Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COVID-19: Vaccine and testing procedures Megathread Part 3 - Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,349 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Thanks... Will try in am

Now all siblings vaccinated

And wrecking my head talking about side affects

Then the clotting stories..and I not worried by them as I have low platelets count..,so less chance of clottng...normally...only for more details yesterday how the AZ clotting stories relate to low platelets!!

And a parent died from covid19

So not a great few weeks.... Hopefully will sort it out

Sorry for your loss .
    You do need to talk to either your consultant or GP ,so email as well as phone .
    I know this is long shot but have you tried the HSE callsave 1850 241850 number ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,349 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

When does the online portal go live.

19th April . But as far as I know that is for age cohorts 65 to 69 group 6 not highrisk.
    Groups 4 and 7 are being booked in by Consultant or GP as there is medical verification needed on booking , unless this has been changed on the portal
    If you are group 4 you should be being booked in now so you need to check with your doctor , group 7 are meant to be being vaccinated concurrently with group 6 according to Paul Reid today .
    Posted re contact on the other thread to you .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Jane1012

Turtwig wrote: »
    The risk of a cycling accident while carrying heavy loads...

Much lower than the car thankfully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

When does the online portal launch live, as I'm fed up waiting or trying to find info about my place in the queue for cohort 4. Actually I'm confused, my sister was in cohort 4 with heavy asthma and she had her first inoculation in early April. I have emphysema myself but I'm not even sure if I am in cohort 4 or cohort 7. My doctor said I was severe high risk so I should be cohort 4.

Cohort 4 is still being worked through. If your doctor says you are in a severe risk category then you’re likely cohort 4. From the cases I know it has been condition specialists and not GPs that have organised the cohort 4 jabs, but this may not be universal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭JTMan

These vaccines have many unsung heros including those who worked on mRNA for decades ...

https://twitter.com/cliffordlevy/status/1380325640960892937

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

https://www.thejournal.ie/over-70s-first-doses-5403560-Apr2021/

Mid-April vaccine target for over 70s won't be met as GP rollout struggles with delivery delays

“We were always aiming to get certainly all first doses for this over 70 age group by mid or the second half of April. I expect we’ll have covered all those first doses certainly within the month of April. "

Unless I'm reading this wrong, it's gone from mid-April to the end of April. Not really a big deal. The journal commenters and twitterati need to calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

funnydoggy wrote: »
    https://www.thejournal.ie/over-70s-first-doses-5403560-Apr2021/

Unless I'm reading this wrong, it's gone from mid-April to the end of April. Not really a big deal. The journal commenters and twitterati need to calm down.

Shock and faux anger sells papers, not good news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Russman

Qrt wrote: »
    When did he say that? I don’t dispute it and it’s what I’ve always thought but I’d like to see someone corroborate that.

He said it at the NPHET briefing last night on TV. Can't remember his exact words but he also either mentioned or alluded to potentially it being every 3 to 5 years for a booster. Nothing definitive as they were at pains to point out that nobody has enough data to know for sure, but he mentioned it in the context that the coronavirus mutates much more slowly than flu hence he felt it was unlikely it would be an annual jab.
    Think he was replying to yer one from the Indo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭1huge1

Sanjuro wrote: »
    That'd be great. Because, and with all due respect, the thing is absolutely going to crash as soon as it goes online.

Hopefully not, perhaps if its hosted by AWS it may be ok, also it'll probably only be open for certain age cohorts so the demand won't be a big as you'd think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Vicxas wrote: »
    Shock and faux anger sells papers, not good news
    And it's the headline for the day, the HSE are talking up to 200K a week for next two weeks. If that transpires the over 70s will be done very fast.

1huge1 wrote: »
    Hopefully not, perhaps if its hosted by AWS it may be ok, also it'll probably only be open for certain age cohorts so the demand won't be a big as you'd think.
    Yeah, it's likely to follow the patterns of other countries with blocks of certain ages at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

As far as I understand it the first cohort ( 65-70 ) will be invited first to register . It seems that they will work their way down the groups as one group is registered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

JTMan wrote: »
    These vaccines have many unsung heros including those who worked on mRNA for decades ...

60K is a meagre wage by US standards. Why was her compensation so poor if she was so instrumental? Can't read the NYT link due to paywall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,666 ✭✭✭✭josip

It won't stop everyone under 65 clicking into it as far as they can to see how it looks.
    In order to prevent fake bookings it will need some kind of authentication mechanism.
    PPS with its check letter would work for that, but then that would mean anyone who doesn't know their PPS number won't be able to register.
    If they use name and address to match up against IHI, what's to stop me signing up a few neighbours?
    Or using it to check which neighbours I can make a booking for?
    I'll be very interested to see how this version is designed after the previous version was so easily misused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Big uptick in Germany! Bodes well for us when they’re ramping up!!

https://twitter.com/coronavirusgoo1/status/1380441037047533568?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,666 ✭✭✭✭josip

60K is a meagre wage by US standards. Why was her compensation so poor if she was so instrumental? Can't read the NYT link due to paywall.

