Everything you always wanted to know about electric vehicle (but were afraid to ask)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

7 year old leaf with 86% SOH wouldn’t be deplorable IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭smax71

Not bad at all but some of the earlier, pre 2014 in particular, had a reputation for sufferring from very significant degradation. In any case even at 100% SOH they only had a realistic range of about 120 to 150kms max and less if you tried to go at 120kms when they almost had a cardiac arrest. Fine if you're paying €10 k for a runaround but compared very poorly to the newer Ioniq or Kona. The L30s very very poor in general also. Not unusual to see them at mid 70%s soh even after the software update which I think was a clever ruse by Nissan to mask the known degradation problem and stave off warranty claims

Probably driven also by the view that the M3s could at worst be flipped at no depn and possibly sold on at a profit. Unlike was previously the experience with cars, Teslas almost became an investment opportunity, that is until Tesla took the wind out of the sails by cutting prices of new cars

The Fluence was a Leaf with a bigger backside, commonly with leased batteries and no fast charging so no wonder it wasnt that popular either new or used

Should have added a couple of 🤣 after that particularly unkind comment🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,136 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Yes the lack of fast charging didn't help. Some pioneers got a Leaf as their only or main family car and you simply couldn't do that with the Fluence. Also the hefty battery lease took most of the fuel savings gains away. Back in 2011 / 2012 it was pretty much torture to own any EV unless you had one as a second car. Then they were fine. Tesla changed all that with long distance EVs and others (slowly) followed. Fast forward a decade and now the older Leaf and Fluence are perfect second cars for many families, even with their battery degradation and short range. You mention only bad things about the Fluence but some good things are it is very big (3 adults or child seats fit in the back, extremely comfortable to be in and to drive it and of course, it's not horrendously ugly like all other EVs of that generation 😂

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

Tech wise there's very little difference between a 2022 3 vs a 2023 Y. It's more about size and space for people with kids, buggies etc...

One of the joys of a Tesla is the constant improvements on features and UI, these are common to all the cars so a 2019 3 feels very similar to a 2023 Y. As opposed to a legacy manufacturer that one year has a tape deck and the next has wireless android auto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,136 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Indeed. I bought my first Tesla when it was over 5 years old. One thing I was a bit disappointed about is that it didn't have a way to disable traction control. The car was a performance model, and I'm a bit of a child sometimes. Well, that's my excuse anyway.

Until a week later, after an over the air software update, my old car all of a sudden did have an option to switch off traction control! 😮

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭bootser

Hi Rodney, Can I point you to my post here:https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057599743/for-sale-wanted-cars-parts-etc post2167. My current commute is 65km each way on N roads. I can make it to and from work comfortably, usually charge at work for free then drive home and back and do the same again! Only changing to get into a slightly longer range 38Kwh model for my days off as whenever I'm at home its the run around aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Sabre Man

In this video, Inge takes a very quick look at the Route Variants feature of a 2020 Kia Soul, which gives a surprising result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,441 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Is there any website that tells you the battery size for all the current phevs on the market?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭kanuseeme

I use autotrader, choose plug in hybrid in fuel section, then make, model, year etc, then find the car, click specification, it shows battery size, usable amount and range. It used to give charging times,

About a year ago, Inge made a video about charge points that were supposed to be in Killarney National Park, which he couldn't find no matter how hard he tried. 

Inge visited the park again last weekend and is happy to report that at least one charge point is being installed.

Athlone Towncentre got new chargers recently, but they are no longer free to use. They are supplied by Danish company Monta and if you want to use them you need to scan a QR code or download the Monta app. €0.36 per kWh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭horse7

I know ev parking is free in Waterford when charging,but Wexford is hard to understand after reading into it. Parkopedia do the Wexford area with no contact number, anyone from Wexford got the low down please, Talbot hotel have chargers but I couldn't find out if you have to pay for parking also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭innrain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭horse7

Waterford is free while charging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭capefear

PEUGEOT 208 GT

Hi guys have had access to petrol PEUGEOT 208 GT for a couple of weeks when abroad recently and a nice city car. Herself has taking a liking to it and we are looking at a new car in 2024. Saw they have a electric commercial version and a passenger version. Any one have either.

