Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 Cavan_King
    ✭✭✭

Any word on Jordy Morris transferring back into Meath football? I was told at Cavan game last night he was told by Robbie Brennan if he’s playing for Meath, he’s to play Meath club football and hence is going to Wolfe Tones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 snowgal
    ✭✭✭

made the trip down to Cork yesterday. There were some positives and obviously with the result, some negatives. . Menton, Keoghan and Flynn played well though Flynns shots were way off! When Ronan Jones came on he made a huge difference. Back line as a whole were easily opened up though as per 2 cork goals…. We also had so many missed chances but I was still glad to see lads giving it a go, unlike last year when they seemed to be petrified to shoot. Will take a few games to get into the new rules. Midfield did fairly well, great to see much high catching from both sides. We’d want to be beating Cavan next week. was extremely hard to see the 40m arch in Cork, they need to fix that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 Dickie10
    ✭✭✭

i think if we lose to cavan we will be relegated. i cant see us beating either monaghon or roscommon, the three wins id target is cavan at home, westmeath away and down away really i see us losing one of that three. maybe louth will repeat what they did in 2012 and relegate us on final day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 windy shepard henderson
    ✭✭✭

personally the new rules is what meath football has been waiting for, for the past 20 years , look at the club championship for example and see how open it is , 19 points away to anyone is good scoring and eoin fryene is flying it in sigerson and the new rules , the more open the football the more it suits ye

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,553 Hammer Archer
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Good performance and good result, particularly without Costello. First time seeing the new rules in play and based on the scorelines today, they will do a huge amount to increase entertainment value.

Thought Flynn and Jones were excellent in the middle of the pitch. However, all three of the goals had elements of fortune about them (though the first was an excellent finish to capitalise on a Cavan mistake). And Cavan were utterly atrocious but we still conceded 20 points, so still a lot to work on.

But unlike for lots of last season, we seemed to actually have a plan going forward and we didn't seem petrified to take on a shot. In 7 games in the league last season, we scored 86 points while we're already well over halfway to that total (under different rules admittedly) this season.

Big test in Newry in two weeks time after their comeback today. Both teams will think that a win would leave them with an outside shot at promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 pipelaser
    ✭✭✭

Very positive stuff all round(even from the Cork game). I think avoiding injury in the last of the Sigerson games to the likes of Jordan Morris and the guys pushing for places is key to keeping this momentum, long range kicking replacements in particular needed for chasing two pointers at the end of games.

That beeing said, what is the story with Moriarty? Just not figuring in the squad? And Jack O'Connor, had he some sort of injury? Was convinced he would throve under the new rules, but is not on the panel as far as i can see.

Mod ✭✭✭✭

Excellent result last night. We really seem to have taken to the new rules. Am actually starting to feel a bit of optimism the way things are going. 3 games with 20+ points on the board and 75 points in total (even with injuries). In 7 games last year, albeit under the old rules, we only managed 86 points.

Home against Roscommon next week who are the only team left with a 100% record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 Technophobe
    ✭✭✭

Yes encouraging signs for sure and enjoyable watch in Newry last saturday evening…

Roscommon are probably a level above though in terms of where they are development wise, so hopefully we give a good account of ourselves…

Mod ✭✭✭✭

Another excellent performance and result. Really impressive how we put the game to bed in the 15 minute spell after the goals. Optimism really starting to build now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 rpurfield
    ✭✭✭

Finally got to a match yesterday and its great to see the improvement in the team. I thought the patience in the first half in particular was excellent, it was probably the key to winning the match. There was a few long spells where the ball was kept instead of doing something rash and turning it over, which playing into the wind was good.

Keogan and Jones were excellent, I just hope the Jones injury isn't bad. Probably unfair to pick the two lads out as there was a good few brilliant performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 enricoh
    ✭✭✭

Endured maybe 20 ads on the Rte player to watch the Sunday game to catch the meath match highlights - there were none! Fair play to tg4 - first match on programme , at least 5 minutes

Mod ✭✭✭✭

Any idea if Mullingar allow kids onto the pitch at half time like in Navan? Was hoping to make the trip but as I'm heading to the Leinster game on Saturday, the missus will likely only allow it if I bring the kids with me.

Mod ✭✭✭✭

Goal with the last kick of the game to beat Westmeath! It's early 2000s all over again!

✭✭✭

Played brutal, rode all match by the ref n go home with the win - I'll take it!

Mod ✭✭✭✭

Was very worried about this match. Was the first game that we went into as massive favourites and we weren't at the races for most of it. In previous years, we would have lost that. Less said about the referee, the better.

Two week break before what will likely be a winner takes all game at home to Monaghan. Hopefully no more injuries. Definitely missed Jones today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 dobman88
    ✭✭✭

If any season ticket holder can't make the Monaghan game, I'll give the ticket a good home. Would be much appreciated. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 snowgal
    ✭✭✭

really enjoyed that game, had a nostalgic good days feel! the ref as said above, unbelievable decisions… absolutely should not be reffing senior football….we played fairly shite and still won which to me is huge, as last 8 years or so weve simply folded and youd see it from the lads body language on the pitch. there is a fight back which is the first thing I wanted to see. confidence is growing and its great to see the supporters coming out of the woodwork again. Anyone know what exactly the story is with Jones? looked like hamstring that day…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 dobman88
    ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 vapor trails
    ✭✭

I was surprised to see Thomas O'Reilly as the man in to replace Jones. He never really did it for me in a Meath Jersey. I still inclined to put Costello in for Walsh at 14 rather than move him out. The dark horse still in the Meath squad with good upside is Ruairi Kinsella but not sure where he's gone. Conor Gray to 9 and move Menton to 10 is another option. Harkin to 7 and Caulfield to 10 (he plays a lot on the half forward line for Trim). Any other suggestions?

