Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,590 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

paw patrol wrote: »
    So somebody meeting friends in their house suddenly disbars them from being angry that shops/gyms/restaurants/pub/sports and activities are closed, measures such as masks are enforced? That's mental logic.

I've been doing similar , was at a house with 6 others on sat , was nice.
    But wasn't the same as a night on the town.

my close contacts are exposed insofar as they have been my entire life to any other illness. As previously said, nobody I meet in an enclosed space doesn't know what I'm up too. But you can't eliminate risk from your life - imagine a life with no risk? That would be hell.

No more risk me passing on the virus than somebody who is at work daily cos their industry is deemed essential.
    I know - work is noble, rest of your life is bad. Sounds very communist to me. The state is everything, you are nothing.
    Did you actually read what they posted?
    Maybe you should and then respond?
    Basically admitting to being in a shebeen or equivalent with a gang of mates, no masks etc.

Do what you like, but you are kidding yourself too. If you have a large number of contacts and are behaving like that poster you aren't helping...people like you will help to drag this out for even longer.

This doesn't hugely effect me I have a permanent well paid job which can be done from home, but I wouldn't mind going on my honeymoon sometime this decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

LameBeaver wrote: »
    Are you under the impression that if this is happening it is not driving up the positive cases or more to the point do you give a flying fcuk chief?

You essentially called the post delusional, now you're moving the goal posts :pac:

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

I saw a post on reddit recently of someone asking how everyone was walking around with such perfect fades and how did they get so good at cutting their own hair. :pac:

People will always find a way. And quickly realise that the pub/restaurant environment is not nearly as important as the social contact with other human beings (though it will be nice when they open again and we can support those businesses).

Are you under the impression that if this is happening it is not driving up the positive cases or more to the point do you give a flying fcuk chief?

And then you woke up from your wet dream.

Chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

No one gives a flying fcuk anymore chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The real question is, so what if it leads to a few more cases?

We have almost 800,000 vaccines administered to the most at risk. We know COVID is nothing more than a bump in the road for the under 65's bar the exceptional cases. What we don't know is an acceptable level of cases, even though both NPHET and government have said they aren't going for a Zero COVID approach.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

So somebody meeting friends in their house suddenly disbars them from being angry that shops/gyms/restaurants/pub/sports and activities are closed, measures such as masks are enforced? That's mental logic.

abso****ingloutely

you're very much a part of the problem, so whinging about the problem you're helping to create isn't valid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

And then you woke up from your wet dream.

Chief.

So no answer then . Looks like you`re part of the problem chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭growleaves

A v-shaped recovery is the soft landing of 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭rob316

This headline I saw on a paper boiled my piss "Ministers push for construction to re-open"

Why do they have to push for it, they are meant to run the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    No one gives a flying fcuk anymore chief.

The ones with any functioning brain cells or are not selfish self entitled moronic pricks still do chief. Wouldn`t you agree?

gmisk wrote: »
    Do what you like, but you are kidding yourself too. If you have a large number of contacts and are behaving like that poster you aren't helping...people like you will help to drag this out for even longer

Can you define “large number of contacts” in this context?

I met with five other adults this weekend - three couples total, all working from home, all otherwise staying at home apart from grocery runs, all from areas where the community rate of COVID is practically zero, and all healthy and in age groups at more risk from flu.

So in what way are we “dragging this out” for even longer?

There’s only one lot dragging this out, but I suppose it’s easier to criticise people who aren’t able to give themselves the power to arrest you seemingly for whatever purpose they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

The ones with any functioning brain cells or are not selfish self entitled moronic pricks still do chief. Wouldn`t you agree?

No I don't agree chief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Basically admitting to being in a shebeen or equivalent with a gang of mates, no masks etc.

Do what you like, but you are kidding yourself too. If you have a large number of contacts and are behaving like that poster you aren't helping...people like you will help to drag this out for even longer.

This doesn't hugely effect me I have a permanent well paid job which can be done from home, but I wouldn't mind going on my honeymoon sometime this decade.

If you ban all social gatherings in offical settings then it will always go underground. Always has done, always will do. This is a perfect example of the government losing control of the situation. If they allowed premises to open then people would have a controlled environment to go to.

The problem here is not the people, it's the policy makers.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

So no answer then . Looks like you`re part of the problem chief.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭growleaves

Your pseudo-scientific trade embargoes are turning the country into a wasteland chief. You've no right to separate people from their families chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Hooked

Jaysus lads n lassies...

'Tis a really REALLY sad state of affairs when I'm being attacked for admitting to living my life, taking calculated risks with like minded individuals. A year ago - they asked us to "push the virus" back, the'd build capacity, etc... They've failed us at every turn since!

I'm a very pragmatic person. I respect peoples opinions, though they may differ greatly from mine... but the amount of people blindly swallowing this drivel from the govt. and NPHET - unable to think for themselves is very worrying.

Last time I checked *(2 weeks ago) the death toll in Ireland was 45 people total, in under 45's. So, we 'take that risk' when meeting up once a month.

If I'm practicing social distancing and wearing masks EVERYWHERE else (as I should be) then I'm really only putting those I met on Sat night at risk. AND they are of the same mindset.

Imagine that - being in your 40's - and making up your OWN mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Hooked wrote: »
    Jaysus lads n lassies...

