Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Open everything back up. Why can't we take the Swedish approach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

We really need business owners to organize a protest. No point saying they are going to defy lockdown and open or look for pity on Facebook. Set the date as Paddy’s Day and march in every county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Parachutes wrote: »

Because it would result in thousands more dead and bereaved like it did in Sweden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

darconio wrote: »
    LOL :D

Looks perfectly peaceful too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

frank8211 wrote: »
    Because it would result in thousands more dead and bereaved like it did in Sweden

The last time I checked they had 40 more dead per 100,000 of the population.

That is not me putting a valuation on people’s lives that is me stating a statistic in an open forum.

Edit: In fact Sweden have less deaths per 100,000 than many countries in Europe who locked down properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

frank8211 wrote: »

As far as I’m aware a 70 year old is less likely to die from Covid in Sweden than a 70 year old in Ireland

The solution is very simple. Sort out the vaccination mess up and do 4 part plan like the UK. When X amount of people have been vaccinated we move to plan A, and so forth until we reach plan D, back to normality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,442 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

The solution is very simple. Sort out the vaccination mess up and do 4 part plan like the UK. When X amount of people have been vaccinated we move to plan A, and so forth until we reach plan D, back to normality.

What "vaccination mess up" are you referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Majority of people were there to voice their opposition to continued lockdowns and restrictions, without a clear/defined end in sight. A lot of this falls on bad communication from the government.

Any protest will always attract a few scumbags and anarchists just looking to cause trouble. In this case, they stole the headlines, and succeeded in tarnishing most people's opinion of the entire protest. Media play a part in that as well.

Ah to be fair , don't think it was ever going to have much support in Ireland. I don't really believe that anyone could seriously be of the belief the violence yesterday was very exceptional or different to what gardai deal with regularly from young men on halloween, paddys day etc. I've heard a lot of disdainful commentary from people in real life and online about the fact that there was any kind of protest against lockdown and the bit of violence at the beginning just seemed like the opportunity many were hoping for to go on to completely dismiss anything else the protest tried to shine a light on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,442 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

I don't see any mess up in them articles just some frustration about the lack of supply.

I am sure you will find some article about a small mistake about the rollout it's going to happen when you rolling out almost 10 million vaccines. Its a logistical challenge never seen before.

In 12 months since this whole thing has started we have over 400k people already vaccinated its a reason to be positive.

https://covid19.shanehastings.eu/vaccines/

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

As far as I’m aware a 70 year old is less likely to die from Covid in Sweden than a 70 year old in Ireland
    What's the source (if any) for this claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

To be honest they will always find anything to dismiss it.
    What you saw happened for about 1 minute and right at the start. It went on for a further 2 hours and there was no more trouble.
    When you gather a large crowd there will always be one or two eejits that do something stupid/Illegal.

If the protest had been allowed to go ahead in the Park instead of the Gards attempting to segregate groups of protesters, as planned it wouldn't have happened anyway.

Some of the footage sure looks suss for sure.

The Garda instruction to the OPW to shut St Stephens Green sealed the fate of anybody who was there to simply register a contrary opinion to the NPHET's ongoing Steamroller like tour de force.

Did Dr Rynne,for example,get to speak ?

However,as somebody who was onsite,can you say if the Gards used the "Kettling" technique on Grafton Street,which if so,virtually guarantees a whistle.

Also,some of the clips appear to show Gardai using flash-bang's to disperse the crowd,was this the case ?

Poor oul Drew was redirected back to the path of goodness & light fairly rapidly ...far LEFT.....one can imagine the eyes widening :eek: at the sopund of THAT.....Clarification please...and QUICKLY,le do Thoil....:D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Parachutes wrote: »

I'd guess because we're not idiots and Sweden is increasingly subject to restrictions and local lockdowns because their rather unique approach wasn't working. And they've a hell of a lot more money to throw at their health system

https://www.businessinsider.com/sweden-facing-its-first-lockdown-as-covid-19-restrictions-tightened-2021-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,263 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This is just intentional misinformation masquerading as an opinion. It would help if such assertions were backed up with at least a linky to a reputable site/article.

Otherwise you're just misleading people.

Beasty wrote: »

His hoop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Beasty wrote: »

It depends how you want to quantify it, but I’ve done a bit of cigarette packet maths on this using data from worldometer and statista.com and and if we’re going by deaths per 100k then it appears Fintan’s claim may have some truth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

So we have the nphet crowd saying we still need to drive the numbers down in March in order to ease some restrictions start of April. But with schools opening up again, when case numbers start to rise again as a result, what are the nphet lads going to do then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

This is just intentional misinformation masquerading as an opinion. It would help if such assertions were backed up with at least a linky to a reputable site/article.

Otherwise you're just misleading people.

Read my post again. I said “as far as I’m aware”

Does that make it that I claim it as fact?

It was calculated in one of the other threads in this forum from the following links by a poster who is multiple times more articulate than myself.

