Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,097 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

Your man had the personality of a toaster and coming on the show when he's about to jet off to Oz was a dick move in my opinion.

A poorly thought out excuse, he has no real intentions of going to Australia, he just wanted to never see that tatty head reading fortunes again :pac:

He obviously hadn't prepared himself for the possibility of not liking the person he was matched with, an eternal optimist, or perhaps a non-thinker.
    Three degrees was an interesting character. Some of the interactions between himself and Health and Safety were painful but I was delighted when they both said yes. Not surprised that nothing came of it though.

I warmed to him a bit cause he was all vulnerable and that explains the 3 degrees and wine snobery, but at the end of the day, I'd say still a weird guy, would you want to be dealing with all that baggage?

The gay couple seemed spot on but weren't interesting in the slightest.

Give them 5 years, they're still at the giggly teenage boy phase. They'll definitely grow personalities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭KevRossi

cgcsb wrote: »
    I'm calling it, he has €1k in the credit union and hopes to buy a house next year not realizing prices will have trippled by then. There's no way a 25 y/o in the civil service has substantial savings in this day and age (bar kids from wealthy families). The cheapest fixer uppers in Dublin now are asking at €200k, if he earns €30k a year(doubtful), he can borrow €105,000 meaning he'd need to produce about €95k plus stamp duty, legal fees and renovation costs out of nowhere, not happening.

You can buy a perfectly good 1-bed for €150-170,000 or a 2-bed apartment in Dublin for €180-200,000. They need nothing other than furniture and maybe a lick of paint. Might not be the most desirable locations for some people, but for someone raised in the area it's fine.

If he's working 7 years, and living at home he could have €50-70,000 saved. Easy done if you're not paying full rent, not out socialising every night, (maybe once a week), aren't a clothes horse and don't have a car. Stick on anywhere from €0-50,000 that you may have inherited or get a hand off parents and you've got yourself a place.

It's not that far fetched, I know plenty of people in their mid-late 20's who have properties in Dublin. They just don't have the need to spend, spend, spend.

Was it my imagination or did all the men on the show seem gay?

Jeez, now that you mention it.....YES.... except beardy lad with the scouse dentist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Was it my imagination or did all the men on the show seem gay?

Gay? No. A bit effeminate? Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I doubt the Dentist came on with dirty hair, she must just have went for that wet look.

Funny how she was glad the date had good teeth, her own weren't great.

Id say yer man just has serious commitment issues, I would be like that myself, love the chase, then loose all interest once you know she is into you. I used that moving country excuse myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

pgj2015 wrote: »

Funny how she was glad the date had good teeth, her own weren't great.

f.

I thought she was a bit naive but nice overall and dodged a bullet with that air head vacuous wolverine character, as for her teeth, they're the teeth she was born with, they were clean but strangely arranged for the want of a better description, that's kinda like saying her tits were small but they could be bigger, I don't get why you'd pick out her teeth just because she's a dentist, is any small physical imperfection game ball now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Yeah you can't win on here. One person said the guy had teeth from Turkey then another says her teeth were too natural. I wonder what they look like themselves. It takes guts to go on this show. I know I comment as well but I try not to look at physical appearance as I'm not perfect myself.

I thought she was a bit naive but nice overall and dodged a bullet with that air head vacuous wolverine character, as for her teeth, they're the teeth she was born with, they were clean but strangely arranged for the want of a better description, that's kinda like saying her tits were small but they could be bigger, I don't get why you'd pick out her teeth just because she's a dentist, is any small physical imperfection game ball now

It looked like she needs braces. look again. not that it would bother me but I thought it was funny as she mentioned the guys teeth and she is a dentist herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

Yeah you can't win on here. One person said the guy had teeth from Turkey then another says her teeth were too natural. I wonder what they look like themselves. It takes guts to go on this show. I know I comment as well but I try not to look at physical appearance as I'm not perfect myself.

The dentist her self said it last night about Turkey teeth.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭Bigus

I wonder does dentist up north mean the same as dentist down south , I think she was a tin roofer, probably cleans the dental surgery after hours or pours the mouth wash. She hadn’t got the look or demeanor of an educated professional.

It looked like she needs braces. look again. not that it would bother me but I thought it was funny as she mentioned the guys teeth and she is a dentist herself.

Does she need them if she doesn't want them? She looked fine to me, unusual alright but not a lot she can do

If there isn't enough space in your mouth for your teeth, then yes you need braces.

