Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Sinn Féin don't want to make any decisions and keep trying to highlight how the Government dared go against advisory body NPHET for Christmas. Pearse Doherty last night on Prime Time calling for mandatory quarantine for all non-essential travel into Ireland even from a vaccinated UK. Sinn Féin in power in the North where foreign travel bubbles look likely to be formed for the summer, joke shop of an opposition party.

I know but that's what i'm trying to highlight - you can blame the government till we are blue in the face, but anyone that thinks they won't be in power in the next government is only fooling themselves.

Posters saying that the Greens, FG, FF are finished don't realize that there is no viable alternative option that want to be at the decision table making tough decision.

Where is SF or Labour or the other parties publishing an alternative plan for living with covid? They have no problem doing it for budget day - so why not now? Is it because they actually agree with the government on majority of the issues but don't want to highlight this to their supporters and so it's easier to say nothing at all?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 MethMartin

paw patrol wrote: »
    was there a info that Daniel Kinahan was turning up? Or what else were they there for?

It's to show force. The same way about 20 Garda cars turned up to some Shebeen, including armed Guards.

It's pathetic and feels like some kind of dictatorship, it's even more pathetic when scumbags in Dublin are allowed to run around freely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

Why aren't vaccines the magic bullet? Once a critical mass of the at risk groups are vaccinated it's game over. The Nutty Professors and ISAG can shout all they like, but I for one won't be listening.

The virus will mutate again, there is no guarantee a past vaccine will be in any way effective at all against future mutations which is why relying purely on vaccines as an exit strategy is dangerous, incompetent and could prove severely costly to the country with the toughest restrictions in Europe.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

MethMartin wrote: »
    It's pathetic and feels like some kind of dictatorship

Imagine enforcing the law.

Outrageous.

Graham wrote: »

Outrageous.

There is enforcing the law and there is attempting to intimidate people. I would say showing up with armed Garda and about 15 or 20 cars would be the latter.

Graham wrote: »

Outrageous.

Your opinion on this will vary by how you feel about the laws currently in place. I consider them unethical, and therefore the police enforcing them to be acting unethically. People who think they're necessary and the only way are obviously going to feel different.

Laws being broken by people who consider them unethical (and their subsequent arrest/punishment) have been the touchpaper for protest movements all through history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,321 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

It's to show force. The same way about 20 Garda cars turned up to some Shebeen, including armed Guards.

It's pathetic and feels like some kind of dictatorship, it's even more pathetic when scumbags in Dublin are allowed to run around freely.
    There is enforcing the law and there is attempting to intimidate people. I would say showing up with armed Garda and about 15 or 20 cars would be the latter.

Any proof of this? Or just emotive escalation to validate your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,253 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Maybe they reckoned on Gilroy having some associates around (or collection of sensitive, misguided and misled types)?

They are always angry but seem unsure as to what they are angry at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭kieran26

Akesh wrote: »
    The virus will mutate again, there is no guarantee a past vaccine will be in any way effective at all against future mutations which is why relying purely on vaccines as an exit strategy is dangerous, incompetent and could prove severely costly to the country with the toughest restrictions in Europe.

What other option is there? Zero covid is not a workable strategy. Australia and New Zealand will have to vaccinate to allow foreigners in again and they in turn will need to be vaccinated. it is most likely now an endemic virus, It will mutate and it will spread around again in the future, hopefully with less severe symptoms as we will all have some level of immunity we cannnot hide away from it for ever. Once a country opens up it exposes itself to the virus. Vaccination is the only answer and the end to all of this.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Any proof of this? Or just emotive escalation to validate your point?

Here you go:

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/armed-gardai-storm-shebeen-dublin-23376831

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

It was all over social media. Who was to know how many would turn up? She could have organised for her "friends" to be there for all anyone knew.

No one needed to be intimidated but she wanted to make her point. I'm sure she expected (and hoped) for this outcome. The gofundme set up to pay her legal fees, not her rent, says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Actually all the evidence is showing that a variant MAY give you a mild infection like a common cold but none would cause hospitalisations and deaths. All the data is on the vaccine thread. There is no proof out there that vaccines are completely ineffective against variants despite what ISAG and others spouting misinformation are saying.
    As one Professor (A Professor of Immunology from Maynooth - Paul Moynagh) put it on Claire Byrne this morning, our flu vaccine is much less efficacious than the vaccines we are currently using against Covid.

It was all over social media. Who was to know how many would turn up? She could have organised for her "friends" to be there for all anyone knew.

No one needed to be intimidated but she wanted to make her point. I'm sure she expected (and hoped) for this outcome. The gofundme set up to pay her legal fees, not her rent, says it all.

