Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Of the last eight of the seniors. What if any newcomers would ye pick for a senior call up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Senditinlow

And what, have a minor playing at 10.30am and again in the afternoon. Get realistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭blackcard

Are minors allowed play at intermediate/ senior level? If they are, they shouldn't be playing the following day either.

the minor is gone back to the original U18 which makes them eligible for senior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭blackcard

My mistake, that news passed me by somehow. Still a bit surprised that they can play the next day. Wasm't it 72 hours between U20 and senior at county lebel revently?

well Blackcard I’m finding it harder and harder to keep up myself. Maybe because they can’t leave things alone the GAA are constantly trying to change things when there is no need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,145 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Change for the sake of change ?

🙄

Lads trying to justify their position on committees by thinking up changes - good or bad ……………

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭KK36

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

In my opinion it's just blatant disrespect of the intermediate and junior grade by the county board. Why isn't there any intermediate quater finals in nowlan Park? Why is it only senior quater finals given that privilege?

I saw on clubber last weekend that one of the intermediate first round matches only had 1 linesman. When my club was in the junior grade you'd only get a referee for your league games there would be no linesman or umpire's provided. Maybe that's not the case now and great if it isn't.

Also on this forum there is only a few posters that give any insight into the intermediate or junior grades which I really enjoy reading their feedback on games. It's not all about Dicksboro ect.

Also may I add before some posters have a **** attack it's my opinion

Yes , there was only 1 linesman for the Dunamaggin V Mooncoin game for the first half - they had a man (not an official linesman ? ) doing the flag for the second half.

Yes I saw that not good enough in my opinion. Also another gripe I have is KCLR Scorline with their so called team of the week. Again only senior nothing for intermediate or junior hurlers. Why ? Are our local radio not interested in any other grade are the hurlers in the lower grades not worth looking at ?

ye spurs you nailed it with that one, such an elegant way with words. I only got as far as hedge school.

just in reply this is not an attack it’s just to let people know how my club is going other people should report in on their own clubs and then we would all have a better insight into what’s going on would you agree?

Look your dead right about the treatment of the so called lower grades. Firstly I think there should be a team of the week for both the intermediate and juniors. People don’t realise these grades at super competitive, just to mention my beloved Dicksboro again,I enjoy going to see the Boro juniors as much as I do the seniors. And just think the players the Boro got from the junior grade. Fenno is one that made the transition a few years back and is going very well at the moment, so there is no snobbishness coming from me.

If you think thats being biased…

Ever listen Caman Caint ???

The pro Boro bias is unreal …..

Theres not much subjectivity involved when sports reporters 'have' to stay on the 'good side' of some clubs to ensure that they will speak to them …… 🤐

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Nothing beats scally creaming himself over blacks and whites on the Kilkenny hurling pod 🤣🤣

Anyone know why Ballyhale shamrocks are now being referred to as shamrocks Ballyhale the last few years

It was always the shamrocks or ballyhale shamrocks for years

Commentators seem to go out of there way to emphasise it the last while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭kentu

They changed their club name like that few years back, that's why commentators go pretty much out of their way so they do it correct.

Now there's a lad I just can't listen too he's painfully painful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

"Shamrocks Ballyhale" just sounds completely wrong. The militant wing in Knocktopher etc should be told to jog on and get over themselves.

The correct name of the club I'm told is The Shamrocks

It definetly does I think the militant wing is operating out of lukeswell these days 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭kentu

Plenty of interesting games this weekend in the Junior and Intermediate, games in all grades going to get very spicy from now on.

Lisdowney v St Martins: Lisdowney have been a lot of people's favourites to win this Championship before a ball was pucked, they will be expected to prevail but Martin's are a fine side with some excellent players across the field like Brian Byrne, Brian Cody in Midfield (I'm amazed has never been called up to county team over last few years that i know of), and some excellent young forwards in Sean Hunt and James O'Neil who scored 0-8 from play against Conahy, I'd expect Lisdowney to prevail by 5 points or so.

Danesfort v Rower: Never much between these 2 clubs over over the last number of years and the same will be expected this weekend. Danesfort have fine forwards in Paddy Hickey, Ben Whitty alongside veterans Richie and Robbie Walsh. Very solid at back with Paddy Hogan in goal with with a number of excellent backs like Daire and Cathal O'Neil, Paul Murphy and Des Dunne although he didn't feature last weekend so he would be a loss if not fit. The Rower have been very up and down this year but could be well capable of taking off after a hard earned Championship win against Fenians. They will look to Shane Ryan, George Murphy, Pat Lyng, Jim Ryan, Michael Galavan and youngsters like Eoin o'Brien and Eoghan Lyng to win this game for them. They seem to really miss Ciaran Ryan and Richie Leahy's influence around the pitch over the last last few years too, a very tight game to call but Danesfort may be a bit more reliable for scoring at the moment.

Tullogher v Mooncoin: 2 teams who will really seize an opportunity with this fixture, Mooncoin probably have the better backs but Tullogher probably have the better scoring Forwards. Mooncoin led by Paul Hennebry at Centre back with the excellent Martin O'Neil and Jim Delahunty alongside him. Mooncoin won this league fixture between these teams just 2 weeks ago in a tight game. Wally has missed last few games for Tullogher but could be back this weekend and his presence along with Hartley at centre back leading the way along with Colman O'Sullivan, Marty and Andrew Murphy, Conor Hennessy and the excellent Cian O'Donoghue all capable of scoring might just see Tullogher prevail in this one.

Gowran v Blacks & Whites: Gowran should easily prevail in this one against Skeough who were delighted with their win last weekend but Gowran moving well with a lot of excellent young players complementing Mikey & Sean Carey.

Galmoy v Piltown: Galmoy have been scoring very big this year with Billy Drennan really leading the way for them this year in scoring and leadership, they have handed out a few beatings including one already to Piltown but Piltown seem to be improving and beating Ballyragget was good evidence of that, I'd go for a narrow Galmoy win but wouldn't surprise me if they lose out either.

Slieverue v Graignamanagh : Slieverue are very good at digging out results over the last few years against higher rated teams, already bet Graig this year who have a lot of players that have played county underage over last number of years so Graig should be making a mark in this championship this year but no guarantees at Junior level obviously, this could go to extra time but if I had to put my neck on the block Slievrue might shade it.

Post edited by kentu on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

4 All stars nominated

Huw Lawlor,

David Blanchfield

Cian Kenny

John Donnelly

Hard to see any of them being picked over the finalists or Limerick lads Donnelly probably has the best shot.

I could be wrong but i'd say it's a long time since Murphy or TJ weren't nominated for an All Star.

2013 I’d say last time Tj wasn’t nominated I’m guessing

at risk of pissing off some posters Dicksboro bet young Irelands today in the minor A semifinal by 8pts.they await either the village or Erin’s own in the other semifinal tomorrow.

Noscoreboard operating out here in Dunmore for village v Erin’s own match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭larrya

If you think that’s bad no referee showed up for an u14 championship semi final in ballyhale this morning.

Village won by fifteen points. Not taking anything away from the Village but Erin’s own were so poor.without mentioning names one comer chap was so poor, I was then told he was on the minor panel o holy mother of god. All the village lads were good, needless to say but one comer chap stood out out for me.Alec Kerr.