Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukraine (Mod Note & Threadbanned Users in OP)

They also don't mention Russia blocking investigation of suspected war crimes in Yemen.

Ethiopia is used on some of the more scrotes attractive discussion boards as an example of how people in the West should have stayed out of providing aid to African countries as it encouraged them to travel to Europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭corkie

Been doing some history reading today, to see if I could fine out why or where 'Putin' thinks Ukraine is a part of Russia.

Based on ...

The modern nations of Belarus, Russia, and Ukraine all claim Kievan Rus' as their cultural ancestors, with Belarus and Russia deriving their names from it.

.... does that mean the Ukraine or Belarus, could claim that Russia is a part of them?

I know Ukraine was a Republic in USSR, but that doesn't automatically give Russia a claim to it.

Why Russia wants Ukraine

'Holodomor' has been mentioned before in thread, given the history between the two, no wonder Ukraine doesn't want to be part of Russia ever again.

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭liamtech

It may well be brinkmanship combined with the aforementioned 'madman' theory. He will attempt to see what limits the west has, and then push as far as he can. Assuming you are right, what has me surprised is the voluntary nature of some companies simply leaving Russia, prior to being actively sanctioned into doing so. And what has me rattled is the illegal responses to to western sanctions. (The planes, the new 'Russian McDonalds' thing, along with threats to seize more multinational assets left in Russia). Maybe you are correct RE a new cold war. But i look at an almost voluntary excising of Russia from international commerce, and see a curtain of sorts. Its highly unlikely anyone will cross the floor and deal openly with Russia while this war continues.

As to using nukes - i hope your wrong, and at the moment (at least for now) - i cannot see it happening. Perhaps an escalation for sure, and who knows what other non precision weapons will be employed.

I think Biden's gaff of effectively calling for regime change, was kinda fitting in a way. And i would say many are hoping Putin falls.. asap, by what ever means - it reminds me of a joke i saw on a meme last week - i cant find the actual meme but, il try and recite it

In Moscow, an old man approaches a newspaper stand on the street, and scans the front covers of each of the papers. He never buys a paper, but every day he checks the front covers intently. After 5 days of this, the newsagent stops him and asks. "Comrade, are you going to buy a paper. You come here every day but you never buy one. Why"? The old man smiles and says, "forgive me sir. I am merely looking out for an obituary". The newsagent looks baffled and replies, "But comrade, you only check the front cover, the obituaries are always inside the paper". The old man laughs, and replies. "Comrade trust me. The obituary that I AM WAITING FOR, will be on the front cover"

I found it apt.. funny, but startlingly apt

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,672 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Am I the only one thinking fair play to Biden on this comments on a regime change in Russia, we all want it and the world would be a such a better place with it.

And to the people who say the Russians voted for him but we all know how corrupt their electoral system is, it will never happen that he's voted out. He will die in power and I for one hope it's pretty soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tooka

What is this post

what are you saying exactly

i know what’s happening in Ethiopia and I give aid where I can , I back all Christians not just the white ones

as for Yemen I have said for years that was is happening is a disgrace but I am not surprised to see you downplay it

Today the bandwagon is Ukraine, last month it was a man kicking a cat, next month it will something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

Heard that joke before but it still brings a wry smile upon retelling.

I guess we just have to wait and see how everything pans out. We can all put forward our views and scenarios we envisage could occur but no-one knows what exactly is in Putin's mind, not even his own generals or cabinet.

It's a sad, sad situation when one solitary man can commit such heinous crimes against innocent people whilst threatening oblivion should anyone interfere. The sooner he's dead and in hell the better.

I feel about his comments, in the same way i felt about the guy ramming through the Embassy Gate a few weeks back.

• It Felt good and proper
    • its true and just
    • its ultimately counter productive

Russia now gets to play that clip over and over - and draw false analogies with Iraq 2003 - and claim that NATO has implicitly threatened to come and take Putin out.

Dont get me wrong - we all felt it - listen i would love nothing better to wake up tomorrow and find that Putin is gone - but i dont think its smart to actually come out and say it. Just because Russia is using loudspeaker diplomacy to Sabre rattle, doesn't mean the west should.

Also it was kinda hollow, to then have everyone (and their granny) come out and effectively retract it -

My grandfather would have said, that its a shame he can only die once (he would have used other less parliamentary language too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,672 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Good points

The White House coming out to retract really pissed me off tbh

Had to given that it would be used by Russia as troll ammo.