Do braces make your mouth bigger

I have extensive experience with teeth. If your mouth is over crowded you need to get some teeth pulled, usually from the back then get the braces on and they squish them up to get them straight but you would still have little gaps at the back.
    I never even looked at her teeth or noticed anything wrong with them to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,403 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Lots of Clare Baldings on here today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭YellowLead

I have extensive experience with teeth. If your mouth is over crowded you need to get some teeth pulled, usually from the back then get the braces on and they squish them up to get them straight but you would still have little gaps at the back.
    I never even looked at her teeth or noticed anything wrong with them to be honest.

I did notice they weren’t perfect (tbh how could you with that hair) - but she’s a dentist not an orthodontist! Her teeth are probably perfectly healthy and clean and therefore the right advertisement.

YellowLead wrote: »
    I did notice they weren’t perfect (tbh how could you with that hair) - but she’s a dentist not an orthodontist! Her teeth are probably perfectly healthy and clean and therefore the right advertisement.

I have had professors of Dentistry working on my mouth who didn't have great teeth? I'm pretty sure they had enough money and could have got them done by their colleagues. It is a person's own business what they do with their mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,032 ✭✭✭YellowLead

I have had professors of Dentistry working on my mouth who didn't have great teeth? I'm pretty sure they had enough money and could have got them done by their colleagues. It is a person's own business what they do with their mouth.

Yeah that was kind of the point I was trying to make!
    Edit - it wasn’t your post I meant to quote btw

YellowLead wrote: »
    Yeah that was kind of the point I was trying to make!
    Edit - it wasn’t your post I meant to quote btw

Oh I was agreeing with you. I get worked up about teeth :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

She was fully gutted for some reason. She thought he was in the bag

I think he was quite insecure - he really didn't like the 'alpha' comments she made during the date, and to be fair he said he didn't want anyone smart 'like a doctor', he went very quiet when she said she was a dentist (although the reading palms shíte should have set his fragile mind at ease).

It didn't strike me as odd at the time, but opening with how he's apparently the 'perfect height' might fit in nicely with the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

There's no fuppin way that girl was a dentist.

Maybe Liverpool Dentists are different to Irish ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

I don't get why people are doubting that she's a dentist - can see it on social media too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

'Need' must be the most overused word in the 'first world'. My own teeth are asymmetrical due to crowding, but I've never felt any need to get braces. And no dentist has ever told me I need to either. They're healthy, they do the job and most importantly they're all mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I don't get why people are doubting that she's a dentist - can see it on social media too.

Because she hasn’t got that false manufactured glowing white Hollywood smile that most girls aspire to these days, therefore she mustn’t be a dentist, seeing as she works with teeth n all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,747 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

That was a poor enough episode. The highlight for me was the blonde waitress making the joke about the blowjob!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

.anon. wrote: »
    'Need' must be the most overused word in the 'first world'. My own teeth are asymmetrical due to crowding, but I've never felt any need to get braces. And no dentist has ever told me I need to either. They're healthy, they do the job and most importantly they're all mine.

One of my daughters was sent to an orthodontist once because her teeth were not completely symmetrical. The orthodontist said that her teeth were fine, her bite was not affected. He also said that he thought non-perfect teeth added character and I could spend thousands if I wanted but it was not necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

She looks crushed.

Begs the question though, why did he go on the show if he has it in his mind to go to Australia?

I thought he was just saying it in conversation to let her know he wouldnt be saying yes at the end:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭fluke

messrs wrote: »
    I thought he was just saying it in conversation to let her know he wouldnt be saying yes at the end:confused:

Aye, I think he was dodging a high maintenance bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Phil finally got around to watching the show.
    1. The 2 gay guys seemed sound, but I think their taste buds need a bit of expansion if sitting in that restaurant they had a plain burger and ice cream! Both were nice guys though.
    2. H&S woman was exactly what I have experienced with this profession - a middle aged power tripper who loves to be the authority. Her date was weird though, I can't put my finger on it but he looked a bit weird to me.
    3. The guy who was on with Lorraine last year and his date were both sound - I liked both of them. Glad they are dating.
    4. The Scouser was so meh and insipid for me. She definitely went to zero effort for the date, at least shower before it - don't look like you've just took off your dentists mask. But her date was an insufferable individual (and his implants were hideous), it was all about him to me. He shouldn't have bothered going on if he's off to Oz and she felt he had totally wasted her time by going on the show.

A search of the Dentist register of Northern Ireland has only 1 person named Emily who is a trainee in Dungannon....

Poor episode for me.