Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭The HorsesMouth

We do know..we have data from all over the world in an unvaccinated world that the level of sickness among children is actually less than flu.

You didn't use the word threat but you inferred it by saying they shouldn't be allowed indoors to dine. I really cannot fathom how you think all of a sudden it's "taking a chance" to allow them inside?! To be honest I think its boderline hysterical.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭brickster69

Not long now lads. A meaningful Christmas is looking good. 🎅

All roads lead to Rome.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I'm going to need to ask you for a source which says that children transmit Covid at less of a rate than the Flu. That would be quite a claim.

If you're saying that Covid is less of a risk to kids than Flu, then perhaps. I haven't seen those studies, but it may be true.

I think the bigger concern about kids has always been less the short-term impacts on kids, and whether they can transmit the virus. I haven't seen any conclusive evidence of Delta & kids, but I note that NPHET advised against allowing them indoors for the time being so presumably they have some concerns.

As a separate point completely, we do not know what (if any) the long-term impacts of a Covid infection are on kids. And until we do, I'm not sure the ethics of people saying they are not at risk.

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭greyday

The reason for caution with children is that they do get infected and they do infect others, no one wants anyone excluded from society but there are risks to be balanced, those that dont want to get vaccinated do risk being excluded from certain activities while the Government has gone against NOHET and have allowed those under 18 to eat indoors once they are with a vaccinated person, they know there is a higher risk of transmission by doing this but they have decided it is a risk worth taking until such time as everyone has been offered a vaccine.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,274 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

it’s discriminatory in Ireland as there is no alternative like an antigen testing

Eight EU countries - Denmark, Slovenia, Austria, Cyprus, Germany, Luxembourg, Latvia and Lithuania (from tomorrow) - require proof of vaccination, a negative test or COVID immunity to eat indoors.

Crucially however, they all accept rapid antigen testing for entry. COVID testing is also widely available and largely free of charge.

The lack of choice makes it discriminatory

This makes absolutely no sense

It’s ok to keep fcuking them over because we did it before

Insane logic

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I was on the side of Antigen testing myself, but the experience of the Dutch rolling back their opening has put a stop to my gallop. Similarly I read today that Germany may be moving to vaccine passports only also. As ever there is only a series of imperfect solutions.

ah it’s an anti alcohol agenda it seems

What number of cases would you be happy to reopen indoor dining?

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Sorry, live in Galway and I saw the way they behaved in this city... I have no problem saying their behaviour was quite selfish... Look at the median age of infection, the young people have basically kept this virus at high numbers for months...

We had a chance of reducing it to single digits but there was opposition was from the youth... Now others want to enjoy some freedom... By the way I really feel for young people who stuck by the rules and I appreciate that many many did...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

In regard to your last paragraph, do you realise that there is overlap of the two ‘groups’ m, despite the media and many on here trying to polarise everything, and discredit all opposition to dystopian measures as anti vaxxers. I took the vaccine, I’m disgusted and angry about the vaccine passes, and I will never show mine. Not that I’ll need to, this will be defeated by being ignored, at least in rural Ireland. People generally are more sensible that the shower of idiots governing us.

This is the official Dutch public health guidance, it’s only nightclubs that have closed

https://www.government.nl/topics/coronavirus-covid-19/tackling-new-coronavirus-in-the-netherlands/coronavirus-measures-in-brief

What’s amusing is RTE reporting on the Dutch situation

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0709/1233991-coronavirus-global/

The Dutch government is expected to reimpose restrictions on nightclubs, music festivals and restaurants in response to a surge in Covid-19 infections among young adults, local media reported.

The Netherlands lifted most lockdown measures on 26 June, as cases were falling and around two-thirds of the population has received at least one vaccination shot.

Rte must have missed reporting on the Dutch reopening on June 26

And we certainly dont know the long term impact of vaccines either.

until very recently a huge number of health care staff refused the flu vaccine.

We know there is still resistance among health care staff to taking the covid vaccine.

Leave the kids alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Well good thing I never said it was ok. Just noting how this sudden concern about how badly those in the early 20's have been treated seems to only exist now with regards to restrictions.

The youth were having to leave the country long before covid due to the shyte prospects they had here. Trying to retcon that situation/phenomenon to be because of Covid is hilariously misinformed.

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭The HorsesMouth

No I have no idea of transmitting rate. My point was about the actual effects of the disease on children. They are effected worse by flu than covid.

