Loyalist groups to march in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

In fairness, that's a problem with the education system.

I can't believe the unionist repsonses I'm reading here.

Indeed. That doesn't make it any less the country's problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Kilsally

Flex wrote:
    Thats so incorrect. The woman in question answered an advertisement for a job as a librarian the ad specified that the successful applicant would need to be fluent in Irish

Fair enough, thanks for the info.....the comments by De Valera still stand tho.

And furthermore she was hardly 'highly qualified' for this job since she didnt meet the standard of having fluent Irish.

yes and until last year you had to have Irish to be "qualified" to be a Garda.
    Now you do not. Are these new gaurd "less qualified" for the job of policemen?

Was that piece written by a guy named Robin Bury?

No...well perhaps....but they are direct quotes from the Church of Ireland Gazette from 1922.

cakehole wrote:
    Your brandishing quotes here made in the 20's and 30's. Things have changed.

Yes I know. Although saying that, I am just back from Cork and was in Cobh and Youghall and noticed the Virgin Mary statues as you enter the towns and the radio presenter announced "Good news. Celtic 1 - Rangers 0".
    Nothing major, had a pleasant time in Cork but little things like that just put me on edge that this "isnt home"..."your in the south"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

did that march happen yet?
    wasn't it scheduled for last month?

kilsally. re the rangers celtic thing. i'm sure the same thing happens in your locale.
    although most people don't really care what happens between celtic and rangers.

you really need to stop being so paranoid. we're not going to take your civil rights away and then march you all down O'Connell street and shoot you in front of the GPO. that paisley fella is a bit of a spoofer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

julep wrote:
    did that march happen yet?
    wasn't it scheduled for last month?

kilsally. re the rangers celtic thing. i'm sure the same thing happens in your locale.
    although most people don't really care what happens between celtic and rangers.

you really need to stop being so paranoid. we're not going to take your civil rights away and then march you all down O'Connell street and shoot you in front of the GPO. that paisley fella is a bit of a spoofer.

it's not that anyone is afraid of thier civil rights being taken away, or of being shot in front of the GPO (for whatever wierd reason that would happen). It's more to do with a bunch of anti-catholic anti-republican anti-irish ****-stirers wanting to march where thier not wanted merely for the sake of hoping to evoke an aggresive reaction so they can go "ahh ye see, look, ahh ye see.

slipss wrote:
    it's not that anyone is afraid of thier civil rights being taken away, or of being shot in front of the GPO (for whatever wierd reason that would happen).
    the GPO part was a joke aimed at the extremists who seem to feel like they are going to be terrorised by everyone in the republic.

slipss wrote:
    It's more to do with a bunch of anti-catholic anti-republican anti-irish ****-stirers wanting to march where thier not wanted merely for the sake of hoping to evoke an aggresive reaction so they can go "ahh ye see, look, ahh ye see.
    let's all hope that nobody gives them that reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

whoops, I thought you were trying to make a completely different point julep, sry bout the sarcastic sarcasm there

no problem.
    i ge tthat quite a lot.

slipss wrote:
    it's not that anyone is afraid of thier civil rights being taken away, or of being shot in front of the GPO (for whatever wierd reason that would happen). It's more to do with a bunch of anti-catholic anti-republican anti-irish ****-stirers wanting to march where thier not wanted merely for the sake of hoping to evoke an aggresive reaction so they can go "ahh ye see, look, ahh ye see.

Argh! Is this still going on?

Anyway. Would you say the same thing if Sinn Fein or similar had a march in London? In Dublin? Remember, Ireland is one of two countries which will ultimately decide the fate of NI. I'd see this as being very similar if not identical to when SF bussed down a lot of people from the North to clutter up O'Connell Street with. One side has just as much right to demonstrate as the other. Or was that different, because Adams is more cuddly and Rolf Harris-like than Paisley? :)

sinn fein are a different story. they recognise this country. unionists don't.
    i'm not a sinn fein supporter, but
    ahh screw it. let them march. give them their half an hour or however long it takes them. what harm are they doing? they only have themselves to blame if things go wrong.

julep wrote:
    sinn fein are a different story. they recognise this country. unionists don't.

I think all but the oddest Unionists recognise the Republic of Ireland. They just don't consider NI to be part of it...

yeah. i don't know where i was going with that. i'm tired and should probably go to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

As a Protestant living here in the South your posts are 100% "spot- on" and very interesting .........................

slipss wrote:

Thats a load of crap. It is victims groups that are having a rally...you know the Omagh bomb (Protestants and Catholics killed), The La Mon Hotel bomb where the Irish collie Club and the Northern Ireland Junior Motorcycle Association were havin their annual dinner...that sort of thing...the rally is now partly mute as the governments have repealed the On The Run legislation which would have allowed the perpetrators of those atrocities (and indeed the Loyalist perpetrators of the Dublin and Monaghan bombings) to go free without serving a day in prison. The rally is in an entirely appropriate place. Political rallies are meant to happen around Westminster or the Dail or Stormont. The victims groups are then due to meet Justice Minister McDowell in his office to raise their concerns with the Irish government.

rsynnott wrote:
    Argh! Is this still going on?

