Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ive heard of a Supra being classed as a 2 seat commercial, but never a crewcab.

I had a 1990 Peugeot 405 estate that was down on the book as a crew cab!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭User1998

Andrew33 wrote: »
    You are correct. My bad, so many loopholes in that legislation anyway. Supposedly closed in late 2016 and all crewcabs had to come directly from manufacturers to qualify but I’ve heard conversion firms have found a a way around that now as well.

I think it’s just big stuff like Range Rover, Q7 etc that qualify now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-integra-dc5-automatic-nct/26852661

It's back, it obviously wasn't scooped up the last time the owner tried to sell it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-integra-dc5-automatic-nct/26852661

It's back, it obviously wasn't scooped up the last time the owner tried to sell it.

That's been for sale for ages now. Could even be the same ad and was just renewed. I wonder how much he is looking for it. Honda automatics from that era are not even that great. Brilliant manual gearboxes though.

You would have to wonder who imported that back in the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-1992/27240131

Crazy.

Non runner, half a Corolla covered in bird ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭dmc17

Crazy.

Gone already. Must've been a rare one :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Crazy.

It's gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Tzardine wrote: »
    It's gone.

It disintegrated into the ground when someone tried to blow the dust off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,969 ✭✭✭CoBo55

dmc17 wrote: »
    Gone already. Must've been a rare one :pac:

You're ****tin' me...
    Sorry I couldn't resist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-spider-convertible/27214266?campaign=3

08 Alfa Spider 177k km (dash says km, nct says miles), at least it’s the 2.4 diesel, but €14750, nuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,438 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Rackstar wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-spider-convertible/27214266?campaign=3

08 Alfa Spider 177k km (dash says km, nct says miles), at least it’s the 2.4 diesel, but €14750, nuts.

Sure who wouldn’t want a convertible diesel that also somehow manages to be €1200 to tax?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭eljono

Rackstar wrote: »

That's more than dreamer territory, that's deluded!

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mjolnir

eljono wrote: »
    That's more than dreamer territory, that's deluded!

The owner realises its unique because there aren't that many people in Ireland want a soft top diesel alf that costs €1200 to tax right?
    Not because its some incredibly desirable, rare car.
    It's a bloody undesirable alfa, most wouldn't give him the cost of the tax

15k, and that tax band. That is a definite contender.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Sure who wouldn’t want a convertible diesel that also somehow manages to be €1200 to tax?

And it's auto. I love an auto... But in that car. Yuck.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭dubbrin

Mary was browsing the IS"200 Altezza Sport LSD never abused" section of DD last night after half a botle of merlot to come up with that price I'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭E36Ross

Does have the same owner since 2003..... That'll sell at that money.

Looks like a very good example of one but I can't see it making that money in a million years, specially with a claimed 200k miles.

Without stating the obvious, it's not an Altezza, lads only want IS200's for wrecking. As the old saying goes, 1.0 performance, 2.0 tax, 3.0 fuel economy, they are the worst of every category.

Be a nice yoke for 1500, maybe 2k. €6500 is total dreamer IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭User1998

Usually they have about 15 owners at this stage

• Registered Users Posts: 73,438 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It’s a Sport fair enough, but so is billiards.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Looks like a very good example of one but I can't see it making that money in a million years, specially with a claimed 200k miles.

Without stating the obvious, it's not an Altezza, lads only want IS200's for wrecking. As the old saying goes, 1.0 performance, 2.0 tax, 3.0 fuel economy, they are the worst of every category.

Be a nice yoke for 1500, maybe 2k. €6500 is total dreamer IMO.

I don't massively disagree with this.

But they are mighty to take abuse and that's really the long and the short of it.

Also it's probably more dreamer territory to think 1500 will buy one at the moment. Some of the prices lads are giving for them are mad.

Fair :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I don't massively disagree with this.

But they are mighty to take abuse and that's really the long and the short of it.

Also it's probably more dreamer territory to think 1500 will buy one at the moment. Some of the prices lads are giving for them are mad.

Owned one years ago.

Bullet proof it was but it was also not particularly quick and it drank petrol like a thirsty camel. Granted the old IS200's were never marketed as or intended to be quick cars but other than the rock solid reliability and admittedly nice sounding 6 cylinder it was comfortable but dull. I sold mine and got an even thirstier Subaru Legacy twin turbo. :p (that's a whole other story...)

Personally i'd say 1500 isn't far off what its worth. Its 20 years old, has 200k on it and fairly big tax. Anyone who gives her anything close to her valuation is mental.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I reckon a few of ye need to have a look at the general price of IS200s for sale in Ireland at the moment :D

Normal appraisals mean nothing when there's a strong cult demand for them.

Awful yokes imo but what does my opinion matter :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I might be kinder to them than awful but I'm amazed at the prices lads will give for one at the minute.

However when you step back to think about it what other rwd car can ya buy now a days that'll last as a diffin wagon that isn't pushing 10k? There's really very little and this really does have a big impact on the cult desirability of certain cars.

E36 318is is one good example. Have a rep for being "good yokes" so they're quite sought after however realistically no one wants the similar bhp e46 318i because they just can't be used and abused in a similar fashion.

If ya wanted a cheap shlab car a few years ago there was plenty of cheap choices. Now the market has closed in massively and prices are starting to reflect that and even exceed expectations massively in the case of the is200.

Sad times for the crossroad scene across Ireland...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I might be kinder to them than awful but..

Awful is strong alright - they're a nice car all round in reality, they're comfortable, chocked full of extras, nice smooth 6 pot, very reliable and simple to maintain -

None of this plays into why they're currently so popular and expensive though - it's because they're able to do rings and be daily'd where your only excessive costs are a sup of fuel and tyres.

The VAG MK4 platform will be the next ones to watch, mk1 vrs octys now starting to rise from the bottom - no good for drawing circles and elevens though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭newmember2

Cheensbo wrote: »
    I reckon a few of ye need to have a look at the general price of IS200s for sale in Ireland at the moment :D

Normal appraisals mean nothing when there's a strong cult demand for them.

Awful yokes imo but what does my opinion matter :pac:

Current DD asking prices don't bear this out never mind selling prices. Yer man above with that mileage is way off.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,742 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I should have bought a load of is200s years ago, I'd make a fortune now

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

PsychoPete wrote: »
    I should have bought a load of is200s years ago, I'd make a fortune now

If you have any idea the amount of Mk1 & Mk2 Escorts that I bought and ultimately ended up burned in a field it would make you cry.

Some of them were minters too.