When's calving starting 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Oops I was replying to whoever had the cow with the prolapse.

For the young heifer yea keep a good tight eye on her and have everything sitting ready for a section. It can happen easily when heifer and bull calves are running together and/or with stock bull. We had a whodunnit a few years back on a wee parthanese heifer. Bull calf out the side and he was massive. Wound up reserve beef store bullock champion at Christmas sale locally about 16 months later and I think made £1500 or £1550. It stunted her but she went in calf again and calved herself overnight one time. That calf was a solid bull calf but not fancy. She didn’t go in calf again and she was let on. Yours could well work out yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

High bike wrote: »
    Got the bad news this evening from the vet that I was expecting,he confirmed that a yearling heifer is in calf and too far gone to inject.She-ll be calving at 16/17 Mt's any advice welcome

Assume it will be a caesarean and everything from there is a big bonus. If she's roomy at the hips, has a heifer and the bull is easy calving, then the odds are more in your favour. A caesarean isn't the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Lads I've a 18 yr old cow that just calved twins I'm taking 1 off her I was giving her meal there all the time only a small bit kg per day shes shook enough wat minerals or vitamins should I give her btw she wasnt ment to go in calf but ...

Another classroom miracle! Hard to beat a big strong girl

1 to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

squinn2912 wrote: »
    Another classroom miracle! Hard to beat a big strong girl

1 to go!

It's like when jacks army were on the go, we were allowed watch the matches in the PE hall...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

lab man wrote: »
    Lads I've a 18 yr old cow that just calved twins I'm taking 1 off her I was giving her meal there all the time only a small bit kg per day shes shook enough wat minerals or vitamins should I give her btw she wasnt ment to go in calf but ...

watch her for milk fever at her age. Dairy nuts - she may need a Hi mag mineral lick.

Not very old at all, we had one back in 2007 age 19, she had twins. She was 22 yrs old when she had her last calf (breaking out to the neighbour's bulls).

Claire age 19 - 2007 Male twins.jpg

Claire.jpg

What's your plan if you're in the classroom and one gets into difficulty calving?
    Have you someone to call on?

Yea luckily my father is about it means he can work away and I keep an eye and can ring him. I can rush home if needs be when lessons are done

I don’t be glued to it like I just glance at it if a cow was calving I’d let a wee junior group watch on but it’s not happened much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

And sin è, last 2 calved last night thank feck

Calf a week old had scour. Tested and confirmed that it's CRYPTO. Have treated with for the last 2 day can't remember what's it's called a powder given once a day. Calf is getting fed 3-4 times a day. Drank cow dry last night for 1st time so should no longer need help yo get on the pap.

Giving her fresh bed but keeping her in until I k ow she is drinkkng on own
    Can calf get re-infected ?
    If I let them out should i keep away from the other calves?

Don't think have had a confirmed case before, but suppose it was there.

EDITING.....

SORRY THIS SHOULD HAVE SAID CRYPTO .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭tanko

tellmeabit wrote: »
    Calf a week old had scour. Tested and confirmed that it's coccidiosis. Have treated with for the last 2 day can't remember what's it's called a powder given once a day. Calf is getting fed 3-4 times a day. Drank cow dry last night for 1st time so should no longer need help yo get on the pap.

Giving her fresh bed but keeping her in until I k ow she is drinkkng on own
    Can calf get re-infected ?
    If I let them out should i keep away from the other calves?

Don't think have had a confirmed case before, but suppose it was there.

I’ve never seen a calf get coccidiosis, recover and get it again.
    You could give all your other calves over three weeks old a dose of Vecoxan to prevent them getting it. Isolating one cow and calf would be a nuisance.
    Had a six week old calf with it here this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,987 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A week old is very young to get coccidiosis. Would it have been crypto?

Just seen the week old bit, it can’t be coccidiosis under 21 days afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

Sounds like Crypto, Vets are plagued with calves going down with it over the last few weeks. The hot days followed by night frost has made young calves vulnerable

whelan2 wrote: »
    A week old is very young to get coccidiosis. Would it have been crypto?

Sorry ya, crypto. I think I might have a does of it myself. I'm all over the shop today.

