Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

Looks like they aren't going to do regional openings..I'm done with it at this stage, enough is enough.

The virus has essentially being eradicated from Cork and Kerry. We can do no more and are still expected to keep our businesses and communities closed for no reason. This isn't a lockdown, it's now permanent closure until the entire country is vaccinated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

There was talk immunity might only last 6 months from vaccine. If that's the case, we're almost half way to immunity expiring for some vulnerable people.

Pussyhands wrote: »
    There was talk immunity might only last 6 months from vaccine. If that's the case, we're almost half way to immunity expiring for some vulnerable people.

No there wasn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

OwenM wrote: »
    The pop up centres are for generating propaganda/data (another report) to justify further lockdown which is the only thing our one trick pony (NPHET) can do.

Jesus, we have started using the turkey tin foil.

Source?

These things are usually headlines that are letting the word "could" do a lot of work and taking a (perfectly normal) 1-in-1000 failure to remember immunity event to make a terrifying (read: click-baity) headline for ad bucks.

I've seen nothing in the data to suggest that this is the case. On the contrary, available data points quite strongly (or as strongly as it can thus far) to SARS-CoV-2 causing a similar immunity to SARS-CoV, to which most people are still immune 17 years (at least) later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,590 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

No study I have seen has said that? Do you have a link?

Are you maybe confused with people being immune for a period of time after having covid? I think that 6 month figure might have been mentioned in some studies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Hooked

Looks like they aren't going to do regional openings..I'm done with it at this stage, enough is enough.

The virus has essentially being eradicated from Cork and Kerry. We can do no more and are still expected to keep our businesses and communities closed for no reason. This isn't a lockdown, it's now permanent closure until the entire country is vaccinated

Same here. I'm off Thurs - Sun... work is shutting up (too little business).
    My wife is taking the Thursday as holidays, and we're taking off for a night or 2 in the van. Who are we meeting? No one. Everything we need is IN THE VAN. We couldn't be more isolated if we tried!!!

Idiots RUINING the lives of so many...

The travel restriction is rooted in the eviction legislation, which is why they're so slow to scrap it. Disgraceful carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

honda boi wrote: »
    Meant to be moving into a house in about a week.
    Was hoping this 5km would be relaxed. Absolutely draining it is.
    Sickened as plenty of good stuff on adverts and done deal for the house but obviously they way beyond this 5km.
    Don't know what the Garda would say about picking up furniture/ kitchen stuff
    Kiith wrote: »
    Moving home is considered essential, as i did it in January. Not sure driving to pickup extra furniture would be though, so you may get stopped for that.
    honda boi wrote: »
    Ye moving to the house is fairly confident it's all above board.
    I see the issue is getting stuff for the house. There's nothing in the house. No appliances, furniture. Pre covid not an issue getting 2nd hand bargains. Now though it seems we all need to get brand new stuff, which is not financially possible.

Ye not sure what we going to do as it means that we need to buy everything brand new to make it legal. Which is insane.

while all gardai are different - friend in similar situation was buying a counter top for kitchen and was allowed through checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

gmisk wrote: »
    No study I have seen has said that? Do you have a link?

Are you maybe confused with people being immune for a period of time after having covid? I think that 6 month figure might have been mentioned in some studies.

Apologies, you're correct.

I would assume the vaccine gives same immunity as the virus itself though, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,647 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It’s actually a relief to see so many on here starting to question the bat**** crazy plans in Ireland.

I was starting to think I was the odd one out for about 12 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

It’s actually a relief to see so many on here starting to question the bat**** crazy plans in Ireland.

Yeah these muppets Nphet and the current government have to go.

Apologies, you're correct.

I would assume the vaccine gives same immunity as the virus itself though, no?
    No worries.

Any of the studies I have read the vaccine seems likely to give immunity for longer, but who knows it's all fairly new.

NPHET are doing their job.

Ok the current government have to go you say, who do you want in charge? SF? Who if anything seem to want tighter restrictions.

Same here. Really felt for a long time that I was the only one who had the "calculated risk" approach rather than just blindly following the man on the telly.

