Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Site is a graveyard - How can boards save itself? [Threadbanned users in 1st post]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

What was the unforgiveable comment about the mayo jersey?

We can't have anything bad said about that sacred green and red shroud that drapes the body of at least one pastey-legged man attending every landmark in the world.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

That was very clearly humour.

Are some people just looking to be offended now?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,818 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Moderator:

You are permanently banned from posting in this discussion again.

-Shield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

Given what that particular man is doing at the moment (standing on the sideline eating ice cream) whilst sending weapons to slaughter innocent Palestinians and journalists calling him sleepy Joe is very mild indeed. It does seem to be a constant theme on CA though where you can say what you want about Trump which i'd wholeheartedly agree with but don't dare be critical of Biden or you'll be banned. Bizarre stuff really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,640 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

That's not the point. I see Trump name calling all the time and as iv'e said he deserves it and iv'e no problem with it but when a poster puts up a sleepy Joe comment which is very mild in the grand scale of things it's treated in a completely different manner. It's double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Please ban me permanently and put me out of my misery, this is a complete joke and it's sad to see the site go in the direction it's going, whoever owns it needs wake up and take note of this thread and seriously review their moderators. Bye bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,375 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

iirc it wasn't just done for that reason. The thread was supposed to be about discussing the Biden presidency, policies, actions etc and which was getting derailed by posters peddling rumours about Biden's health etc.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

The best advice I got was from Big Bag of Chips after I started posting was "read the charter" - it was invaluable to be honest; there were things I might have thought were ok that aren't, best advice for anyone posting I would think.

As an aside - there was a vile post made to me yesterday and I reported it; not long after there was a note added by a Moderator that a warning had been applied. Great to see that horrible things are taken on board and unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Patrick Mahomes

What I have noticed in a couple of forums is that and I except that it’s very hard to be independent at times we all have our own view points on things is that a few and I say only a few moderators have created an echo chamber in those forums of their own personal views and posters that see opposite or even slightly different views are considered to be trolling. As a poster that has coming and gone from Boards over the years there is less and less middle ground anymore now the slightest of slight is considered the end of the world. The moderation standards have dropped just as much as the posting standards has. I sure the Admins, C-Mods & mods would disagree at their standards have dropped.

Regards,

P.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,818 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Moderator:

For the record only, this user was given two separate sanctions on his account. That’s two attempts for him to rehabilitate his behaviour on Boards. One was a 1-point warning, the other was a 2-point infraction, and this is now another 2-point infraction for disobeying his thread ban. He is now permanently banned from Feedback, and because he has received 5 points on his account, he has received an automated temporary site ban.

-Shield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Please explain to me how Biden's health is not a major factor in any one of "Biden Presidency, policies, actions"? Seems majorly on topic to me.

The site moderation has a weirdly America-centric vibe about it, with comments getting deleted that irish people, in general, couldn't give two tosses about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,375 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I've given the context for the decision, which is self-explanatory as to how it would derail the thread, especially when stuff was being dumped in drive by trolling. The use of the 'sleepy Joe' being a sure sign of that. It does not indicate someone seriously discussing the Presidency.

If you want to discuss a specific moderator action further, take it up with them.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Moderator:

Some posts deleted. Please keep this on topic.

Thanks.

-Shield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

Without commenting on the above - a genuine question, is there a difference between a warning, and an infraction?

Is there a higher scale than a 2?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,938 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

0 point warning is basically a Mod telling you to cop on a bit/wind your neck in/don't post like that again etc - i.e. not a 1 point ( old Yellow) but it could well be the next time.

1 point warning - is a Warning ( old Yellow) Lasts 1 week

2 point warning - is an infraction ( old Red) lasts 2 weeks- given if the post is very abusive in nature/repeatedly given 1 point warnings but persists etc

If you get 5 active points you are automatically sitebanned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭TokTik

it would be good if this was more publicised. I got a siteban recently, didn’t know anything about it until I tried to log in and got a message stating that my account was temporarily banned. No indication as to how long, no way of seeing why, nothing. Just had to keep trying to log in intermittently until it was finally up and I was free to post again.

it’s a bit convoluted and confusing but basically

When you get 5 (or more) points the siteban will kick in and expires once your “active” points go away. I think it depends on when the oldest warning was issued how long it takes. Beasty had a really good explanation somewhere but yes it should be made a sticky in help desk or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Not meaning to sound smart, but where is Beasty? Not like him to not contribute to a thread like this. We’re all out for the same thing here, the betterment and improvements that can be made to the site.

