Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

pjohnson wrote: »
    Hopefully whatever business supports shes been claiming get cut/put towards her upcoming fine.

You do realize most of the business supports available are loans right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,299 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I think some sectors will boom, cars, home improvements.

But way more businesses, beauty salons, barbers, retail, cafe's, restaurants, hotels will all be way down...it's hard to see how the local economies in the towns around this country will ever be the same again...these SME's between them employ a lot of people who won't have jobs when they re open.

I don't think we'll see a boom anytime soon.

All of the money that has been magiced up in the last year will have to be repaid - with real money unfortunately.

It won't even be our Government that drive this. Once the likes of Germany are back on track expect the calls for 'fiscal responsibility' to start.

This happened not that long ago remember!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,040 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

It must be great to be so privileged that you think NO ONE is going to starve in Ireland...

Guess you’ve probably never been near a local food bank run by volunteers. There are a lot of them that try to help people that need food and clothes etc.

Plenty of people end up homeless in Ireland and on several occasions people have frozen to death on the streets.

Good for you though to be so privileged that you don’t realise it’s happening

how many people starved to death in Ireland last year? none I would bet.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So not working, living alone, and healthy Graham?

If you're working under the assumption I haven't taken a massive financial hit as a result of the pandemic (along with half the population) you couldn't be any more wrong.

That does not change my opinion as to the use of restrictions/vaccines to see this brought to an end as quickly as possible.

Framing this as a wealthy against poor thing is inaccurate and just lazy to be frank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

wakka12 wrote: »
    Newstalk had a GP on talking about the death of the 16 year old today, that they can't say much without knowing whether they had an underlying health issue, fair enough, but then she said 'it is unexpected, as most people that age survive the virus'

Ummm...! Understatement of the centry.. most?? Almost all would be a more representative description

She implied the variant caused the death before changing the story

wakka12 wrote: »
    Newstalk had a GP on talking about the death of the 16 year old today, that they can't say much without knowing whether they had an underlying health issue, fair enough, but then she said 'it is unexpected, as most people that age survive the virus'

Ummm...! Understatement of the centry.. most?? Almost all would be a more representative description

This is misleading.

Even with the annual flu virus, a tiny % of young patients die. It's extremely rare, but it happens each year.

What happens with COVID is that the example is held up as somehow illustrative of how serious the virus is to young people.

But that is not true.

Around 5-8 people or so, under the age of 35 in Ireland, have died from COVID so far (I believe).

In other words, it's a double standard: with annual flu we focus on old and vulnerable people and not the exceptions with youth; whereas with COVID we focus too much on youth deaths.

Just seen that now, bonkers. What a measured use of resources!

would it be better if the guards walked there from the Garda station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I didn't know what would happen, I never lived through a once in 100 year pandemic before. what she did was selfish and stupid, its not as if they said she wouldn't be allowed open until 2025, she will likely be allowed open in 2 months.

You have to trust the governnment, scientists and medical experts.

if she has a good business, she wont loose any customers.
    Trust who?

The government? Who spent about two months last year developing a Living with Covid plan that was supposed to be aimed at finding a way of keeping society opening while dealing with spikes in coronavirus cases.. Which they ripped up the week they issued it. Who didn't bother with a proper contact tracing system. Who didn't bother with any restrictions on inbound travel and still haven't implemented anything effective. Who have not done a single proactive thing to combat coronavirus, and instead just tried to scapegoat various sections of society. First it was all the pubs fault. Then it was all young people's fault. Now it's anyone going on holiday. They'll need a new one for next month when the schools go back, they'll probably fall back to blaming a sudden drop in public compliance.

NPHET? Who would have been involved in the drafting of said "plan". Who change their recommendations depending on who's running the committee. Who Ronan Glynn claims were pushing for restrospective contact tracing since last August, despite the fact Cillian de Gascun claimed we already had a comprehensive contact tracing system in July, and Philip Nolan dismissed it as an academic exercise in September. Who insisted on putting the country into level 5 in October despite numbers already having peaked, and then tried to attribute the resulting fall to the level 5 restrictions. Who have at times put their own individual opinions ahead of the consensus of their European colleagues of the WHO?

Why would you continue to trust people who have repeatedly abused that trust?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Barbers, cafes, hotels, restaurants were all booming last summer during the staycations, it will be the same when the pandemic ends. business people are optimistic creatures, they will survive and thrive.

Have you talked to many business owners?

Most of them were operating at reduced capacity...hotels were only taking small weddings, no conferences or commercial trade...cafes operate where there is footfall, which has been reduced every where, hair salons boomed initially but lost a sizeable share of customers who found home made solutions they were happy with....retailers suffered after an initial boom after the first lockdown, clothes retailers were left a load of stock they would normally be turning into cash to buy new stock for this year.

We need to snap out of the delusion that we aren't destroying our SME sector...many of whom are being supported financially by the state, but that support has to end at some point!

Not all our SME sector, but a sizeable chunk of it!

Graham wrote: »
    If you're working under the assumption I haven't taken a massive financial hit as a result of the pandemic (along with half the population) you couldn't be any more wrong.

That does not change my opinion as to the use of restrictions/vaccines to see this brought to an end as quickly as possible.

Framing this as a wealthy against poor thing is inaccurate and just lazy to be frank.

Grand, now instead of grandstanding, how about you answer the other questions I asked you in the post you quoted?

How do you justify the ongoing severe restrictions when the data proves that the overwhelming majority of those impacted will see little to no medical impact from the virus?

Is it a case that you think that the needs of the (very) few can continue to be put ahead of the needs of the many?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,230 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Our thanks will be new taxes to pay for this. I didn't get a single penny from the gov but damn sure I'll be asked to pay.

They're laughing at us.

Ok but yet you say this
    Fair play I hope you used cash too.

