Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Shelga wrote: »
    If Sophie had been scratching him to defend herself, wouldn’t she have had his DNA under her fingernails?

You would think so, but I think they said that the cuts and grazes were caused by her trying to extrapolate herself from the brambles and barbed wire she was caught in when she fell, as well as trying to shield herself from the blows of the rock/block.

Fair enough
    What he says is

"The longer a body is around the more difficult it becomes to assess actual time of death. You can be reasonaly accurate if the body is found quickly in an ongoing temperature but once a day passes you have variation in the ambient temperature"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

I don't think Ian Bailey killed Sophie, but it was a local.

My theory is that she may have had a flirtation with someone locally, perhaps someone she was speaking to in the local bar where she often went to have tea and scones. Perhaps it wasn't even a flirtation, but merely a fledgling friendship. This would explain the two wine glasses and the missing bottle of expensive wine found in the ditch by the lane.
    The barman said she had expressed an interest in going to the Christmas party that night and perhaps this person offered to escort her. He arrived, they had a glass of wine, but she felt tired, or perhaps felt the person was looking for more than she was willing to offer and he left. Perhaps they didn't even touch the wine at all.
    She gets changed for bed, calls her husband and settles down for the night. However, the person comes back a while later, perhaps after having a few drinks at the party to see if she'll change her mind. This could be why she had her boots and dressing gown on, to walk the unwanted guest back to his car.
    He presses her and gets a bit more handsy, so she pushes him or says she'll call the police if he doesn't leave and that's when he panics and gets violent. He hits her and she tries to get back into the house, but he pulls her away and she starts running away from him, probably crying out at this stage. He catches up with her, they struggle and he hits her with the rock first, just to keep her quiet.
    He then realises if he leaves her alive, he's in big trouble, so he finishes her off with the block he finds a few metres away.
    I don't think he was on foot, as there were apparantly fresh track marks by the gate, so I'm not entertaining Marie Farrell's sighting at the remote bridge. I think she was a pure attention seeker.

The police made a complete hames of the investigation and I doubt they'll ever find out who killed the poor woman. I think they know the killer alright, as he's a local, but they've invested too much time in Bailey at this stage to ever make an about face and admit they were wrong.

Are you writing a novella?

They would have been spotted in the bar surely

I seriously doubt a small flirtation would turn into smashing her head in with a block

She was over at Xmas for a reason, that's the real clue, wasn't someone in the direct local vacinity

SoulWriter wrote: »
    What he says is

"The longer a body is around the more difficult it becomes to assess actual time of death. You can be reasonaly accurate if the body is found quickly in an ongoing temperature but once a day passes you have variation in the ambient temperature"

Yeah especially outdoors too

That's why I asked the question, might be other technique used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,258 ✭✭✭Xander10

I don't think Ian Bailey killed Sophie, but it was a local.

My theory is that she may have had a flirtation with someone locally, perhaps someone she was speaking to in the local bar where she often went to have tea and scones. Perhaps it wasn't even a flirtation, but merely a fledgling friendship. This would explain the two wine glasses and the missing bottle of expensive wine found in the ditch by the lane.
    The barman said she had expressed an interest in going to the Christmas party that night and perhaps this person offered to escort her. He arrived, they had a glass of wine, but she felt tired, or perhaps felt the person was looking for more than she was willing to offer and he left. Perhaps they didn't even touch the wine at all.
    She gets changed for bed, calls her husband and settles down for the night. However, the person comes back a while later, perhaps after having a few drinks at the party to see if she'll change her mind. This could be why she had her boots and dressing gown on, to walk the unwanted guest back to his car.
    He presses her and gets a bit more handsy, so she pushes him or says she'll call the police if he doesn't leave and that's when he panics and gets violent. He hits her and she tries to get back into the house, but he pulls her away and she starts running away from him, probably crying out at this stage. He catches up with her, they struggle and he hits her with the rock first, just to keep her quiet.
    He then realises if he leaves her alive, he's in big trouble, so he finishes her off with the block he finds a few metres away.
    I don't think he was on foot, as there were apparantly fresh track marks by the gate, so I'm not entertaining Marie Farrell's sighting at the remote bridge. I think she was a pure attention seeker.

The police made a complete hames of the investigation and I doubt they'll ever find out who killed the poor woman. I think they know the killer alright, as he's a local, but they've invested too much time in Bailey at this stage to ever make an about face and admit they were wrong.

That's the case solved....

Are you writing a novella?

