Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,346 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I hope they throw the book at the salon owner. The biggest problem we face is fools like her thinking they can do what they want. There are a lot of people who need to grow the fcuk up in this country, "its all the goberments fault", "they are trying to kill us with the vaccines" lol. Blaming the guards for arresting her, they are just doing their job. Half of the conspiracy nuts have never had a job in their lives, living off the state but never contribute anything and blame the government for everything.

It was most likely an act of defiance.
    She is probably up to her neck and see's her business and livelihood slipping away. And figured since she was going to be fvcked either way she may as well go out with a bang, making a statement.

Seems perfectly reasonable to me. Its what I'd do in that situation, too.

In Germany businesses are starting to take the government to the courts left right and center. Probably all conspiracy nut jobs. Oh hold on , they're not, big fkn chains amongst them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,308 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Was watching Paul Treyvaud on Prime Time last night, fair play to him its not easy for an ordinary person to go on tv to highlight the problems facing business owners.

He was well able for O Callaghan as well, easy for her to talk earning a couple of hundred grand a year in a nice safe job.

We need more people like him and the salon owner in Dublin to make the government wake up to whats happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Layton Fat Boomerang

It was most likely an act of defiance.
    She is probably up to her neck and see's her business and livelihood slipping away. And figured since she was going to be fvcked either way she may as well go out with a bang, making a statement.

Seems perfectly reasonable to me. Its what I'd do in that situation, too.

In Germany businesses are starting to take the government to the courts left right and center. Probably all conspiracy nut jobs. Oh hold on , they're not, big fkn chains amongst them.

Sure they wont go homeless/hungry with the 350 a week, the governemnt will pay their business/their mortgage-rent/food/bills /s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Aph2016 wrote: »
    It is very clear that the majority of people haven't got a clue what is involved in running a business. Nevermind being given zero notice that your business needs to close, or it being impossible to plan for the coming months. Hotels especially have had it incredibly tough, there's a lot that goes on behind the scenes that most people wouldn't know about, to keep a hotel running.

I’ve seen graduates from the Mr Bean school of economics posting here to suggest that if a business bankrupts and defaults, on various loans & credit arrangements etc it’s not an issue, a new business can just take its place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

AlekSmart wrote: »

Thankfully,although tearing down the last of El Caudillo's statues as we speak,Spanish Administrators retain a certain bond for the Generalissimo's methods....

https://www.thelocal.es/20210223/spains-galicia-to-make-covid-vaccine-compulsory-and-fine-those-who-refuse-it-up-to-60k

I wonder if our lads can read a bit of Spanish ? :eek:

JEsus, that is scary, I mean I want the vaccine but that sh1t just puts me off!
    80% or more people here in Spain WANT the vaccine, why do they need to introduce such draconian laws ?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

80% or more people here in Spain WANT the vaccine, why do they need to introduce such draconian laws ?

The article says a survey in December indicated 40% would not want a vaccine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

Sure they wont go homeless/hungry with the 350 a week, the governemnt will pay their business/their mortgage-rent/food/bills /s

Maybe in Cambodia 350 euro might cover your mortgage, business costs, food, bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Penfailed wrote: »
    They had absolutely no choice. She was blatantly breaking the law and had to be made an example off, otherwise the floodgates would open.

She wont be the last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Why ?

Because now,thanks to "Emergency Legislation",Governments are realising they can do ANYTHING ! without fear of anybody being able to resist.

Make no mistake,Boards will soon have a thread on "How Much to Fine Non-Vaxxers" (NB: a Non Vaxxer is not necessarily an Anti-Vaxxer ;) )

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Stheno wrote: »
    The article says a survey in December indicated 40% would not want a vaccine?

Which is exactly the reality of the endgame in the current situation.

What are they going to do about those who do not want COVID vaccines ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Which is exactly the reality of the endgame in the current situation.

What are they going to do about those who do not want COVID vaccines ?

You only require 70 percent for "herd immunity".

There'll always be some vocal quacks yelping from the sidelines, but that's all they are - vocal quacks.

The rest of us can get on, get vaccinated - and move on.

They can leave themselves at risk for all I care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Ace2007 wrote: »
    By that logic, FF aren't in power as there is a three party coalition in the south, but that doesn't stop the brigade saying it's FF fault....

Why can SF always benefit from saying there aren't in complete power in the North, but that argument is never allowed to be used for any coalition party in the south?

Because it's an enforced coalition in the north due to the power sharing agreement. The clue is in the name...power sharing.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Because it's an enforced coalition in the north due to the power sharing agreement. The clue is in the name...power sharing.

And the current government is in place, because there was no alternative option.
    No one would go into power with SF, and within 24 hours of becoming leader of labour, Alan Kelly ruled out going into government, so who does that leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Ace2007 wrote: »
    And the current government is in place, because there was no alternative option.
    No one would go into power with SF, and within 24 hours of becoming leader of labour, Alan Kelly ruled out going into government, so who does that leave?

It leaves a discussion for a different thread.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

It leaves a discussion for a different thread.

