Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭11521323

JTMan wrote: »
    This is a tricky one for the government.

On one hand, cases are going up. Normally not the time to loosen restrictions.

On the other hand, people are really really fed up. People have had enough of their lives being restricted.

What on earth can the government do?
    1. A clear plan. Even if it has estimate dates. Businesses need to plan. People need to know that there is an end point. People need things soon to look forward too. Stop making excuses as to why there is no plan, multiple other countries have a plan.
    2. Better communication on causes of the cases. Total transparency. Even if it is not what you want to say. If it is schools, say so. If it is businesses not adhering to WFT, say so. We need transparency to help address route cases.
    3. Better enforcement of existing rules. I know prominent city centre businesses not following the rules.
    4. Vaccinate. Vaccinate. Vaccinate. Campaign for the UK to give us doses asap. Campaign for the US to lift their de-facto export ban. Push the EU to spend more on getting production working faster in the EU. Sort out the AZ/UK mess.
    5. Realisation that case numbers among the young do not equal cases numbers among the old. Our tolerance for case numbers needs to be proportional to the average age of the cases. As the old get vaccinate, our tolerance needs to increase.
    6. Greater focus on the mental health effects of this. My GF is a GP, there is a big mental health crisis out there. When the time is right, reopen gyms, it's a low hanging fruit to help this crisis.

Really good post and would agree with most of this. You're going to be torn apart by the Government lapdogs on here who seem to be on retainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

kippy wrote: »
    It depends on what you would mean by the end.
    For me, it'l be this time next year before ALL restrictions are gone.

Living like this for another year. For me that doesn't feel like the end is in sight. Its been a nightmare of a year, im not sure can I do another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,801 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It won't be any worse than anything the country has gone through in the past few hundred years.

Bit like Covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Look at the chaos on this thread

Look at the anxiety amongst friends and family

And out taoiseach hasn't addressed the nation about covid in 5 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

It won't be any worse than anything the country has gone through in the past few hundred years.

Oh as long as its no worse than a rebellion, a famine, a rising, a civil war, a war of independence, a terrorist campaign or multiple serious recessions amongst other things 🀔

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Trying to resuscitate democracy I’d say

People have retained anonymity after committing far more heinous crimes

Yes, because of laws around identifying children and victims of sexual assault/rape.

Trying to resuscitate democracy. Would you give over. Another one who knows absolutely f*ck all about the law and democracy.

Names and addresses of people who have been charged and before the courts is normal and happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

niallo27 wrote: »
    Living like this for another year. For me that doesn't feel like the end is in sight. Its been a nightmare of a year, im not sure can I do another.

Cross the border in June for a night on the tiles . I'm sure thousands will

Look at the chaos on this thread

Look at the anxiety amongst friends and family

And out taoiseach hasn't addressed the nation about covid in 5 weeks

He has Clark Kent briefing everyone 2 times a week it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭covidrelease

What, exactly, is the reason why people can't dine outdoors, especially in limited groups?

Wherever I go I see crowds of young lads in their teens hanging around on their bikes, and young wans congregating. Probably fúck all risk, regardless of them not particularly social distancing, as it's outside.

Surely if the vast majority of people working inside the likes of Tesco, Woodies etc. are not catching this, groups of 3/4 people having a meal outdoors is not a problem?

What is the problem with outdoor dining?

There is an area near me where all outdoor seating was removed after Garda harassment but in another area its left alone, and occupied. 2 different counties and similar case numbers - low in both areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭cheezums

support for any more lockdowns has completely evaporated from all my friends and acquaintances, all of whom would have been fully supportive up until a few weeks ago.

it's pretty grim and i thought we would have this thing beat with vaccines by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Skyfloater

tom1ie wrote: »
    Anyone?

