Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,105 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Donnelly is actually gonna go instead with this number

https://twitter.com/leptagon2/status/1365334249499459584

Hillarious :)

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

It's the oddest thing, the Limerick concerns are being blamed on social gatherings etc, we're about to fully re open, more or less have already, what exactly did public health officials expect? are we going to see daily area's of concerns rather than case numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

When are they scrapping the PUP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Parachutes wrote: »
    When are they scrapping the PUP?

Last I heard it was to be reviewed again in June I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Dempo1 wrote: »
    It's the oddest thing, the Limerick concerns are being blamed on social gatherings etc, we're about to fully re open, more or less have already, what exactly did public health officials expect? are we going to see daily area's of concerns rather than case numbers

Limerick is the outlier in the health system, it is the most dysfunctional, mis managed hospital in the country, consistent over crowding going back years, and that is saying something.

About 2 months ago, the head of the HSE in the region was warning that a covid surge could topple the health system, she was correct, at the time there wasn't a sinner in the hospital with covid...the system was overwhelmed anyway.

There have been massive numbers visible in the city centre since the middle of February....I doubt the behaviour is the issue, the issue is the state of the hospital.

Limerick is the outlier in the health system, it is the most dysfunctional, mis managed hospital in the country, consistent over crowding going back years, and that is saying something.

About 2 months ago, the head of the HSE in the region was warning that a covid surge could topple the health system, she was correct, at the time there wasn't a sinner in the hospital with covid...the system was overwhelmed anyway.

There have been massive numbers visible in the city centre since the middle of February....I doubt the behaviour is the issue, the issue is the state of the hospital.

Pretty grim state of affairs there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,449 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Spiderman0081

Boggles wrote: »
    No it isn't.
    It is in Sweden. Thankfully

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Hillarious :)

I think there may be an alternative definition of hilarious.

It is ok to find some sentiment you agree with chronically unfunny when presented in such a manner

I think there may be an alternative definition of hilarious.

It is ok to find some sentiment you agree with chronically unfunny when presented in such a manner

No idea what your on about, Donnelly is a parody of himself, a clown if you will, albeit the twitter post might have added a little campness given its eurovision night, now that would be even more Hillarious

I see the 2 meter rule for pubs and restaurants is set to be halved to 1 meter. Again, good news, but what is that decision based on?

Is that for outdoor dining and does it mean the distance between tables. There was a funny meme on social media a while back about supermarket queues , checkouts were very close together and people were standing parallel to each other at a very near distance. The joke seemed to be the virus travelled vertically not horizontally! Can’t find it now and they explain it much better but was good. Probably though as other posters say it’s about getting enough business in to make the place viable. It’s really sad to see places offering takeaway coffee with their indoor seated area all taped off. Really hope these guys can get their businesses properly up and running again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Mods, forgive me for posting Leptagon videos, but this is hilarious and I suspect fairly accurate to how many people are hanging on NPHET's every word

https://twitter.com/leptagon2/status/1396132049354993670

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Just shows the stupidity of how these restrictions are written up when a bookies office is open now with people having coffee etc watching racing for the day but you can't sit outside a coffee shop and have a cup of tea..the usual lads here will tell us the government are following the science !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,095 ✭✭✭prunudo

Just shows the stupidity of how these restrictions are written up when a bookies office is open now with people having coffee etc watching racing for the day but you can't sit outside a coffee shop and have a cup of tea..the usual lads here will tell us the government are following the science !

Sister only said the same to me yesterday, its okay to go into non essential retail now (not before time) but you can't sit outside a cafe and have a coffee and cake for anorher 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

prunudo wrote: »
    Sister only said the same to me yesterday, its okay to go into non essential retail now (not before time) but you can't sit outside a cafe and have a coffee and cake for anorher 2 weeks.

Yep it's crazy and shows they really haven't a clue. You can get your sandwich and coffee and go into the nearest paddypowers out of the rain and lose your wages or win a fortune but you can't sit outside that coffeeshop where you bought them ! #followthescience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

Was in my local town yesterday and people were saying they weren't as busy as they thought they would be. I sat on a bench on the street to have coffee as my kids ate their ice cream. Wouldn't have bothered if the weather wasn't okay. Too much hassle. Would have just bought online. If they don't cop on shops in towns will become a thing of the past.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Restrictions are being eased gradually to prevent a surge.

The science isn't particularly complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Surely the bookies have their seating areas closed off at a minimum and don't have live sport on tv?

I'd imagine that you should only be able to go in and place a bet and then walk out once placed?

