Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky Stream has arrived in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭fman

Well you can access and control recordings from the mini but all the real work is done on the main box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,004 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

They’re a good bit bigger than the pucks, closer to the Q than the Sky Stream pucks I’d say.

I just got mine installed over the last few days, I’ve had Sky Q before but first time having multi room. It seems like it works on its own mesh network. It can record, watch recordings, on demand, and basically most things the main box can do but it relies on the main Q box to get anything done.

I’ve been having a bit of trouble getting mine to play nice with my Eero set up. I’ve resigned myself to moving one of my Eeros to the sitting room and connecting with Ethernet to get it to stop dropping the connection to both the internet and the mini until I figure it out.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

They are not Sky Stream pucks. They can’t work independently of a Sky Q satellite receiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭KildareP

Yes the Sky Q main box, minis and, if you have Sky Broadband the modem, create an 80MHz wide mesh network across all four WiFi channels 36, 40, 44 and 48 and distribute video from the main Sky Q boxes through it.

Make sure your own WiFi system is configured not to use any of those channels and you should be plain sailing.

Also from past experience, either wire all of the Sky Q boxes and disable their on box wifi or leave them all to use their own WiFi mesh. Don't mix and match ethernet and WiFi with each of the boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭brady12

For those that have had Q and stream what are the negatives of Q compared to stream ? Interface seems better on stream to me ? I was talking to sky about switching to Q and they also telling me Glass will be able to properly record soon .

• Administrators Posts: 55,060 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The negatives of Q is that it needs a dish installed and the Q miniboxes can't do UHD.

Other than that, in terms of offering Q is probably still a bit better than Stream, with the big gap being around recording.

Stream does appear to be cheaper than Q though.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

I would believe the bit about Stream having “proper recording”, which I would define as being able to record any programme on any channel, with little or no restrictions, when I see it. The boxes have no HDD. No other platform that has moved to cloud recording has been able to offer it without restrictions.

There is less channels, though the difference is down to not having access to some FTA channels that only pay Sky for an EPG listing rather than any difference in the package you pay Sky for. It has to be appreciated that what you are buying here is essentially a cable TV package, not a satellite receiver that can access FTA stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,751 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Great to know that Sky is protecting the family from dangerous content, like eh, The Simpsons.

IMG_4890.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭fman

Probably better pin protected rather than the crude cuts they used to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,526 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

The full multi room UHD pack I priced for sky Q was €110 per month compared to €80 per month on sky stream

Time is contagious, everybody is getting old.

Yea if I switched from Sky Q to Sky Stream I'd save about 60 a month (though this price was based on new customer discounts, not sure if they'd offer it to me), however I don't think I'm ready to trust Stream yet and we make extensive use of the recording feature, in particular for BBC stuff.

My wife records a lot of Masterchef / Great British Menu and I'm not sure that's available on the limited iPlayer offering you get on Stream here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Good few Masterchef episodes available on Stream

IMG_4897.jpeg

On another note, is the Sky Stream delay the same as Now TV when watching live sports? As in it runs about 1 minute behind satellite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Doomofman

Can't really speak in comparison to satellite but it's definitely behind (seems comparable to Now). I had to get used to turning off goal notifications and avoiding social media when watching sports so I don't get spoiled

A good example actually is that if I put on say Sky Main Event on the Stream and also load it up on the PC using Sky's player, the two line up almost perfectly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Butson

I know one of the main benefits of Stream vs Q is being able to move the Puck around your house and plug into different TVs.

Has anybody used their puck in a different location altogether? Guy from Sky said he thought it may be linked to I.P address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭Schorpio

If you don't have Sky broadband, then it can't be linked to your IP address. IP addresses are usually not static (i.e. the IP address assigned to a customer changes periodically). Sky would not be able to account for this. So you should be able to move it around. It is probably geoblocked, so you would still need to be within the country.

If you are also a Sky broadband customer, they could (in theory) check that you are on one of their own IP addresses. I think this is unlikely though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭speedbird834

I've got Sky Stream now and I'm more impressed than I thought I'd be - so far anything I've added to my playlist is available to watch - primarily programmes on BBC, Channel4, National Geo, Sky channels, RTE

One gripe is RTE programmes on the playlist - it takes you to the RTE Player (yuk) and is not as seamless as the playing back other content

Do me a favour please? Check episode 7 of Love and Death on the RTE Player please. Does the final third, the grand finale with the verdict, play normally for you on Sky Stream? It wouldn't work for me.

Can I get this whole multi room UHD pack set up and cancel after a week if it's not suitable?

Vigil on BBC1 not available on Watch From Start or the player, for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,218 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Can I ask if anyone has gone from NowTV to Sky Stream what they think of the difference, is it worth the extra? Primarily I'd be interested in better picture during sport broadcasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭JDxtra

There should be no difference between Now TV (with Boost) and Sky Stream (standard). If a sport is broadcast in UHD, and you pay the extra for this service on Sky Stream - then yes, there will be a noticable difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭SK1979

Anecdotally I think the picture does look better on sports. For example premier sports appears a lot sharper. I’m not doing a like for like comparison though as I’ve switched BB to Sky also…

One thing that has improved hugely is the delay between watching on Sky Stream compared to Now. You can actually still have your phone in your hand without worrying about seeing updates on scores etc.

So far we seem to be getting on well with it. I was worried about the recording but herself hasn’t complained too much yet… One thing that seems to happen is that it takes a few hours (maybe even the next day) before a recording can be watched without ads. Bit annoying if you are trying to watch something an hour after it finishes. Not sure if this is all stations but was happening with Virgin anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭KildareP

Made the move here during Black Friday deals.

Now TV is really only Sky's channels, whereas Stream is a full TV platform with RTÉ, Virgin, BBC, etc. We got it primarily because we moved our TV to where there was no easy way of discreetly running cables for our FTA setup but we still wanted broadcast TV.

Now with Boost and Stream may well share the same backend streams - bitrate is between 7-8Mb for both platforms on live TV.

On demand definitely is different - Now TV has no ads in on demand programming whereas Stream does which is incredibly annoying since we were used to ad-free viewing.

With Stream you're tied to the entertainment package in order to be able to get Sports or Movies - but also includes Netflix Basic (€8.99/month) and Discovery+ (€4.99/month) in your subscription cost which may or may not be of interest.

On the other hand, Kids is included with Now Entertainment whereas it's €10 extra a month on Stream.

In short - unless you specifically want UHD, and you're just looking for Sports or Movies on their own, stick with Now TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,218 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Yes I just find picture quality with NowTV with Boost poor compared to other providers like SSport for watching a live sport event. I am watching via a Firestick but if I am watching say a boxset of Sopranos the quality is great so it's not the connection or the stick where the issue is.

Thanks, comprehensive review, I think I will stick to Now for the moment.

I've just ordered the full UHD sports pack which I know I'll absolutely love! Big test is if the wife is happy with the catch up option for the likes of love island/i'm a celebrity shite as she rarely watches live tv. I've 14 days trial on it so fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Doomofman

Anyone have issues with their controller regularly disconnecting? Feels like almost every day when I turn it on now the remote has to be reconnected and even that can take several attempts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭feargantae

Do Sky offer Stream with 1Gb broadband? Seems to only be 500Mb offered for €60/m (€35bb+€25stream).

Also to anyone using Turkish Netflix from Bargain Alerts how does that work with billing as it seems as soon as you log into Netflix on Stream then Sky take over billing

I use my Netflix through the app on the tv so I won't be changing anything over. I'll take the free basic Netflix with the sky stream but I won't be connecting my own 4k account to it. I'm not risking losing my cheap Netflix!