Unless that hairdresser is refusing to claim any of the state benefits, you will be paying him twice due to fraud. Same with the McTiernan woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

no, just the sad nut jobs who believe every conspiracy theory they hear. she obviously isn't a welfare for life merchant but she is a me me me person. no one is going to starve in Ireland, doing it to put food on the table is a load of crap.

She said she owes 5k in rent. The government going to write a cheque for that aswell?

You do realize most of the business supports available are loans right?

Yeah and they shouldn't be entitled to them if they are refusing to stop operating. The supports are to help businesses not supplement them as a bonus.

Most of them were operating at reduced capacity...hotels were only taking small weddings, no conferences or commercial trade...cafes operate where there is footfall, which has been reduced every where, hair salons boomed initially but lost a sizeable share of customers who found home made solutions they were happy with....retailers suffered after an initial boom after the first lockdown, clothes retailers were left a load of stock they would normally be turning into cash to buy new stock for this year.

We need to snap out of the delusion that we aren't destroying our SME sector...many of whom are being supported financially by the state, but that support has to end at some point!

I saw how busy my own town was, people I know in business told me how busy they were. My own business was busy. id say some weeks I am down 50% what I would have been making pre pandemic but I will survive. You have to adapt in business and move on sometimes as well. no point ever feeling sorry for yourself and it is a waste of time ever blaming the government.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

There's no doubt business are taking a massive hit and the financial supports offered are nothing short of derisory.

Increasing financial support for business is something I'd have no problem getting behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

how many people starved to death in Ireland last year? none I would bet.

Can't really say, unless it was/it is death by covid it won't count

ingo1984 wrote: »
    She said she owes 5k in rent. The government going to write a cheque for that aswell?

You believe her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Sinn Féin don't want to make any decisions and keep trying to highlight how the Government dared go against advisory body NPHET for Christmas. Pearse Doherty last night on Prime Time calling for mandatory quarantine for all non-essential travel into Ireland even from a vaccinated UK. Sinn Féin in power in the North where foreign travel bubbles look likely to be formed for the summer, joke shop of an opposition party.

They are in a five party coalition in the north. They aren't 'in power'.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Yeah and they shouldn't be entitled to them if they are refusing to stop operating. The supports are to help businesses not supplement them as a bonus.

How exactly is a loan that she has to repay a bonus?

You believe her?

Why wouldn't you? Her landlord will still expect to be paid regardless - maybe a bit less (or with part of the rent deferred), but I very much doubt she's being allowed remain in the premises rent free.

ingo1984 wrote: »

Not to worry. The GoFundMe page will cover that.

You know she is probably in a desperate situation, like a lot of small business owners, she has probably had to work long hours, made loads of sacrifices to build a living for herself only to see the most nonsensical, inhumane, anti science Government policy pose the biggest threat to her survival.

I can understand how she may rub people up the wrong way with her actions, but too many people have no idea what it is like to start and own your own business so you'd have no idea how attached she is to her customers and her endeavor over the years.

If her business hits the wall, she will have to beg the State for assistance, which is what she is clearly trying to prevent.

When I am in a desperate situation I will be sure to call Ben Gilroy and the yellow vest nutjobs

Do you know what, that actually explains a lot...you wouldn't be one for thinking things through!!!

How anyone could believe engaging that group of nutters would benefit them is beyond me. By all means protest, by all means defy restrictions if you are in a desperate situation, but if you believe freeman Ben and the jolly nutjobs are your best option, well you truly are f*cked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Penfailed wrote: »
    They are in a five party coalition in the north. They aren't 'in power'.

By that logic, FF aren't in power as there is a three party coalition in the south, but that doesn't stop the brigade saying it's FF fault....

Why can SF always benefit from saying there aren't in complete power in the North, but that argument is never allowed to be used for any coalition party in the south?

How anyone could believe engaging that group of nutters would benefit them is beyond me. By all means protest, by all means defy restrictions if you are in a desperate situation, but if you believe freeman Ben and the jolly nutjobs are your best option, well you truly are f*cked

Make up your mind Raind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

fin12 wrote: »
    It just seems to me they have so much power now that I feel they think they really can impose any level and length of restriction now, I heard him speak briefly on the radio tonight and it’s put me in such a bad place mentally.

It's not what they "think"...It's what they now KNOW.

Given that the current provisions extend from the Health Acts 1947 as amended,I would be VERY interested to see if these "Emergency Provisions" are ever rescinded,now that our Political leaders are comfortable with the controls...

https://revisedacts.lawreform.ie/eli/1947/act/28/section/31A/revised/en/html

Thankfully,although tearing down the last of El Caudillo's statues as we speak,Spanish Administrators retain a certain bond for the Generalissimo's methods....

https://www.thelocal.es/20210223/spains-galicia-to-make-covid-vaccine-compulsory-and-fine-those-who-refuse-it-up-to-60k

I wonder if our lads can read a bit of Spanish ? :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭showpony1

She implied the variant caused the death before changing the story

The new Virus you mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Sinn Féin don't want to make any decisions and keep trying to highlight how the Government dared go against advisory body NPHET for Christmas. Pearse Doherty last night on Prime Time calling for mandatory quarantine for all non-essential travel into Ireland even from a vaccinated UK. Sinn Féin in power in the North where foreign travel bubbles look likely to be formed for the summer, joke shop of an opposition party.

It's a bit ironic that Pearse actually drives through the UK to get to Dublin. Should he have to quarantine under this plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

It is very clear that the majority of people haven't got a clue what is involved in running a business. Nevermind being given zero notice that your business needs to close, or it being impossible to plan for the coming months. Hotels especially have had it incredibly tough, there's a lot that goes on behind the scenes that most people wouldn't know about, to keep a hotel running.