Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Boggles wrote: »
    I neither work for the CSO nor am I a coroner. So no, none of them are my claims.

It's pretty apparent you didn't read or you misunderstood my post and the article I link to.

Maybe give them another go eh?

No need. You got caught doing a 'Boogles' once again. Try harder in reading your own articles and perhaps don't attack posts using the exact same false argument as you accused them of. Now please for the love of god can you move onto the next silly derail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    No need. You got caught doing a 'Boogles' once again. Try harder in reading your own articles and perhaps don't attack posts using the exact same false argument as you accused them of. Now please for the love of god can you move onto the next silly derail.

So you didn't read it?

Fair enough. I can't make you.

Also you joined 3 weeks ago, do I know you? You post as if I should know you? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

All of them of course, because suicide was completely unknown in Ireland before covid restrictions...

Isn’t it a bit like death’s of people beyond life expectancy with co-morbidities.

Hardly unknown before Covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

Isn’t it a bit like death’s of people beyond life expectancy with co-morbidities.

Hardly unknown before Covid

This. It's reasonable to assume most of the deaths were just slightly accelerated. Suicide is a different thing altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,543 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Christ the mood around is horrible esp with the way the media are portraying us

Were like bold school kids and been warned the big bad guards will be around tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Oberkon

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Christ the mood around is horrible esp with the way the media are portraying us

Were like bold school kids and been warned the big bad guards will be around tomorrow

I’m thinking of getting me ma to write me a note to show the big Garda I’m allowed out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Oberkon wrote: »
    I’m thinking of getting me ma to write me a note to show the big Garda I’m allowed out

don't worry Micheal has a phone call with Joe biden tomorrow so hes probably going to scrounge about for a few vaccines after britain and germany told him where to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

dalyboy wrote: »
    It’s almost in swimming distance to Scotland from Ireland (10kms).
    I’m actually considering it. Scottish is an easy enough language to learn I’ve been told.

Anything to escape little ole Alcatraz Eire

19kms at the closest point.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Penfailed wrote: »
    19kms at the closest point.

And any part of the island that's within swimmable distance would be the UK anyway.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

Northern Ireland are pushing ahead with a cautionary reopening from the start of April, outdoor dining etc will be open there by the end of April I reckon. Only a matter of time before we follow, thank God for the North!

Not a line I ever thought I would agree with until now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

https://youtu.be/6f-If5hrRwY

This is the type of thing we need the media to be saying. Unfortunately we have absolute cowards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I for one am tired of this trite soundbite being used to excuse any action or wave-away any objection to the current approach.

Yes there's a global pandemic.... that affects a tiny percentage of the population, and where the overwheming majority suffer little to no effects at all (if they even realise they have it)

On the other hand, the social division and rising anger and frustration, growing economic turmoil that will follow this, and the extremely worrying erosion and suspension of our rights and freedoms (in some cases literally overnight) is very much clear to see.

I'll ask you the same question I previously asked one of your like-minded fellow posters (but never got a reply to as far as I recall) - How much is enough for you??

You'll excuse me if I do care about the fact that there is a global pandemic but I have no problem calliing out those arguments which try present this as some big conspiracy.

Especially where facts that there is a pandemic are being deliberately ignored. But more importantly - that is not an "excuse any action or wave-away any objection to the current approach"

And it most certainly does NOT only affect a tiny percentage of the population. Left rip - it infects a large enough percentage of people to cause absolute chaos with individual countries health resources. See Brazil for an example of this.

Those lucky enough to suffer little to no effects at all can spread to those who are vulnerable including the elderly and the vulnerable of ALL ages. Health care workers and those in residential care are also at risk due to risks of infection.

As for "the social division and rising anger and frustration, growing economic turmoil" - do you honestly believe that again let rip things would work out any better for anyone?

As for the stuff about "erosion and suspension of our rights and freedoms"

Again these are temporary restrictions to help reduce the rate of infection in order to give us time to roll out vaccination to a critical mass. Its not hard to understand.

As to the particularly vague question you posed.
    I'll ask you the same question I previously asked one of your like-minded fellow posters (but never got a reply to as far as I recall) - How much is enough for you??

First this is not about "Me". And it will be enough where we get the infection rate low, keep it low and get a critical mass of people vaccinated.

But by all means continue with the dramatics that its only a mild disease which doesn't really affect anyone.

Don't expect everyone to agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭C__MC

Great to see the lockdown ended in all but name
    Saw a group of young lads playing soccer tonight in a park
    Our government a laughing stock to be fair

gozunda wrote: »
    You'll excuse me if I do care about the fact that there is a global pandemic but have no problem callinig out any argument which try present this as some big conspiracy.

Especially where that facts are being deliberately ignored. But more importantly - it is not an "excuse any action or wave-away any objection to the current approach"

And it most certainly does NOT only affect a tiny percentage of the population. Left rip - it infects a large enough percentage of people to cause absolute chaos with infividual countries health resources. See Brazil for an example of this.

Those lucky enough to suffer little to no effects
    at all can spread to those who are vulnerable including the elderly and the vulnerable of ALL ages. Health care workers and those in residential care are also at risk due to the risk of infection.

As for "the social division and rising anger and frustration, growing economic turmoil" - do you honestly believe that again let rip things would work out any better for anyone?

