Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

can someone tell me why the obsession with outdoor "dining" christ can we not have the option of just outdoor drinking and away with the food. i think when pubs do open in summer i would think in rural areas all bets are off, gardai wont go near places this time around to inspect whatever mad cap restrictions are in place. basically there will be very tiny risk element by then, gardai will make a show in urban areas and temple bar but not in country areas. what about the pub with 5 or 6 punters midweek or no more than 15 or 20 on a saturday night, who really thinks they will have the 5 lads standing in the beer garden all evening , not a hope. i think the way it will play out is the government will let pubs open in mid august for the bit of staycation tourism , with a load of restrictions , 25% capacity , food etc. pretty much everyone bar children and teens will be vaxxed by then so numbers will be on the floor for months at that stage, pubs will stay open with no real inspections, no spikes of cases and after a few weeks it will just merge back to normal, prob open nightclubs and gigs in late autumn if cases stay low after pubs.

just waiting for Kunta and the gang to ome in and start beratering me for giving dates when i dont know and all that bullls****, this is my opinion thats all. really can tsee them open before august bank holiday

Dickie10 wrote: »
    can someone tell me why the obsession with outdoor "dining" christ can we not have the option of just outdoor drinking and away with the food. i think when pubs do open in summer i would think in rural areas all bets are off, gardai wont go near places this time around to inspect whatever mad cap restrictions are in place. basically there will be very tiny risk element by then, gardai will make a show in urban areas and temple bar but not in country areas. what about the pub with 5 or 6 punters midweek or no more than 15 or 20 on a saturday night, who really thinks they will have the 5 lads standing in the beer garden all evening , not a hope. i think the way it will play out is the government will let pubs open in mid august for the bit of staycation tourism , with a load of restrictions , 25% capacity , food etc. pretty much everyone bar children and teens will be vaxxed by then so numbers will be on the floor for months at that stage, pubs will stay open with no real inspections, no spikes of cases and after a few weeks it will just merge back to normal, prob open nightclubs and gigs in late autumn if cases stay low after pubs.

Don't you know that Covid is hot for the sauce, apparently food is an unheralded superpower that repels it fifty paces. And get the last order in snappish as an airborne virus can be a strict timekeeper.

Hopefully all this patronising "Covid loves a drink" palaver will be condemned to the dustbin of history by July. With all the elderly/vulnerable cohorts vaccinated the risk is reduced to virtually nothing, those who remain terrified can hide behind the couch while the rest of us have a few (socially distanced) jars with our mates at the local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Dickie10 wrote: »

Surely we can't have hospitality more shut than last summer in June/July with a big proportion vaccinated?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,306 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Don't you know that Covid is hot for the sauce, apparently food is an unheralded superpower that repels it fifty paces. And get the last order in snappish as an airborne virus can be a strict timekeeper.

Hopefully all this patronising "Covid loves a drink" palaver will be condemned to the dustbin of history by July. With all the elderly/vulnerable cohorts vaccinated the risk is reduced to virtually nothing, those who remain terrified can hide behind the couch while the rest of us have a few (socially distanced) jars with our mates at the local.

Jesus i remember when Dr Tony was asked the Alcohol and covid question and he was beaming about how negative it was and created the theory of 'the virus loves Alcohol'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Surely we can't have hospitality more shut than last summer in June/July with a big proportion vaccinated?!
    Define big proportion. It has not escaped me that the government has refused to give any quantitative criteria for reopening. :mad:

Ireland's median age is about 37. Put this into a Covid jab calculator and in theory you should get the date when the bare majority of the country has been jabbed at least one. It currently shows August-September.

The calculator has issues (trolls need not reply) but I have stopped trusting the government's projected figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

PommieBast wrote: »
    Define big proportion. It has not escaped me that the government has refused to give any quantitative criteria for reopening. :mad:

Ireland's median age is about 37. Put this into a Covid jab calculator and in theory you should get the date when the bare majority of the country has been jabbed at least one. It currently shows August-September.

The calculator has issues (trolls need not reply) but I have stopped trusting the government's projected figures.