I’m using a phone so I’ll roughly show how it was calculated

https://www.statista.com/statistics/1107913/number-of-coronavirus-deaths-in-sweden-by-age-groups/

From that approximately 12,000 deaths occurred in the over 65 age group in Sweden which has 2,000,000 citizens, which is a death rate of about 600 per 100k

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/epidemiologyofcovid-19inirelandweeklyreports/COVID-19%20Weekly%20Report_%20Week%207_%20Slideset_HPSC_website_v1.0.pdf

Ireland has approx 4000 deaths in the over 65 age group with about 650,00 in that group, which is a death rate of about 615 per 100k

These calculation’s are incredibly rough, but it’s what I’m using to back up my claim of a 70 year old in Sweden being at less risk than one in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭showpony1

It is a shame.

The media will focus on the violence and ignore the fact the Government closed off a part of a city to prevent a protest about the actions of that Government.

It is perfectly legitimate for a people to protest one of the most stringent and inhumane lock downs on the planet with one of the youngest population and a thin population density.

From looking at the videos it was a combination of oddballs, hippies & scumbags "marching" until inevitably it all kicked off. Can't say the type of people i saw in those videos would represent me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

gozunda wrote: »
    I'd strongly suggest you actually read the article

Again who the fek is saying "Social distancing and no mass gatherings for years or decades"?

I intensely dislike RTEs style of reporting. However even they do NOT mention "Social distancing and no mass gatherings for years or decades"

What is detailed in that article which quotes various experts and vaguely seems to refer to various types of restrictions over the next twelve months

"I think in the short to medium term all of these transmission interventions are likely to still be with us."

"Local lockdowns, she says, are still going to be a feature of our lives for some time to come."

"I know it sounds bad, but having a really strict lockdown for two or three days is actually a good way to stop the virus spreading because it is so infectious."

"restrictions on international travel are necessary for at least the next year"

"Some time to come" means years for these sociopathic doom mongerers.

These people are loving this as it makes them relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

ingo1984 wrote: »
    So we have the nphet crowd saying we still need to drive the numbers down in March in order to ease some restrictions start of April. But with schools opening up again, when case numbers start to rise again as a result, what are the nphet lads going to do then?

Panic as usual....

NPHET is not fit for purpose anymore and need to be disbanded immediately

NPHET need to understand what living with covid is or should be.

We can’t continue living in fear of covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

It was calculated in one of the other threads in this forum from the following links by a poster who is multiple times more articulate than myself.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/1107913/number-of-coronavirus-deaths-in-sweden-by-age-groups/

From that approximately 12,000 deaths occurred in the over 65 age group in Sweden which has 2,000,000 citizens, which is a death rate of about 600 per 100k

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/epidemiologyofcovid-19inirelandweeklyreports/COVID-19%20Weekly%20Report_%20Week%207_%20Slideset_HPSC_website_v1.0.pdf

Ireland has approx 4000 deaths in the over 65 age group with about 650,00 in that group, which is a death rate of about 615 per 100k

These calculation’s are incredibly rough, but it’s what I’m using to back up my claim of a 70 year old in Sweden being at less risk than one in Ireland

Don't expect a response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Very interesting if this numbers are accurate.

I suspect our nursing home "situation" would be a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,989 ✭✭✭Russman

Panic as usual....

NPHET is not fit for purpose anymore and need to be disbanded immediately

NPHET need to understand what living with covid is or should be.

We can’t continue living in fear of covid.

Or NPHET know it’s not actually possible to live with covid running rampant in a society, particularly ours, with our inadequate health service maybe....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

"Some time to come" means years for these sociopathic doom mongerers.

These people are loving this as it makes them relevant.

The "sociopathic doom monger" to whom you refer is "Dr Sarah Pitt is a microbiologist and vaccine expert from the University of Brighton, said vaccines are "one of the tools in the toolbox, but we will still need to keep doing the other public health measures, such as social distancing and wearing masks, for some time to come.

"That is because this is a global pandemic, and everybody in the world is likely to need at least one dose of the vaccine before it will really have its proper effect."

But you probably don't have to worry about her as she is based in the UK not here ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭JRant

There's a good image on Fergal Bowers twitter feed outlining some of the details for the over 70's cohort. Almost 500,000 people in that group, accounting for just over 10% of cases and 88% of deaths. Once we get this group fully vaccinated by May then the breaks should start coming off in a big way.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Russman wrote: »
    Or NPHET know it’s not actually possible to live with covid running rampant in a society, particularly ours, with our inadequate health service maybe....?

Maybe their press conferences should be plans to improve the health service rather than reading numbers off pages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,581 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

There could be even more trouble if we get an extension of the restrictions in April

As we know someone will leak it to the press mid March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,633 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Klonker wrote: »
    Don't expect a response.

So he’s done back of a pack of matches maths to quantify a ~2% difference...what is there even to respond to?