Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Lucas Hood wrote: »

Cheers. Doesn't look like there's any new guidance in relation to weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,454 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

gozunda wrote: »
    Lol. Boggles- have you gone to the dark side :D

No, by the time the pubs open and I get to go to them my social circle and I should be vaccinated.

House party with that cohort will be way safer than sitting beside a table of Six 13 years olds and nine 12 year olds in a pub.

For numerous reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,946 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I fail to comprehend how any of this is necessary if 80% will have received at least 1 shot by the 1st week of july.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

VinLieger wrote: »
    I fail to comprehend how any of this is necessary if 80% will have received at least 1 shot by the 1st week of july.

The obvious answer (and not necessarily the one I'd believe) is that it's easier to overload the restrictions and then remove them than add on more if there's an issue.

Embarrassing being the only country having guidance on how to manage hospitality with most of the population vaccinated.

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/working-safely-during-coronavirus-covid-19/restaurants-offering-takeaway-or-delivery#takeaways-2-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm watching Dominic Cummings tell all in Westminster on BBC News here and it's fascinating stuff around how they managed the Covid issue and responses and his views on Boris Johnson in particular.

I'd love to see a similar expose here, but of course it'll never happen because Irish politicians don't do accountability and they never resign (except maybe temporarily).

Embarrassing being the only country having guidance on how to manage hospitality with most of the population vaccinated.

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/working-safely-during-coronavirus-covid-19/restaurants-offering-takeaway-or-delivery#takeaways-2-3

The time limit idea is absolutely idiotic.

The problem is once again the rules they are putting in place seem absolutely arbitrary and they aren't explaining them with any good reasons especially considering the vaccination rates.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

The time limit idea is absolutely idiotic.

The problem is once again the rules they are putting in place seem absolutely arbitrary and they aren't explaining them with any good reasons especially considering the vaccination rates.

are you under the impression vaccination is complete after the first dose?

Graham wrote: »

are you under the impression vaccination is complete after the first dose?

No im not, but conversely its also what people are being told. My mother got Pfizer and was told at the centre that even though she still needed the second to consider herself fully vaccinated 1 week after receiving the 1st dose.

My Mother in law was told the same for Aztrazeneca.

Also by the stage of 80% receiving 1 dose we should be close if not over 40% having received 2 doses and being fully vaccinated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Can see this 11pm last orders staying put for the rest of the year

Doesn't matter a feck how many people are vaccinated the government are scared shirtless of a new variant arriving. They don't want to people out drinking all night listening to loud music and dancing

I'd agree with you there, I can see the closing time being something that is very slow to go back to normal. After so long I will be delighted to be able get back to a pub over the next few weeks but I reckon it will be a good while before it is back to normal. I honestly think NPHET would love to keep it like that forever, they seem obsessed with the 'European model', but they will have to allow things to go back to the way they were eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

It is warped to think anyone can or should be proud or even understanding of our ridiculously cautious re opening after nearly 7 months of severe restrictions. That have taken a huge toll on the health of this population and a massive toll on the finances of this nation.

This thing does not transmit outdoors...
    Asymptomatic people are not a threat...

The vulnerable have been vaccinated and those that aren't can protect themselves.

Can some one please tell me why we are ignoring those established facts.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I'm watching Dominic Cummings tell all in Westminster on BBC News here and it's fascinating stuff around how they managed the Covid issue and responses and his views on Boris Johnson in particular.

I'd love to see a similar expose here, but of course it'll never happen because Irish politicians don't do accountability and they never resign (except maybe temporarily).

Think it's pretty unequivocal, we didn't try for herd immunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Heard a little of what he had to say, but in fairness to our lot they never appeared to be in denial as too the seriousness of the virus, and there was never any hint that they were even considering the natural herd immunity route.

As I said, I just heard a snippet more or less, but was Boris really offering to get infected to show the virus wasn`t worth worrying about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,229 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

It is warped to think anyone can or should be proud or even understanding of our ridiculously cautious re opening after nearly 7 months of severe restrictions. That have taken a huge toll on the health of this population and a massive toll on the finances of this nation.

This thing does not transmit outdoors...
    Asymptomatic people are not a threat...

The vulnerable have been vaccinated and those that aren't can protect themselves.

Can some one please tell me why we are ignoring those established facts.

Very true

We'll have MM/Government and Rte jumping a jig Friday about how great they are for relaxing some of the restrictions

I'd agree with you there, I can see the closing time being something that is very slow to go back to normal. After so long I will be delighted to be able get back to a pub over the next few weeks but I reckon it will be a good while before it is back to normal. I honestly think NPHET would love to keep it like that forever, they seem obsessed with the 'European model', but they will have to allow things to go back to the way they were eventually.

NPHET have nothing to do with it.

