Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 149 ✭✭BiggJim

Majority of parents I am talking to and some of them are teachers themselves are sick of homeschooling and says it is not working,stress levels and anxiety are rising as well from what I can gather

Funny enough I've heard the total opposite. Also a once in a lifetime opportunity for many parents to spend quality time with their children during their formative years. I know if I had children I'd appreciate getting to spend so much time with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

BiggJim wrote: »
    I personally don't think schools should open at all until this virus is under controlled (when the majority of the population has been vaccinated). I think the home schooling is working quite well, no reason not to continue it as is.

Most kids won't be vaccinated for the foreseeable, don't think any vaccines have been cleared for use on children yet either?

They make up a sizeable proportion of our population, you stay locked down until whenever you want but a lot of people won't. People are already sick and tired of it, it won't last much longer.

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    I really think you should contact school management and inform them of this and maybe even consider changing schools if the level of online education they’re receiving is substandard. If you just let it slide and plough into it yourself instead, nothing will change.

Good man fair play if you want something done right do it yourself.

Locotastic wrote: »
    Most kids won't be vaccinated for the foreseeable, don't think any vaccines have been cleared for use on children yet either?

They make up a sizeable proportion of our population, you stay locked down until whenever you want but a lot of people won't. People are already sick and tired of it, it won't last much longer.

In just expressing an opinion, obviously my opinion means feck all in the grand scheme of things but the reality is lockdowns are here to stay for another while yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Good man fair play if you want something done right do it yourself.

At the very least, I would be contacting school management if you’re unhappy. Or maybe you’ve already done this?

Teaching is a pretty easy job and you’re right to just tackle it yourself. Parents seem to know how to do it best from my experience.

Funny enough I've heard the total opposite. Also a once in a lifetime opportunity for many parents to spend quality time with their children during their formative years. I know if I had children I'd appreciate getting to spend so much time with them.

Maybe if we were living in a stepford wives novel but a lot of parents are struggling with juggling their own jobs, homeschooling and the strains of lockdown itself.

A lot of families I know at at their wits end, so while it might sound like a delightful time in theory, it is far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Very hard to spend quality time with them when they are trying to school them and work from home. Take my neighbour as an example. Her husband is an essential worker so is not home during the day. She has a child in secondary school and two primary going children. On top of that she has a 1 year old who doesn't sleep well at night so she gets little sleep. This woman is sleep deprived,trying to homeschool 3 children and look after her toddler,and WFH. Tell me where the quality time is there?

At the very least, I would be contacting school management if you’re unhappy. Or maybe you’ve already done this?

Teaching is a pretty easy job and you’re right to just tackle it yourself. Parents seem to know how to do it best from my experience.

I honestly regret not pursuing teaching instead of business myself. The holidays are amazing, the work is handy and they've effectively had the last year off with more to come.

Very hard to spend quality time with them when they are trying to school them and work from home. Take my neighbour as an example. Her husband is an essential worker so is not home during the day. She has a child in secondary school and two primary going children. On top of that she has a 1 year old who doesn't sleep well at night so she gets little sleep. This woman is sleep deprived,trying to homeschool 3 children and look after her toddler,and WFH. Tell me where the quality time is there?

Look that's the reality of it child rearing. Yes granted it would be easier if the kids were out of the house for periods of time but rearing children is hard work. Is this woman working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Some of the teachers comments on this thread have been absolutely shocking - ones that like teaching but hate correcting and often don’t bother, or don’t keep records or say they are rubbish at marking. It’s frightening when you think this is what they are being paid their entire life to do - let alone the potential damage their attitudes and laziness and disinterest is doing to the students. I’m shocked by the number of friends who say all their teachers do is send a group email of pages to read and exercises to do - at this rate we might as well give the salaries and pensions to the parents. Shows up many for the slouchers and social scroungers they are.

We are now almost 2/3 of the way through the second year of covid. I’d like to see independent audit of the work allocated and direct teaching time performed by individual teachers and their contribution and professionalism evaluated accordingly. The exchequer could do with a lot of these deadbeats salaries returned or their services struck from the payroll. If the new teaching hs become a one a day email saying rwad pages x-y and do questions 1-10 and photo them and send the answers in - then the standards, quality and value for money committees should be busy. And I din’t mean the unions or ‘peers’.

Some of the teachers comments on this thread have been absolutely shocking - ones that like teaching but hate correcting and often don’t bother, or don’t keep records or say they are rubbish at marking. It’s frightening when you think this is what they are being paid their entire life to do - let alone the potential damage their attitudes and laziness and disinterest is doing to the students. I’m shocked by the number of friends who say all their teachers do is send a group email of pages to read and exercises to do - at this rate we might as well give the salaries and pensions to the parents. Shows up many for the slouchers and social scroungers they are.

To be fair there's plenty of teachers who are working ridiculously hard, I know of some myself. You'd want to be an awful smooth brain to assume they're all "slouchers and scroungers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Could you post some of those comments you are referencing please?

Look that's the reality of it child rearing. Yes granted it would be easier if the kids were out of the house for periods of time but rearing children is hard work. Is this woman working?

