Girls and OnlyFans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭LMHC

So he kicked her to the kerb, geez.

Yes and I'm considering subscribing to her hahah

LMHC wrote: »
    Right lads bit of context its not my partner its me friends partner and he chose to end the relationship. He felt it was digital prostitution and couldn't get past it.

Ah well, she's better off.
    Hopefully her next fella, I'm sure there's a queue, will be far more secure in himself and their relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

They’re not great points at all, as they gloss over the quintessential difference between legitimate employment and prostitution - the difference being that in what is regarded as legitimate employment, employees are protected in law, employers have legal obligations to their employees, and if it’s a business providing a service to the public, there are numerous laws which protect the rights of consumers. None of this applies in the context of prostitution.
    Who said anything about prostitution? Big difference between working in a brothel and uploading a few raunchy pics/vids in the comfort of your own home. The points Kyuss made are still valid regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭YellowLead

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ah well, she's better off.
    Hopefully her next fella, I'm sure there's a queue, will be far more secure in himself and their relationship.

A queue to bang, not to settle down and have kids with....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭patnor1011

9 out of 10 recent music video clips looks like soft porn and singers performing on stage looks like sex workers. Why would anyone be outraged by the thought of their neighborhood deli counter girl making some extra money while she can.
    A lot of female or male celebrities "accidentally" released sex tape at some point of their career when they needed some extra money or media attention.

YellowLead wrote: »
    A queue to bang, not to settle down and have kids with....

She is on onlyfans is she not? There is no suggestion that she is actually 'banging' anyone is there?
    So any secure man wouldn't be worried about her job

She is on onlyfans is she not? There is no suggestion that she is actually 'banging' anyone is there?
    So any secure man wouldn't be worried about her job

No - but I think a lot of men (as demonstrated by this thread) would not choose to date somebody seriously, as in long term, who is masturbating on command for all and sundry and sexting away with who could be his work colleagues or friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

ArtyM wrote: »
    I was 12 months into a relationship before I discovered that my partner thought it appropriate to serve tomatoes with fish, so I can understand this.

You really never know the dirty secrets that others can hide.

Was it a plum tomato or a big beef one? It's a strange place to encounter a tomato alright.

• Site Banned Posts: 339 ✭✭guy2231

No - but I think a lot of men (as demonstrated by this thread) would not choose to date somebody who is masturbating on command for all and sundry and sexting away with who could be his work colleagues or friends.

I doubt most would care especially men who don't have charm\money\good looks to afford to be fussy.

Most would care if they were going to marry and have kids and it would especially matter to the ones who can afford to be fussy.

The men who have a lot of options generally won't settle down with sluts or OF girls or whatever while the men who don't have many options generally won't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,317 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

KyussB wrote: »
    I used OF as shorthand, but I thought it was clear that I was saying people posting on OF and getting paid for it, is legal - it's legitimate employment.

On the second quote, I was taking this meaning of the word:
    " : to devote to corrupt or unworthy purposes : debase prostitute one's talents"
    https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/prostitute

What was clear is that you were talking about prostitution, which is not generally considered a legitimate form of employment.

And that’s even giving the kindest interpretation of what was a fairly flippant post which glossed over the numerous differences between prostitution and regular jobs which influences whether any form of employment is generally regarded as legitimate or not.

I know that OnlyFans isn’t just a platform for adult entertainment, even though that’s become it’s most common association. I know plenty of self-employed and legitimately registered with revenue for tax purposes content creators who produce and publish all sorts of content and media work, that’s why in the context of the thread it was important to make the distinction between the platform, and the form of employment.

Relying on the dictionary definition of words to make a point about exploitation in legitimate forms of employment still doesn’t equate regular jobs with prostitution, which is why I wanted to give you the benefit of the doubt that you weren’t actually equating legitimate employment with prostitution.

No - but I think a lot of men (as demonstrated by this thread) would not choose to date somebody seriously, as in long term, who is masturbating on command for all and sundry and sexting away with who could be his work colleagues or friends.

Well she probably wouldn't be interested in hypocritical guys anyway!

True she wouldn’t be interested in a classy man. Let trash date trash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

That's not what my posts were saying, and I don't think others will have the same interpretation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

Coomer thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭ardinn

Did You say 21K a month?

Thats CEO money of a large corporation - More salary than our top 2 politicians combined, and a higher wage than the president of the united states!

Your telling me you would date a girl who earns this much - who by the very definition of her job makes her hot as fúck and also exceptionally sexually confident.