No, it's just a theory. Sorry it wasn't as brief as yours.
    They would have been spotted in the bar surely

Who would have thought anything about her chatting with a bar patron? The barman said she chatted away with him easy enough.
    I seriously doubt a small flirtation would turn into smashing her head in with a block

No, but someone trying to take it further than a flirtation or friendship and a threat to call the cops might.
    She was over at Xmas for a reason, that's the real clue, wasn't someone in the direct local vacinity

So it was someone from outside the vicinity who had visited her house previously then? They must have visited previously, as there's no way you'd find the house otherwise. It wasn't the French artist, as he had an alibi, so any ideas yourself?

No, it's just a theory. Sorry it wasn't as brief as yours.

Who would have thought anything about her chatting with a bar patron? The barman said she chatted away with him easy enough.

No, but someone trying to take it further than a flirtation or friendship and a threat to call the cops might.

So it was someone from outside the vicinity who had visited her house previously then? They must have visited previously, as there's no way you'd find the house otherwise. It wasn't the French artist, as he had an alibi, so any ideas yourself?

to randomly do this and not get caught is not easy

Too many mistakes blood up, gruesome close up killing

You'd have to plan it

If you can follow a simple map you'd find it, even with basic directions from schull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I think Sophie's son Pierre-Louis overstepped the mark by making that speech in the church during sunday mass, it wasn't the place for that and i'm surprised the local PP allowed it to happen

to randomly do this and not get caught is not easy

Too many mistakes blood up, gruesome close up killing

You'd have to plan it

With the Keystone Guards on the case, it appears whoever did it hasn't been caught, so they did, in fact, get clean away with murder.

The nature of the attack just doesn't seem planned to me - no weapons involved, just whatever was to hand. Looks more like a crime of passion or opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭readysetgo

Barring a confession it'll never be solved.
    Personally don't think it was IB.

Given the lack of a conviction, missing/tampered evidence etc I think there was a garda involved and a cover up of some sort. or perhaps a relation of a garda.
    just think its a logical enough explanation for the case never being solved.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭gussieg

so what about the unknown intruder in the house as mentioned previously by the house keeper? or was it a cat? what bottle of wine? and the missing gate? i dont recall a mention of that either. most of these stories /theories/documentaries are notable by the absence of mr t de p, and other relevant parties.
    and is it too late to do dna now or is the perpetrator already dead? who Knows? who indeed..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

You think someone came all the way from France or some other country to kill her but used a stone and then a concrete block that just happened to be lying at an obscure location in a badly overgrown area of the garden?

With the Keystone Guards on the case, it appears whoever did it hasn't been caught, so they did, in fact, get clean away with murder.

The nature of the attack just doesn't seem planned to me - no weapons involved, just whatever was to hand. Looks more like a crime of passion or opportunity.

Maybe that was indeed the plan

SevenAte9 wrote: »
    I think you should re-read the DPP's report.

First, IB was interviewed by a Garda Sergant on December 31st - no mention of marks on hands - not "first questioned a few weeks after the murder."

Secondly, from pg25 of the DPP's report;
    Dr. Louise Barnes, a dermatologist (skin specialist) closely observed Bailey some five
    days after the murder
    . She states “at no time, did he strike one as being suspicious.
    As a keen observer of peoples appearance due to my profession I certainly did not
    notice any marks or injuries to his face or hands.”

Denis O'Callaghan saw Bailey on 24 December 1996 (the day after the murder) and he
    noticed multiple light scratches on Bailey's arms.
    Such light scratches are not consistent with cuts by razor like thorns.
    Richard Tisdall in his statement 190B recalls seeing scratch marks on one of Bailey's
    hands on Sunday night 22 December 1996 (prior to the murder
    but after the cutting of
    the tree and the killing of the turkeys)

Does it not strike you as odd that of the 44 page report, the entire forensic evidence was dealt with in 1 section on 1 page.

No one disputes he had scratches on his hands, he admits himself he had scratches on his hands, so Dr. Barnes' observations five days later are pointless. Sophie had a light night shirt on her, presuming the killer was warmly dressed on this cold night you would not expect scratches from briars to tear up a well dressed person in a similar way to someone in light night clothes.

There are multiple witnesses who said he had no obvious scratches on the night leading up to the murder, a couple of people close to him and one independent witness who claim to have seen scratches before the murder. These are the kind of inconsistencies that would be ironed out much, much better in the witness box than in a report.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Mackwiss

MoonUnit75 wrote: »
    You think someone came all the way from France or some other country to kill her but used a stone and then a concrete block that just happened to be lying at an obscure location in a badly overgrown area of the garden?