Graham wrote: »
    Restrictions are being eased gradually to prevent a surge.

The science isn't particularly complicated.

Simplistic rubbish.

The unwillingness to allow food and beverage service to outdoor spaces is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

ecoli3136 wrote: »
    Simplistic rubbish.

The unwillingness to allow food and beverage service to outdoor spaces is pathetic.

When do you believe we should have allowed that and on what basis ?

Degag wrote: »
    Surely the bookies have their seating areas closed off at a minimum and don't have live sport on tv?

I'd imagine that you should only be able to go in and place a bet and then walk out once placed?

That's exactly what I did yesterday, but according to some on here you can go in and have a 3 course meal.

Might get cans and head back for the football today.

Sammy2012 wrote: »
    Was in my local town yesterday and people were saying they weren't as busy as they thought they would be. I sat on a bench on the street to have coffee as my kids ate their ice cream. Wouldn't have bothered if the weather wasn't okay. Too much hassle. Would have just bought online. If they don't cop on shops in towns will become a thing of the past.

Heard the same on one of the news reports yesterday. Trade is quieter than expected.

Lots have gotten used to shopping online and (even post Brexit) having things delivered to the door in 48 hours from Amazon UK, not to mention the greater choice and better value that online shopping offers generally.

If retail doesn't adapt to this new world quickly and Government doesn't support changes fully, the high street/shopping centres will become like the corner shops - expensive stopgaps that people will only use for small value things in a push.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Heard the same on one of the news reports yesterday. Trade is quieter than expected.

Lots have gotten used to shopping online and (even post Brexit) having things delivered to the door in 48 hours from Amazon UK, not to mention the greater choice and better value that online shopping offers generally.

If retail doesn't adapt to this new world quickly and Government doesn't support changes fully, the high street/shopping centres will become like the corner shops - expensive stopgaps that people will only use for small value things in a push.

Was in Dundrum TC on Friday and it struck me how not busy the place was! I expected more activity but it was fairly mundane, no queues into shops and parking was easy to get! I also expected more sales with shops having unsold stock from the past few months but didn’t see anything of note in the places I went into! It wasn’t dead by any stretch but I’d expected more on the first Friday afternoon after opening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Or maybe just maybe people are still going careful of themselves and others / waiting for their first / second vaccinations

I know of plenty who are ok to hold off and non essential activities and keeping to the advice and going shopping etc as needed. Thing is many non essential shops/ services here are offering an online service and have been doing that for months. Many find that very handy.

People also have to work and pay bills (yeah even on a Saturday) where they can and not sit in bookies moaning about indoor sandwiches and coffee. That said the any cafes I know are doing a very good takeaway business.

Yes because the likes Amazon only began trading 15 months ago.

gozunda wrote: »
    Or maybe just maybe people are still going careful of themselves and others / waiting for their first / second vaccinations

I know of plenty who are ok to hold off and keeping to the advice.

People also have to work and pay bills (yeah even on a Saturday) where they can and not sit in bookies moaning about indoor sandwiches and coffee. That said the any cafes I know are doing a very good takeaway business.

I am not buying the "people are still worried" line. Most are long past worrying about a virus that the overwhelming majority of them have nothing to fear from.

I think another shift that may have happened though is that people have realised just how much money they were pissing away during an average week on €3 coffees, overpriced sandwiches, and random stuff when doing the weekly shopping. When you do that shop online you'll buy what you need, not so much whatever is in front of you.

Boggles wrote: »
    Yes because the likes Amazon only began trading 15 months ago.

Poor effort.

Amazon have seen a massive increase in business in the last year, and since they opened up their Dublin distribution centre the delivery times here have fallen significantly. They even deliver after 5 and over the weekends which is a big benefit to shoppers too.

I'm sure you know that though.

Poor effort.

Amazon have seen a massive increase in business in the last year, and since they opened up their Dublin distribution centre the delivery times here have fallen significantly. They even deliver after 5 and over the weekends.

I'm sure you know that though.

Amazon double profits every year.

To suggest that bricks and mortar retail wasn't struggling with online before covid and it's some how a new world order is pure fantasy.

gozunda wrote: »
    That said the any cafes I know are doing a very good takeaway business.

And the pubs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

ecoli3136 wrote: »
    Simplistic rubbish.

Seriously?

My opinion is simplistic rubbish but your well thought out opinion is we should we reopen 'food & beverage' because 'is pathetic'.

FYI, outdoor food and beverage is reopening shortly.