If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

SusanC10 wrote: »
    Our (now cancelled) Ferry for Summer 2021 was €1,600. More expensive than previous years. However, Tesco Tokens were going to cover it all bar the deposit.

We would have had a tight enough bdget when the kids were small so we gave up on camping in France many years ago due to costs of both travel and living while there. went to Spain in 2008 and never looked back. Top class sites, under populated roads, cheap to shop and eat out and more reliable weather. Most operators go there now. If interested PM me and I'll happily give you recommendations.

Sorry for going OT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

Ireland could not be in the CTA with the UK and in Schengen also. That is why they opted out. There was nothing "hush hush" about it. You might not have been aware what was going on yourself, but that probably isn't a good yardstick of something being kept secret

I’m not talking about the Schengen Opt Out (actually Opt in) which I’m well aware of and have posted on but the case by case decisions on each piece of legislation which are never announced and it seems not debated in the Dáil.

You might agree the public would like to know if we had the option to partake in legislation on travel from outside the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

Is there any chance Ryanair will increase their number of flights back to pre covid levels from August onwards? The flights I'm looking at have gone from 3 a week to 2 a week, I'm just wondering if there's any chance it'll increase again if demand is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

“” Taoiseach Micheál Martin said that as he looked to July and beyond, he wanted to see aviation, tourism and all hospitality businesses back doing "what they do better than anyone else on earth".””

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭votecounts

First of all, I've been pro restriction and in favour of MHQ. How Israel was on the list and India will just be put in a few hours is a mystery. Surely there will be a lot of angry people if people outside the EU can travel in to Ireland with vaccines without restriction and on the other hand Irish people cannot go anywhere.
    Any idea when the US will lift restrictions on Europeans, surely any agreement should work both ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

votecounts wrote: »
    First of all, I've been pro restriction and in favour of MHQ. How Israel was on the list and India will just be put in a few hours is a mystery. Surely there will be a lot of angry people if people outside the EU can travel in to Ireland with vaccines without restriction and on the other hand Irish people cannot go anywhere.
    Any idea when the US will lift restrictions on Europeans, surely any agreement should work both ways

US might lift restrictions for europeans mid May, there’s talk of it anyway. But i’d expect you’ll need to be fully vaccinated is my bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Klonker wrote: »
    Is there any chance Ryanair will increase their number of flights back to pre covid levels from August onwards? The flights I'm looking at have gone from 3 a week to 2 a week, I'm just wondering if there's any chance it'll increase again if demand is there.

I'd be assuming that it'll be next year before pre covid flight levels return for airlines. As-is, I'd imagine it's likelier Ryanair will divert flights elsewhere in Europe with less conservative restrictions rather than adding extra flights here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

votecounts wrote: »

The bit in bold. The misfit in me almost wants that to happen.
    It’d be the perfect ammunition to showcase the absolute buffoonery occurring in both the government and NPHET.

Additionally it’d offer great entertainment for me seeing how diehard supporters and the media (especially RTE) would wriggle and squirm with their cognitive dissonance and still broadcast their unhinged continued support for European and Irish residents MHQ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

****ing headbangers. And again the conspiracy theorists will be owed an apology.

To think there's fruitcakes out there that'd be up for Ireland doing the same thing..

Brought this up a while back and there was a few on this thread arguing AUS/NZ would be open by the end of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

****ing headbangers. And again the conspiracy theorists will be owed an apology.

To think there's fruitcakes out there that'd be up for Ireland doing the same thing..

These fruitcakes don’t see the big picture at all.

Australia and new Zealand have self sustaining economies and do not need an open economy or inbound/outbound tourism.

Australians are able to travel freely within their own country which is 2500 miles width and 2300 miles length. In contrast , Ireland is 175 miles width and 300 miles length. We would be living in a complete island virtual prison.

Australia and new Zealand have already made an attempt to travel corridor between themselves and it’s likely they’ll try that again in the near future. Our fruitcakes were suggesting recently that we make it impossible to access our nearest trading island UK. It’d take a very special kind of stupid to manufacture that kind of situation in their head and not see how futile it’d be.

Australia and new Zealand have displayed a proactive intent to reintroduce normality to their citizens once the initial covid outbreaks have been subdued. Example, they abolished social distancing , masks , opened their social outlets and sports etc. Just look at the contrast to here in Ireland. It’d be years of isolation and restrictions in our afore mentioned prison.

Btw , I don’t support what the Australians nor kiwis are doing to their citizens either. It’s completely disproportionate to the risk considering the impacts of covid on their population post vaccine roll out would be so very minimal. It’s just our own zero covid pushers are an extremely fringe and potentially dangerous element that should be highlighted as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It's a bit mad isn't it. All these countries coming up with similar fruitcake restrictions? It's almost as if these fruitcake decisions are based on a thing called "science" that leads to the same conclusions and similar restrictions worldwide.

On another note, maybe the government could try to bring in a scheme to help people to stay and holiday here who couldn't afford to do it normally? Would be a win-win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40280642.html

Contact tracer leaks details of 250 flights with positive Covid cases

The media will print any old crap to satisfy the anti travel mob. I'd say the information from this individual is pretty sketchy, and they've even gone so far to print their opinion on how the transmission occured. They really are stooping to new lows to scare people these days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Genuine question - "visiting a grave" is a legitimate reason for travel but I have to scatter my father's ashes up North - is this also legitimate or should I wait until after intercounty travel is allowed ?

He's going home to Down and we're in the Midlands.

I would just do whatever suits your personal circumstances, don't pay any attention to restrictions.

No Gard is going to block you.