She never had direct funding for her work and wasn't great at self PR.
    eg.
    Universities only support low-level Ph.D.s for a limited amount of time, Dr. Langer said: “If they don’t get a grant, they will let them go.” Dr. Kariko “was not a great grant writer,” and at that point “mRNA was more of an idea,” he said.

So she relied on other budgets and needed the support of superiors.
    And then Dr. Langer left the university, and the department chairman said he was leaving as well. Dr. Kariko again was without a lab and without funds for research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

JTMan wrote: »

Wonder does Doctor Langer have any relations in Cork ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Micky 32 wrote: »
    He should not be inserting himself into this at all. Let the parties who need to, do their work and report.

Micky 32 wrote: »

Well just over 200,000 have had Asterazeneca in Ireland and there is one case (that we know of).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Goldengirl wrote: »
    19th April . But as far as I know that is for age cohorts 65 to 69 group 6 not highrisk.
    I'm really interested to see how they implement this once it goes online.

I don't expect that it will auto-populate any information, it's too open for data leakage. Most likely it will ask for your name, address, phone number, PPSN and date of birth. And there'll be no automatic checking that these are valid.

The way *I* would do it then is get people to present ID at the MVC on check-in. Something with a photo, date of birth and PPSN. If someone has spoofed or can't verify their date of birth, they'll have to be sent away and the appointment cancelled. It's really the only way to stop cvnts from jumping the queue.

I can see though how contentious this might be. For anyone without a PSC it would mean bringing 2 or 3 separate pieces of ID.
    So I'm really curious to know what the plan is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭PhoenixParker

There are about 495k in the over 70s group. Some will refuse, some are in nursing homes and not cohort 3. Let's say 450k

To the 5th April 270k have had a first dose. 9 days and 180k left to mid April. Roughly 20k a day cohort 3 first doses needed . . . They've been close to that lately. There's always some laggards and delays, but they'll easily be at 80%+ of cohort 3 done by mid april. Probably over 90%.

Well just over 200,000 have had Asterazeneca in Ireland and there is one case (that we know of).

So 5 in a million

That we know of, this case only came to light because her family spoke out.

That we know of, this case only cane to light because her family spoke out.

Should there be a press conference on every admission to hospital with a blood clot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

seamus wrote: »

I don't expect that it will auto-populate any information, it's too open for data leakage. Most likely it will ask for your name, address, phone number, PPSN and date of birth. And there'll be no automatic checking that these are valid.

The way *I* would do it then is get people to present ID at the MVC on check-in. Something with a photo, date of birth and PPSN. If someone has spoofed or can't verify their date of birth, they'll have to be sent away and the appointment cancelled. It's really the only way to stop cvnts from jumping the queue.

I can see though how contentious this might be. For anyone without a PSC it would mean bringing 2 or 3 separate pieces of ID.

I heard Paul Henry mention it the other evening . You will register with a PPS number , get and e mail with a PIN .Enter your details , validation at the venue need with ID like driving licence or passport etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭spakman

So 5 in a million

It doesn't work like that. If the first person vaccinated happened to get a clot, it doesn't mean everyone (1 in 1) will get a clot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There are about 495k in the over 70s group. Some will refuse, some are in nursing homes and not cohort 3. Let's say 450k

To the 5th April 270k have had a first dose. 9 days and 180k left to mid April. Roughly 20k a day cohort 3 first doses needed . . . They've been close to that lately. There's always some laggards and delays, but they'll easily be at 80%+ of cohort 3 done by mid april. Probably over 90%.
    And these are the kind of stats we should be looking at, rather than focussing on "everyone over age X done by date Y".

These kind of rollouts are never perfect, there's always a long tail. I said it weeks ago, and it's still true now: Sometime in June there'll be found an 90-year-old in Hackballscross who never got called for their vaccine. And someone will jump all over it as proof that the rollout is a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

seamus wrote: »

I don't think you'd even need PPSN at the MVC. Just present photo ID with your name and date of birth. That should be enough to verify against the database.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭trellheim

You will register with a PPS number , get and e mail with a PIN .Enter your details , validation at the venue need with ID like driving licence or passport etc

muppets asking for PPS. There is no requirement to have a PPS number in this country ; you can be in Ireland perfectly legally without one. And yes, there's a GDPR exemption for Public Health purposes but you could make up any oul number and register. (yes you need the right check letter but thats a 15 sec Google )

Seamus' idea of govt issued photo ID with DOB is much better way to go.

(Also I heard the portal was Salesforce or am I confusing that with something else)