What are your thoughts on the fertiliser price s for 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

2500 gals of slurry on silage ground and follow with a bag &1/2 of CAN per acre. Have aprox 80,000 gals of slurry to go out now. Only closing 35 acres this years as we have lots of silage left over. A bag of CAN or 18.6.12 on the remainder of grazing ground. Thats it. No more manure being bought here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,687 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ya Slurry is an often underappreciated nutrient. However you have to have the organic capacity to import it, this effects your nitrates allowance.

If you import 1k gallons of pug slurry it's about 18-20 kgs organic N if I remember right. There fore 20k gallons is about 400kgs or equivalent to the nitrates of about 7 in no of 1-2 year old cattle got 12 months

Nothing is ever imposed politically until it has to be. The evil day is always left as long as possible. Solutions cost money and again are left to the last minute.

It the same with households nobody spends money until there is no other choice. Housing regulations were put off in this way in the noughties as it was too much of an impact. Because off that ten years of house building was at a lower standard than it should have been.

All these facts have been staring us in the face for the last ten years but we decided to ignore them. In 2-5 years time when calf exports are banned you will have lads cribbing and crying. Look at the cribbing and crying over the EU calf and incalf cow rules. Remember the cry of upward only convergence.

It up to any business to be aware of what is happening around it. Too many lads running around without acknowledging what is happening.

Nobody like change to be successful you have to manage it and adapt with it. I would not for a minute not acknowledge that these changes have been telegraphed for the last few years. But most are unwilling to be aware of them.

It was plough on it will not happen and someone else can cut back.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,386 ✭✭✭alps

And you've weaned youself off of fossil fuels? Fair play..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,687 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

No I have not, but I have put my system and house in a way that at present it is manageable. I will continue with this as time goes on.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Is superphosphate still around?

Yes. No way should an entire continent be dependent on one source for nearly half its gas.

Seven odd hundred a ton for fertiliser seems mad but will it be even worse next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Maybe it was like basic foods for too long. " cheap " .if any good comes off expensive fertiliser now, it will be a better appreciation of slurry from stock of all types & more careful & considered application of it & fertilisers & less off a hurry to get it spread before the rain at times.

I'm thinking the margin growing at the back of the ditch in a silage field will be more visible this year, when it comes to mowing time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Wouldn’t necessarily disagree but unfortunately weather and storage space dictate a lot of the time so it’s near on impossible to get the right time to spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭straight

Pasture sward +S. 825 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,461 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bought a lorry load of cut sward today .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Young95

840. Delivered. Was a cheaper one for 820

Well if you don't put out fertiliser you'll have nothing. I was afraid of there being no fertiliser available when I normally buy in early April. Have 3.5 tonnes of fertiliser in the shed that I bought last August. Hopefully that's me done for the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Depending on what lads are spreading and output etc could be around the 6c/ L mark if bought at this years prices. Ration up around 50 to 75% as well. Milk price is up but isn't rising at the rates of inputs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Whats the general plan for the next few years with lads? Hope inputs fall, farmgate prices rise or change something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Hard to know. Loans to pay and investment to make, have taken on extra ground so reduced sr for now but will have higher costs getting things up to speed in first 2 years anyway. However may allow more clover to be put in at home faster, still skeptical on heavier land and clover use particularly when calving in Feb. See a lot of lads with pics of cows out full-time etc, grand on land like that, if I'm an hour or 2 late or if rain comes and they start walking, fields don't be long turning.

If I didn't have debt and investment requirements things may be different but pulling back or changing things drastically could be even more of a risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I'm going with lower rates of fertilliser, better more dilute use of slurry. Spread 400 ton of lime last 2 years which I'll continue at the back ends to stimulate nitrogen release. Ill feed more beet to reduce meal, Won't go mad with clover just yet, see how this goes first. If I can't grow enough grass, I'll probably have to reevaluate numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I'm adding more sheep, reducing cattle a bit instead. I have sheltered fields where more ewes could be out.

Dangerous to jump from one system to another with every hiccup.

Next year is this year's plan.

Has lime gone up in price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,864 ✭✭✭✭893bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Depends on what you paid before. 26e/ton spread.

My dad was talking to someone in roadstone the other day. They've never sold as much lime as the last 6 or 7 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

A sellers market, and I'm not talking about the co-ops, they can go get fcuked but you still have no fertiliser and they won't be left with it in the yard, a change of outlook is needed on your part or a change of your method of farming to substitute fert, but they won't be the ones looking for grass to feed your stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,983 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

It seems gouldings had a ship of urea enroute but due to sanctions now it can't be delivered

Going to stitch alot of extra clover in this year to supplement the fert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Thats the thing. Whenever I can. Anytime really after April. Its all down the grass management after that.

BIL sowed a mix called pit buster from drummonds last year on 16 acres. It had about 4 or 5 kg of clover per bag and it was sown 1.5 bags per acre. All it got last year was half a bag of urea after the standard 2 bags of 10 10 20 after sowing and it fed 70 heifer calves from May to Nov.

He's sowing another 30 acres of it this year and considering stitching in extra clover to the 60 acre grazing block aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Are you going to stitch in multi species this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭cosatron

🤣 what rate are going for a bucket to the acre or half a bucket