Halocur was the treatment

Yea that’s for crypto. Horrrible thing a drop calf took it in here last year and gave it to 2 others. I’m not convinced a couple more didn’t get it months later despite very thorough washing

I've none to calf for couple months. Didn't clean out after the previous 2, mistake. Just wondering what's best course of action. Will clean out shed when I let this girl out. I suppose monitor her and see how she is. Poo is more solid today, still yellow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

I've none to calf for couple months. Didn't clean out after the previous 2, mistake. Just wondering what's best course of action. Will clean out shed when I let this girl out. I suppose monitor her and see how she is. Poo is more solid today, still yellow

Outdoors outdoors for calving is the best way of preventing crypto. If cows can be keep out, it will give them a chance to clean off and the calf will have less chance of ingesting dung. Had an outbreak a few years ago and moved calving to April. Cows out during the day in an acre of bare ground marked for reseeding. In at night for grub. Had only 25% calved indoors, but bedding is changed in calving pens after each calf and a power wash and disinfecting with kenocox once a week.

I'd be same normally or even calf them in and straight out to field then. But this one is in cos I used DEP bull and wasn't sure what to expect when calving. Not sure I'll put them out this week now after seeing the forecast either.
    When it comes to selling at the end of the year i think it pays to valve them earlier. Calved here starting March so i could let them out after calving. No way could let them out any earlier here.

Should older calves already out get treated now?

I'd be same normally or even calf them in and straight out to field then. But this one is in cos I used DEP bull and wasn't sure what to expect when calving. Not sure I'll put them out this week now after seeing the forecast either.
    When it comes to selling at the end of the year i think it pays to valve them earlier. Calved here starting March so i could let them out after calving. No way could let them out any earlier here.

Should older calves already out get treated now?

No, the older ones outside should be ok now, that’s not to say there’s no chance of them getting it but it’s unlikely, just keep an eye on them.
    Coccidiosis is a bigger threat with the older calves that are out imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Had 3 weanlings scanned in calf a few weeks ago.. first one yesterday she was very obliging pushed calf as far as she could but no way calf was comin out. Section done and dusted in an hour and I think I'll have customer for the calf decent CH bull would he be work 200? She wouldn't be able to feed him for long

Dozer1 wrote: »
    Had 3 weanlings scanned in calf a few weeks ago.. first one yesterday she was very obliging pushed calf as far as she could but no way calf was comin out. Section done and dusted in an hour and I think I'll have customer for the calf decent CH bull would he be work 200? She wouldn't be able to feed him for long

Normal sized calf?

tanko wrote: »
    No, the older ones outside should be ok now, that’s not to say there’s no chance of them getting it but it’s unlikely, just keep an eye on them.
    Coccidiosis is a bigger threat with the older calves that are out imo.

Ya was scanning the field this evening for colour. Few white poops and grey. Will try watching them better tomorrow see who's is whos

fine sized calf no way butty

Had a heifer calf at around 18 -20 months I think. Reared calf and went on to produce a total of 14, only sold her as she has horns and was a liable to get caught in some of the feeding barriers with them.i was working in another county at the time. Came into milk too.1st to calf every year. She was never the tallest cow but kept producing
    Your not tempted to keep them together?

nope no interest, I've too many calved/to calved as it is, need to reduce numbers a bit so this one would be a headache. Her Dam had bad feet aswell so wouldn't be one for keeping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭High bike

Thats it for the year except for 2 pb's end of June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Sami23

High bike wrote: »
    Thats it for the year except for 2 pb's end of June

Nice to get to end of it alright.

I'd be finished here myself only for 1 cow that slipped from calving in April last year to only being due end of June this year :(
    Vet checked her and couldn't find any reason for it. She was running with Bull.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Dozer1 wrote: »
    fine sized calf no way butty

If it's an average type CH calf I think you're under valuing him at €200 tbh. Granted he's out of a heifer as opposed to a mature cow but I'd reckon he's worth nearer to €300. I don't think you'd be robbing anyone at that price and he'd cover the price of the section. Best of luck with the other 2 and hopefully you'll have more successful outcomes.

Absolutely fully agree. God he should be worth the price of the section no bother