Also isn't the European model - drinks everywhere at all hours?

Also

Justice Minister launches legislation to extend pub, nightclub and off-licence opening hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Boggles wrote: »

Also

Justice Minister launches legislation to extend pub, nightclub and off-licence opening hours

Who makes the call or recommendations so? Government probably have final say, but I would be very surprised if NPHET had 'nothing to do with it'.

Well European model of pubs probably would be later hours as you say, but a European style of consuming alcohol is more so what I meant.

Aware of the link you posted, if it wasn't for that I'd have been certain that 11pm would be the time of last orders from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭thebronze14

BigMo1 wrote: »
    I tell you one thing, trying to arrange a wedding in this mess is a complete sh!tshow.

Tell me about it. Postponed mine from June to June next year. I don't even know if I'm confident of that happening due to this ****show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

So that infamous bar from last year, Berlin D2, has lost its licence.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0526/1224066-dublin-pub-licence/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Boggles wrote: »

Also

That will go the way of our extra bank holidays they were talking about. When push comes to shove never to be mentioned again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Who makes the call or recommendations so? Government probably have final say, but I would be very surprised if NPHET had 'nothing to do with it'.

Well European model of pubs probably would be later hours as you say, but a European style of consuming alcohol is more so what I meant.

Aware of the link you posted, if it wasn't for that I'd have been certain that 11pm would be the time of last orders from now on.

Of course Govt have the final say and as for 'European model of pubs
    this is the biggest pile of nonsense that keeps getting repeated on here, there is no 'European model' ffs. Ive been in cities all over Europe, mainly on Irish football trips and the pub scene is different everywhere you go. Some of the best nights out ive ever had have been getting away from the football gang with a few mates and going drinking in 'local' bars and naer a sign of a coffee or food or table service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

If we do adopt the European model, can it be the one where pints are €2.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    If we do adopt the European model, can it be the one where pints are €2.

I'd be more interested in marrying the European model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Well it’s finally happening. FF TD’s calling for. NPHET to be disbanded.

https://twitter.com/marcmacsharrytd/status/1397562358541819906?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

Well it’s finally happening. FF TD’s calling for. NPHET to be disbanded.

https://twitter.com/marcmacsharrytd/status/1397562358541819906?s=21

He spoke very well on newstalk. Made a lot of sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

is_that_so wrote: »
    So that infamous bar from last year, Berlin D2, has lost its licence.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0526/1224066-dublin-pub-licence/

I know of one bar owner that will be a bit nervous seeing that.

Caught during the first lockdown with around a dozen on the premises and being served. Bit of a macho-man and did the same two week later, but got a late tip off the Garda were on their way and everyone did a runner. Including him. Garda arrived to find the door unlock, lights and TV on and not a sinner in sight. The licence renewal application should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

charlie14 wrote: »
    I know of one bar owner that will be a bit nervous seeing that.

Caught during the first lockdown with around a dozen on the premises and being served. Bit of a macho-man and did the same two week later, but got a late tip off the Garda were on their way and everyone did a runner. Including him. Garda arrived to find the door unlock, lights and TV on and not a sinner in sight. The licence renewal application should be interesting.

I’d say a certain hotel in Clifton is ****ting it too...... oh wait different rules.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I will 100% be there if so

15th of June. Convention Centre.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

No im not, but conversely its also what people are being told. My mother got Pfizer and was told at the centre that even though she still needed the second to consider herself fully vaccinated 1 week after receiving the 1st dose.

My Mother in law was told the same for Aztrazeneca.

Also by the stage of 80% receiving 1 dose we should be close if not over 40% having received 2 doses and being fully vaccinated

This is the official HSE information on each of the different vaccines and when immunity kicks in. It varies for each of them.
    AstraZeneca

It takes 3 weeks after getting the 1st dose for it to start to work. Research so far shows that protection after the 1st dose lasts for at least 16 weeks.
    Janssen

You will need 1 dose of the Janssen COVID-19 vaccine to get long-lasting protection.

It takes 14 days after getting your vaccine for it to work. This is when you are fully vaccinated.
    Pfizer

It takes 7 days after the 2nd dose for the Pfizer/BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine to work. This is when you are fully vaccinated.
    Moderna

It takes 14 days after getting the 2nd dose for it to work. This is when you are fully vaccinated.

https://www2.hse.ie/screening-and-vaccinations/covid-19-vaccine/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Ah, these new rules will fit into modern Irish society quite nicely. Irish people love to make a booking for everything, breakfast, lunch or dinner.

BBQ's and cold beers in the garden will be the order of the day. More relaxing and nobody watching you to see how long you've left at a table.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

There cannot be one single piece of epidemiological scientific data to back up the ludicrous 105 minute time limit for indoor dining