Yes working from home at the moment,think there is actually less quality time between that family at the moment,But they are doing their best but to say they are better off is very shortsighted

Look that's my opinion and I've formed that based on my experience speaking to people. Of course there are outliers and I don't deny that but there is no need to get upset because I have a different opinion than you.

Could you post some of those comments you are referencing please?

Try doing your own basic research & work. Everything isn’t a free ride.

What do you do for work yourself?

Look that's my opinion and I've formed that based on my experience speaking to people. Of course there are outliers and I don't deny that but there is no need to get upset because I have a different opinion than you.

Upset,ah here would you stop,guarantee you if a poll was taken of parents and teachers in the morning,the majority would say that home schooling is not working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

We are now almost 2/3 of the way through the second year of covid. I’d like to see independent audit of the work allocated and direct teaching time performed by individual teachers and their contribution and professionalism evaluated accordingly. The exchequer could do with a lot of these deadbeats salaries returned or their services struck from the payroll. If the new teaching hs become a one a day email saying rwad pages x-y and do questions 1-10 and photo them and send the answers in - then the standards, quality and value for money committees should be busy. And I din’t mean the unions or ‘peers’.

Mind quoting these "teachers". Must have missed all those posts.

Upset,ah here would you stop,guarantee you if a poll was taken of parents and teachers in the morning,the majority would say that home schooling is not working

or the majority of teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

So that's a no. Some cynics will think you're making things up.

That's your opinion and your entitled to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

To be honest with ye lads, I’m a teacher. There’s two types of people on this thread. Teachers defending themselves and people moaning about them.

I can hold my head up high and say that I have provided a high quality online educational experience for all my students since the beginning of this school closure. I have worked a lot more hours than I normally would. I have called to houses. Called parents. Went live for every class. Made extra videos. I’ve done everything I could.

At the end of the day, you’ll never satisfy someone who has an inherent hatred of teachers which is likely down to their own inadequacies or the jealousy of summer holidays. We never know whether we’re talking to a wind up merchant or not on here so I take all with a pinch of salt.

Either ways, if people are unhappy with the education of their kids then DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. If you’re on Boards whinging and you haven’t actually contacted school management then you’re doing it wrong. It isn’t going to fix itself. If after all else fails, consider moving schools if you feel you can get your kids a better education elsewhere.

There are sh*te teachers, the same way there are sh*te businessmen. There are sh*te schools and the same way there are ****e businesses. Get your head around it. Look for change.

Your experience would appear to be limited as neither a parent, a teacher or a student.

Speaking to people doesn't count as experience.

To be honest with ye lads, I’m a teacher. There’s two types of people on this thread. Teachers defending themselves and people moaning about them.

I can hold my head up high and say that I have provided a high quality online educational experience for all my students since the beginning of this school closure. I have worked a lot more hours than I normally would. I have called to houses. Called parents. Went live for every class. Made extra videos. I’ve done everything I could.

At the end of the day, you’ll never satisfy someone who has an inherent hatred of teachers which is likely down to their own inadequacies or the jealousy of summer holidays. We never know whether we’re talking to a wind up merchant or not on here so I take all with a pinch of salt.

Either ways, if people are unhappy with the education of their kids then DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. If you’re on Boards whinging and you haven’t actually contacted school management then you’re doing it wrong. It isn’t going to fix itself. If after all else fails, consider moving schools if you feel you can get your kids a better education elsewhere.

There are sh*te teachers, the same way there are sh*te businessmen. There are sh*te schools and the same way there are ****e businesses. Get your head around it. Look for change.

Good man fair play. I've seen it myself, teachers that haven't time to bless themselves with all the preparation involved for online teaching. As you say there are obviously some taking the Mick too.

You would have to be a simpleton to assume all teachers are effectively on holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

I honestly regret not pursuing teaching instead of business myself. The holidays are amazing, the work is handy and they've effectively had the last year off with more to come.
    Good man fair play. I've seen it myself, teachers that haven't time to bless themselves with all the preparation involved for online teaching. As you say there are obviously some taking the Mick too.

You would have to be a simpleton to assume all teachers are effectively on holidays.

Interesting when you put them beside each other

khalessi wrote: »
    Interesting when you put them beside each other

I should have rephrased my first comment. I'm currently commuting and I meant working from home would have been amazing. That's half the battle for me personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

really shows just how off the wall Norma is. I would think she being muzzled well now by the FF PR gurus. I would say you will count one hand how many TV appearances she makes in her little time left as a minister. She will landed back into the FF heartland very soon i would think via government reshuffle or election in autumn when covid is off the main agenda.

Yea im getting on well enough with online teaching to be honest. my 6th years seem happy and i would know about it fairly quickly if they were not happy. still id like to get into school with just 6th years around mid march numbers going well, the others no real panic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭Neagra

****e businessmen go out of business
    ****e schools never go out of business
    the joys of a mafia style unionised workforce

your post is very funny and honestly i am not sure if you yourself are a wind up merchant.

One of my mates has a young fella in 3rd year and his teacher is doing online teaching from the Canary Islands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭History Queen

Neagra wrote: »
    ****e businessmen go out of business
    ****e schools never go out of business
    the joys of a mafia style unionised workforce

your post is very funny and honestly i am not sure if you yourself are a wind up merchant.

"A mafia style unionised workforce"

WOW