Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Monster249 wrote: »
    Varadkar and Harris were actually tolerable, Martin & Donnelly really are so annoyingly dour.

Their "briefings" are - genuinely - one of the most depressing things I've ever seen

And I've seen Scary Movie 2 in 2001 :pac:

Varadkar is basically a politician meets social media influencer at this stage, but you would genuinely miss him as a leader

He gave a sense of authority. He gave speeches we could at least understand

Martin is painfully, painfully out of his depth

And what's more worrying is we are stuck with him and Donnelly for the rest of the main part of this pandemic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Some of those in ICU have been there a long time at this stage .
    Cases slowing down admission wise to critical care according to the numbers hospitalised but some of these people don't get better quickly .

As a result only 2 ICU beds left open in Dublin hospitals.

Still over 65s becoming ill as not vaccinated yet .

Just wondering with that last deal done with the private hospitals, has anything actually happened in them, like elective surgery etc... or were they just left empty in case more **** hit the fan faster?

I've a feeling when most of this is behind us, they will be paid for a third time to heal clear backlog procedures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,972 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Another clear indication today of who's running the show. NPHET talking about tight restrictions until june and martin is playing catch up. This is farcical at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

rob316 wrote: »
    Another clear indication today of who's running the show. NPHET talking about tight restrictions until june and martin is playing catch up. This is farcical at this stage.

The government seem happy to hide and leave NPHET in the public eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

Monster249 wrote: »
    Varadkar and Harris were actually tolerable, Martin & Donnelly really are so annoyingly dour.

Varadkar talking about not only superheroes wear capes and quoting mean girls was vomit inducing. Harris seems daft and clueless, last summer he said on the radio regarding vaccines, we have to remember there was 18 covids before and we didn't get a vaccine for any of them. I wouldn't even expect that sort of a comment from America. How he got minister for health is beyond me. Zero qualifications in that field or any field.

We've swapped ****e for more ****e.

Any update on the Hotel quarantine? Glacial pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,504 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The briefings came into being at a time when nobody had a clue what was going on, everybody was anxious and fearful and the number one concern was to get basic information out to people about what to do, what was happening as regards the progression of the disease.

It made sense to hear about at the time from people who had expertise, from a body that was set up explicitly to deal with the public health emergency that was taking place.

There was no coherence or message from government beyond how to get beyond the first initial phase. It was just a case of getting through it. Politics effectively stopped for a period - the opposition disappeared, the issue of FG being effectively a caretaker government didn't matter anymore for a while. Nobody wanted to hear from politicians and politicians were happy enough not be heard.

The government had no problem letting NPHET become the figureheads because, at the time, they had no difference of ideas from NPHET and taking about the public health crisis in depth and detail was way beyond their capabilities.

Effectively it was a case of - you've been set up to deal with this, you're the experts, we don't know what to say or what we're talking about and people seem happy enough to hear it from you - so off you go.

As time went on the politicians were more distracted trying to put a government together, so it was grand from their perspective to let NPHET hold the fort in front of the media and hopefully by the time the crisis had passed there'd be a new government in place and the crisis would be over and everyone would be mighty pleased with themselves. But it hasn't turned out like that.

I really don't know what the likes of Donnelly or Martin would bring to an average NPHET briefing. Any time any government Minister is on stage with either Holahan or Glynn it's obvious that they are out of their depth talking with any authority or semblance of understanding - and spend a lot of their time asking the CMO to bail them out when faced with a difficult question.

I think Glynn has been doing sterling work over the last few weeks talking in front of the media. He's articulate, knowledgeable, patient, empathetic. He tries his damdest to explain the rationale behind everything.

The main problem as I see it between the briefings is that they make the gulf in competence, knowledge and even basic communication skills between our politicians and the public health experts painfully clear.