I think this is a key point to be honest. We're not going to see a critical mass of the population jabbed til the autumn at the earliest. Who knows how things will play out with variants as well. At that stage we'll be moving in to a winter flu season and with the health service having been battered for two years I think we can expect to be asked to put the shoulder to the wheel once more to protect the health system. Hopefully we'll then return to normal in spring 2022.

My guess is this will be a summer of dining Al fresco. Hard to beat a pint of Guinness and a bowl of moules out in the sun for lunch anyway! I think dining indoors will be out of the question and 'wet pubs' (those that remain) will be sealed for another good while yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

I think this is a key point to be honest. We're not going to see a critical mass of the population jabbed til the autumn at the earliest. Who knows how things will play out with variants as well. At that stage we'll be moving in to a winter flu season and with the health service having been battered for two years I think we can expect to be asked to put the shoulder to the wheel once more to protect the health system. Hopefully we'll then return to normal in spring 2022.

My guess is this will be a summer of dining Al fresco. Hard to beat a pint of Guinness and a bowl of moules out in the sun for lunch anyway! I think dining indoors will be out of the question and 'wet pubs' (those that remain) will be sealed for another good while yet.

How do you think we should seal them. Personally I think we should paint a big red cross over the front door and position a few monks outside each pub, swinging incense burners and chanting 'Unclean'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,235 ✭✭✭giveitholly

80% of adults will have the option of getting at least one jab by the end of June so how in God's name will we not see a critical mass of the adult population vaccinated by late Autumn? In fairness Paddy you are consistent with the bullcrap you post on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Sure the ones that’ll never open again don’t matter! We’ve never restricted our lives for a flu season? Give over this crap about all fresco ****e! Grand if every pub or restaurant can do it and we’ve a decent summer but you know full well that’s all pie in the sky! Once the vulnerable are fully vaccinated by June we need to open up society in a safe manner and that’s all businesses. No more €9 meal saves your life bullshît!
    Yourself and Kunt have all these dates and opinions but yet others don’t matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

He posts the same stuff every time to get a rise out of people, just don't bother replying. It's clearly a wind up at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

I agree with this.

My benchmark for normality across society is the 2019 Wet Pub!
    The ability to go to a pub/late-bar 2019 style.
    No requirement for alfresco pints, no food rule, no time restrictions, no table service, no numbers limits. Just wander in and sink a few scoops.

I cannot fathom a scenario where that situation will manifest itself in 2021 and considering almost all governments will be watching the winter season and variants very closely, regardless on numbers vaccinated, I think wet pubs are not going to open until 2022, even then it will be under restrictions.
    I suspect it will probably closer to 2023 before we see 2019 style pubs/late-bars (crowds etc).

This is not a wind up, its my genuine opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

W123-80's wrote: »
    I agree with this.

My benchmark for normality across society is the 2019 Wet Pub!
    The ability to go to a pub/late-bar 2019 style.
    No requirement for alfresco pints, no food rule, no time restrictions, no table service, no numbers limits. Just wander in and sink a few scoops.

I cannot fathom a scenario where that situation will manifest itself in 2021 and considering almost all governments will be watching the winter season and variants very closely, regardless on numbers vaccinated, I think wet pubs are not going to open until 2022, even then it will be under restrictions.
    I suspect it will probably closer to 2023 before we see 2019 style pubs/late-bars (crowds etc).

This is not a wind up, its my genuine opinion.

The only thing I disagree with are your timings. I think wet pubs will reopen this year, hopefully by late summer but with restrictions.

Realistically it will be sometime in 2022 before we get back to pre covid Pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭Tazz T

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Jesus i remember when Dr Tony was asked the Alcohol and covid question and he was beaming about how negative it was and created the theory of 'the virus loves Alcohol'

it's got the hawts for outdoor seating from Ikea too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

The stage is that way, don't expect raucous applause. Thankfully we're on the cusp of the term "wet pub" fading from everyday parlance, those who persist with it have seldom darkened the doorstep of a traditional. And it's laughable to suggest they won't be opening beyond August, simply no justification for it when the vaccines have already made a discernible impact in early April. Curtain twitchers hammering away on the keyboard can't sway matters, impotently raging they're unable control the lives of others. Feel free to cower at home, do the rest of us gifted with social graces a favour.

I'm a big fan of the pub, it's probably the one of the simple things I miss most in this whole mess. Swimming with the kids being the other.
    I only use the term 'Wet Pub' in this context to differentiate from gastro pubs that will most likely open at some point under restrictions this year.

