Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,145 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Kiladangan were 2 pints up in injury time moycarty got a goal with last puck of the ball to win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

no such thing as blowing for steps in tipp

https://x.com/clubber/status/1834983561339850757?s=46&t=6SyGlpjB26QUlOy68HnGtQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

No such thing as blowing for steps in any county now 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Special Junior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Nedflanders02

The draws in the senior and intermediate sets us up for a couple of really good weekends of hurling. The OLG/Dicksboro game should be a cracker, the Boro seem to be timing there run a bit better this year but will they be able to get over OLG? Shamrocks with there star county forwards back are a match for anyone but this could be the draw to fire the Thomastown lads up, they've been a bit flat the last few weeks but I'm sure this will be the game they want to kick start their championship. Bennettsbridge/Tullaroan should be a cracker, a real 50/50 game with both thinking they've a great chance of getting to a semi final. Mullinavat will be happy to draw Comer but now that they're safe Comer will relish the chance and will go in with no pressure on them.

In intermediate Lisdowney still look the team to beat but the winner of the Tullogher/Mooncoin game will really fancy their chance of going all the way, after a poor opening game Mooncoin have turned it around really well and even though they got to the final last year seem to be coming in under the radar!

I haven't been to too many games this year but other than current county players who have been the standout players with a view to being called up to the senior panel next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Village87

Yeah agree with a lot of above. OLG v Boro will be a great watch, Boro coming under the radar perfectly, this game will really tell us where they are at and who is good enough to be with Kilkenny seniors next year. The other 3 are 50/50 and watching Shamrocks yesterday they have a tail, can Thomastown keep the big 3 quiet, especially TJ the great.

Mooncoin are clear favourites for Intermediate imo, coming good at the right time and easily dispatched of Lisdowney in the semi final last year, Gowran will have a big shout now as realistically they will dispose of Blacks and Whites are pole position for the Semi Finals. Mooncoin, Young Irelands and Lisdowney seem a step ahead of the others.

Junior. Freshford or Windgap, take your pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Martin567

Very interesting to see a photo of TJ Reid in today's Irish Independent appearing to be signing an autograph with his right hand.

For a player so supremely skilful I had always assumed he was naturally left handed. He hurls as a natural left hander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭KK36

Just for the craic and of no importance. I have drawn up a list of our clubs and two players from each club. The first name is the player who I think is the best hurler from that club but the one in brackets is who I think is the best club hurler for that club. ie Service, commitment, longevity, dependability etc without necessarily being the best hurler.

See what ye think and offer alternatives as you wish. I haven't filled in all the options either.

Barrow Rangers

Dermot Maher

(Ned Drea)

Bennettsbridge

Noel Skehan

(Enda Morrissey)

Blacks and Whites

Peter Cleere

(Tommy Farrell)

Carrickshock

Richie Power jnr

(Pat Dwyer)

Clara

Lester Ryan snr

(Anthony Prendergast)

Cloneen

Conahy Shamrocks

Nickey Brennan

(Kieran Mooney)

Danesfort

Richie Hogan

(Larry Mahony)

Dicksboro

Cillian Buckley

Dunamaggin

Noel Hickey

Emeralds

Aidan Fogarty

Erins Own

Conor Fogarty

(Tom Brophy)

Fenians

JJ Delaney

(Ger Henderson)

Galmoy

Billy Harte

(Noel Doherty)

Glenmore

Willie O'Connor

(Ray Heffernan)

Graignamanagh

Graigue Ballycallan

Eddie Brennan

(James Ryall)

James Stephens

Eoin Larkin

(Joe Hennessy)

John Lockes

John Power

Kilmacow

Dick McNamara

(Luke Harney)

Lisdowney

Ted Carroll

(Ollie Blanchfield)

Mooncoin

The Doyles of old

(Eoin Hennebry)

Mullinavat

Willie O'Dwyer

O’Loughlin Gaels

Huw Lawler

(Martin Comerford)