Surely Beasty has some contribution to make?

Beasty gets a lot of hate from certain quarters so why would he be here opening himself up to more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

One question I have is if a post is flagged against a mod who is not a moderator on the forum they are posting in do they have the ability to remove the report?

I know mods have full visibility of all reported posts across all forums just wondering is there something in place on the new platform to prevent this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

I agree that he gets a lot of hate, and it’s totally unwarranted. But considering what is being discussed I just would’ve thought he’d have a thing or two to say.

I suppose he’s reading the thread, and maybe passing his suggestions onto the others.

Like I said, I’m not trying to be smart or cause any issue, was just wondering.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 26,064 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

No, that's not possible. Mods and cmods simply don't have permissions to remove the report. And either way, there's also the email notification that's auto generated for the report too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

They cannot do this. Even if it were possible, if any mod ever did this they would be immediately removed as a mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

What about where a mod gets thread banned on a thread they started or were posting in. Its happened there recently and it really was not that mods finest hour.

Is there an investigation into this or process for self reflection/learning?

Its not a good example of the traits required of a mod or what's expected of members. I would assume mods must show balance, moderation, level headed, impartiality to some degree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

If people think Boards modding is bad, and it is in many ways then try reddit, they have some state of the art AI that detects people who have been banned and even if you register under a different name or email address it finds you and your account gets closed again, a ban on redit is now permanent, very scary stuff to be honest. Not even a VPN saves you on Reddit if you get banned.

The R/Ireland subreddit is the most obnoxious liberal feminist shower of scum and say anything at all and you're reported and it's always hate speech because someone can't deal with hearing something they don't want to hear. This is what bugs me the most, people having others banned because they only want themselves being heard.

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Outside of the forums they moderate mods are treated the same as normal users.

Yes, we expect mods to set an example, but everyone makes mistakes, everyone can get a bit riled up sometimes, getting the odd infraction or thread ban isn't going to see them removed as a mod (unless it was something particularly bad). They are still human at the end of the day.

But if there was a pattern of getting infractions then yes, it would be looked at, and they could be de-modded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

"This is what bugs me the most, people having others banned because they only want themselves being heard."

There's a fair amount of that here too and it's easy enough to spot the cliques. The ruination of any honest & open discussion & site. It's seemingly permitted and facilitated though. A sort of self imposed 'hate speech' arrangement. What's the saying - 'None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are freed '

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Yes it happens a lot here and I was banned from a thread for mentioning this before that's how ridiculous it can be.

The double standards on boards is incredible, it's usually the liberals who try to shut down speech, this is why Musk took over twitter, to make it more open and honest because it was controlled by liberals and would shut down speech if they didn't agree with it, same on most platforms, Google, Apple etc. They remove content all the time they don't agree with.

Mods of particular threads should be impartial, non biased, should allow free discussion but this is not the case, they frequently ban people on Boards for just saying things that go against what maybe others think and it's as simple as this, the mods are usually the biased ones who agree with the topic, for example, in the motors section, talk about electric cars get banned, in the EV section, highlight anything the shows electric cars in a negative way in any way shape or form = ban. This is wrong and people need to learn to listen and not shut down others. This is what is going to happen in the hate speech laws too, allow minorities to dictate and rule the majority, this is wrong.

boards.ie is declining and it won't be here in 10 years as this form of communication is ancient and only appeals to the 30's + the 20's are all on instant gratification platforms shuch as youtube shorts, tiktok and instagram, there's probably others.

I got banned from one of the EV threads simply for posting an article about the damage lithium mining is doing.

I created a new thread in the EV section about the concerns of lithium mining and why don't we destroy our own land to get lithium is electric cars are so environmentally friendly ? there is lithium around mount leinster and cobalt in the south west but guess what ? the whole thread disappeared, boards.ie mods simply should not have this level of power.