Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wokeism of the day *Revised Mod Note in OP and threadbanned users*

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I know the thread is a bit of fun but, you misunderstand symptom and its relation to condition.

It's like saying someone doesn't suffer from depression because everyone gets sad.

Change and anxiety with it is very common with autism, some deal better than others, her fixation on numbers doesn't sound unusual bit it's the fixation that is,not the subject matter.

Its very difficult to diagnose autism in adults and females are harder, but as adults that were undiagnosed- one often tends to find methods of dealing with their emotions as they grow up. Sadly the learning often is difficult and leads to lots of other problems for the individual

• Registered Users Posts: 13,873 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Id imagine literally everyone is on the spectrum at some point. I recognise autistic ways in myself, and no doubt if I got tested I'd probably come back with some variation of it. As long as she doesn't use it for her own benefit, I see no point in even mentioning it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

• Registered Users Posts: 13,873 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Jesus I feel sorry for whoever ends up with her...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

That article could be used by the defence for anybody who did actually murder her.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd say it's about fitting in with current social fashions. Common among those in the public eye by choice. Adult autism spectrum stuff is in vogue at the moment. Pain in the arse for those actually on the spectrum of course. As for it being difficult to diagnose in adults I would suggest that in many cases the reason it's difficult to diagnose is because it's not present, even with the widening of the spectrum criteria and the speed which some jump to diagnose it. And I include professionals in that too. The if all you have is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail symdrome. Do you think you've a broken leg? Nah, I don't think so. Did you ever have pain in your leg? Oh yeah, once when I fell off a wall at the age of 10. Hmmmm... Did you ever limp? Well once after a night on the beer I slept badly and limped a bit the next day. Oh and there was that time I stood on a lego brick. Jaysus I limped then. Are you in the public eye or generally looking for attention? I am and there's a possible book deal in the offing. Well then, it seems you don't have a broken leg, but you're definitely on the broken leg spectrum. G'way to fúck. 😂

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Lifestyle "writer"? Check. Yoga? Check. "Interested in witchcraft and the occult"(without having to go to the bother of knowing about either)? Check. "Unmarried women in her 30's"? Check. Fond of feminist misery porn that runs off feelz rather than facts? Check. Have a look at her other articles, and I use the word loosely. I'm shocked there's not more stuff about crystals, spa days, cushions and unlit candles and you can be sure that instead of rooms in her house she'll have "spaces". So what we're dealing here is a pure vein of ChickThink(tm), but crazy gets clicks so there's that.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Haven't checked but I am confident enough that she is into "wellness", prosecco and is a fan of Blindboy and Bressie too.

Mindfullness is probably in the mix too. Though I think that particular woo has had it's day in the sun already? Prosecco a given. Still, fair play for her being able to make a career out of that sorta thing. There's clearly a market out there and it's a pretty big one. Oprah made a billion from it.

Is it still ok to not be ok? (probably my most favourite of all the trite mantras)

I'm not sure if I would extend "fair play" to her for making a career out of it.

I'd probably still be in the "fu*k off" mindset.

Christ that is insufferable **** shite to have to read. She's trying to be edgy. I'm wondering are the good old days of there being an editor in charge gone? Who gave the green light for that nonsense

An editor who knows it'll get clicks and reads and with newspapers struggling that's all that matters. Hell, we've read it, or at least clicked on it and we're not exactly the target audience. 😁 Articles like that get more clicks than dry factual stuff on financial improprieties in big business and the like. Just like on the BBC the blokeish Top Gear got way more bums on seats than Newsnight. Bloke version that sells would be about cars and engineering, explosions and tits, with a whinge about the good old days. Chick version would be about pampering, crystal woo, relationships and generally having a whinge about everything. Both sell like organic ethically sourced fair trade hot cakes(but not too hot).

Aye, this I know. But its very short sighted. Offering free beer to everyone so you can say to your cup sponsors hey look we have so many beers moved is great until the people drinking the beer realise its horse piss with a smidge of ejaculate on top that they're drinking.

The same arseholes will bemoan that print media is dead because of the internet. They need to leave the click bait shite to the Internet and teenagers and write news stories the grownups are interested in

When I went back to college to do my journalism degree it was a real eye opener.

Absolutely no focus put on any journalistic integrity and multiple modules on how to increase "clicks" and visibility.

Disgusting really.

And unfortunately it won't sell enough to keep the lights on. That's the problem Ackwel. And it was like that before the interwebs too. In the UK the Daily Mail sold more than the Times and today the most popular "news" outlet online is the Daily Mail site. Simplistic articles for the Little Englanders, mixed with tips on how to clean your gusset from Australian housewives and celeb stories about the bikini body they're sporting, or how brave they are showing their baby bump.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

What is it with all these woke types in the media that never seem to have one ounce of personality, that are all just boring tropes of each other.

True believers of any stripe woke or not, as part of their baptism into their particular faith have to have their personality removed. An ironyectomy is also a given.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,859 ✭✭✭Cordell

Learn a new skill

The space in my brain that has spent 31 years being filled with tips on how to survive a world with men in it would suddenly be empty, like a bedroom when a child moves out. What will I use all that extra brain space for? Do a pottery course? Learn pole dancing? Revisit my Leaving Cert French?

If there will be no men you have no reason to learn pole dancing, so you'll be able to learn some useful skills to make up for the loss of men. You know, things like electrics and plumbing, stuff that will fail and need to be repaired in the immediate future, unless you can enjoy practicing your French next to an overflowing toilet.

Lesbians hate pole dancing

True fact.

Reason: can't get erection

Now, let's not assume that, it's not really inclusive isn't it.

Ahem.... lesbians can have penises too you bigot.

Touché

Erm...maybe touché is the wrong word.

I love Lesbians. But the pre woke 1990s type. 2 Jessica Albas trying to [insert porn hub lesbian clip here]

Today's reality is more like a Pat Butcher type with pink and blue hair scissoring with a Mattress Mick lookalike

Aaaaaand that's my day ruined.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Sure, because being perfectly normal it's still on the spectrum.

I'm not sure if normal is not a dirty word these days, because apparently being a mentally sound, educated, successful and happy person is somehow some kind of unrealistic standard.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I happened to see Preissner on the Today Show today. Have seen her on it before and she's been normal but today she showed up in a hoodie with her hair tucked into her hood. Can't judge her I suppose because she's autistic.

Then, she came out with some stupid questions. A woman was cooking a porter cake and Preissner comes out with "I feel like we just cook christmas cake and call it something different, is it christmas cake?"

A downright stupid question but again, I suppose no one can judge her because she's autistic.

Seemed like she was playing up to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

What next. I am beginning to feel like a helot in ancient Sparta