Yes but when every poster giving out about the current situation blames the government about the situation, they seemingly fail to realise no one else wanted to go into power and deal with these issues. Damned if they do, Damned if they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

JRant wrote: »
    Well exponential decay never seems to be a factor in easing restrictions. Hospital numbers have plummeted, ICU numbers are falling but there's a longer lag with this as we well know. Case numbers are well down and include a lot of serial testing of facilities. Thankfully the vaccine seems to be reducing infection in HCW's. Add in the 1 million who will have a vaccine in them by the end of March and you would like to think we'd be in a far better place.
    Exponential growth means that restrictions need to be reimposed. The threat of exponential growth means that existing restrictions must be maintained.

Exponential decay, on the other hand, means that the restrictions in place are working. If it ain't broke don't fix it and so keep the restrictions in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

It's unbelievable that the likes of Anthony Staines are given airtime going by his leaked emails:
    He says he wants to actively give disinformation and create anxiety, insecurity, fear and uncertainty.

ASTaines-1024x474.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

You only require 70 percent for "herd immunity".

There'll always be some vocal quacks yelping from the sidelines, but that's all they are - vocal quacks.

The rest of us can get on, get vaccinated - and move on.

They can leave themselves at risk for all I care.

Your pretty naive if u think u will be moving on when u get vaccinated. If this year has shown anything, there is no light at the end of this tunnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It's unbelievable that the likes of Anthony Staines are given airtime going by his leaked emails:
    He says he wants to actively give disinformation and create anxiety, insecurity, fear and uncertainty.

ASTaines-1024x474.jpg

tenor.gif

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

tenor.gif

Not just me so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

Yowzers.....that's a whole lot of derisory bitterness in a single sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,253 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

the salon owner in Dublin to make the government wake up to whats happening.

Whatever about the former the salon owner broke the law and was correctly arrested having also brought along Ben Gilroy for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

ASTaines-1024x474.jpg

I would say I’m shocked and disappointed our mainstream media outlets are not picking up this story now that screenshots and emails have been provided but it seems RTÉ and Denis O’Brien’s (Maltese resident) media group prefer having ISAG members to book for multiple daily appearances each and every day.

ASTaines-1024x474.jpg

A demonic little creep worthy only of ridicule. Not that he had any credibility to begin with, however the "one man versus the world" Machiavellian schtick belongs in an undergraduate dorm.

Section 39 (1) (d) of the Broadcasting Act 2009: RTE is obliged to ensure that anything which may reasonably be regarded as causing harm or offence, or as likely to promote, or incite to, crime or as tending to undermine the authority of the State, is not broadcast.

I'd say feeding misinformation to the government and planning to incite anxiety and insecurity in the population counts as undermining the authority of the state. And I'd say RTE should from here on out not have these people on to talk to the nation.

If you agree, you can make a formal complaint to complaints@rte.ie

An example from one of the emails, sent by Sinéad Ní Fhaoláin: "Oisin/Anthony to contact An Taoiseach. Hook is that the new strain is the key driver at the moment (may or may not be true, but offers government the chance to line up with our proposals)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Exponential growth means that restrictions need to be reimposed. The threat of exponential growth means that existing restrictions must be maintained.

Exponential decay, on the other hand, means that the restrictions in place are working. If it ain't broke don't fix it and so keep the restrictions in place.

Grand so, sure lock her up and throw away the key so :(

This circular logic keeps rearing it's head on these threads. We can't lift lockdown because if we do it leads to a lockdown.
    The simple fact is, we cannot live in Level 5 indefinitely. The vaccine is being rolled out and case/hospital numbers are falling quicker than FFG polling numbers.

This particular government have trampled all over our rights since early October and have imposed extreme levels of restrictions since then. That's just not sustainable and while they have pushed out to April it will be interesting to see if they move to Level 5 then or reduce to level 3. If they keep on this track of level 5 indefinitely all the while the most vulnerable will have a vaccine already it's going to get messy.

They need to clear up an awful lot of the mixed messaging and incoherent plans or more and more people will just completely ignore anything they have to say.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,007 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

MM just told the FF parliamentary party that we might see a move from 5km to 10km restrictions for the April 5th. Why is he telling the parliamentary party this when he knows it will leak confusing issues especially only a day after addressing the nation and making no mention of this at all?

He was literally complaining how he didn't understand why people said there were communications problems and then he goes and does this? The mans a simpleton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

VinLieger wrote: »
    MM just told the FF parliamentary party that we might see a move from 5km to 10km restrictions for the April 5th. Why is he telling the parliamentary party this when he knows it will leak confusing issues especially only a day after addressing the nation and making no mention of this at all?

He was literally complaining how he didn't understand why people said there were communications problems and then he goes and does this? The mans a simpleton.

I see this as a positive. There is no real opposition on this issue as the opposition want stricter controls.

Clearly he was getting it in the neck from the FFPP and this is what he needed to give them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,230 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

ASTaines-1024x474.jpg

And yet you want to go to a rally with a talk from an anti-vaxxer?