As for the trite stuff about "erosion and suspension of our rights and freedoms (in some cases literally overnight) "

Again these are restrictions to help reduce the rate of infection in order to give us time to roll out vaccination to a critical mass

As to tye particularly vague question you posed.

First this is not about "Me". And it will be enough where we get the infection rate low, keep it low and get a critical mass of people vaccinated.

But by all means continue with the dramatics that its only a mild disease which doesn't really affect anyone.

Don't expect everyone to agree with you.

The most common symptoms seem to be none to little symptoms for those relatively healthy and not obese.

It doesn’t require luck, the odds are on your side if your general health is ok and one is not obese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Minister of State, Patrick O'Donovan wheeled out on Prime Time for a scare at bedtime: "At this point in time, we're at the greatest risk..." That's the level of discourse we're dealing with, these dunderheads are ploughing the country into the ground.

Is there a new virus?

Unlikely talking about the virus that’s about 5% as deadly as initially thought this day last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

FrStone wrote: »
    Not a line I ever thought I would agree with until now!

I know, I couldn't believe I typed it

The most common symptoms seem to be none to little symptoms for those relatively healthy and not obese. It doesn’t require luck, the odds are on your side if your general health is ok and one is not obese

You ignore that the virus causes problems for a greater number of the elderly and those of all ages with underlying conditions whether 'obese' or otherwise. And that's leaving out those of all age groups who recover and are suffering with long term complications.

You are either in an older age group or you're not. You either have an underlying condition or you do not.

And yes younger healthy individuals have better outcomes if they become infected. The problem is that all those who become infected can spread it to others. Hence why vaccination is so important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

You ignore that the virus causes problems for a greater number of the elderly and those of all ages with underlying conditions whether 'obese' or otherwise. And that's leaving out those of all age groups who recover and are suffering with long term complications.

You are either in an older age group or you're not. You either have an underlying condition or you do not.

And yes younger healthy individuals have better outcomes if they become infected. The problem is that all those who become infected can spread it to others. Hence why vaccination is so important.

On those of all ages with underlying conditions, with 300-400k cases here realistically, why have seen such a tiny percentage of people under 50 dieing. Is this underlying condition thing completely blown out of proportion. The numbers don't add up.

niallo27 wrote: »
    On those of all ages with underlying conditions, with 300-400k cases here realistically, why have seen such a tiny percentage of people under 50 dieing. Is this underlying condition thing completely blown out of proportion. The numbers don't add up.

Because 'dying' is not the only issue with this virus.

Approx 50% of those admitted to hospital infected with Covid-19 are under 65 years of age. So no the "underlying condition thing" is certainly not being blown out of proportion.
    The two things that make a difference to this - is keeping the infection rate down and getting as many as possible vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭jams100

dalyboy wrote: »
    Up to six people from no more than two households can meet outdoors in a private garden.
    Ten people, from no more than two households, able to participate in outdoor sporting activities. Golf courses to reopen (clubhouses to remain closed).
    Click and collect purchases allowed from garden centres and plant nurseries

Golf courses reopening all but guarantees a mass exodus from south to north come the 1st of April. Must dust off my clubs. 2 weeks and counting.

Golf courses should never have been closed since the first lockdown. I've seen zero evidence of spread on or at a golf course (clubhouse excluded). A farce!

When this started they talked about making evidenced based decisions.

Evidenced based my hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9368213/Nicola-Sturgeon-says-Scotlands-pubs-restaurants-OK-reopen-food-INDOORS-April-26.html

Scotland opening indoors dining and 'wet' pubs by April 26th - 3 weeks ahead on England. Road trip to NI - ferry to Scotland?

Does'nt that assume you are permitted to leave this Republic ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Approx 50% of those admitted to hospital infected with Covid-19 are under 65 years of age. So no the "underlying condition thing" is certainly not being blown out of proportion.
    The two things that make a difference to this - is keeping the infection rate down and getting as many as possible vaccinated.

In terms of mortality rates though it is, it's the same with icu admissions. Nearly every hospital admission leaves hospital relatively quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

you do realize how big a chunk of the population under 65 is though? and people being admitted to hospital doesn't immediately translate to them fighting for their lives in hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Does'nt that assume you are permitted to leave this Republic ?

Assume away.

Google maps to Belfast via the M1

Done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

ypres5 wrote: »
    you do realize how big a chunk of the population under 65 is though? and people being admitted to hospital doesn't immediately translate to them fighting for their lives in hospital

I don't want to get ahead of myself, but you might just be on the cusp of understanding the problem.

jams100 wrote: »
    Golf courses should never have been closed since the first lockdown. I've seen zero evidence of spread on or at a golf course (clubhouse excluded). A farce!

When this started they talked about making evidenced based decisions.

Evidenced based my hole
    !

There is no science or statistics involved in Ireland’s approach to implementing mitigation measures

Not sure what NPHET actually do

I don't want to get ahead of myself, but you might just be on the cusp of understanding the problem.

The point he is making that 85% of the population only make up 50% of the cases. 15% of the country make up the other 50%, this fact is never put out there of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

niallo27 wrote: »

Perhaps ,to the more nuanced and lucid mind of the Mathematician or "Modeler",the numbers make perfect sense.

The population of the World is c.7.9 Billion.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/
    Closed Cases

Cases which had an outcome:
    97,678,983 (97%)
    Recovered / Discharged

2,680,509 (3%)
    Deaths

Of course these are Global statistics and we (Ireland) may be different.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)