If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pics of apt, rare, funny number plates taken in Ireland if possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I was under the impression that they would not issue any plate that was racially offensive like KKK etc. Something like 4Q would be never issued for obvious reasons but you could imagine the sort of person that would love such a plate.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Didn't get a pic as I was driving but I saw V6MMM on a Toyota Rav4 on the N4 the other day.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,134 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

A very apt registration. :cool:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Here is one taken from www.bavarian-board.co.uk
    bmw.JPG

That's a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I've got 9x C 999 on my Ducati 916. Does that count?

BMW used to do it with launch cars in the UK, the registration 850BMW brings up a serious 850csi when I search on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭jrar

Ned, in your advert, I'm assuming the "must go soon" quote refers to the car and not your girlfriend ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,892 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

jrar wrote:
    Ned, in your advert, I'm assuming the "must go soon" quote refers to the car and not your girlfriend ;)
    i would like pics of both, to check condition or summit....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I saw 01-D-740 on a bmw 740 yesterday....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Tauren wrote:
    i would like pics of both, to check condition or summit....

lol, this thread is getting out of hand. I'd post a photo of her hawtness, but I'd be murdered for doing it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

kbannon wrote:
    Here is one taken from www.bavarian-board.co.uk
    bmw.JPG

That is Legendary ... :D

appropriate car too !

thumbs up to that guy

Saw a silver 205 GTI in Naas earlier with the plate.............GTI 205

Sex on a plate! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I know this barely counts but did you ever see the webite address for UPS, like on the back door of this truck?

It always makes me laugh because I think it looks a bit like wwh.ooops.com

I'l get my coat.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,869 ✭✭✭✭Victor

CDI with a CD plate.

Note the obligatory illegal parking. :D

Victor wrote:
    CDI with a CD plate.
    ...and a nice reflection of youself and your bike Victor! :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭vector

lets not stray too far off topic here but...

shouldn't the CD be intergrated into the plate itself like
    "07 D 12345 cd"
    or
    "07 D cd 12345"
    I've seen both, but I haven't seen a CD oval in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

dsc00217mr4.jpg

Outside work a while back. Never seen a plate like it in Ireland...

I wonder if the car is a loaner to an embassey from a garage etc?

vector wrote:
    lets not stray too far off topic here but...

shouldn't the CD be intergrated into the plate itself like
    "07 D 12345 cd"
    or
    "07 D cd 12345"
    I've seen both, but I haven't seen a CD oval in years

Ireland doesn't have an offical diplomatic plates series unlike most other countries so basically embassies and consulates can pretty much do as they see fit and they're not going to get pulled by either the Gardai or the NCT for having "illegal" plates.

DJ Hafez wrote:
    dsc00217mr4.jpg

Outside work a while back. Never seen a plate like it in Ireland...

I'd suggest it's just a regular Dutch plate but in an irregular size to fit the car in question, not unlike the situation with Irish plates being manufactured in a previously unknown size, just to fit Japanese imports etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭OKenora

In the local town we have the following...

M5 YEA (on a 320d :/)
    M 8 MWM (M BMW M - was on an M3 but now on a 535d)
    and
    BIG 700 (BIG TOO originally on a Q7 now on a Ford Ranger)

On the way back through England I was passed at speed by what I think was CO 04LER (or similar possibly) Was on the back of something smallish, yellow, 2 seats oh and fast which is why I didn't see it too well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,869 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Bond-007 wrote:
    Note the obligatory illegal parking. :D
    Note the junction. :p
    OKenora wrote:
    On the way back through England I was passed at speed by what I think was CO 04LER (or similar possibly) Was on the back of something smallish, yellow, 2 seats oh and fast which is why I didn't see it too well.
    And some coal miner owns it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

I agree, the plate 28-NL-PX is most likely a dutch plate on a US or Japanese s/h import Mercedes.

In fairness the 'CD' Merc jeep above has it's brake lights on, so may well be waiting in traffic to turn left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

jrar wrote:
    Saw a silver 205 GTI in Naas earlier with the plate.............GTI 205

I know the car!
    It belongs to a local retired garage owner. I spoke with him some years ago and he told me he got that registration transferred to the 205 from a 1965 Morris Minor back in the 1980's.

Apparently back then a reg could be transferred in Ireland .....once the 'donor' vehicle had been scrapped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I've seen that car too. great reg number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

Silvera wrote:
    I know the car!
    It belongs to a local retired garage owner. I spoke with him some years ago and he told me he got that registration transferred to the 205 from a 1965 Morris Minor back in the 1980's.

Jaysus memories! Haven't seen George in years, gas hoor, used to know him from Mondello back in the day. Used to have the Peugeot dealership in Naas.

invest4deepvalue.com