Anyway. Would you say the same thing if Sinn Fein or similar had a march in London? In Dublin? Remember, Ireland is one of two countries which will ultimately decide the fate of NI. I'd see this as being very similar if not identical to when SF bussed down a lot of people from the North to clutter up O'Connell Street with. One side has just as much right to demonstrate as the other. Or was that different, because Adams is more cuddly and Rolf Harris-like than Paisley? :)

SF regularly hold rallies in England and Scotland

maybe if your politicians could get their act together you could march on stormont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,588 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Kilsally wrote:
    Yes I know. Although saying that, I am just back from Cork and was in Cobh and Youghall and noticed the Virgin Mary statues as you enter the towns and the radio presenter announced "Good news. Celtic 1 - Rangers 0".
    Nothing major, had a pleasant time in Cork but little things like that just put me on edge that this "isnt home"..."your in the south"

But if we were to take away *all* symbolism we'd end up doing what Birmingham City Council have done by renaming Christmas to 'Winterval' and go around wishing each other 'Happy Holidays' instead of 'Happy Christmas' as they do in the States.

But it goes to show how much power symbolism can carry when a statue of a virgin girlie makes you 'on edge'!

Seriously, I think there's a little paranoia on your part here. We're a very welcoming lot and there's no-where in Cork, or in fact the rest of the ROI where your personal safety would be put at risk just because of your relgious or political shade.

Whereas myself coming from Dublin, there are places in East Belfast I would never venture into.

And remember, the most peaceful and uncontroversial Orange Order Marches always happen in Donegal. Even ol' Bertie spent a couple of million euro setting up a cultural centre at the Boyne and the citizens of ROI didn't flinch.

But I understand that you, or anyone else from N.I., coming from the area that you come from and given the recent history, that you'd be particularly sensitive to noticing little pieces of symbolism as your very life may depend on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Kilsally wrote:

yes and until last year you had to have Irish to be "qualified" to be a Garda.
    Now you do not. Are these new gaurd "less qualified" for the job of policemen?

No, but qualifications for any job can change over time. Perhaps looking at the qualifications required to have certain jobs in the north such as Shortts or Harland and Wolfe back in the 70's would be a little harder to achieve than learning the official language of the country being represented by the Gardai. Mind you, times have changed, and this is no longer the case, so rather than focusing what was the case, why not focus on the changes made?.
    Kilsally wrote:
    No...well perhaps....but they are direct quotes from the Church of Ireland Gazette from 1922.

84 years ago - things really have changed.

I see your note re Celtic & Rangers, and also re the Statues of Mary.
    Turn the tables a smidge, and imagine what it must be like for a Nationalist to see the 12th night bonfires each year, burning the Tricolour in the guise of a celebration of tradition. Don't you think that both traditions get on a little better south of the border?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

am i the only one who thinks this could be fecking hilarious? think about it, a load of orange men with union jack marching down dawson street surrounded by baffeled american tourists:D ,could be four or five hours before they meet an irish citizen
    its like something outta father ted! IMHO i reckon no one'll even turn up, its just too sad an event to acknowledge:)

"gee honey. look at those guys with their pipes and drums. is it st. patricks day?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

julep wrote:
    "gee honey. look at those guys with their pipes and drums. is it st. patricks day?"

"which one of youse is jerry aadams, harry get a picture of me with jerrrey":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,737 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Kilsally wrote:
    radio presenter announced "Good news. Celtic 1 - Rangers 0".
    N

It is good news

I really am surprised at the attitudes displayed here. After all, SF have had rallies in mainland UK.

For the record, I am neither a Unionist nor a Nationalist. My favoured solution would be for both countries to withdraw from the damn place, provide peacekeeping and an election, and give up all claims to it. They can hardly blow people up in Dublin or London demanding to be let back in... Failing that, Operation Plowshare. (That last is a JOKE; some people take offence quite easily...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

frobisher wrote:

Er, it's incoherent babble. I'm not actually entirely sure what he's trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

toString wrote:
    Note: I've barely looked at the posts in the first page of this thread so...

Why are people making an issue of this? Let them march, and then let them go back up North again. Let them know that there is a peaceful democratic society down here. If they want to make their feelings felt let them, it would seem to be a peaceful march.

In that case, you should go back and read atleast the first few pages of this htread.

yes. and take a look at this: http://www.loveulster.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Particularly their message board.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Just got this today...
    >
    Guys just in case please read on!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi Guys,

I got a cab this morning and the driver was telling me to avoid town at
    all costs on Saturday 25th February .

There is some sort of Orange March on to commemorate the death of paramilitaries.

The guards have given the go ahead on this march. The taxi driver said he had a passenger yesterday who was "connected" and who informed him not to work in town on the 25 as "friends" of his had something planned. Certain members of this group of friends are in prison for crimes relating to explosives.

So, just to warn you.........no shopping in town on the 25th Feb okay?

i can see where this is heading, the email is either an exercise in sensationalism, or its genuine and there is something planned that the authorities, i hope, are preparing for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭edanto

So, having read some of this thread for the first time, it seems like this march is NOT by the bigoted Orange Order, but instead it's by a group of people with relatives killed during the troubles. That right?

The reason I came into this thread was a email that's going round (http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054892580) warning people not to go into town on Saturday. Anyone know who might have started this chain mail?

I really doubt anyone would have a motive to bomb Dublin. I think it's a hoax mail - it has all the hallmarks, it's misrepresenting the march, the language is a bit quirky and it just smells of BS. Anyone else get it yet?

EDIT: You reckon that it could be an effort by hardcore republicans to both empty town of people and evoke a big garda presence?