'Tis a really REALLY sad state of affairs when I'm being attacked for admitting to living my life, taking calculated risks with like minded individuals. A year ago - they asked us to "push the virus" back, the'd build capacity, etc... They've failed us at every turn since!

I'm a very pragmatic person. I respect peoples opinions, though they may differ greatly from mine... but the amount of people blindly swallowing this drivel from the govt. and NPHET - unable to think for themselves is very worrying.

Last time I checked *(2 weeks ago) the death toll in Ireland was 45 people total, in under 45's. So, we 'take that risk' when meeting up once a month.

If I'm practicing social distancing and wearing masks EVERYWHERE else (as I should be) then I'm really only putting those I met on Sat night at risk. AND they are of the same mindset.

Sorry where were you?

It sounds like a pub?

An exclusive pub for you and your few friends?

High rollers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

having parties indoors is a ****ing problem

if you're doing that kind of ****, you are part of the problem. And don't ****ing whinge about unemployment or mental health when you're negatively contributing to both.

It is hard to live within the rules, but doing exactly the wrong ****ing thing is inexcusable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

That's not the Irish way.

You wait for the man on the telly to tell you what to do, then swiftly tug the forelock and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Boggles wrote: »
    Jesus, we have started using the turkey tin foil.

What purpose did the pop up centres fulfill, opened for just a couple of days just before the next review of restrictions? Why didn't the Dublin one 'which found a worrying level of positivity' stay open?

There is no other conclusion than to gather data in advance of todays meeting with government.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

if you're doing that kind of ****, you are part of the problem. And don't ****ing whinge about unemployment or mental health when you're negatively contributing to both.

It is hard to live within the rules, but doing exactly the wrong ****ing thing is inexcusable.
    People tried meeting up outdoors but then they got filmed and shamed on the radio the following morning.

Much easier to do it indoors in peace then.

People have had the opportunity to meet up with others from outside their household for 3 weeks out of the last 24 weeks and those 3 weeks included Christmas. It can't come to a surprise to anyone at this stage that people are meeting up again. The Government would be far better pushing the safest methods of this activity rather condemning people trying to get on with their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Having the most cowardly Government since the formation of the State is a problem.

Having a gerrymandered, single-issue group of bureaucrats dictating public policy and eroding our democratic freedoms is a problem.

Having 25% of the population on Social Welfare is a problem

Adding over €50bn and rising to our National Debt is a problem.

Acting like Covid is the Black Death is a problem.

But yeah, let's pretend it's people meeting up for a chat and a couple of drinks that's the real issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Sounds like primary school, ‘the rules’
    Faced with mass insanity, the only sane thing to do is ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,590 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

JRant wrote: »
    If you ban all social gatherings in offical settings then it will always go underground. Always has done, always will do. This is a perfect example of the government losing control of the situation. If they allowed premises to open then people would have a controlled environment to go to.

The problem here is not the people, it's the policy makers.
    I agree with regards controlled environments being re-opened. I went to restaurants at Christmas and they did a brilliant job, massive effort to keep to guidelines. I know someone who owns a small pub that serves food they are finding things horrendously tough. I also think retail should be open if they follow restrictions.

Politicians/policy makers of course need to give people some kind of a path out of this and a clear roadmap...they have failed miserably.

But I am afraid "the people" have to shoulder at least some of the blame, they are the ones having parties, going to shebeens etc, the cases are not going down anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Looks like they aren't going to do regional openings..I'm done with it at this stage, enough is enough.

The virus has essentially being eradicated from Cork and Kerry. We can do no more and are still expected to keep our businesses and communities closed for no reason. This isn't a lockdown, it's now permanent closure until the entire country is vaccinated

NPHET won't be happy until everyone in the WORLD is vaccinated! The variants that don't exist yet are the next bogeyman.

I've been doing similar , was at a house with 6 others on sat , was nice.
    But wasn't the same as a night on the town.

my close contacts are exposed insofar as they have been my entire life to any other illness. As previously said, nobody I meet in an enclosed space doesn't know what I'm up too. But you can't eliminate risk from your life - imagine a life with no risk? That would be hell.

No more risk me passing on the virus than somebody who is at work daily cos their industry is deemed essential.
    I know - work is noble, rest of your life is bad. Sounds very communist to me. The state is everything, you are nothing.

Thank you for making me feel like I'm not the only lunatic in the asylum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

A shebeen , the horror!:eek:

Im not wasting my life waiting for the day Mehole finally gets enough expert reports that he makes a decision. My life (and of my kids) are worth more than being beholden to that waste of space for a year and counting.....I know Leo was leader at start of this.

Sure some stuff isn't open but I'll try manage without or with a black market.
    Doesn't mean i won't give out about it.
    I'm certainly not moaning to others "to do what they say and we might be allowed nice things".

While I don't agree with the extreme measures imposed - if there was a plan with published exit criteria , I'd buy into it. I'll bet they have criteria but won't make it public for fear of being held to it. if so, that's' cowardly in the extreme and I want no part of that charade.

There is a huge debate beyond this thread of how much personal freedom you should hand over to the state. How much the state actually owns you . We would have thought of Ireland as a free country but if principals of personal freedom are over ruled in trying times, they never existed in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Thank you for making me feel like I'm not the only lunatic in the asylum...

my only gripe with you is that I wasn't invited.

Boggles wrote: »
    Sorry where were you?

It sounds like a pub?

An exclusive pub for you and your few friends?

High rollers.

Like you said - the petrol station... :rolleyes: