Meath GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭rpurfield

I didn't get up on Saturday so I can't really comment on the game, but I think at the start of the league 6 points at this stage would've been about what we all expected really. I'd agree that we aren't ready for Division 1 yet but given the amount of players still injured off last years Tailteann team its certainly progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,189 ✭✭✭Dickie10

delighted with that perfermonance on saturday night, maybe we bigged cavan up to much or maybe for once meath went down to breffni park with a chip on their shoulder instead of cavan having the point to prove when meath come to town. i think the incovering of the 1965 stat might have got meath team into a different mind set and the bookies and scribes and pharrisses writing them off may have had them up for it or maybe the have found the bit of grit and meaness needed. the next trip down to breffni id say they will really be gunning for erasing that stat. i think we can open up cork in 2 weeks and get the win, id love to see us go to ballybofey at full stregth and really target the win. donegal will probabaly field a weakened team as it will be a dead rubber for both but id love to see us go for a win with full stretgh team, this young team needs that self belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Davy Rispin from We Are Meath had comments up that a League game was abandoned last night between Castletown and Drumbaragh due to an altercation between non playing club members. What happened there lads does anyone know?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Jaysus what on Earth was that end to the game. Hope it was just a case of the game being won but it doesn't bode well for next week if we've conceded 21 points to Longford.

Paul Shankey managed Waterford to their first championship win in 14 years against Tipperary today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Given that the(supposed) lineup for Sunday has just been announced with Shane Walsh on it, any word on whether it was just a rumour that he has broken his foot?!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Was a mildly competitive first half and we'd likely have been close to level at half time were it not for some baffling refereeing decisions. But we were destroyed on our own kickouts in the second half and the few times we did actually win possession, more often than not, we stupidly coughed it up leading to an easy score. Case in point was the third goal when Caulfield did brilliantly to stop a goal chance and win the ball back, then we give the ball away on our own 45 with Hogan out of position.

Long break to the group stages now. Only chance is if we manage a lucky draw and get the Munster or Leinster runners up in our group and scrape third spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Biggest talking point yesterday was the crowd. Might be the first year where the same fixture for womens gets a bigger crowd than the mens.

Once the first goal went in, that was it - not because of the score line but because of how easy it was for Dublin to score.

Interestingly - Meath had more possession, it was the only strategy that seemed to work yesterday = Meath passing the ball around the middle of the pitch as a way to stop Dublin scoring. As soon as anyone got a rush of blood and tried to pick out a corner forward, that was it, turnover and Dublin score 30 seconds later.

Thought the goalkeeper was excellent.

Had a game postponed last night late in the day so I got to watch the U20s. I thought they were excellent, defensively very sound especially. Eamonn Armstrong was superb and he would only be 18, he was the minor captain last year. I know we haven't had much to be excited about lately but I think this 20s team is something to get us excited. The fact some of them have another year or two at U20s too is a good sign as its not basically the 2021 Minors moved up.

U20 final on tonight against Louth in Parnell Park at 7:30pm. Would be a first title at this age level since 2001 if we're victorious.

The draw for the All Ireland group stages takes place tomorrow at 3pm. Worst case scenario leaves us with Kerry/Dublin, loser of the Connacht/Ulster final and Derry. Best case, you feel, would be Ulster/Connacht winners (who may beat us by less than Kerry/Dublin), Clare/Louth, Roscommon/Monaghan. Would like to get a bit of luck and have at least one winnable game rather than getting hockeyed each game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭snowgal

yea we'll see what the draw brings tomorrow afternoon. Its strange one, as Ive no excitement for it because you know from the Dub game where we're at so we're not going to make finals or anything. but, at the same time, the games will be good for the lads and hopefully bring them on again for next year. itll be interesting to see the attendances, as some of the regulars with me have decided theyre done paying money for this year…..

A nice away trip and a good team in Navan would be great. And hopefully the neutral venue game not in Croker!

Nice performance from the U20s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭rrs

Was Sean Emmanuel involved with the U20s this year? He looked decent on the Minor winning team in 21

Excellent performance, second half particularly. Éamonn Armstrong was incredible throughout. He has some engine on him, up and down the pitch for 60+ minutes and chipping in with 1-3 from half back. Jamie Murphy was equally excellent. His last point with the outside of the right boot was pure class.

