Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

Exactly there's two players and couldn't we do with Bill Sheehans pace

Not sure of his age but wasn't Tom Phelan brought in around that age ? You're dead right about favourites clubs and school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Comerman

Good jazus he's back 🙄 how many players from Comer have been on the panel for years that shouldn't have been given a chance? I can name one but I won't out of respect for his effort. Other than that the most obvious one you've been hilighting for years for what seems to be a "personal" reason.

An Irishman is never drunk as long as he can hold onto one blade of grass and not fall off the face of the earth.

https://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/gaa/1612991/kilkenny-gaa-update-on-this-year-s-county-finals-issued.html

An Irishman is never drunk as long as he can hold onto one blade of grass and not fall off the face of the earth.

Just out of curiosity Comerman what is your feeling on Peter Donovan as a coach with our county senior team. You might be better placed to give me some in site into what teams he coached gained success with ect. The reason I ask is I feel Kilkenny is a very poorly coached team. He is involved with your school also I believe any success with the schools hurling?

Don't know the man from Adam or his history Hurlingtothebone and don't rate him too highly as a coach to be honest but I do know he's not a selector with the county and is only in there a wet week compared to the village 87's nemises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Comer got to an All Ireland B schools final with Donovan as manager a few years ago. He was with DJ and the U20s as well along with Nigel Skehan and Liam Smith at one stage.

I don't think the man is even 40 yet.

Don't know how the coaching is shared in there between himself, Phelan and Rice although I think people have said Phelan is gone now.

Donovan does appear to be No 2 though as he's always with Lyng at the games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭neverbet

I never suggested he was a no 6 I am saying in my opinion he was well worthy of a spot on the team/ panel. Padraig Walsh another outstanding stickman and reader of the game was exposed at 6 v waterford( Stephen Bennett) 2020 semi and Cork (Kingston)'21 semi. Unfortunately we have failed to find a specialist 6 since Brian Hogan. I would'nt crucify the above two or Paddy Deegan for stepping into the breach. Paul Hennebery is a very impressive club hurler who was briefly on the panel this year. Looking forward to seeing more of him in the coming weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Comerman hold your head up high and **** the begrudgers ye beat the village to reach the U16 final and ye are far from relegation, they cannot say the same.**** boys a vic.

🤣🤣🤣 But but but Fogerty is useless (allegedly)

Thanks for the feedback to my question. I just feel we have hurlers but we need a manager prepared to take a risk and try young players and we most certainly need a decent hurling coach with a game plan.

Any matches I saw so far across all grades and underage was of good quality. As was stated above giving young lads and not so young lads a decent shot will have to be done. Without the Walsh cup could we not organise regional teams to play in a mini competition where everybody could be reviewed by the hurling public. This was done years ago at junior level with north v south you could even have that intermediate north and south and senior north and south.at least it would throw up some interesting matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭blackcard

As a neutral, I enjoyed the spectacle. Both teams knew it was finish on the day. Both teams had 3 opportunities to win, in fixed time, extra time and penalties. Inistioge can only blame themselves for throwing away a lead. The winning team in this case will not be at a disadvantage of playing another match while their opponents are rested up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

They mentioned comments online and it was clearly stuff posted here

Realistically it would have to determined prior to knock out stages across the board, if 1 game is decided by penalties and the next day another goes to replay that would probably open a whole can of worms with objections etc.

To be fair they have a point when there's multiple grades on it's very hard to cover everything, I just can't understand how worked up Scally gets over an anonymous forum.

I see the Offaly county board top officers are stepping down instead of playing musical chairs like our crowd. Now that’s democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Why though? They seem to be doing great work, made history this year even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

I listened back to it..

Yes, he was clearly rattled by those lads 'hacking away on keyboards' , but tried not to be. He failed.

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Probably because he knows full well he's biased and loves the sound of his own voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Village87

I am not just highlighting Fogarty, Imo Walter Walsh, TJ, Richie Reid, Cillian Buckley(gone) and some other fringe player from 2024 panel need to retire or be dropped. We need a total rebuild and the players like TJ staying slow that down, i think TJ's time at inter county is now up. Fair play to lads like Padraig Walsh who go back to club and really drive that on. Some players on the Kilkenny panel really need to look at examples like that. Yes some are great servants but others stay on for personal gain imo.

I agree except maybe about TJ, one more year ( someone has to lead the charge)?

I agree with you entirely village even on my own club players, as long as those sitting on the bench stay there there will be no room for new talent (which is out there) to come in but either some are being asked to stay or the management are afraid to change and say goodbye to them.

Jaysus did the three of us just agree on something KK united at last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

IMG_3492.jpeg

clubber this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭neverbet

Lads like Padraig Walsh,Paul Murphy ,Richie Hogan, Joey Holden, Colin Fennelly Johnjo Farrell etc etc, wouldn't expect any less. Maybe you might enlighten me as to who you are referring to on the current Kilkenny panel that you say is not doing it for their club? I can think of none. Likewise who are you suggesting are only remaining on the panel for personal gain? Better again what possible personal gain ? I personally hope both Reids remain. To be fair to Wally and Conor F their seasons were decimated by serious injury.

ye but really village is right . The older players have served us well but they have to move on that’s the way things are, they are not improving with age and if they weren’t there there would be a young player there in stead of them who could develop properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

But it's not the player's job to "move on", being on the team is a life long dream for most of those lads, why would they willingly give it up if they're still enjoying it? It's the managers job to push them out. It's a hard thing to do to a long time servant of the county and all that, but that's the job, and lyng needs to do it. The players have no obligation to make it easy on him. But lyng also needs to place some trust in younger players and persist with them even if things go wrong, rather than wheeling out the same lads every time. Not sure personally about the TJ question, I think he still has a role to play and he's still been pivotal to the attack this past year so I would keep him, but I can see the argument that it's long overdue for Mullen and Cody to step up and take ownership of the forwards.

spot on.It actually looks terrible to read it here about getting rid of players but really that’s not the case everyone here has the utmost respect for the players but that’s the situation, it’s a cruel world.