I actually don't know about this woman. I was referring to armed Garda raiding a Shebeen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Terence Rattigan

We only need 700 places across the country to open up simultaneously to tie up the entire AGS force.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Once the rent-a-clown mob announced their attendance it's not surprising the Garda presence was increased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

Boggles wrote: »
    Ah Norman, I think you have lost the ability to criticise and nit pick when you are openly championing a man who is telling people that taking the vaccine will kill them, not to mention encouraging others to go listen to him.

Have you no self awareness?

Then again, you're openly championing restrictions by a government run by a man who's told people he doesn't believe in arbitrary distinctions between types of retail, 5k limits or telling people what to do via hashtags.
    #HoldFirm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

very curious what is going to happen when northern ireland come out of their restrictions quicker than us as the DUP will want to align with the uk as much for political reasons as anything else....micheal martin has admitted while we are similar enough at the moment but we will diverge at some point....if retail and pubs are open up north would there not be a mass exodus over the border? maybe thats why they are keeping the 5k...either way it means more measures to keep us in check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭timmyntc

very curious what is going to happen when northern ireland come out of their restrictions quicker than us as the DUP will want to align with the uk as much for political reasons as anything else....micheal martin has admitted while we are similar enough at the moment but we will diverge at some point....if retail and pubs are open up north would there not be a mass exodus over the border? maybe thats why they are keeping the 5k...either way it means more measures to keep us in check

They'll be sailing across Lough Foyle to get to the pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Yeah, that's what viruses do. They mutate. That's what this virus has been doing since the very beginning (there are thousands of variants found already) but its only now that once we are seeing light at the end of the tunnel, that it's being used to prolong restrictions and fear.

How many strains of the flu are there at this stage? We accept the fact that there will be flu deaths every year despite the fact that there is a vaccine. I dont see why covid will or should be any different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

timmyntc wrote: »
    They'll be sailing across Lough Foyle to get to the pubs

i would give my left nut to be on that ship

We only need 700 places across the country to open up simultaneously to tie up the entire AGS force.

A Simpsons style crime wave would ensue.

Unaccompanied learner drivers would clog the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭timmyntc

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Yeah, that's what viruses do. They mutate. That's what this virus has been doing since the very beginning (there are thousands of variants found already) but its only now that once we are seeing light at the end of the tunnel, that it's being used to prolong restrictions and fear.

How many strains of the flu are there at this stage? We accept the fact that there will be flu deaths every year despite the fact that there is a vaccine. I dont see why covid will or should be any different.

It shouldnt be any different really - thats the grown up approach the UK is taking. They are vaccinating all, and they still recognise that people will die - but you cannot stop life forever just to save a few lives (in the grand scheme of things).

You can only mitigate the risk to a certain extent, eventually you reach diminishing returns (like crippling your economy and missing 1000s of cancer diagnoses) in the quest to save everyone from covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

MOH wrote: »
    Then again, you're openly championing restrictions by a government run by a man who's told people he doesn't believe in arbitrary distinctions between types of retail, 5k limits or telling people what to do via hashtags.
    #HoldFirm

May 27th?

If we were at that point in the first wave now I would tend to agree with him.

Less than 50 in ICU and roughly 250 in hospital with confirmed cases under 100.

But I fail to see what MM said is comparable with someone telling people that the vaccines will kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Twenty guards to deal with two women. How many deal with attacks on deliveroo cyclists? Pathetic. They should dress as them, thousand euro plus fine minimum for assault or mandatory jail term...

When the north reopens way before here, there will be strict border checks by Gardiai i'd imagine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Twenty guards to deal with two women. How many deal with attacks on deliveroo cyclists? Pathetic. They should dress as them, thousand euro plus fine minimum for assault or mandatory jail term...

When the north reopens way before here, there will be strict border checks by Gardiai i'd imagine...

It's it was only two women, whey were 8 arrested and one man brought to court - why do you spin the story to sound very different to what factual happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

Ace2007 wrote: »
    It's it was only two women, whey were 8 arrested and one man brought to court - why do you spin the story to sound very different to what factual happened?

Probably a Dee Wall supporter :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,921 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Twenty guards to deal with two women. How many deal with attacks on deliveroo cyclists?

The attacks on deliveroo cyclists aren't announced on social media before they happen.

Gardai didn't know how many would turn up. As it happens, it was yet another pathetic rabble of the usual do nothing losers that one garda could've dealt with. Which is hilarious.

Theres a difference between the comments section on Journal.ie Facebook and real life apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Ace2007 wrote: »

I didnt know it and it changes very little or nothing. Doesn't change my point ...the guards shutting down those paying their wages, roll on crash 2,the sequel! Lol !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Boggles wrote: »
    May 27th?

If we were at that point in the first wave now I would tend to agree with him.

Less than 50 in ICU and roughly 250 in hospital with confirmed cases under 100.

But I fail to see what MM said is comparable with someone telling people that the vaccines will kill them.

The restrictions won’t relax until after the last Summer bank holiday.

Suggesting case numbers or ICU numbers will have an effect is total bolix

That’s not how it works in Ireland