The Business post had a list on here a month ago or so. It wasn't the most accurate but will give you ballpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,400 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Oh as long as its no worse than a rebellion, a famine, a rising, a civil war, a war of independence, a terrorist campaign or multiple serious recessions amongst other things ��

As I said, perspective is worth having.
    It can be good for the mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,801 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Faugheen wrote: »
    Trying to resuscitate democracy. Would you give over. Another one who knows absolutely f*ck all about the law and democracy.

Names and addresses of people who have been charged and before the courts is normal and happens all the time.

Except these were charged while exercising their right to protest which is a cornerstone of democracy.

We can argue back and forth weather that right should be suspended or not, but it is suspended and thus democracy with it.

The suspension of which may be justified, but people have no way to communicate their displeasure at the handling of this crisis for the last few weeks and intended handling of the crisis into the future so I think we are stuck as we are for a long time

I am sick and tired of justifying my movements at checkpoints (there is almost always a checkpoint by the entrance to my estate) only to see multiple breaches of restrictions that the same Gardai could be dealing with all over the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

We brought cases down from several thousand to several hundred because of lockdown 3 and people are saying it was a failure. WTF like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Lemonzero

So devastating that non compliance by a small proporttion of the population is putting any easing ofrestrictions at risk and the possibility of schools closing again.

Wombatman wrote: »
    We brought cases down from several thousand to several hundred because of lockdown 3 and people are saying it was a failure. WTF like?

Lockdowns work and it definitely wasn't a failure, but you need buy-in from the public and that's going to take a nosedive from now into the Summer.

They work when used sparingly in short timespans but our Government seem to utilize it as their only plan which is abysmal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,282 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Every single person I have spoken to or texted for the past two weeks are unanimous in saying

“ I AM SO FECKIN FED UP NOW “

Every age group are struggling now and it needs to be addressed

Lemonzero wrote: »
    So devastating that non compliance by a small proporttion of the population is putting any easing ofrestrictions at risk and the possibility of schools closing again.

"Small"

They suffer from diminishing effectiveness the longer they go on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Lemonzero wrote: »

Why would schools close. Nphet told us they were not an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The aim was to have less than 100 cases a day heading into April

It will probably be 1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Seen as younger people seem to the ones spreading the virus would it make sense to vaccinate them earlier than planned with evidence suggesting vaccines reduce transmission??

I don't mean school kids here. I mean the under 35s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭RGS

jackboy wrote: »
    True enough. The government need to urgently encourage outdoor activities and meet-ups and strictly enforce restrictions against indoor meet ups, parties etc. We can’t have another spike.

That's a sensible approach but do you really think our government are capable of sensible thinking after their performance the past 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭jackboy

Will be interesting this Friday. School due to close for two week Easter holidays. Wonder will children have to bring home all books on Friday in case the school will not be opening after the holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭JTMan

Start vaccinating under 45's instead? as this is the main cohort of cases & spread. Something different needs to be done and quickly.

Nah! The risk of death in the 40+ age group is over 100 times higher than the 16+ age group at the other end of the vaccine scale. Vaccines need to be given in descending age order like the UK and US have done. Maybe when then 40+ age group are done, we might be able to open vaccines up for universal access.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Seen as younger people seem to the ones spreading the virus would it make sense to vaccinate them earlier than planned with evidence suggesting vaccines reduce transmission??

I think a couple of countries have taken that approach actually. Guess it requires a position to be taken of getting the country up and running versus protecting most vulnerable first. But perhaps it would ultimately achieve both anyway.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

JTMan wrote: »
    Nah! The risk of death in the 40+ age group is over 100 times higher than the 16+ age group at the other end of the vaccine scale. Vaccines need to be given in descending age order like the UK and US have done. Maybe when then 40+ age group are done, we might be able to open vaccines up for universal access.

Why is the last vaccine group phase for adults 18-54? Surely there should be a 40-54 first logically. Not arguing for that, but it seems illogical not to break the group down as it has for higher age groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Enter name here

nothing to see move along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

It did its job, and it should not have been prolonged without an exit strategy.