Piltown

Liam McCarthy

Slieverue

Niall Walsh

St Lachtains

Michael Kavanagh

(Noel McGree)

St Martins

Tom Moran

(John Mulhall)

St Patricks

Kevin Kelly

(Brian Phelan)

The Rower Inistioge

Eddie Keher

(Kieran Joyce)

The Shamrocks

Henry Shefflin

(Mick Fennelly snr)

Thomastown

Tom Walsh

(Jonjo Farrell)

Threecastles

Jack Cleere

(Dinny Butler)

Tullaroan

Tommy Walsh

(Liam Keoghan)

Tullogher Rosbercon

Walter Walsh

(Pat Hartley)

Windgap

Kieran Purcell

(Pat Walsh)

Young Irelands

DJ Carey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Marrooned

John Marnell for Dicksboro

Good to see a double header in the park for the U14 and U16 finals on Saturday week.

Paudie Holden Mullinavat. Hello is there anybody out there? Are ye all shocked that either Mullinavat or Erin’s Own are in a senior county semi final.

I don’t think Dicksboro will be able for the O loughlins juggernaut We have gone back a bit and they have gone forward a bit. Gaffney and Kenny are Hugh losses, the pair would have been in a county selection team last year for certain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,145 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Camogie League Intermediate & Senior finals on in the afternoon.

Mooncoin V Danesfort @ 3

Dicksboro V Piltown @5

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

Very strange that the senior fixtures haven't been announced yet, surely they would have been decided by now.

Tommy walshes father Michael hurled a long time for Tullaroan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭hogans heroes

Boro and danesfort

well you would have reckoned they would have that sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭blackcard

It is disappointing that the intermediate quarter finals are clashing. The could have had matches at 13.30 and 16.00 on the Saturday and Sunday. Hope they don't do the same for the senior quarter finals.

Might be something to do with minor games and lads being involved on two teams

The fixtures have been announced. Two on Saturday

Thomastown and Shamrocks 13.30 Callan

Bridge v Tullaroan in Comer at 16.30

Two matches in Nowlan Park on Sunday

Comer v Vegas at 13.30 followed by OLG v Boro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

See that only in last hour, unlike intermediate at least we can get to all of them

Ther is only one minor match on Saturday afternoon and it doesn't involve any of the intermediate teams playing on the Sunday?

I take OLG to beat the Boro, they seem to have gained confidence from winning last year, their backs look very strong, Luke Hogan is improving in the forwards and they have ball winners in Heary and Mackessy along with the speed of Owen Wall and Bolger. Dicksboro are definitely improving as the campaign goes on but Tom Kenny is a big loss.

I am giving up on forecasting the demise of the Shamrocks. Their forward line of TJ, Cody, Adrian and Paddy Mullen along with Niall Shortall is very strong. I think they may struggle for pace in the back line and Thomastown can cause trouble by running at them. They play a nice brand of hurling and have an excellent puck out strategy. Still, I would go with Shamrocks.

Comer will feel they have nothing to lose against Vegas. I don't think that Vat will concede goals like Glenmore did and I think their forwards are better.

Mossy Keoghan has been in great form for Tullaroan, Dylan Simpson and Gearoid Dunne have assisted. The Bridge were beaten by Tullaroan in th8e league and they struggled against Clara. They will need to improve in the forwards and need a big game from Liam Blanchfield

Don't know what it is then. Disappointing they are clashing. Nothing at all on Saturday afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

They said on that KCLR podcast it's because of the minor/adult overlap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,767 ✭✭✭Speak Now

I can see 9 minor matches on Saturday, are you only looking at Roinn A?

All the minor matches bar one are scheduled to start at 10.30am or 11am. I don't see any reason why intermediate matches couldn't be scheduled for the afternoon.

going back to KK36

Terry Leahy- Emeralds

Nick O Donnell, Diamond Hayden.

Graighnamanagh.

Mick Kenny.

John lockes

Dick Rockett.

Slieverue.

Jaysus they keep coming to me the great Pa Dillon and Alfie Hickey.

St.Lactains