This is actually a very good point. The place is in the middle of nowhere, so was the night cloudy? Moonless? Because if you need to walk to get the concrete block and hit here straight on there needs to be light. This got me thinking if the murder happened at the early hours instead of middle of the night? If this is the case the murder happened between probably 8 AM and the time the body was discovered?

Or the light from the headlights of a car illuminated the whole situation?

P.S. - To those that answered the previous questions about license plates. Thanks! So it should be an 80s registered vehicle?

maybe not to kill her but to meet her, maybe rekindle an old friendship or relationship and was rebuffed

didn't one of her ex boyfriends have a fixation with her? stalking her in Paris? a certain Bruno Carbonnet?

Jaysus I never said they came from France

Exactly - this wasn't planned imo.

Another thing is that Sophie arrived alone in Ireland on 20th December. She was killed on the night of the 22nd, having planned to return to France on the 24th.

During her very brief stay, it was very unlikely she was with a companion, as her 2 day visit was quite well documented as having been in the local bar for tea and scones, shopping in the local boutique and taking a long solitary walk to the isolated castles by the lake, which she recounted to a friend in her home.

Whoever killed her only turned up sometime after she had visited the local bar earlier that day, the 22nd (sorry, not sure of the exact time she was there) and likely after she spoke to her husband on the phone that evening. Not much of an illicit rendezvous if her out-of-town-lover only decided to make an appearance for a mere 24 hours before she was to leave the country again and without as much as a phone call made beforehand.

Whoever killed her, knew where she lived alright, but I don't think she was expecting them.

fryup wrote: »
    maybe not to kill her but to meet her, maybe rekindle an old friendship or relationship and was rebuffed

didn't one of her ex boyfriends have a fixation with her? stalking her in Paris? a certain Bruno Carbonnet?

He had a cast-iron alibi apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,395 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Bruno carbonnet was in France at an event with a tonne of witnesses it was mentioned in the first or second episode

No one disputes he had scratches on his hands, he admits himself he had scratches on his hands, so Dr. Barnes' observations five days later are pointless. Sophie had a light night shirt on her, presuming the killer was warmly dressed on this cold night you would not expect scratches from briars to tear up a well dressed person in a similar way to someone in light night clothes.

There are multiple witnesses who said he had no obvious scratches on the night leading up to the murder, a couple of people close to him and one independent witness who claim to have seen scratches before the murder. These are the kind of inconsistencies that would be ironed out much, much better in the witness box than in a report.

You iron these out before you go to court or you will get some bollicking from the judge

Exactly - this wasn't planned imo.

Another thing is that Sophie arrived alone in Ireland on 20th December. She was killed on the night of the 22nd, having planned to return to France on the 24th.

During her very brief stay, it was very unlikely she was with a companion, as her 2 day visit was quite well documented as having been in the local bar for tea and scones, shopping in the local boutique and taking a long solitary walk to the isolated castles by the lake, which she recounted to a friend in her home.

Whoever killed her only turned up sometime after she had visited the local bar earlier that day, the 22nd (sorry, not sure of the exact time she was there) and likely after she spoke to her husband on the phone that evening. Not much of an illicit rendezvous if her out-of-town-lover only decided to make an appearance for a mere 24 hours before she was to leave the country again and without as much as a phone call made beforehand.

Whoever killed her, knew where she lived alright, but I don't think she was expecting them.

One interesting factoid noted by the gardai was that the small Fiesta hire car had the passenger seat pushed back almost all the way to accommodate a tall person. They felt it was unlikely the hire car company handed it over like this after it was valeted, makes sense not to obstruct the back seats like that.

Mackwiss wrote: »
    This is actually a very good point. The place is in the middle of nowhere, so was the night cloudy? Moonless? Because if you need to walk to get the concrete block and hit here straight on there needs to be light.

As far as I remember, Ian Bailey mentioned that himself and Jules stopped the car on the way home from the bar that night to look at the full moon, so there was moonlight on the night. No idea if it was cloudy or not though.

It was mentioned he had an alibi - he was at an art expo somewhere in France for three days.

One interesting factoid noted by the gardai was that the small Fiesta hire car had the passenger seat pushed back almost all the way to accommodate a tall person. They felt it was unlikely the hire car company handed it over like this after it was valeted, makes sense not to obstruct the back seats like that.

What position would they leave it in?

