & Gary O'Sullivan Majestic
    12:14 Jonathon Goodall Tralee & Junior Smith R.G.S.C.
    12:18 Patsy Reamsbottom Ferbane & Derek Courtney Glenville
    12:22 Larry Maher Jnr Erry & Frank O'Donoghue Templebreedy
    12:26 Ivan Ashe Deerpark & Tom Mason Loughlinstown
    12:30 James O'Donovan Bruff & Dave Hayden Lucan
    12:34 George Beardsley Cement & Liam O'Donovan Bruff
    12:38 Ian Farrelly Duleek & Pat Earls Parteen
    12:42 Dennis Monaghan Shandon & Patsy Farrell Bruff
    12:46 John Cahill Fermoy & Philip Sweeney Lucan

SENIOR FINAL -- TULLAMORE OFFALY
    CHAMPIONSHIPS 2008
    SUNDAY, 27 JULY 2008
    80 to play, top 20 to qualify for final 18.

Wow its out! Just looking through that its a really top quality field.
    the guy you're out with is sound Tipperman. John Walsh will be out with an absolute funny man.

GerCPM wrote: »
    No way im not a Neilstown head. Im from ya kno Bawnogue 5 mins from Cpm

Ye know the place Ger, mate of mine lives there Mossy Whelan, his brother used to play Senior Gaa for Wicklow. Sound men, not a bad spot at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jinkymagic

Anyone else read the first issue of Lobbed Wedge? I thought it was great myself!

Jinkymagic wrote: »
    Anyone else read the first issue of Lobbed Wedge? I thought it was great myself!

Jinky had a quick read of it myself. Was impressed with the amount of stuff in it. I'll email them with a few suggestions.

It would make a great comp alright but would it work, I wonder?

I think it would have to be set apart from the others as it would involve a bit more time, but it would rival any of the others in my mind. The only thing though is one would have to decide whether to base oneelf in Magnersville, or to stay the night in Mr O's! You'd defo need a designated driver on each team!

Mr O'S.. I'd say the last time I was in that place was the time ye boyos were down for the Scr Cup.. I didn't even have hair on me chest that time.. Bit like GER back then, young and innocent;)

Oh man the bloody laff we had staying there. I recall myself and Jabba drowning half of old county on the street below with a sink from the hotel room, happy times.

Oh and Mr. O's was when I first heard and understood the term cattle mart.

Oh man the bloody laff we had staying there. I recall myself and Jabba drowning half of old county on the street below with a sink from the hotel room, happy times.

Oh and Mr. O's was when I first heard and understood the term cattle mart.

No wonder they put the Garda Station in the middle of the town the year after ye were down

Anyway lets get back to P&P.. Kingdom should go to the the Personal Issues page :D

Jinkymagic wrote: »

Yes Jinky have just read it... Great stuff, whoever involved in this, keep up the great work... I see updates on boards is being utilised so obviously we are doing something right here;)

No wonder they put the Garda Station in the middle of the town the year after ye were down

Anyway lets get back to P&P.. Kingdom should go to the the Personal Issues page :D

Off I go.....

Yes Jinky have just read it... Great stuff, whoever involved in this, keep up the great work... I see updates on boards is being utilised so obviously we are doing something right here;)

Yes noticed that. Thought it might be a wind up at first but it seems genuine enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 -3faithfull

We have played 6 trials at the moment but the scores I have included are counting only 4. We have 8 trials with 6 to count.

Overall the standings are a little different as when lads drop their two worst scores they are actually benefiting...

The total of 6 with 2 trials to go is

Paul O'Brien (Lakeside) -64
    Brian Webster (Larkspur) -61
    John O'Meara (Riverdale) -48
    Rory Hogan (Riverdale) -48
    Noel Joyce (Hillview) -42
    Stephen Shoer (Riverdale) -39
    David Morrissey (Lakeside) -36
    Sean Minogue (Riverdale) -32
    James Cleary (Hillview) -31

Larkspur Park next Wed night will shape up the team I reckon but the Riverdale lads have a huge chance of getting 3 on the team as their Scr Cup is the last trial..

How many trials have been played in Offaly at the moment?[/quote]

we have played 6 trials and im counting 4 in the post!!!
    there are 3 trials left with the best 7 out of 9 trials to count.
    most people including myself cant afford to slip up because of severe weather in tullamore earlier in the year battered the scoring for trials.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 clare rd.

Hey lads just wondering do ye know some of the competition in the junior section? i havent played tullamore yet so must get a practice round in soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jinkymagic

Had a look through the list there and I dont know any of them from Cork! You can be guarenteed there will be some 10 or 11 handicappers who should be off 6 or 7! Junior really is the hardest to predict so unless anyone knows of any bandits out there anyone could win on the day!! Good luck to ya anyway!

Be great if we got a winner from this forum! I know ill be trying my best :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 -3faithfull

wat grade are u in jinkymagic??????????

clare rd. wrote: »
    Hey lads just wondering do ye know some of the competition in the junior section? i havent played tullamore yet so must get a practice round in soon.

Just looking at the draws there its always hard to predict possible winners in the Juniors and sometimes in the Inters.
    In th Juniors, Alan Flanagan would be the outstanding Leinster hopeful I'd imagine, while the locals wouldn't be as fancied as they would in the Intermediates. Stephen Needham would be decent in the Juniors as well, while you'll never back against a Foley from Enniscorthy (st Pats).

In the Inters, it won't be as cut and dry as a local winning. There are quite a few players who qualified for the National Matchplay and Munster Matchplay and also a few guys who could well be playing Inter countys come August.
    Names to look out for as far as I'm concerned:
    Graham Newman
    Mark Hogan
    Stephen Shoer
    Darren Finney(Castletown course record holder)
    Collie Brown
    Kieran Earls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 clare rd.

Just looking at the draws there its always hard to predict possible winners in the Juniors and sometimes in the Inters.
    In th Juniors, Alan Flanagan would be the outstanding Leinster hopeful I'd imagine, while the locals wouldn't be as fancied as they would in the Intermediates. Stephen Needham would be decent in the Juniors as well, while you'll never back against a Foley from Enniscorthy (st Pats).

Hows tings kingdom? i am actualy going to be out with Alan Flanagan so i guess ill know hw tings are going at the time, suppose it cud go right on the day for any of d 28 players in d junior section. didnt play good in d munsters at all so that should be a bit of a learning curve.

Tipper, u said u were coming up to Cpm scratch cup this year.Just wondering if u ever played it before?? Good luck tomorrow Dublin lads. Never played the course meself before.Hoping it treats me nicely

clare rd. wrote: »

Hows tings kingdom? i am actualy going to be out with Alan Flanagan so i guess ill know hw tings are going at the time, suppose it cud go right on the day for any of d 28 players in d junior section. didnt play good in d munsters at all so that should be a bit of a learning curve.

How do Clare Rd. Love your course by the way. Played it about 10 yrs ago. Also had the misfortune to play One Mile Inn. Whats Cill na Mona like?
    The one thing about Tullamore is that it will come down to the type of day thats in it. Its a tough course but that can be good too. Give it a lash thats all you can do.