Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The restrictions won’t relax until after the last Summer bank holiday.

You think the 5km restriction will be in place until the 3rd of August?

Have you citation for this claim?

Or is just more unfounded doom mongering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

The Nal wrote: »
    The attacks on deliveroo cyclists aren't announced on social media before they happen.

Gardai didn't know how many would turn up. As it happens, it was yet another pathetic rabble of the usual do nothing losers that one garda could've dealt with. Which is hilarious.

Theres a difference between the comments section on Journal.ie Facebook and real life apparently.

Great work by the guards and it certainly will make other business owners think twice before opening, saving garda time in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

MOH wrote: »
    Then again, you're openly championing restrictions by a government run by a man who's told people he doesn't believe in arbitrary distinctions between types of retail, 5k limits or telling people what to do via hashtags.
    #HoldFirm

Wow. 2020 Micheál kicks 2021 Michaels ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Idbatterim wrote: »
    When the north reopens way before here, there will be strict border checks by Gardiai i'd imagine...

It’s funny, because when shlt was hitting the fan in the run up to Christmas in the north, and there was concerns about the virus being “brought down south”, we were being told it’s not possible to police the border by our government. I wonder do they regret saying this now.. because the north will have their shlt together in a few months time while we’ll still be under stay at home orders, and there will be a lot of temptation to travel up. I wonder will the government be singing from the same hymn sheet regarding “not possible to police the borders” then? I’m assuming no.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

The restrictions won’t relax until after the last Summer bank holiday.

Suggesting case numbers or ICU numbers will have an effect is total bolix

That’s not how it works in Ireland

You don't half post some rubbish at times.

Case numbers and hospital numbers have consistently been drivers of restrictions. Obviously excluding any imaginary 9 month lockdowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Graham wrote: »
    You don't half post some rubbish at times.

Case numbers and hospital numbers have consistently been drivers of restrictions. Obviously excluding any imaginary 9 month lockdowns.

Hospital numbers must of been at breaking point in Dublin for all but a few weeks last year so

Now we're pretending I said just hospital numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭showpony1

Saw a video on instagram of the Cyclist lad ranting outside the salon ranting about "LIES EVERYDAY ON RTE" so becoming obvious the salon reopening was nutjobs looking for publicity for their beliefs than quietly trying to earn a living.

Last year we had 4 cases announced on evening and less than 20 in hospital. Did we fully open?

Nope.

Shortly after that they delayed the final phase of reopening because schools had to return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,040 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I hope they throw the book at the salon owner. The biggest problem we face is fools like her thinking they can do what they want. There are a lot of people who need to grow the fcuk up in this country, "its all the goberments fault", "they are trying to kill us with the vaccines" lol. Blaming the guards for arresting her, they are just doing their job. Half of the conspiracy nuts have never had a job in their lives, living off the state but never contribute anything and blame the government for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 bounccat

I think you are correct, I couldn't have put it better myself

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I hope they throw the book at the salon owner. The biggest problem we face is fools like her thinking they can do what they want. There are a lot of people who need to grow the fcuk up in this country, "its all the goberments fault", "they are trying to kill us with the vaccines" lol. Blaming the guards for arresting her, they are just doing their job. Half of the conspiracy nuts have never had a job in their lives, living off the state but never contribute anything and blame the government for everything.

Are you suggesting the business owner is living off the state having never worked a day in her life??

Serious generalisation’s in that post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

You know she is probably in a desperate situation, like a lot of small business owners, she has probably had to work long hours, made loads of sacrifices to build a living for herself only to see the most nonsensical, inhumane, anti science Government policy pose the biggest threat to her survival.

I can understand how she may rub people up the wrong way with her actions, but too many people have no idea what it is like to start and own your own business so you'd have no idea how attached she is to her customers and her endeavor over the years.

If her business hits the wall, she will have to beg the State for assistance, which is what she is clearly trying to prevent.