You iron these out before you go to court or you will get some bollicking from the judge

The gardai only have the statements to work with, it's up to a jury to figure out who is actually credible and the barristers to tease out who is able to stand over their statements. That's how it works. The DPP consistently discounted prosecution witnesses but likely defence witnesses are not criticised in the same manner.

who said it was a hire car?

Was that Sophie's rental car?

I'm guessing they didn't do any DNA tests on it?

What position would they leave it in?

I've hired cars in at least 13 countries on average twice a year and have never been given a car with either seat pushed all the way back towards the back seat. Especially not in a compact car similar in size to a Fiesta. I normally throw a few bits and pieces, maps in the old days and tablets and the like these days, and would notice if the seat was set well back from the drivers position.

The gardai only have the statements to work with, it's up to a jury to figure out who is actually credible and the barristers to tease out who is able to stand over their statements. That's how it works. The DPP consistently discounted prosecution witnesses but likely defence witnesses are not criticised in the same manner.

Because they didn't make fools of themselves

The dpp will indeed look at the witness statements

If all you have is two credible witnesses contradicting each other it won't move forward with the case

The only evidence to build a case on was Marie Farrell, once she fell you have no case

The dpp has the case files etc you have their report on them

who said it was a hire car?

It was a hire car, it's in the witness statements as well. Alfie Lyons and another neighbour commented on it. The other neighbour said it was the first time they ever saw a hire car outside the house where Sophie had not come out to talk to them so it stuck out in their mind. I'm almost certain I read it was an Avis car.

Was that Sophie's rental car?

I'm guessing they didn't do any DNA tests on it?

Yes, it was her hire car. I don't remember any mention of DNA tests on it, you'd think it would be obvious but this wasn't exactly a tight ship.

I've hired cars in at least 13 countries on average twice a year and have never been given a car with either seat pushed all the way back towards the back seat. Especially not in a compact car similar in size to a Fiesta. I normally throw a few bits and pieces, maps in the old days and tablets and the like these days, and would notice if the seat was set well back from the drivers position.

I have, the chances of it happening in a compact car are even higher, it was where the last person to drive the car left it

Come on

I have, the chances of it happening in a compact car are even higher

Come on

Maybe you use an ultra budget hire company like Firefly? Sophie used a well respected outfit.

Do they only hire short arses

Have you rented in Ireland? Cork airport

That's a strange amount of time to be spending noting the positions of car rental seats, driver and passenger

You should note she was only 4ft 11, so would have the seat very forward

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Did they not do any DNA tests from the wine glasses?

Do they only hire short arses

Have you rented in Ireland? Cork airport

That's a strange amount of time to be spending noting the positions of car rental seats, driver and passenger

You should note she was only 4ft 11, so would have the seat very forward

Almost always at airports, I doubt I'm the only one with the same routine. I keep my phone holder, charging cables, tablet with emails etc. that I'll need etc. in my hand luggage, open the car, dig out all that stuff from the bag and throw it on the passenger seat. I'd notice if it was set well back sitting in to set up the phone charger etc. I'd have to get out to push it forward to keep stuff in easy reach. Never happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Supreme shade being thrown here. You use downmarket car rental agencies.

Lol.

Yurt! wrote: »
    Supreme shade being thrown here. You use downmarket car rental agencies.

Lol.

Not my best work, but your appreciation is noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Mackwiss wrote: »
    This is actually a very good point. The place is in the middle of nowhere, so was the night cloudy? Moonless?

the night of the murder was a full moon. that was a huge part of the podcast but wasn't even mentioned in the sky show. ian bailey used to be seen by neighbours howling at full moons. they obviously chalked him down as a weirdo when they saw that.

a huge part of the podcast that they never mentioned is jule's interview when she was arrested. in the garda transcript of the interview (not recorded... written up by a guard) jules says they drove to a lookout point that night and ian pointed out the flickering light in sophie's house and said something bad is going to happen to her tonight in the full moon!

jules claimed she never said that in the interview. and if it wasn't mentioned in the sky doc, I guess they must believe her.

so either
    1) it's true and ian said it
    2) the guards had no problem throwing a complete lie into an official interview to stitch up their guy

Almost always at airports, I doubt I'm the only one with the same routine. I keep my phone holder, charging cables, tablet with emails etc. that I'll need etc. in my hand luggage, open the car, dig out all that stuff from the bag and throw it on the passenger seat. I'd notice if it was set well back sitting in to set up the phone charger etc. I'd have to get out to push it forward to keep stuff in easy reach. Never happened!