The invasion isn't going well and Biden is handling the situation reasonably well so they need as much distraction as possible. Sure as soon as it came out you had some of the usual on here going on about it as escalating the situation and Biden's mental facilities and a known rereg troll opening a thread about it as well as one about Hunter Biden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Field east

Why are you ,for example ,replying to Tooka the guy is in cloud 9 - No , make that 49. Why? He puts forward a proposal that SAYS NOTHING about Ru refraining FOREVER from invading another soverign country OR interfering in any in same. I notice that has allowed for the option o Ukr ‘INVADING’ any country that has taken land from it - and maybe take another bit while it is at it. This guy is off the wall and is a total waiste of space with his bile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭McGiver

@liamtech

The above signifies that Russia (under Putin) cannot be trusted

Russia could never be trusted really, the last 250 odd years as a minimum and especially the last 100 years. Russian regimes (of any sort) generally don't honour treaties or agreements. It's a different cultural mindset and civilisation. Different than, let's say, European civilisation. Russia cannot really be part of ruled based order and international community of nations, in current state.

But you probably meant "Russian under Putin cannot be trusted AT all"; because it could be maybe SOMEWHAT trusted before, e.g. under Medvedev or Jeltsin or perhaps Gorbarchev...😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭McGiver

Excellent example of latest Russian alternate reality propaganda:

Genetically modified cyborg geese with implanted infrared guidance system that can target specifically ethnic Russian pilots in Russian planes 😁

So this video below was running on Rossija 24, which is one of the main state TV channels in Russia. And the video is from prime time news. We're not talking some tabloid style or funny or light sort of programme.

This is ladies and gentlemen is Orwell's 1984 happening right now in Russia.......

Crazy Russian tv propaganda: evil western geese bread to attack russian planes - YouTube

Sorry no subtitles, but basically the news spot says that "Ukrainian fascists with the help of Americans developed in their secret biolabs special type of geese that attack Russian airplanes by using infrared guidance system and are capable of bringing the Russian planes down".

EDIT: They actually say in the spot that the "special operation" in Ukraine targets these secret biolabs.

It would be really funny if this wasn't actually serious and de facto brainwashing of masses done by the Russian regime on their own population.

Not just on their own population, but no one with half a brain is buying that.

This is the most racist post on here and it has been thanked 3 times

The Russian people stopped the most evil entity that has existed - the Germans under hitler

shame on you for saying Russia can never have been trusted , there the reason a free Europe exists.

shame on you and Others on here with their anti Russian trash, have a go at putin by all means but stop attacking the Russian people

I remember attending a seminar on trust as it relates to IR. There is literature on the topic including a book by everyone current favorite theorist

There are various arguments on the topic, and realists certainly argue that International Agreements and norms are relatively toothless.

from the wiki

Mearsheimer suggests that most political lies fall into one of five categories: inter-state lies, fear-mongering, strategic cover-ups, nationalist myths, and liberal lies. He explains the reasons why leaders pursue each of these different kinds of lies. He also says that international lying can have negative effects, and there he emphasizes "blowback," which is where telling international lies helps cause a culture of deceit at home, and (unintended consequences)/"backfiring," which is where telling a lie leads to a failed policy. He also emphasizes that there are two other kinds of deception besides lying: "concealment,” which is where a leader remains silent about an important matter, and "spinning," which is where a leader tells a story that emphasizes the positive and downplays or ignores the negative. Mearsheimer does not consider the moral dimension of international lying; he looks at it simply from a realist perspective.

Ye see, there is always dishonesty to a certain degree - and some will cite the WMD Iraq Claim as the most obvious. All i can say is that in my opinion, Russia (Putin's Russia) has gone way beyond the norm in terms of international dishonesty

• Over 8 years the have created and nurtured a proxy war within the borders of Ukraine
    • They have exaggerated the existence of the Azov brigade (a unit which largely came to fruition thanks to their 2014 actions)
    • They have lied and attempted to brainwash their own people into thinking that Ukraine is the 'ideological heir' to the Third Reich
    • They have invented evidence of war crimes, and genocide, while their very own armies are perpetrating such crimes, as we speak
    • They have the temerity to accuse Ukraine of being responsible for the massacres that they are perpetrating in Mariupol
    • They have lied about the course of the conflict, and their own goals (hell they even lied repeatedly that they had no intention of actually invading)
    • They have disgraced themselves diplomatically before the entire world. I wont list the insults, threats, and innuendos, there is no need to do so - but diplomatically, they are making less sense than North Korea on a very bad day in Pyongyang

These lies are incomparable to anything in contemporary history. I struggle to think of an example which is comparable. If we graded lying on the international stage - George W Bush is Oldham Athletic - Putin is Bayern Munich

Again - all IMHO - interested in the opinions of others - and check out the above book - i read (some of) it years ago - its fascinating (not his best book though)

At this stage i am half expecting Russia to announce evidence that Ukraine has a biolab where they are cloning Adolf Hitler - nothing would surprise me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭KilOit

Russia is finished on the world stage, they have shown how weak they are. They have dropped down to North Korea **** tier.

I feel bad for normal Russians who don't want this but they are a broken people, completely controlled and indoctrinated, it'll take Russia decades to recover from this if the sanctions go on any longer.

China wants no part of this shitshow, they want the wealth of the west buying cheap tat from them

The sanctions on Russia are also sanctions on the EU and the UK

the sanctions will hurt the west more then it will Russia because Europe nations are democracies and the politicians have to answer to the people , Putin is a dictator who answers to nobody

all empires whether it be the past empires like the Roman and British or the present day American top dogs or the wannabe top dogs Chinese , all empires either expand or die.