I would just do whatever suits your personal circumstances, don't pay any attention to restrictions.

No Gard is going to block you.

No Guard or Garda either :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭josip

One of my favourite movies

jhlzoL5.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

dalyboy wrote: »
    Australia and new Zealand have already made an attempt to travel corridor between themselves and it’s likely they’ll try that again in the near future.

is that travel corridor not still in operation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭General Toilet

Nope. It lasted 3 or 4 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Nope. It lasted 3 or 4 days.

Are you sure?

I think if you checked there's been plenty of flights from Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane to NZ over the last few weeks. No problem.

Genuine question - "visiting a grave" is a legitimate reason for travel but I have to scatter my father's ashes up North - is this also legitimate or should I wait until after intercounty travel is allowed ?

He's going home to Down and we're in the Midlands.

No Gardai checkpoints anywhere at this stage (in my experience). I am in Louth and drove to Antrim this weekend for a hiking trip (by myself), stayed in a small Airbnb on the coast, hiked for 3 days. You will be fine, especially in your circumstances. From this weekend on you can travel anywhere
    Sorry for your loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

It's a bit mad isn't it. All these countries coming up with similar fruitcake restrictions? It's almost as if these fruitcake decisions are based on a thing called "science" that leads to the same conclusions and similar restrictions worldwide.
    However given that conditions vary hugely worldwide (climate, lifestyle, travel patterns, urbanisation etc.) and therefore one would expect measures to vary correspondingly. If countries are instead adopting the same measures, as you suggest, one might expect something other than science to be at play. For instance, it could be that leaders don't want to be seen doing a "solo run" so adopt whatever their neighbours are doing even if it is not the optimal solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

How do ye reckon a group of around ten lads would be fixed for heading over to the UK for a stag by mid-August? Mainly late 20s/30 age bracket, don't think we will be fully vaccinated by then anyway so won't have a a 'green cert' if that is required. Would you need one to travel over to England or would that just be for further afield? Hopefully there won't be a quarantine on returning to Ireland. If there was though I am guessing travelling via Belfast is a bit of a way around this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

How do ye reckon a group of around ten lads would be fixed for heading over to the UK for a stag by mid-August? Mainly late 20s/30 age bracket, don't think we will be fully vaccinated by then anyway so won't have a a 'green cert' if that is required. Would you need one to travel over to England or would that just be for further afield? Hopefully there won't be a quarantine on returning to Ireland. If there was though I am guessing travelling via Belfast is a bit of a way around this?

Why not Northern Ireland?

20 of us are heading up to North Antrim at the end of next month. Rang a few pubs we wanted to go to and they are delighted to have us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

from "the mainland", which influences so much Irish policy decisions , obviously with health decisions taken in conjuction with Tonys dictats.
    Hopes that holidays to popular tourist destinations could soon restart have been boosted after the government scrapped advice that said people should avoid all but essential travel to areas including mainland Portugal and Spain’s Canary Islands.

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) said the updates meant the level of Covid risk in some places was no longer “unacceptably high”, prompting speculation about which countries will be put on the “green list” when international travel is allowed again.<snip>
    The final lists are expected to be signed off on Thursday and announced on Friday.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/may/04/foreign-office-revises-covid-advice-for-non-essential-travel

20 of us are heading up to North Antrim at the end of next month. Rang a few pubs we wanted to go to and they are delighted to have us.

Cause it's a kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

You'll be grand. Green Cert is only for the EU I think.

At most you'll need a negative test getting in to the UK, and there isn't a hope that they'd introduce MHQ for coming back from the UK, though you might need a negative test again.

MHQ from UK simply doesn't work because of exactly what you have suggested - the backdoor through Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Lmkrnr

Portugal is going to be on the UK green list soon as per the guardian. The trip to Belfast is actually pretty good, motorway and national roads all the way to the airport. Also there is no Tolls. Hopefully the canaries make the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,266 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Lmkrnr wrote: »
    Portugal is going to be on the UK green list soon as per the guardian. The trip to Belfast is actually pretty good, motorway and national roads all the way to the airport. Also there is no Tolls. Hopefully the canaries make the list.

M50 toll and Drogheda M1 toll, but neither of them should be a gamechanger. Just make sure you have the M50 toll set up to pay automatically or going out can be a slight headache.

No tolls over the border and an easy drive. Sprucefield can be a bit of a bottleneck but just follow the signs. Just make sure you're going to the correct airport, there is Belfast International and Belfast City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

The North is probably the plan B. It's been tricky to plan with such a question mark over travel, but realistically it has to be to somewhere where the pubs will be open with little restriction so I don't have confidence we could do it somewhere such as Galway or Cork.
    JDD wrote: »
    You'll be grand. Green Cert is only for the EU I think.

At most you'll need a negative test getting in to the UK, and there isn't a hope that they'd introduce MHQ for coming back from the UK, though you might need a negative test again.

MHQ from UK simply doesn't work because of exactly what you have suggested - the backdoor through Belfast.

Cheers for the reply, worst case scenario that isn't too bad. Would be great if we didn't even require the negative test, can only imagine the ****show if the groom ended up testing positive for his own stag!

can only imagine the ****show if the groom ended up testing positive for his own stag!

Depends on what he's positive for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭Dr. Em

Lmkrnr wrote: »

Why would you not wait to travel from Dublin? Portugal is still blocking non-essential travel from the UK. When is that going to be lifted? Travelling from the UK, you would need three covid tests: one prior to travel to Portugal, one before leaving Portugal, and one upon arrival in UK - basically the same as from Dublin.