Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your energy bill like?

• Subscribers Posts: 41,284 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

im starting the next bill cycle with a credit of €183 due to overestimation of my gas usage. it will come in handy

• Registered Users Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭CoBo55

€672, 21/12 to the 24/2 I nearly fainted, higher unit rate of 39.5c started on the 18/1, they're getting higher and higher. I don't know what I'm going to do tbh.. it's extremely stressful 😡 Luckily I don't have gas or I'd be out the door altogether 😡😡

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭RetroEncabulator

Gas bill arrived. I think I'll be wearing a coat from now on!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭appledrop

Ha knew were were lucky with last gas bill at €500, the cold weather Christmas one came in €900!

Thank god the weather has improved and not on as much anymore.

The only saving grace is thankfully our electricity isn't costing us anything with the credit, phew.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭E46Dream

Bungalow, 2 people in house, we're on the smart plan that gives us free Saturdays and the bill just came in at €395. Both out of house for over 8 hours per day and make sure to switch things off.

The electric Ireland website shows us that Heating was our number 1 usage even though we have oil heating and only run electric heaters on the Saturday. Is there by any chance the smart plan expires or they've started charging us for Saturdays?

It should show on the bill how many units were used in each time zone.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,993 ✭✭✭✭zell12

“Kitty is over 100 years old. Her electricity bill with EI from 7 December to 3 February, 59 days, is €957.49 after all subsidies.” He waved Kitty's bill in the Dáil chamber, added: “Her previous bill was €133.42.” She only uses a fridge, washing machine, immersion heater, lighting and two electric heaters on timers -- with no central heating, he said.

No television, radio, freezer, microwave, christmas stuff, etc., in that house. Previous bills must've been estimated

Gerry Clarke, 77, also received a bill this week. His EI charge comes to €1,678.65 – or €1,000 more than his previous bill for €671, with “the one before for €290.”

Grow house alert https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/woman-aged-over-100-shocked-by-electricity-bill-demand-for-nearly-1000-taoiseach-leo-varadkar-is-told-42365482.html

I've just checked and it seems we're not getting charged for the Saturdays at all. Our usage is high on Saturdays but we're not getting charged.

On our last bill "Heating" was number 1 usage, what exactly is under the Heating category? One thing that's strange is our last 3 bills before our previous one had no heating at all on them but this one and previous one do and they're both the largest usage on each bill. We never plug in electric heaters any day other than Saturdays.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,688 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

175 for a month only electricity with 39% discount

I can't help you with that one unfortunately, I'm steadfastly holding on to my 24hr rate @39.5c, as soon as I see a provider with a rate cheaper than that I'll jump. I'd love to have gotten a bill for €395.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭apache

Bord Gais was €147 which was grand as I wasn't home the last few months. I'm €175 in credit with Electric Ireland. I'm expecting the next gas bill to be high. I'm not gonna put off putting on the heating. You need to have your comfort.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,993 ✭✭✭✭zell12

He showed it to someone who specialises in statistics and they estimated that “it’s not the dearest in Europe, it’s the dearest bill for a household in the world”. Mr Clarke contacted “nine TDs” about his most recent bill and the only one who “took up the gauntlet” was Johnny Guirke, of Sinn Féin.

They gave the credits too early, the huge price increase are only starting to bite with people now as they exit their discounted unit rates. Myself and everyone else are jumping to rates that are almost 3 times what we were paying this time last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Just been out to check the mailbox for my bill! Not here yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

6000 units used in last 2 month billing period.

It was estimated, Electric Ireland still took the money via direct debit.

I am still trying to get it back.

Yeah that's what I'm thinking and it makes sense as the months that had no heating were the warmer months. Definitely has to be something with the boiler I'll have to get it checked. The last bill was around 250 and like 100 euro of that was under heating.

Imagining that poor man;s reaction when he opened that bill... and the other 100 year old lady too.

It's two bills together, my two bills for the same period would be around that cost too, I didn't go crying to my local shinner. If he went paperless and DD it would be cheaper, shur de pinsinerz are whinging something might actually get done about it. Vincent de Paul are doling out money to the double bubble gang to pay bills, tings must be hard in hand out city😡😡😡

• Registered Users Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Is it though. Mine have jumped to about 3x normal. I imagine someone not keeping an eye on it and feeling the cold like older people do could easily get caught out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Jonnyc135

Haven't got my most recent elec bill yet, I presume we are getting the 200 credit, but was their some other profit sharing credit the esb were giving out and also some over charge credit going back years that have to be given out. Wonder when those all kick in, will be very interesting to see if our unit price has gone up much.

Running oil heating costs feck all in electricity around 100W between the burner unit and the circulation pump in most domestic setups. I'm not having a go at you but those radio and TV Ads telling people to cut down blah blah blah WE are not at fault here, I bet everyone here has used the same amount of units as this time last year. We are being royally screwed here by energy companies, between tiny new customer percentage offers and the shocking top line unit price it's a perfect storm for the choiceless customer, makes my blood boil😡😡😡😡. Treasure island is right, where's Eddie Hobbs and rip off Ireland now🤬

The way my bill landed the DD is going to be €671 and the €200 will arrive this month giving me 200 credit going into the Feb-April billing period but nothing towards this bill.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,324 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

PSO levy is negative so a credit to your bill - about €90-100 and likely to be spread over the year. I’d actually forgotten that until you mentioned it so must check the January bill to see if it was applied.

As for the overcharge I don’t think anything has been confirmed yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,688 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I just checked my online account with EI. There's a notice saying that the €200 credit applied on 1st Mar can only be offset against bills after that date. The credit isn't showing on my account though. 🤔

I think there's a credit of €89 being applied as the cost of renewables has come down, but that will be drip fed at €12 odd per month, and then there's the famous €50 credit we're all getting as we unwittingly subsidised businesses. (The amounts for the last 2 may be mixed up)

ETA - Cross post with Collie D, looks like the figures are mixed up.

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭bog master

I feel the pain. My Nov-Dec bill came in dated 31/12/22-Credit applied 01/01/2023-so was left to pay the bill in full which was up €80 from last year with less Kw used.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

€147 for monthly EI bill. 2 bed apt, air pump.

Blank message... censored? Jus t the header CoBo55

Thank you !