Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ruining a wedding

• Registered Users Posts: 30,314 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Not really ruined a wedding but there's a very famous Irish dancer(Who rose to fame in 1994) and he used go out with a socialite. This man was very good to visit a local hospital for the elderly and she accompanied him at some stage and they put up pictures of them together and some that were in the media.
    There relationship ended and he started going out with another dancer he danced with. They got engaged. On the day of the wedding they rang the hospital to say they were going to call in.
    The staff were panicking trying to get pictures down off the walls and hide them, I think some staff members were trying to stand in front of them and they also had to deal with the residents who were asking where's the other blonde one.
    It was meant to have being hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭whitey1

I was at a great wedding years ago. A good friend of mine at the time was footing the bill.....his wife had been married before and her daughter was getting married. Anyway the entire bridal party looked like supermodels with one exception. At the time Butterbean, the boxer was very popular and my buddy said something to the effect of “Jaysus, that one would give Butterbean a run for his money”

Long story short, the comment was overheard and all hell broke loose.....women crying, people being held back etc

What I don't understand about the skimping antics is that I imagine a lot of guests would probably halve their cash gift if they felt they were not being appreciated. A false economy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

whitey1 wrote: »
    I was at a great wedding years ago. A good friend of mine at the time was footing the bill.....his wife had been married before and her daughter was getting married. Anyway the entire bridal party looked like supermodels with one exception. At the time Butterbean, the boxer was very popular and my buddy said something to the effect of “Jaysus, that one would give Butterbean a run for his money”

Long story short, the comment was overheard and all hell broke loose.....women crying, people being held back etc

People can be nasty, that's a fairly crass comment to make about someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

What I don't understand about the skimping antics is that I imagine a lot of guests would probably halve their cash gift if they felt they were not being appreciated. A false economy.
    You won't know until the day though, so most will have given their gift before they realise it's a budget wedding.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

People can be nasty, that's a fairly crass comment to make about someone.

And yer man making the comment probably looking like he went a few rounds with Butterbean himself.

You won't know until the day though, so most will have given their gift before they realise it's a budget wedding.

I've never bought a wedding 'gift'... And can't remember the last time I saw a packaged gift at a wedding. It's been about 4 years since I've been to a wedding though.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I've never bought a wedding 'gift'... And can't remember the last time I saw a packaged gift at a wedding. It's been about 4 years since I've been to a wedding though.
    Well I meant gift as money in a card, chances are you given it before the meal. You can't ask for it back and take half of the money out.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭dinneenp

If someone had a wrapped gift (e.g. photo in a frame) you're not going to wander around with it while sipping wine. I'd imagine it'd be given to somebody before the big day or immediately upon arrival.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

The worst thing about a miserly wedding is that everybody remembers you as the miser who had a poxy wedding and made everybody pay for it. The best thing about your wedding is for it to be unremarkable, people have a good day and enjoyed it but don't really remember it!
    If you can't afford to at least give people a decent meal and a glass of wine, then invite less people.

dinneenp wrote: »
    If someone had a wrapped gift (e.g. photo in a frame) you're not going to wander around with it while sipping wine.

Well, in fairness they deserve the budget wedding :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Didn't ruin the wedding but i always thought it was very bad form from one of the guests at my wedding.

He was the +1 of a college friend who woundn't have know too many people at our wedding. We had the reception in a small village that had a pub on the road in and a hotel on the road out. Most people were going to go to the pub after the ceromony and before the reception as is somewhat normal, so I went to the pub a few days before hand and left €2K behind the bar for people to get drinks. then in the Hotel there were 3 bars and one was just for our wedding, which had an open bar. During the meal wine was served, glass and top up but then bottles were left on some of the tables, basically for whoever wanted wine.

Anyway just as the band are finished up and i am out back having a smoke with my brothers, this guy comes up to me and starts giving out that no one told him about the free drinks in the pub or the bar in the hotel, and how he doesn't drink wine so it was pointless that that was free.

One of my brothers ran him fairly quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,746 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Two stories, neither hilariously funny, but they raise a smile in the family when we talk about weddings.