I have to say I doubt your recollection across 26 separate events and 13 years

I'd remember if I had to get out to move a passenger car seat forward.

the night of the murder was a full moon. that was a huge part of the podcast but wasn't even mentioned in the sky show. ian bailey used to be seen by neighbours howling at full moons. they obviously chalked him down as a weirdo when they saw that.

a huge part of the podcast that they never mentioned is jule's interview when she was arrested. in the garda transcript of the interview (not recorded... written up by a guard) jules says they drove to a lookout point that night and ian pointed out the flickering light in sophie's house and said something bad is going to happen to her tonight in the full moon!

jules claimed she never said that in the interview. and if it wasn't mentioned in the sky doc, I guess they must believe her.

so either
    1) it's true and ian said it
    2) the guards had no problem throwing a complete lie into an official interview to stitch up their guy

Who said he howled at the moon?

Everyone has howled at the moon at some point in their lives

It is recorded on tape that they were willing to fill in statements

Maybe that was indeed the plan

A plan that involved chasing her outside, perhaps in view of her neighbours, hitting her repeatedly with random debris found in a laneway and then leaving it at the scene as evidence? Really?

I found this interesting, a quote from her husband:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/a-brutal-death-in-black-and-white-1.922863
    "Sophie Toscan du Plantier was not raped or sexually assaulted, Dr Harbison writes. When I interviewed Daniel Toscan du Plantier in 1999 (he died in 2003), he speculated on the motive of his wife's killer. "I can imagine it well," he said. "She could be extremely cutting. She faced someone who was probably drunk, and he made a pass at her and she rejected him in an insulting way and he went crazy. It was like her to go outside to talk to him; she wasn't afraid of anything."

As I previously theorised, I think it was most likely someone local chancing their arm with her, getting rejected and then (perhaps drunkenly) attacking her in anger.

Who said he howled at the moon?

Everyone has howled at the moon at some point in their lives

It is recorded on tape that they were willing to fill in statements

It's also not in dispute that Bailey's recollection of his movements on the night in question improved at an incredible rate once he was told Jules now contradicted his earlier statement that he was in bed all night!

I'd remember if I had to get out to move a passenger car seat forward.

Do you have super short arms and feet, how far back do you think the seat would be going

, how many times do you think the taller person would be driving on holidays and do you really think the hire company is resetting the seats

Again, it's a strange thing to be filling your mind with over all these years

Did you ever rent from cork airport

A plan that involved chasing her outside, perhaps in view of her neighbours, hitting her repeatedly with random debris found in a laneway and then leaving it at the scene as evidence? Really?

As I previously theorised, I think it was most likely someone local chancing their arm with her, getting rejected and then (perhaps drunkenly) attacking her in anger.

Personally, to speculate wildly, I reckon it was someone who was infatuated with her over a long period of time. If it was a chancer who wanted to have sex purely for their own gratification the lack of any signs of sexual assault is strange. IMO this person wanted a relationship and had convinced themselves that Sophie wanted them too. He probably thought he was in love with her and her rejection cut them down. Total psycho whoever it was.

There wasn't a murder there in say 60 years, were they waiting for that one moment of rejection

Do you have super short arms and feet, how far back do you think the seat would be going

, how many times do you think the taller person would be driving on holidays and do you really think the hire company is resetting the seats

Again, it's a strange thing to be filling your mind with over all these years

Did you ever rent from cork airport

What are you talking about? It's really simple, I have never had to walk around to the passenger side of a hire car to adjust the seat, it's invariably within reach. I'm not storing the position of the seat! The file with 'occasions I moved rental car passenger seats' returns a 404, that's all there is to it. Strange thought process you are going through.

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Was this deceased Randy Garda ever named?

This article bsck in April said there were 3 new suspects uncovered in the sky documentary, guess a lot changed in it before it went out

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishmirror.ie/news/three-new-suspects-murder-sophie-23950293.amp

There wasn't a murder there in say 60 years, were they waiting for that one moment of rejection

It didn't have to be a raging serial killer, just someone who drunkenly went too far one night. Plenty of people just snap once and do things in the heat of the moment they would never ordinarily do in a million years. Or maybe they do have violent tendencies, but have just never killed before - who knows?

I just wish whoever it was had enough of a conscience to own up and give her family some closure. I wouldn't hold my breath, though. They've gotten away with it this long, unlikely they'll ever do the right thing. In fact, they're probably getting a thrill out of the fact the Guards have fitted up someone else entirely and the French courts have convicted him in abstentia.