Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

Well the specialist engineer wasn't aware of any pandemic or travel restrictions. Maybe corona hasn't hit the news in countries outside of Ireland yet?

Even though he wasn't aware of the possibility of any restrictions, he choose to drive to an airport in another country in order to fly here but was then was caught out upon entering Dublin.

(Maybe he was reading hints on here about how to break the law without being caught by travelling via another airport... cough cough Belfast)
    Well id imagine mistakes happen, anyway at least hopefully more get the message and travel to Belfast and get a taxi over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Do you have an ounce of humanity in you?

What about looking after people here by not letting new variants run riot (again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Christ! I see "But India" has become the new "But in New Zealand"...:D :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

scamalert wrote: »
    Well id imagine mistakes happen, anyway at least hopefully more get the message and travel to Belfast and get a taxi over here.

I wasn't suggesting anyone go via Belfast.

I was merely hypothesizing that some might attempt a similar "trick" coming in the other direction - i.e. if they are in a red list country such as Belgium, and decide that they can bypass the system by instead flying here from the Netherlands....then they might still get caught when they land

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Christ! I see "But India" has become the new "But in New Zealand"...:D :rolleyes:
    ill put a bet for next being chinesses, as why not :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Tenzor07 wrote: »

I held myself back on a reply about following orders (not worth a ban) and decided ignore is the best policy.

ill put a bet for next being chinesses, as why not :D

Would you care to translate into language that can be understood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭General Toilet

I wasn't suggesting anyone go via Belfast.

I was merely hypothesizing that some might attempt a similar "trick" coming in the other direction - i.e. if they are in a red list country such as Belgium, and decide that they can bypass the system by instead flying here from the Netherlands....then they might still get caught when they land
    Only if they are stupid.

saabsaab wrote: »
    Would you care to translate into language that can be understood?
    sorry meant Chinese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

What about looking after people here by not letting new variants run riot (again).

99.9% of the population has had their lives severely disrupted or even completely paused for over a year now to appease the weak and cowardly.. how much more looking after do you need??

No end to the selfishness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

99.9% of the population has had their lives severely disrupted or even completely paused for over a year now to appease the weak and cowardly.. how much more looking after do you need??

Steady on there. a lot have people have died don't forget. Calm down. the people crying out most for lifting of lockdowns are the very ones who will prolong them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

If Ryanair are thinking about cancelling flights due to quarantine, what happens if you go ahead and book one and then they cancel. Are you entitled to a refund?

They seem to be doing automatic refunds now for that situation. Big change from last years policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

I am shocked. What have we become? No political voices standing up against this nonsense (Regina Doherty aside). There is no compassionate left just a group of far right loopers who want to lock people up.

I think you’ll find it’s the Far Left.

They seem to be doing automatic refunds now for that situation. Big change from last years policy.
    also if checking ryanair they have date change free of cost, so assume they are in same unknown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

I think you’ll find it’s the Far Left.

I used far right quite deliberately.

Generally, the left-wing is characterized by an emphasis on "ideas such as freedom, equality, fraternity, rights, progress, reform and internationalism" while the right-wing is characterized by an emphasis on "notions such as authority, hierarchy, order, duty, tradition, reaction and nationalism".

It's all over the world would like to be in India now? Perhaps Brazil might suit your viewpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pouladuff_goal

I used far right quite deliberately.

Generally, the left-wing is characterized by an emphasis on "ideas such as freedom, equality, fraternity, rights, progress, reform and internationalism" while the right-wing is characterized by an emphasis on "notions such as authority, hierarchy, order, duty, tradition, reaction and nationalism".

Almost all the countries that restrict its citizens from travelling are left wing.

The old Iron Curtain countries. Venezuela, Cuba , North Korea. You vote in Socialism. You get misery and restrictions. You cannot vote it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Well the specialist engineer wasn't aware of any pandemic or travel restrictions. Maybe corona hasn't hit the news in countries outside of Ireland yet?

Even though he wasn't aware of the possibility of any restrictions, he choose to drive to an airport in another country in order to fly here but was then was caught out upon entering Dublin.

(Maybe he was reading hints on here about how to break the law without being caught by travelling via another airport... cough cough Belfast)

He was asked by a company to come here and fix a freezer, and happened to live a little over an international border to what I suspect was the closest airport. Doubt he was scheming away making secret plans to circumvent the law for a wild trip to level 5 Ireland. His only mistake was travelling from a country doing a better job at upholding EU freedom of movement, and allowing essential travel to/from the rest of the EU like 26 of the 27 EU states currently do, and wrongly presuming all EU countries share this aim.

also if checking ryanair they have date change free of cost, so assume they are in same unknown.