For example China are currently using its tonnes of money to break up the commonwealth and Britain ties.

if china were simply driven by aping the wests way of life and greed is good than why build air craft carriers , building air craft carriers mean you are preparing to be on the offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Yet you were only moved to set up an account and get stuck into boards threads pushing off-the-shelf and suspiciously close to Russian gov whatabout comms campaigns as soon as the largest and most serious land war in Europe since the 40s kicked off.

*FYI I'm not claiming you're posting from a troll farm on the outskirts of Skopje, merely that your claims of deep concern for Yemen or Ethiopia ring extremely hollow, and your posts bear all the hallmarks of someone's mind being infected by deflection bullsh*t cooked-up higher up the foodchain.

I got a life, and I work very hard to provide for my family

I care a lot about how Christian’s are treated across Africa and the Middle East And South Asia

I believe ireland has done fcuk all to help these people and I for one believe we should be taking in permanently Christian’s from these areas. Take as many as we can handle and use Churches, church land and resources to house them.

I find it very upsetting to think what happens these poor people but I don’t believe we should take in 200,000 of them, that’s psychotic

happy to take 20,000 max per year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

You're fierce hung up on the Christian angle here.

Suffering doesn't respect religion, and Ireland doesn't (and it would indeed be a violation of our international obligations) put one faith group over another in our international protection policy.

Ireland is limited in what it can do, but our international aid footprint is quite large for a country our size, and we have an absolutely outstanding aid and development record in Christian Africa (a legacy of the missionary era).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,062 ✭✭✭Markcheese

The closer the band wagon is to you ( geographically and culturally ) the more ,and longer you're going to here of it ....and considering there are upward of 4 to 5 million Ukrainian refugees expected to be heading west ,this news isn't going away,

does a Russian invasion of Ukraine make Syria or Ethiopia or Yemen any less tragic -nope , nor does it absolve anybody of their actions ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I remember during the original Russian invasion in 2014, Vice News had an excellent series called Russian Roulette. They had a reporter, Simon Ostrovsky, on the ground in Crimea right at the time that the "Little Green Men" showed up. As part of that series he also covered the war in the East of Ukraine and was even captured by DNR militants and held in a basement for a number of days.

In this war Vice News have been putting out some pretty decent on the ground reporting in the past week or so with their correspondent Isobel Yeong (fresh from Afghanistan). She's right on the front lines, in the past couple of days she's put out pieces in Kharkiv, Irpin and Mykolaiv. It's some of the best on the ground reporting that I have seen from Ukraine (probably because she's taking massive risks).

I know there have been many stories about Ukrainians telling their relatives, who live in Russia, about what is going on and not being believed but yesterday's episode we see that play out in reality. A girl calls her aunt, from the ruins of her house that has been bombed by the Russians. The aunt in Russia is crying but tells her that it's the Ukrainian nazis fault - that they are raping and killing people and "they are hiding that from you" and that the russians are liberating Ukraine from nazis.

It's so dystopian. I have timestamped the scene below. It's worth a watch just to see the absolute power of Russian Disinformation in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Sorry if this is a stupid question but why is Ukraine not sending cruise missiles into Russia in reponse to the cruise missiles hitting their cities?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Because Ukraine is in a defensive war; attacking Russia fundamentally changes the nature of the Ukrainian side and essentially hands Russia a pretext to take even more aggressive actions again Kyiv and beyond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Ok that makes sense, hadn't thought of it like that. Obviously Ukraine do not want to escalate any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

Russia is made up of many internal regions. Russia itself is not homogenous but a union with older internal borders not unlike the larger Soviet Union. These regions are very real with their own local distinct identity. Regions in Russia are stockpiling. The region producing the sugar is not sharing the sugar etc. Putin is waging an internal disinformation war blaming Regional governors for shortages. Due to interconnected global supply parts Russia can no longer manufacture weapons or improve its military. It is clear that the Billions piled into Russia's military has been stolen in the Kleptocracy. Minorities from these regions make up the Russian army. Citizens of Russia have forgotton how to subsist (crops in gardens etc.) so they can't out wait the sanctions.

Sanctions has dealt a deathly blow to Russia and the terminal cracks are manifested as fissures between the many regions. How long before wealthier regions and then others want shot of Putin's 'Russia'. Russia's ability to stop them is demonstrably not there.

Putin has ended Russia with this war. One of the greatest strategic mistakes of the last two centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

It held out for a long long long time - but it seems that Mariupol has finally fallen.

Channel 4 News have had the deputy mayor on their show on a fairly consistent basis. I wonder what will happen to the like of him now. The Russians no doubt paid a heavy price in lives to take that city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,949 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

And how many more will they lose while trying to hold it? Its way easier to turn a defense into an effective insurgency than it is an offence into an effective occupying force.