Thankfully this past weekend I've visited family (socially distanced), had a night out with friends (all under 45 so we have accepted the risks) and plan to hit the road on Thursday with the missus.

NPHET and MM et al haven't a bloody clue at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Christ Almighty.

Seriously raind. I largely respect your views, but do you not see the mega bias thats going on all year? And with that bias in mind do you really think its unthinkable nonsense that the message is being tweaked like that?

Hooked wrote: »
    Same here. Really felt for a long time that I was the only one who had the "calculated risk" approach rather than just blindly following the man on the telly.

Thankfully this past weekend I've visited family (socially distanced), had a night out with friends (all under 45 so we have accepted the risks) and plan to hit the road on Thursday with the missus.

NPHET and MM et al haven't a bloody clue at this stage!
    A night out where?! Tesco's?!

Ok the current government have to go you say, who do you want in charge? SF? Who if anything seem to want tighter restrictions.

Not in my opinion... They're adopting the same approach to an "unknown" virus of March 2020 - instead it's March 2021 and they've 12 months of data on those really at risk, and the most vulnerable vaccinated.

This virus isn't nearly as deadly as our joke of a health system would have us believe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

Go where chief? There won`t be a general election anytime in the next few years and NPHET will be around for a long time to come as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Cans at the local petrol station.

Not even close. There was beer, pool, darts and music.

And no masks... Rebels the lot of us!

Immunity after contracting COVID-19 would not be different to immunity from a vaccination. If it were, vaccinations would be ineffective. It is possible that vaccination could work like a “booster” if given after COVID-19 disease by making the body “practice” clearing the virus. But it’s still the same mechanism of immunity.

The 6 months figure is for antibodies, and while it seems as though antibodies may wane within 6-12 months, there seems to be strong T- and B- cell immunity (of the type that has kept previously infected people immune to SARS-CoV-1 for the last 17 years and counting).

Of course we won’t know anything for certain for a long while because the only real way to monitor immunity is through ongoing observational studies, but the signs are good.

No a better buzz at Aldi I would say.

can't argue with that tbh
    FG & FF are sh1te but the opposition seem to be playing the "more asbestos" card (See Bart Simpson election campaign for Class President)

(Enjoy)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykm3GI1oTnQ

can we clone Michael McNamara into a majority?
    Can't believe our future depends on a back bench rebellion. Hopefully if enough local people threaten their seat - they'll kick up a fuss.

Lovely....then you are a big part of the problem, so you can't really be on here giving out about restrictions etc....how can you not grasp that?
    If you did catch Covid how many close contacts do you think you would have?

Boggles wrote: »
    Cans at the local petrol station.
    I am picturing that scene from Zoolander....

And then you woke up from your wet dream.

LameBeaver wrote: »
    And then you woke up from your wet dream.

Are you under the impression that that sort of evening isn’t happening regularly all around the country?

LOL

Lovely....then you are a big part of the problem, so you can't really be on here giving out about restrictions etc....how can you not grasp that?
    If you did catch Covid how many close contacts do you think you would have?

So somebody meeting friends in their house suddenly disbars them from being angry that shops/gyms/restaurants/pub/sports and activities are closed, measures such as masks are enforced? That's mental logic.

I've been doing similar , was at a house with 6 others on sat , was nice.
    But wasn't the same as a night on the town.

my close contacts are exposed insofar as they have been my entire life to any other illness. As previously said, nobody I meet in an enclosed space doesn't know what I'm up too. But you can't eliminate risk from your life - imagine a life with no risk? That would be hell.

No more risk me passing on the virus than somebody who is at work daily cos their industry is deemed essential.
    I know - work is noble, rest of your life is bad. Sounds very communist to me. The state is everything, you are nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Are you under the impression that that sort of evening isn’t happening regularly all around the country?

LOL

I saw a post on reddit recently of someone asking how everyone was walking around with such perfect fades and how did they get so good at cutting their own hair. :pac:

LOL

Are you under the impression that if this is happening it is not driving up the positive cases or more to the point do you give a flying fcuk chief?