You will notice however that the price is different to a new booking.

Sneaky ****ers

Wallander wrote: »
    He was asked by a company to come here and fix a freezer, and happened to live a little over an international border to what I suspect was the closest airport. Doubt he was scheming away making secret plans to circumvent the law for a wild trip to level 5 Ireland. His only mistake was travelling from a country doing a better job at upholding EU freedom of movement, and allowing essential travel to/from the rest of the EU like 26 of the 27 EU states currently do, and wrongly presuming all EU countries share this aim.

He got through passport control, freedom of movement has been met.

Almost all the countries that restrict its citizens from travelling are left wing.

The old Iron Curtain countries. Venezuela, Cuba , North Korea. You vote in Socialism. You get misery and restrictions. You cannot vote it out.

What the sweet Jesus ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭eltonyio

I think what really annoys the curtain twitchers is that the mhq was only ever set up to appease populists and does not have the purity they crave.

If it was a genuine public health tool there would be far less exceptions (e.g like those for athletes), way more agility and responsiveness in designation of countries (e.g India) and furthermore, there would be a clear benefit for the state (covid cases haven't collapsed since it was introduced and we have sampled hundreds of variants anyway).

It was a lazy, ill thought out move to appease SF, but with long lasting and damaging consequences.

Anyway, multiple budget airlines will save us with wonderful, discounted routes through Belfast until our dear leaders come to their senses.

"Focus on the bigger picture" say people in favour of forcing healthy people into quarantine for a 2 weeks at a cost of nearly €2k in order to stop variants that will inevitably get into the country anyway due to the numerous exemptions.

Bigger picture indeed.

So you prefer if nothing was done?

you cant argue with that, if it was done when it was first rampant in Italy over a year back it would been sort of acceptable, doing this year to late is a bit nonsense, what did they stop like 2 cases or smth and eastern europe still has a clear path here and many other countries with 10s of thousands arriving, so picking few likes of brazil,SA,india makes sense then again none of those countries have direct flights here so in reality this stopping of people does f all in grand scheme of things. What is moronic thou that instead of utilizing rapid tests which can give result in an hour we revolt to medieval lockdown when people come with neg tests. so while true many countries have restrictions on travel, Ireland took it a noch further with pointless MHQ, where smart people can land in Belfast and be in Ireland within hour skipping whole quarantine BS all together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Lads (and lasses), stop replying to the posts with the same 5 or 6 buzzwords as repetitive replies ad nauseam. They're putting in zero effort while ye are just falling into the trap when you know what the copy and paste reply will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

I’m not too sure this is the case? Have you a link?

Just saw this question now. Since the traffic light system came last year in the DFA have changed the rating for EU countries.

They all used to be “avoid non essential travel”, but now all EU countries are “ High degree of caution” while non EU like the USA are still “avoid.....”

https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/a-z-list-of-countries/france/

https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/a-z-list-of-countries/united-states-of-america/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

For your own "vaccinated" status, it will depend on when that becomes active. Is it the day you get your first shot or a couple of weeks after getting your second one?

I don't know the answer. Just asking in case anyone knows. I have a family member who received their first shot there a week or two ago and they were told they'd get the second one in July.

It is 14 days for most, interestingly 7 for Pfizer (which they call something else) and 15 for AZ (I think)

It's in the latest consolidated Statutory Instrument, so add these on to your expected date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Just saw this now. Since the traffic light system came in the DFA have changed the rating for EU countries.

They all used to be “avoid non essential travel”, but now all EU countries are “ High degree of caution” while non EU like the USA are still “avoid.....”

https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/a-z-list-of-countries/france/

https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/a-z-list-of-countries/united-states-of-america/

Well spotted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

mmclo wrote: »
    Well spotted!

I meant I just spotted the question now, the website changed last year.

To my mind it means travel insurance is valid again which is a big thing for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Lifelike

Claire Byrne Live tonight painted a very bleak picture for the prospect of international travel returning this summer. Pól Ó Conghaile suggested that the EU COVID Certificate will be operating alongside the traffic light system rather than replacing it, and that therefore countries that are red and orange will have stricter controls on travel than those that are green. They pointed out the possibility of the status of the country that you’re visiting changing whilst you’re there.

Does anyone know if this is indeed true? I thought that the travel certificate was meant to be the key to returning to free travel but if what Pól Ó Conghaile and Claire Byrne said is even partially true it would just be an extra layer of bureaucracy on top of what we had last summer (and any additional measures our government imposes on us).