A lot of the issue that people have with their continued presence in the public eye is pretty simple: they aren't telling people what they want to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Their "briefings" are - genuinely - one of the most depressing things I've ever seen

And I've seen Scary Movie 2 in 2001 :pac:

Varadkar is basically a politician meets social media influencer at this stage, but you would genuinely miss him as a leader

He gave a sense of authority. He gave speeches we could at least understand

Martin is painfully, painfully out of his depth

And what's more worrying is we are stuck with him and Donnelly for the rest of the main part of this pandemic

Donnelly is so bad , the worst imo.
    He never gets a thing right, unbelievably incompetent .

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Just wondering with that last deal done with the private hospitals, has anything actually happened in them, like elective surgery etc... or were they just left empty in case more **** hit the fan faster?

I've a feeling when most of this is behind us, they will be paid for a third time to heal clear backlog procedures.

Some elective surgeries being done , but yes under utilised . Shame really .
    It might have led to a greater partnership if pursued with more vigour .
    They will be well paid to clear the backlogs though ,as they will be getting back to normal themselves .

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    Varadkar talking about not only superheroes wear capes and quoting mean girls was vomit inducing. Harris seems daft and clueless, last summer he said on the radio regarding vaccines, we have to remember there was 18 covids before and we didn't get a vaccine for any of them. I wouldn't even expect that sort of a comment from America. How he got minister for health is beyond me. Zero qualifications in that field or any field.

Wasn't he elected when he was in TransitionYear ? Harris , that is ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,256 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Arghus wrote: »
    The briefings came into being at a time when nobody had a clue what was going on, everybody was anxious and fearful and the number one concern was to get basic information out to people about what to do, what was happening as regards the progression of the disease.

It made sense to hear about at the time from people who had expertise, from a body that was set up explicitly to deal with the public health emergency that was taking place.

There was no coherence or message from government beyond how to get beyond the first initial phase. It was just a case of getting through it. Politics effectively stopped for a period - the opposition disappeared, the issue of FG being effectively a caretaker government didn't matter anymore for a while. Nobody wanted to hear from politicians and politicians were happy enough not be heard.

The government had no problem letting NPHET become the figureheads because, at the time, they had no difference of ideas from NPHET and taking about the public health crisis in depth and detail was way beyond their capabilities.

Effectively it was a case of - you've been set up to deal with this, you're the experts, we don't know what to say or what we're talking about and people seem happy enough to hear it from you - so off you go.

As time went on the politicians were more distracted trying to put a government together, so it was grand from their perspective to let NPHET hold the fort in front of the media and hopefully by the time the crisis had passed there'd be a new government in place and the crisis would be over and everyone would be mighty pleased with themselves. But it hasn't turned out like that.

I really don't know what the likes of Donnelly or Martin would bring to an average NPHET briefing. Any time any government Minister is on stage with either Holahan or Glynn it's obvious that they are out of their depth talking with any authority or semblance of understanding - and spend a lot of their time asking the CMO to bail them out when faced with a difficult question.

I think Glynn has been doing sterling work over the last few weeks talking in front of the media. He's articulate, knowledgeable, patient, empathetic. He tries his damdest to explain the rationale behind everything.

The main problem as I see it between the briefings is that they make the gulf in competence, knowledge and even basic communication skills between our politicians and the public health experts painfully clear.

A lot of the issue that people have with their continued presence in the public eye is pretty simple: they aren't telling people what they want to hear.

I do actually feel sorry for Glynn, he is definitely a Patsy in this all at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Did he actually say that? I always thought it was a joke?

As per usual perfect post :)

Only add that it would be more comforting for people to have government present in body if not in mind ;)

They are the elected representatives and as such need to step up to put their faces out there so the very knowledgeable public servants can get on with their jobs without having to deal with flak from press and social media . (That reporter from the Indo comes to mind)

Glynn et al should only be there to deliver the science, let MM do the message bits ,and keep Donnelly outside handing out fliers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

and keep Donnelly outside handing out fliers :)

Genuinely laughed out loud to that

Wasn't he elected when he was in TransitionYear ? Harris , that is ..