I just gave my opinion and you insist on replying with a barrage of insults, suggesting I am a curtain twitcher with no social skills cowering at home. That couldn't be further from the truth!
    I am not really bothered that you decide to play the man instead of the ball, it's a fairly poor attempt at debate on your behalf but it would be naive to expect reasonable debate on an internet forum.
    What genuinely confuses me though is the venom with which you feel to spew at anyone who has an opinion that differs from yours. The reality is, neither of us know how this plays out but you feel shouting down and insulting anyone who has an opinion that differs from yours is ok.

I love a pint, I love the pub, I love socialising, I was out of work on the PUP for 7 months due to Covid. But I stand by my opinion.

surely they will have to legally get back to opening concerts , gigs and nightclubs by autumn 2021 if people are all vaccinated. id say legally they wouldnt have much of a leg to stand on with everyone vaccnated by october even teens.like why on earth would you not give the go ahead for lower capacity venues like vicar st and whelans? theres a whole industry there that they have to give a chance to. nightclubs are the same bracket as gigs in venues like i mentioned. they have to be given the green light once people are vaxxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,249 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

On today's edition of "pth says things that didn't happen"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

Dunno if it's an indication of much but from what I've heard The George doesn't think they'll be opening for the rest of the calendar year.

I've heard a few places say something similar, I think it's just residual shock from the constant stop start of last year. Nowhere wants to give false hope.

I Guarentee there's an action plan if they get the green light though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

hynesie08 wrote: »
    On today's edition of "pth says things that didn't happen"

Think he did say it....

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-virus-loves-alcohol-and-we-have-a-challenge-with-alcohol-in-this-country-cmo-on-new-recommended-restrictions-39877434.html

The virus loves indoor settings, it loves close contact between people, and it loves alcohol. And if we give it the opportunity it will transmit very very quickly and that’s what we are seeing.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Batattackrat

It's pretty scandalous now you can't go for a few pints in a beer garden or even a meal.

They have to open soon or people with staycation in Northern Ireland this summer.

Pubs can open outdoors from the 12th of April and properly from the 12th of May.

Our government are really a shower of spineless idiots.

I'll be going up North for a weeks holidays in May 100% with a group of friends.

Think he did say it....

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-virus-loves-alcohol-and-we-have-a-challenge-with-alcohol-in-this-country-cmo-on-new-recommended-restrictions-39877434.html

The virus loves indoor settings, it loves close contact between people, and it loves alcohol. And if we give it the opportunity it will transmit very very quickly and that’s what we are seeing.”

Was he beaming from ear to ear as he said it as was alleged?

It's pretty scandalous now you can't go for a few pints in a beer garden or even a meal.

They have to open soon or people with staycation in Northern Ireland this summer.

Pubs can open outdoors from the 12th of April and properly from the 12th of May.

I'll be going up North for a weeks holidays in May 100% with a group of friends.

Pubs are reopening in the north on Monday? News to me (and the publicans)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The North aren't reopening on the same dates as England. They've no dates yet for the reopening of hospitality in NI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Batattackrat

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Pubs are reopening in the north on Monday? News to me (and the publicans)

My bad thought it was the same as England, AH BOLLOX!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Given the number vaxxed up there now, you shouldn't have to wait long. They're already doing the 40-49 age segment and talking about what to give the under 30s. Hard to imagine there won't be outdoor hospitality in May.

Yeah i will be heading up north for a weekend soon as its open normally which will be june, i will do that once a month til things open here, actually be a great chance to see some places like Armagh, Derry, Newry Belfast even road trips while staying in a base say in belfast go out glens of antrim and maybe even west ulster, really want to explore some of the troubles battle sites such as Greysteel, Loughgall and Loughisland, south Armagh as well , be nice to have a few days and then a night out after in belfast or derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭mikekerry

It does seem like NPHET want to kill the normal pubs.
    They have a clear anti-alcohol agenda and this is their chance to influence things to keep these closed as long as they possibly can and for good if possible.
    If they can replace them with gastro pubs possibly this is what they are hoping for in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,306 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

It is, but why don't you give us the gist of the article since it's behind a pay wall?