If it doesnt work out with your mate let me know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,369 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

What if roles were reversed, everyone talking about girls on OFs, but what about the guys who do it, are they studs, but the girls are sluts? so cheer on the likes of Tannor Reed, or Zilv Gudel & Kai, but slut shame the women.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Pat_bottom

I wouldn't judge her there is great money to be made from it seemingly any average following is making many thousand a month. That been said if it was me that found out I wouldnt stick around personally I wouldn't like the fact that my mates or anyone could be looking at my partner that way.

An Ri rua wrote: »
    A lot of people would care if you were banging your mother sister or daughter.
    In fairness now.

I strongly believe that soon enough the way the world is going soon we will be hearing from people that their incestual rights have been taken away from them and what happens between two adults is of no business to anyone else, soon we will hear of an incestual rights movement.

What if roles were reversed, everyone talking about girls on OFs, but what about the guys who do it, are they studs, but the girls are sluts? so cheer on the likes of Tannor Reed, or Zilv Gudel & Kai, but slut shame the women.?

It’s the same regardless of gender for me. I’d don’t care that people do it, I just wouldn’t date one.

ardinn wrote: »
    Did You say 21K a month?

Thats CEO money of a large corporation - More salary than our top 2 politicians combined, and a higher wage than the president of the united states!

Your telling me you would date a girl who earns this much - who by the very definition of her job makes her hot as fúck and also exceptionally sexually confident.

If it doesnt work out with your mate let me know...

Doesn’t necessarily make them hot! You could have an ugly woman who is willing to stick a broomstick up her backside to suit some dudes fetish. Also the money will be shortlived. The average content producer is not making that kind of money.

There is some chap from Wicklow, he is earning thousands every month, left his job, he was on the six o'clock show there a few months ago.
    I didn't hear anyone.say anything derogatory about him.........

Edit, Matty Gilbert, 50K a month ;)

Something derogatory..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,317 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Who said anything about prostitution? Big difference between working in a brothel and uploading a few raunchy pics/vids in the comfort of your own home. The points Kyuss made are still valid regardless.

Kyuss did? Their whole point was about the morality of prostitution, and they made the usual point that people are prostituted or prostitute themselves in regular jobs, as though prostitution should be regarded as a regular job because people prostitute themselves in regular jobs too. They don’t though, even by the most liberal interpretation of the word, and there are numerous legal protections for employees and sanctions for employers who exploit their employees.

Of course there’s a difference between working in a brothel and uploading a few raunchy pics/vids in the comfort of your own home, in the same way as there’s a difference between enjoying adult entertainment and imagining it’s something you would be ok with your nearest and dearest doing. The difference of course is in the context of either scenario, something which Kyuss was overlooking in claiming OnlyFans is legitimate work -

KyussB wrote: »
    People prostitute out their morals/ethics for money all the time (in ways that cumulatively cause gigantic harm to society and the lives of whole generations).

People on OF are doing honest work, where the only moral/ethical ambiguity, isn't about them - it's about whether economic circumstances pressured them into the role - and where the only risk of societal harm, is to themselves.

Kinda important to clear up what role he was referring to, seeing as OnlyFans is just the platform, and adult entertainment is a legitimate form of employment. Showing your titties on cam in the comfort of your own home for a few euro is more of a hobby, than legitimate employment, that isn’t likely to cause a fuss for Revenue.

Adult entertainment is a legitimate form of employment?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Purple is a Fruit

I love what you've done to your ivory tower.
    You've got it backwards. People who pretend sex work isn't riddled with problems are the ones in an ivory tower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Kyuss did? Their whole point was about the morality of prostitution, and they made the usual point that people are prostituted or prostitute themselves in regular jobs, as though prostitution should be regarded as a regular job because people prostitute themselves in regular jobs too. They don’t though, even by the most liberal interpretation of the word, and there are numerous legal protections for employees and sanctions for employers who exploit their employees.
    I was responding specifically to the point he made about people crossing moral boundaries in regular jobs and in everyday life. I would have more of an issue with that than I would with a girl using Onlyfans to make some extra money.

You could have an ugly woman who is willing to stick a broomstick up her backside to suit some dudes fetish.

Anyone else in pain reading this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

There is some chap from Wicklow, he is earning thousands every month, left his job, he was on the six o'clock show there a few months ago.

I saw that chap! Fair play to him, Personality and intelligence of a door frame so may as well may hay while the sun shines.

Pat_bottom wrote: »
    Anyone else in pain reading this?

Bringing back memories is it?

guy2231 wrote: »
    Bringing back memories is it?

Got me hahahaha haha :0