Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭dubdaymo

Sorry, I don't have an exact link and don't remember the date as it seems like light years ago now. The archive is at the link below if you fancy doing a search.

Oireachtas committees video archive – Houses of the Oireachtas

• Registered Users Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

They needed to frighten people a year ago. Varadkar in fairness to him has read the room and now realises they have lost the narrative and indeed the dressing room, problem is a lot of the Irish people are gullible enough to buy his and his PR crews spin.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

But he's not Taoiseach and getting to this point might have taken a level of persuasion of Martin. There are at least 3 wings in government, the worriers in the Martin camp, those more open to looking more closely at what NPHET says with Leo and then a flip-flopping bunch who mostly can't make up their minds.

It is where we are unfortunately.example on the radio this morning mark Cagney on with ciara Kelly.he was hysterical and has swallowed way too much of the koolaide to the point of giving out about people taking off the bloody mask outside of the shop door.this type of bs is going to be harder to break than a turbo charged flu we’re all going to die from unless we stay hidden forever

• Registered Users Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Someone with a broken arm or leg wouldn't have been included as they would be treated as an outpatient.

Inpatients being treated for something else who coincidentially had very mild or asymptomatic CoViD would have only contributed a small error to the reported figures.

It's the default response to any questioning of models, data etc. It's, once again, a consequence of a non-functioning fourth estate. In a country with a functioning fourth estate such things would be questioned by the media.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,077 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Mark Cagney is what my Dad would refer to as an amadán , an eejit .

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I have it on authority that in normal times he is a very nice man!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭timmyntc

No - this came up months ago also, and some figures were available for a time about hospital acquired infection and hospital admissions with infection. The figures showed a substantial number of "covid patients" tested positive after admission, but were listed as covid patients in general reports. No doubt same is happening now.

As virus becomes more prevalent (higher cases), people who admit to hospital for other reasons are more likely to test positive simply because the virus is circulating in the community. It doesnt mean they were admitted with covid, or that they need covid specific treatment. There absolutely needs more transparency on this as it should drive govt response.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

The figures on how many were catching covid in hospital would be big, hopefully we will see the figures soon but I think it will be a significant difference

A broken leg is just one example. People are in hospital for all kinds of reasons. Covid spread a lot in hospitals last winter.

The Tanaiste has admitted that there are people in hospital "with" Covid but not getting treated for Covid.

We won't know what percentage until the data is shared. I wouldn't be surprised if its a lot higher than people think.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,759 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

ahh look, I agree with you! I am just debating that IF you decide not to allow unvaccinated adults into dining/pubs, then it contradicts that allowing unvaccinated children into those establishments. I couldn't give a feck, and will be in the pub. But there is a contradiction, as children can transmit as much as adults (I think), so it's stupid. That's all!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,291 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Sure there's contradictions everywhere in government policy

Just this weekend, we sat dining outside a guesthouse while the bar and restaurant inside were full of residents enjoying themselves. Of all ages and unknown vaccination status..

It's a complete clownshow.

The only angle that makes sense to me is a puritanical anti alcohol position that seeks to reduce alcohol consumption for as long as possible.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Hospitals are testing everyone in A+E on arrival.

You go in with a broken arm and are then classed as a covid case - its about time someone called them out on this - and dont get me started on deaths.

Ive posted previously about an uncle that died of a heart attack and he went down as a covid death because he was tested positive after he died.

This **** going to hit the fan!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭rameire

That is not true for Connolly Blanchardstown Hospital.

nobody tested for Covid in A+E.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Split 2.28S, 1.52E. 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

I was in Connolly hospital A+E in January. Didn't get tested in A+E but they were going to admit me to hospital so tested me then.

I believe they test everybody that gets admitted to hospital.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Interesting statement regarding the Saolta hospital group:

”Tony Canavan, CEO of the Saolta Hospital Group, told RTÉ's Morning Ireland last week that "nearly all the [coronavirus] cases" in the group's hospitals "are being admitted for other reasons" than Covid-19.”

“Of those that do test positive for the disease, "the majority are exhibiting mild or moderate symptoms".

Either way, when all of this is done, I think there should be an investigation into the numbers.

It is clear to anyone with a few brain cells that the numbers are constantly presented in the most negative way imaginable. I think it would be hugely beneficial for society to know the full extent of the exaggeration.

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭Icantthinkof1

I was in A&E recently, thankfully didn’t have to be admitted and was not tested for COVID while I was there

• Registered Users Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

When did we ever have it?

The country is ruled by Civil Servants who laugh at election times, because all that ever changes is the Ministers name on their department stationery. When you add in the power of specific lobby groups to scare the bejaysus out of our elected political reps, then you can see why we actually never have proper political leadership.

We have political reps who hide behind the un-elected others who actually make the decisions because it then suits them not to question those decisions, and they also blow with the wind generated by whatever lobby group is making the most noise and potential electoral traction. This has always been the case, in the current covid situation and forever previously.

It's not just because of Covid that we should question the calibre of our representatives. They are spineless and self serving, the whole lot of them.

Its actually so depressing.

We know we are in a ridiculous situation now with hospital figures being massaged so elderly people in particular think covid is landing very sick people in hospital.

This is because our hospitals are so badly managed we cant risk even a small rise in the number of people needing hospital treatment for covid, we have spent millions since March 2020 and yet how many extra ICU beds do we have.

The young people have stopped listening completely, their need to socialise is vitally impotant and many parents looking at the mental health difficulties of their children will be encouraging them out the door. If you are worried isolation and stress may lead your child to thoughts of harming themselves then the risk of them getting covid will be the least of your worries.

This whole showing of papers to get in the door of supermacs is pathetic, whats next papers to attend school, papers to return to Third level, papers to go to the cinema, papers to enter your Doctors surgery.

The virus is now endemic in the population, hundreds and thousands of young people have caught it and for society this can only be beneficial and will lead to herd immunity faster.

We are operating as if it was still March 2020, all these dire predictions from Philip Nolan when we only have to look at hospital numbers in the UK and Scotland and even closer to home in the North, everything seems relatively stable so when are the corpses going to start piling up.

In 2 weeks time

I have believed for a good time now that there are elements of the medical profession that have gone totally rogue on this whole covid bs.figures being not believed anymore except for those totally frightened to an extreme extent. And now we have teacher reps on the radio today banging on about time bombs going off.to me there are people in this country now who want to be well paid public servants but don’t actually want to work.

we will look back in time at the hysteria generated by covid and say what ta f€€k did we do

• Registered Users Posts: 7,094 ✭✭✭prunudo

Tomas Ryan was being rolled out on a few of the news bulletins I heard this morning. The man was almost giddy at the news hospital numbers were rising. Its as if they want things to get bad again so they can preach to us how we need to lockdown again and eradicate the virus.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

2 people I know were tested in St James this week in A+E - Strange that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭rameire

different Hospitals, different systems. but not the same for all.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Split 2.28S, 1.52E. 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users Posts: 24,291 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Of course they do because it keeps them in the limelight.

Ultimately all these people are egotists.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,074 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Over the last year anyone who suggested that the numbers in hospital included people "with" covid as opposed to being in hospital "because of" covid were demonised as conspiracy theorists and tinfoil hatters.