I was best man for my brother. He’s close on 7ft tall and not skinny, and his wife is a tiny slip of a thing.
    When it came to the part of me handing over the rings I reached into the pocket and to my horror could only find one. My brother saw the look of abject panic on my face and put on this absolutely thunderous look. When I took the ring out, to my delight they were both there. Hers was nice n neatly in his. My brother complimented me on the little trick I pulled later on, telling me I had got him good. I think our mother copped on though, cos she said to me afterwards she had never seen me looking so relieved

At my sisters wedding myself and two of the grooms sisters were doing the prayers of the faithful. We had been told to let the previous person come back before approaching the lecture/microphone thing. The first sister went up, did hers no bother. Then me and as I stood back in place my heel stood on the base of a big 8ft candle stand. Of course as soon as I lifted my heel the candle at the top wobbled and fell, thump thump thump bouncing off another candle on the way down. Both of them were put out in the fall but the grooms younger sister had to do her prayers then and couldn’t as she had a total fit of the giggles after seeing this, but only the front rows of the congregation saw it so no one could figure out what was going on

The priest came over as the three of us were leaving, picked up the two candles and says, oh I wondered what the noise was

About 20 years ago a friend of mine was at a family wedding in a very rural area. A cousin who had being raised in England came out of the closet shortly before the wedding and somehow “finagled” an invitation for his partner.

Certain attendees were “warned” ahead of time not to create any issues and that this is how things were nowadays etc, etc.

Everything was going fine until later in the evening when one of the people who had been warned saw the partner chatting with another cousin who was 15 or 16.

Straight over and grabbed the fella by the lapels of the jacket and accused of of trying to “put notions in a young fellas head”......a table of drink may have been toppled over in the process.

Anyway it was close enough to the end of the night that the instigator was made leave the reception by his wife and possibly even had to apologize the next day

I was the best man in a wedding where one of the groomsmen had years before, crashed into the brides fathers and totaled his car. There was a civil case and serious compensation was paid out

The groomsman could get very thick with drink on board, and during the bachelor party (which was just a glorified pub crawl around the neighboring villages) made a few snide comments to the brides brother about a new car he had bought......anyway nothing happened, but the groomsmans wife got wind of what had been said and banned him from drinking at the wedding.

Fast forward to the day of the wedding and the groomsman was on best behavior, drinking Cidona all day and night......at least that’s what people thought. I was up at the bar and offered to buy him a Cidona, except that’s when I realized what the “work around” was....a double Vodka poured into a pint of Bulmers with a bottle of Cidona on the side for show.

Anyway, all’s well that ends well as his wife was expecting and he had to gone home early anyway. He was tasked with asking a gate crasher to leave just before he departed, but handled it very well all things considered (There was another wedding on the property and a taxi had dropped the gate crasher off at the wrong entrance, and he was so hammered he hadn’t noticed he was at the wrong wedding)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,978 ✭✭✭pgj2015

whitey1 wrote: »
    I was the best man in a wedding where one of the groomsmen had years before, crashed into the brides fathers and totaled his car. There was a civil case and serious compensation was paid out

The groomsman could get very thick with drink on board, and during the bachelor party (which was just a glorified pub crawl around the neighboring villages) made a few snide comments to the brides brother about a new car he had bought......anyway nothing happened, but the groomsmans wife got wind of what had been said and banned him from drinking at the wedding.

Fast forward to the day of the wedding and the groomsman was on best behavior, drinking Cidona all day and night......at least that’s what people thought. I was up at the bar and offered to buy him a Cidona, except that’s when I realized what the “work around” was....a double Vodka poured into a pint of Bulmers with a bottle of Cidona on the side for show.