Mod ✭✭✭✭

RIP Brendan Cummins. A staple of any Meath games on LMFM for god knows how long.

Could hear the passion in his commentating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 rpurfield
    ✭✭✭

RIP Brendan, fitting that he was still on the commentary for Dunsany's win last October.

✭✭✭

Second rate for most of thàt, game over by half time. A lot of poor wides in the second half didn't help. I see Roscommon lost as well -do they go up next week if they win?

Will supporters be segregated against louth next week - it could be bitter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 piplip87
    ✭✭✭

If two teams are tied then it's head to head. If its 3 its score difference.

Mod ✭✭✭✭

That was a horror show after 10 minutes of the first half. Just way too loose in defence and were absolutely cleaned out at midfield means we've tanked our points difference. Really struggling with the injuries we've sustained. Jones particularly is a massive loss.

Monaghan, to be fair to them, looked excellent. The new rules have suited us but they're on another level.

Probably way too early for this team to go up. But if we win next weekend and at least one of Cavan and Roscommon lose, then we're up. You'd hope that we'll have learned lessons from this game.

What's the story with the league placings for the All Ireland group stage? Cannot for the life of me get my head around it but if we lose next week and Cavan, Roscommon and Cork all win, we finish fifth. Are we potentially in danger in that case?

Edit: Never mind, Cavan and Cork play each other so fourth looks like the lowest we could finish unless we get absolutely hockeyed next week.

Post edited by Hammer Archer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 vapor trails
    ✭✭

It was a disappointing result. We never really kicked enough 2 points between the 35th - and 60th minute and looked slow versus a very speedy Monaghan team. People were saying the change of rules during the week taking Beggan out would affect them, but instead, their pace and ability to beat a man is a huge strength in the latest rules with the further removal of Piggy in the middle.

Positives/Outlook: Ruairi Kinsella had another nice appearance off the bench (2 x 2pts, Kicked a lovely pass to Lynch, I think it was at one stage and also snaffled some breaking ball in midfield) I'd be willing to give him a go now at 10. I think Menton has shown his age in the last couple of games and I'd be resting him. Not sure if Conor Gray is the answer and he's been missing a while now. The latest version of the rules suit lads with pace and can beat a man. Perfect for Costello, but I don't think we'll see him now till the championship. Walsh I feel like he's caught in no mans land at the moment. He's not fast enough for us to cause any problems on the counter and I don't see enough of him in general throughout the game.

For Louth I'd go:

1. Hogan
    2. Lavin
    3. Rafferty
    4. Keoghan
    5. Harkin
    6. O'Neill
    7. Caufield
    8. Flynn
    9. Kinlough
    10. Duke
    11. Kinsella
    12. Scully
    13. Morris
    14. Walsh
    15. Frayne

Championship I'd go:

• 1. Hogan
    • 2. Lavin
    • 3. Rafferty
    • 4. Keoghan
    • 5. Harkin
    • 6. Coffey
    • 7. Caufield
    • 8. Flynn
    • 9. Kinlough
    • 10. Duke
    • 11. Kinsella
    • 12. Jones
    • 13. Morris
    • 14. Costello
    • 15. Frayne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 This is it
    ✭✭✭

Will have to turn this off…

Mod ✭✭✭✭

Another dreadful first half kills us. Some of the balls dropped into the keeper were infuriating. I can understand 40-45 metre shots against the wind occasionally dropping short, but these were 20-25m shots just passed to the keeper. Morris' injury (bizarrely, I thought, not given as a foul) was just the icing on the cake. No way he's back this season.

A win would have sent us up with the other results. Overall it's been a positive league campaign. I think we all would have taken 8 points before the start but the last two games have given the optimism a bit of a hit. The loss of Jones and Coffey really hit us hard. We haven't performed since they both have been out.

You'd expect us to beat Carlow and I'd hope we'd have enough for Offaly. All I'm looking for after that is a decent performance against Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 rolling boh
    ✭✭✭

Thought you might actually go up today so think it was a chanced missed with you having the two frontrunner in the division at home ,might not have that next year .Didn't see what happened to the lad carried off but hopefully he is OK, never nice to see somebody stretchered off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 manofwisdom
    ✭✭✭

Were Motoring well but what happened to Meath senior footballers in their last two games whereby both contests was lost by half time?

Mod ✭✭✭✭

A combination of naivety against strong winds in both first halves, a buildup of injuries to key players (midfield particularly) and, in the game against Louth, wayward shooting.

Good result for the U20s this evening, a four point win against Dublin. Looking at the setup of the U20 championship, it doesn't really matter who comes first or second in our group as both will play the runners up of another group in the quarter finals. The winners of the other two groups (one of which is a three team group) get a bye into the semi finals.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.