Are you suggesting the business owner is living off the state having never worked a day in her life??

Serious generalisation’s in that post

no, just the sad nut jobs who believe every conspiracy theory they hear. she obviously isn't a welfare for life merchant but she is a me me me person. no one is going to starve in Ireland, doing it to put food on the table is a load of crap.

bounccat wrote: »
    I think you are correct, I couldn't have put it better myself

You would have also suggested the business owner is living off the state having never worked a day in her life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Analogs daughter

Had the hair chopped today. Lovely fella from Syria, gave him a decent tip too.

Felt good to be contributing something small to the economy and my mood got a decent boost.

no, just the sad nut jobs who believe every conspiracy theory they hear. she obviously isn't a welfare for life merchant but she is a me me me person. no one is going to starve in Ireland, doing it to put food on the table is a load of crap.

So it’s about everyone having an equal share regardless of effort??

Have you ever lost a business you owned in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Had the hair chopped today. Lovely fella from Syria, gave him a decent tip too.

Felt good to be contributing something small to the economy and my mood got a decent boost.

Fair play I hope you used cash too.

If her business hits the wall, she will have to beg the State for assistance, which is what she is clearly trying to prevent.

By getting arrested?

Not the smartest plan I've ever heard.

You know she is probably in a desperate situation, like a lot of small business owners, she has probably had to work long hours, made loads of sacrifices to build a living for herself only to see the most nonsensical, inhumane, anti science Government policy pose the biggest threat to her survival.

I can understand how she may rub people up the wrong way with her actions, but too many people have no idea what it is like to start and own your own business so you'd have no idea how attached she is to her customers and her endeavor over the years.

everyone has been effected by the pandemic, myself included, I am a business owner myself. if everyone had her attitude where would we be? we aren't far off the end of this nightmare, she will regret doing this.

By getting arrested?

she was given a chance as well, they warned her yesterday not to open again. she wouldn't have got that chance in other countries.

By getting arrested?

Another poster who hasn't a clue what business ownership is like....

She is probably a very hard worker and is not adjusting to not being able to work
    She is probably concerned that her customer base are now all finding ways to give themselves the treatments they used to come to her for.
    She probably recognise's that the State are going to cost these little companies 20-30% of their customer base.
    She may be under financial pressure with rent

I don't know if any of the above is true, but neither do any of us.

The Government has thrown small business owners under the bus...and the pious are almost sneering when one of the has the audacity to take a stand!!!

This has really exposed our charming side hasn't it!!

everyone has been effected by the pandemic, myself included, I am a business owner myself. if everyone had her attitude where would we be? we aren't far off the end of this nightmare, she will regret doing this.

When do you think this ends?

Because originally it was 2 weeks to flatten the curve!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Another poster who hasn't a clue what business ownership is like....

She is probably a very hard worker and is not adjusting to not being able to work
    She is probably concerned that her customer base are now all finding ways to give themselves the treatments they used to come to her for.
    She probably recognise's that the State are going to cost these little companies 20-30% of their customer base.
    She may be under financial pressure with rent

None of this explains how opening up in defiance of restrictions is going to help her situation in any way

When do you think this ends?

Because originally it was 2 weeks to flatten the curve!

next few months. obviously a pandemic wasnt going to be over in 2 weeks, no one really thought it would. The government couldnt say they were going to lock us down for a year +.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

we aren't far off the end of this nightmare, l

Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

The salon owner should have just got in touch with her regular customers and made an arrangement with then on an individual basis. Anyone who thinks this isn't already being widely done across the country is naive.

Another poster who hasn't a clue what business ownership is like...

Well that's another one for the 'things Silentcorner gets wrong' list.

Aph2016 wrote: »
    The salon owner should have just got in touch with her regular customers and made an arrangement with then on an individual basis. Anyone who thinks this isn't already being widely done across the country is naive.

is is being done but some are getting caught as well, its all fun and games until they catch you and stop or cut your covid payment and fine you.