We don’t do a lot of mileage probably 20-30 km a day city driving and then 150km every second or third weekend. Live in apartment but have access to a charge point at work.

we are looking into see which option is best to get as we can go either commercial route through work or passenger option.

sorry it’s all totally new to us and I’m working back through this thread so apologies if this has been asked earlier.

TIA

In this video Inge tells you how to do a soft and a hard reset (reboot) on a Tesla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭pron

If you have easy, regular access to charging at reasonable rates (or better, free) - go electric all the way :)

The e208 is a grand little yoke, and will easily cover the trips you mention ... you'll probably only want to charge every four or five days anyway ... after a while you get a feel for it, and the occasional fast-charge (at a price) won't break the bank or make much of a dent in the economic argument in favour of the electric version.

edit: Of course, you're asking on an EV section of the forum, so you're going to get EV-positive feedback .. but your scenario would (to me) seem close to ideal (only beaten by easy @home charging availability)

The faster you drive, the more your consumption increases, especially when you do 120 on the motorway. You can reduce your consumption a good bit by slowing down even just a little.

But how much can you save by slowing down a lot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭kanuseeme

I had a giggle at the queue at the petrol station, I wonder was it there the 2nd time you had to stop,

What was the other vehicle you passed driving slower than you?

There was no queue on the way back. Actually, it was the first time I have ever seen a queue there. Sorry but I can't remember the vehicle I passed.

Join us for a day of electric vehicle (EV) excitement at Tramore Valley Park in Cork! Discover the future of sustainable transportation and experience the latest in EV technology, all while enjoying a fun-filled day with your friends and family.

📷 Test Drives: Get behind the wheel of cutting-edge electric vehicles from various manufacturers, with thanks from Keary's Motor Group.

📷 Green Initiatives: Learn about sustainable driving from EV owners and how EVs play a crucial role in reducing carbon emissions.

📷 Information Sessions: Experts will be on hand to answer your questions about EVs, charging infrastructure, and government incentives.

Admission is free, and all are welcome to attend! Whether you're an EV enthusiast or just curious about electric vehicles, this event is a perfect opportunity to learn, have fun, and contribute to a greener, more sustainable future.

Don't miss Tramore Valley EV Day, brought to you by Cork City Council and Kearys Motor Group and the Irish EV Association. See you on November 11th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Casati

Quick question - can you power an EV on a home charger at the same time as powering a heat pump? I have a 16 kVa ESB connection. My heat pump draws a max of 23 amps during start-up and 18 amps running. Also have an MHRV system running 24hr, and obviously during the night I would have all the usual stuff running most people do- fridge, one or two lights on, laptop and phones on charge.

Would like to take advantage of the low rate (i.e 4 hour) night rate. Is this feasible or will it trip out, or only charge the car at a trickle?

No problem at all running those together. If let's say you turn a kettle on at the same time then the charge point will automatically reduce the rate of charge while the kettle is on and then it will increase it again when it's finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Casati

Won't be turning on a kettle in the middle of the night anyway but are you sure? How many Amps will a typical car draw charging do you know - how many can my ESB connection support?

Yes I'm sure, car will draw about 32 amps and your house can take approx 70 amps continuous. You might even have capacity for that late night cup of tea without reducing the charge rate.😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,387 ✭✭✭KCross

Generally it will be fine. You have plenty to spare with the 16kVA connection. I charge two cars, dryer and heat pump all at the same time on a 16kVA connection. No trips yet!

Things like MHRV, fridge, lights etc are miniscule. They wont make any substantial difference.

A charge point will take 32A and your heat pump is 20A, add some background load and you are still well under 60A and you have upto 80A to play with.

The key thing would be to have a change point that has load sensing and if you did happen to turn on a few other devices like a dryer/kettle/etc that the charge point will reduce its load to compensate. What charge point do you have? Does it have load sensing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭joe1303l

Good advice but the charger needs to have load balancing to ramp up and down like this. A basic charger may not be equipped with it but the more expensive ones like Zappi etc. come with it standard.