Anyway, all’s well that ends well as his wife was expecting and he had to gone home early anyway. He was tasked with asking a gate crasher to leave just before he departed, but handled it very well all things considered (There was another wedding on the property and a taxi had dropped the gate crasher off at the wrong entrance, and he was so hammered he hadn’t noticed he was at the wrong wedding)

We really do have a serious drink problem in this country lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

pgj2015 wrote: »

I would honestly be passed out after one of those concoctions.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭nialler1978

pgj2015 wrote: »

yep, was at one where after hours in the residents bar some punter sh*t himself. smell was absolutely horrific. the person wasn't identified but the packed bar emptied almost immediately and the bar staff saw their opportunity and pulled the shutters down. not quite ruining the wedding but put a halt to the festivities pretty suddenly.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

yep, was at one where after hours in the residents bar some punter sh*t himself. smell was absolutely horrific. the person wasn't identified but the packed bar emptied almost immediately and the bar staff saw their opportunity and pulled the shutters down. not quite ruining the wedding but put a halt to the festivities pretty suddenly.

Not a wedding story but a guy in work came up to me one time and told me he had to go home. I asked him if everything was ok and he said no, he had to go home because he had sh1t himself. He wasn't lying.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,064 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Not a wedding story but a guy in work came up to me one time and told me he had to go home. I asked him if everything was ok and he said no, he had to go home because he had sh1t himself. He wasn't lying.

Something similar from me.. my cousin worked in a fairly posh hotel as bar staff in the 00s as a college student at weekends.
    He was told by management one weekend night to go in and clean the men's toilets.
    He found a trail of sc*tter all along the floor and the toilet bowl was destroyed.
    He told them to stick the job and walked out.

To thine own self be true

Something similar from me.. my cousin worked in a fairly posh hotel as bar staff in the 00s as a college student at weekends.
    He was told by management one weekend night to go in and clean the men's toilets.
    He found a trail of sc*tter all along the floor and the toilet bowl was destroyed.
    He told them to stick the job and walked out.

Fair play to him for sticking up for himself.
    Who is supposed to do that clean up though, management certainly would not do it!.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,064 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Fair play to him for sticking up for himself.
    Who is supposed to do that clean up though, management certainly would not do it!.

The funker who crapped himself.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Fair play to him for sticking up for himself. Who is supposed to do that clean up though, management certainly would not do it!.

Technically, they're supposed to have a haz waste specialist team in. Speaking from experience though, staff do it.

Yep,
    Get the young lad with no experience to do it.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Yep, someone did that in a place where I worked and one of the managers was trying to get a staff member to clean it up. Luckily the other manager arrived and shut that down straight away and a specialist team was called out to deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,488 ✭✭✭jackboy

Toots wrote: »
    Yep, someone did that in a place where I worked and one of the managers was trying to get a staff member to clean it up. Luckily the other manager arrived and shut that down straight away and a specialist team was called out to deal with it.

That is mad. I remember years ago working in a bar nightclub. Every Sunday morning the jacks was in a terrible state, excrement and puke everywhere. No member of staff ever refused to clean it.

Is this a common thing now to get a specialist team in to clean excrement of a floor? What about puke, does that need specialists also?

jackboy wrote: »
    That is mad. I remember years ago working in a bar nightclub. Every Sunday morning the jacks was in a terrible state, excrement and puke everywhere. No member of staff ever refused to clean it.

Is this a common thing now to get a specialist team in to clean excrement of a floor? What about puke, does that need specialists also?

In nightclubs, I doubt it.
    In hotels, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

jackboy wrote:

A little off topic, but people dealing with food (restaurants, hotels etc) shouldn't really be cleaning up vomit, poop, blood etc. They do (I have cleaned up a lot of bodily fluids and former colleagues have had to clean up an exploded bag), but they really should bring in a specialist team.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,547 ✭✭✭worded

I heard about wedding where the photographer was the X of the bride.
    It didnt ruin the wedding but must have been arkward

• Registered Users Posts: 11,314 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

A little off topic, but people dealing with food (restaurants, hotels etc) shouldn't really be cleaning up vomit, poop, blood etc. They do (I have cleaned up a lot of bodily fluids and former colleagues have had to clean up an exploded bag), but they really should bring in a specialist team.

I’ll regret this but could you clarify? Colostomy or...I actually don’t know what.