So my question is why are you so worried about them transmitting the disease during indoor dining if everyone else is vaccinated? I'd ask NPHET the same question is I could.

I'm firmly of the belief that excluding them from indoor services (play areas, swimming pools, indoor dining) is serving them worse than any covid disease will ever effect them. It's ridiculous nonsense to suggest they are safer in a classroom of 30 of their peers (all unvaccinated) than in a restaurant with similar numbers with majority vaccinated?!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,296 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

We should just go the route of advising everyone wishing to dine indoors to be vaccinated, leave it up to people themselves to know if they have been or not.

In the same logic hospitals were just as full before covid

• Registered Users Posts: 5,759 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I'd be more worried, as a fully vaccinated person, about catching it indoors from unvaccinated kids, than I would be about them catching it, they'll likely be fine, but they can transmit and cause breakthrough infections like everyone else I presume.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I'm sure some young people have had it bad. I'm also sure some young people had a grand old time getting paid the pup and not having to work, and they still socialised - some even moreso than before, given all the free time they had. Exams cancelled or impossible to fail because of the "trauma" and, moreso, admin headaches.

Some people of all age groups had it tough. Some died, some lost their livelihoods, some couldn't go to the pub. The young people may well leave in their droves, but it'll largely be for the same reasons they've always left. If I were a nurse, granted, the covid experience would definitely make me less inclined to stay. Ditto some other front line jobs. But the martyred youth is a bit overplayed.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,552 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

If you behave like good boys and girls Santa might come

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

The fact an exception was made to the rule for unvaccinated children but not for unvaccinated adults who can provide a negative test makes it abundantly clear that if you’re aged 18-35 and don’t have children, this government doesn’t give a fúck about you.

I’d be fine with requiring vaccination or a test to access indoor dining. I’d be fine with the current system if it was implemented when everyone who wanted a vaccine could get one and didn’t have a nonsensical exception for children. As it stands, it’s discriminatory to plenty of my friends who aren’t fully vaccinated yet, and as you correctly point out, it doesn’t even give those of us who are vaccinated the security of knowing everyone else in the establishment is also vaccinated or disease free.

It’s complete horseshít, and I’m fed up with the attempts to connect any criticism of it to anti vaccine sentiment.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

The implementation was always going to be a shambles.

The connection to the antivaxxers is due perhaps to the kludge of them all protesting together over the weekend and similar. It'd be interesting to see a percentage breakdown of which marchers believed what (with zero quality control, obviously).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

Funny how there was daily case number updates for the UK on RTE and The Journal when their cases were increasing earlier in the month but not a one the last week since cases have stagnated/started to fall.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Why was it always going to be a shambles? Provide a vaccine, test, or proof of recovery to get in. Simple, straightforward, doesn’t exclude anyone. Wouldn’t even need to set up a desperate system, the travel cert already recognises negative tests.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

If you're fully vaccinated.... why worry? Everyone is eventually going to be exposed to Covid.

Vaccinated people can also transmit and cause breakthrough infections in other vaccinated people.

This is all part of living with Covid, especially with fully vaccinated people.

Unfortunately we know the answer to this, and it starts and ends with NPHET and their personalities.

antigen tests won’t be accepted as long as Philip “snake oil” Nolan is chair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Golfer John Rahm has been pulled out of Olympics following positive Covid test.

7 weeks ago he was also pulled out of a tournament that he was leading at the time, due to a positive Covid test.

15 days later he won the US Open, claims to have been fully vaccinated in this intervening period, but now he has returned another positive test.

Is this even possible?

Posts like this expose a lack of rational

the young that stay will pay the bill to protect the elderly

If cases keep on falling at this pace, it surely will be impossible for RTE to ignore

Pretty brutal for him. Tested positive, missed out on 1.7m cheque. Got vaccinated apparently. Tested negative twice, and positive a third time for it and missed out on an Olympic Games. And at neither stage has he had any symptoms. I hope for his sake he’s done another couple of tests to rule out a false positive..

It might be a minor thing to feel sorry for a pro golfer sitting at home with millions, but sport is going to have to make a decision about constantly testing fully vaccinated players practically every day if they want some form of normality to return to games.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

But doesn't that cycle always repeat. The young become old, a new crisis emerges and the young pay for the elderly and so on?

We've had pandemic before and the young were never affected, pubs weren't closed, etc...

Maybe Covid is (getting close to using was) something a little more serious?