He studied Journalism and French, at the Dublin Institute of Technology, before dropping out of his course to pursue politics full-time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

You can be sure if it was good news to give out Donnelly's head would be front and centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,256 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

As per usual perfect post :)

Only add that it would be more comforting for people to have government present in body if not in mind ;)

They are the elected representatives and as such need to step up to put their faces out there so the very knowledgeable public servants can get on with their jobs without having to deal with flak from press and social media . (That reporter from the Indo comes to mind)

Glynn et al should only be there to deliver the science, let MM do the message bits ,and keep Donnelly outside handing out fliers :)

I agree with most of this but the root of the problem still comes down to October when Tony came back and made a NPHET level 5 powerplay.
    Ronan Glynn and team along with government were doing just fine up until then with most o f the country in level 2 and the rest in 3.
    Government were too scared to stand up to Tony and after a bit of posturing went into a premature level 5 which not only caused pent up December demand and infection spike but also has created the current malaise with continued restrictions as we have been in level 5 for 6 months straight (barring a 2-3 week break).

Since that point the government have stood back and in Tony's absence, Ronan is getting it in the neck.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

rob316 wrote: »

Congratulations, you've fallen into the government's trap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,801 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Argus while I do agree about Glynn, he’s a likeable knowledgeable guy, he needs to be more streetwise though.

He’s literally fielding questions that should never in a million years be asked of him. He’s setting himself up to fall in the position he’s in.

At some point, someone, somewhere, needs to say this is on MM and Donnelly, we only advise them.

Right now, many are blaming NPHET.

Has any other EU government sub contracted out all its responsibilities to a team of medical professionals?

It was the smartest move Leo ever made to assemble NPHET and put them fielding questions from the nation

I agree with most of this but the root of the problem still comes down to October when Tony came back and made a NPHET level 5 powerplay.
    Ronan Glynn and team along with government were doing just fine up until then with most o f the country in level 2 and the rest in 3.
    Government were too scared to stand up to Tony and after a bit of posturing went into a premature level 5 which not only caused pent up December demand and infection spike but also has created the current malaise with continued restrictions as we have been in level 5 for 6 months straight (barring a 2-3 week break).

Since that point the government have stood back and in Tony's absence, Ronan is getting it in the neck.

I agree it wasn't well handled either by Holohan or the government , but really that was down to MM and Donnelly's ineptness more so, and the disgraceful undermining of everyone by Varadkar ..what an axxxxle!
    It was the governments reluctance to do anything about rising case numbers at the time that triggered the whole storming in of Holohan .
    I don't agree that we did not need more severe restrictions then , I didn't agree with ye then either if I remember correctly ( she says somewhat controversially ;))
    And yeah , poor Ronan !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Argus while I do agree about Glynn, he’s a likeable knowledgeable guy, he needs to be more streetwise though.

He’s literally fielding questions that should never in a million years be asked of him. He’s setting himself up to fall in the position he’s in.

At some point, someone, somewhere, needs to say this is on MM and Donnelly, we only advise them.

Has any other EU government sub contracted out all its responsibilities to a team of medical professionals?

It was the smartest move Leo ever made to assemble NPHET and put them fielding questions from the nation

Ill actually agree with you, Glynn has been put in an impossible position and the line between NPHET and Govt needs to be clearly spelt out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,837 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What exactly is Donnelly doing?

Sleeveen

He studied Journalism and French, at the Dublin Institute of Technology, before dropping out of his course to pursue politics full-time.

Ahh yes , should have put a wink emoji with that post !

lawred2 wrote: »
    What exactly is Donnelly doing?

Sleeveen

Think he is supervising a colleague who is setting up hotel quarantine?
    Oh,and handing out fliers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,637 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I give up.

Whenever I want to respond to a post it's when I have my phone instead of laptop.
    So apologies for quoting all your post.