Great that the successful minor team has carried the form through to the next level. Too often we've fallen flat at u20/21 level after excelling at minor level.

On the bench. rpurfield can probably confirm but I think he's still U20 next year as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭rrs

Armstrong had a brilliant game and probaly one of the youngest players on the field. Minor last year.

Hammer I'm pretty sure Sean is in his last year of U20, he was over age when 20s moved to 19s in the county last year. Great display last night, obviously biased but Jamie Murphy is a talent. He slotted right in with our first team last year as one of the better players, great to see him perform on the big stage like that. Eamonn Armstrong is unreal too, I reffed him at minor and 19s last year and thought he was good but I honestly think he's gone up a level too. He has an incredible engine on him.

Kerry, Louth & Monaghan (assuming no shocks in the Munster and Leinster finals).

Outside chance at second and a great chance of at least getting third.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭enricoh

Never thought I'd see the day we get a decent draw. Our penance for 2010 must be over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

From 2013 to 2018, every time we could draw Tyrone, we did. Our run in 2019 was pleasant enough though; Offaly, Carlow, Laois in Leinster, before the inevitable hammering from Dublin, but then drawing Clare in the qualifiers.

A good draw for Meath this time. It's amusing seeing people trying to straddle two stools of simultaneously claiming Louth will be heavy favourites against us, but they're are also confident that we can compete with Kerry.

Yeah its a decent draw, I wonder will Louth now nominate somewhere else as the home venue or will we get two games in Navan. I'm a little bit disappointed we didn't get an away with a bit of decent travel though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Anyone hear any reports of a challenge between Meath & Cavan the other evening? I’m hearing Meath won but it was a heavily biased Meath man told me that!!

How the f@#k did we manage to lose that? Hard to believe the misses at the end there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭snowgal

heartbreaking for the u20s at the weekend, but we had so so many chances to draw and even win…hopefully we'll see a good crop of them coming through in the next few years…. anyone know when the dates and times will be announced for our games? I presume Louth will go with Iniskeen pitch? wonder will there be a struggle for tickets. Im looking at the gaa 3 for €50 offer at the mo..

U20s game was infuriating. But like at times with the seniors, we went too long at times between scores.

The ladies game was extremely disappointing. I thought that we'd put it up to Dublin given the number of changes compared to the previous week but we've evidently fallen far back in the pecking order.

Weird choice to play the Louth game in Inniskeen but it is Louth's choice I suppose. I'd say it'll likely be a sell out. Never been to Inniskeen but if it's anything like Scotstown where Monaghan used to play at times, the traffic is going to be an absolute disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭dobman88

Having gone to Kerry league games in Inniskeen, the stewards are top class. They divert you away from the village and have parking along the road near the pitch, operating a 1 way system, (bar the odd gobsh!te) and then after you just go through the village.

Its a great system that works well when the alternative would be complete chaos.

Happy to see Kerry playing in Navan too. Will be great having our away game on up the road.

After seeing Kerry run through Monaghan next week could be best watched behind the couch. Will O'Rourke stay in for the third year ye reckon? Will it make any odds?!

I'm beyond caring anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

It doesn't matter. You could put pep guardiola in charge of Meath. As long as we're competing in Leinster against Dublin you'll never get a group of young lads to stick around or give it their all.

Any young lad coming through now was 4 when we last beat them and you'd have to be at least 27 to remember 2001. We're finished unless they take Dublin out of Leinster and let the province recover.

I have to say I'm happy for Louth. At least they've something worth celebrating beating us.

Just be thankful we enjoyed the good old day's before the GAA grovelled at Dublin's feet.

Despite the result, massive respect to Matthew Costello who played yesterday despite his father passing away earlier in the morning.

I was in two minds about heading up as I knew it would be hassle for tickets etc then got asked to referee one of the LGFA league finals yesterday evening and that made my mind up for me. Yeah we're miles off Dublin, Kerry etc but there seems to be no progress from last year at all. I would have us a bit behind Louth in terms of development but not ten points behind. I really thought there'd be progress from last year but there isn't really its more of the same. The issue is much deeper rooted than the management or squad as its been like this for probably 12/13 years now. The most frustrating thing is the've had 5 weeks since the Dublin game, there was certainly a chance for finishing 2nd to Kerry in the group and the display yesterday is the response.