I agree with everything you say but only partly with your last paragraph Arghus. As humans we will turn towards what comforts us during troubling times. This sometimes means engaging in mental gymnastics.

A really simple example is telling ourselves that one more drink won't make a difference. I think the feeling towards NPHET is more complicated than that however.

At first they were our guides. Like you say we were anxious and we were rudderless. A year is a long time when dealing trauma, which is what this is. We have been given hope and had it taken away continuously. I'm not saying that to blame because I genuinely believe the powers that be are at sea.

They are certainly a handy target for misplaced anger. That was evident today with the abuse Ronan Glynn received. Unconsciously people were not angry at him. He is just a person too. The restrictions impact him as well. I just believe that people are looking for more than "everything will be ok our work here is done".

Hope is a kind of wooly concept for some but in very stark terms it can be the difference between wanting to live and wanting to die. That's what we need from NPHET and our Government.

It doesn't have to be a lie. It can be a subtle shift in focus. Less of the tendency to lecture and tone deaf contributors. Perhaps even to make reference to their own personal struggles with Covid.

Anyone who has children understands the importance of balancing keeping them safe and secure but also allowing them to explore their world and take risks. The restrictions are stifling us, suffocating us, our "parents" are over protective and anxious. We are soaking that up.

I was speaking to someone recently who is terrified of looking for a new place to live as she thinks it's just a bad idea during Covid.
    Terrified though. So she remains in an environment that isn't healthy and wishes she could be elsewhere but also feels paralysed because "what if I die".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Have people not being saying the very same thing since the start on this thread. NPHET advise and Government decide.

If I was a reporter, I'd CC all questions asked to NPHET to the MOH.
    The media seem to be letting the government away with everything while trying to pin NPHET to answers to questions they can't answer.
    All NPHET can do, and they have done repeatably is emphasize it's our recommendation, it's our advice etc...

This seems to be why when reporters ask different questions, NPHET actually give the same answer. It's up to a reporter to put it to Donnelly, based on NPHET's advice..... [insert same question you asked NPHET here]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,801 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Have people not being saying the very same thing since the start on this thread. NPHET advise and Government decide.

If I was a reporter, I'd CC all questions asked to NPHET to the MOH.
    The media seem to be letting the government away with everything while trying to pin NPHET to answers to questions they can't answer.
    All NPHET can do, and they have done repeatably is emphasize it's our recommendation, it's our advice etc...

This seems to be why when reporters ask different questions, NPHET actually give the same answer. It's up to a reporter to put it to Donnelly, based on NPHET's advice..... [insert same question you asked NPHET here]

NPHET do have a responsibility themselves not to become the fall guy.

They can be more streetwise

I can imagine if a crisis ever arose that the nation needed advice on repairing an old tractor and asked me to address the nation I would be fully confident I could advise the nation from my past experience.

However just like NPHET are medical experts , this wasn’t just a medical crisis, it was a magnitude of issues to balance and take responsibility for like medical, social and economic.

It’s almost implied NPHET are responsible for public health, which is not something I’d want to be associated with when there is tens of thousands of undiagnosed cancers awaiting in the near future

So if I was NPHET, I’d be dropping MM and Donnelly in it rather quickly

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

NPHET do have a responsibility themselves not to become the fall guy.

They can be more streetwise

I can imagine if a crisis ever arose that the nation needed advice on repairing an old tractor and asked me to address the nation I would be fully confident I could advise the nation from my past experience.

However just like NPHET are medical experts , this wasn’t just a medical crisis, it was a magnitude of issues to balance and take responsibility for like medical, social and economic.

It’s almost implied NPHET are responsible for public health, which is not something I’d want to be associated with when there is tens of thousands of undiagnosed cancers awaiting in the near future

So if I was NPHET, I’d be dropping MM and Donnelly in it rather quickly

And the reason they don’t drop them in it is because it will lead to the exact same rhetoric we constantly hear about a NPHET power grab.