If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,455 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Sure I want the lockdown over and done with, same as anyone but I won't be taking the vaccine as I'm not at risk. Get the elderly sorted because they're the only ones really at risk and then get the country going again

Apart from staying home and distancing, there's only one real thing you an do to speed the end of the restrictions and return to normality, get the vaccine. And you're saying you won't do it. Are you sure you want to get back to normality.

Lads, here's an example of someone who is saying they will actively, not do the one thing that will help get back towards normality. It's funny that people who point out the reality of the situation are called "forever lockdown" supporters, and here's someone who is telling you they will actively not do the only thing that we can do to end the restrictions. What do you have to say to them?

• Site Banned Posts: 68 ✭✭Shane Driscoll

Apart from staying home and distancing, there's only one real thing you an do to speed the end of the restrictions and return to normality, get the vaccine. And you're saying you won't do it. Are you sure you want to get back to normality.

Lads, here's an example of someone who is saying they will actively, not do the one thing that will help get back towards normality. It's funny that people who point out the reality of the situation are called "forever lockdown" supporters, and here's someone who is telling you they will actively not do the only thing that we can do to end the restrictions. What do you have to say to them?

Well what are you gonna do? Make me take it? It's not a China we live in, the government can't make us take it.

I never get the flu vaccine either and maybe I spread that every year. But no one's trying to guilt me into taking the flu vaccine because I'm not at risk.

Well what are you gonna do? Make me take it? It's not a China we live in, the government can't make us take it.

I never get the flu vaccine either and maybe I spread that every year. But no one's trying to guilt me into taking the flu vaccine because I'm not at risk.

I’m not suggesting I’ll make you do anything. You’ve been a great illustration of someone who will be a part of the problem in the future. Earnestly saying you’ll choose to not do the one thing that will actually help to end restrictions and move back towards normality.

It will help people to make up their minds about what kind of person they want to be - part of the problem or part of helping to get out of restrictions. Cheers.

I’m not suggesting I’ll make you do anything. You’ve been a great illustration of someone who will be a part of the problem in the future. Earnestly saying you’ll choose to not do the one thing that will actually help to end restrictions and move back towards normality.

It will help people to make up their minds about what kind of person they want to be - part of the problem or part of helping to get out of restrictions. Cheers.

Yes I am an illustration of someone with body autonomy, who would like to decide what he puts into his body. I make no apologies for that.

Perhaps a register for bold people me like who'll say no thanks the vaccine? Maybe a Chinese style social punishment for us?

Yes I am an illustration of someone with body autonomy, who would like to decide what he puts into his body. I make no apologies for that.

Perhaps a register for bold people me like who'll say no thanks the vaccine? Maybe a Chinese style social punishment for us?

You can set up a bold people list, mandate vaccinations, introduce Chinese style government if you want. You’re the only one of the two of us who has even mentioned it.

I'm straight talking and saying I've made the decision not to take the vaccine. And you're coming back with this passive aggressive tone about me being a great example.

Funny cos if this vaccine is so safe and effective, what do you have to worry about if a few people like me choose not take it?

You get the shot and I'll take my chances with the Great Plague.

I'm straight talking and saying I've made the decision not to take the vaccine. And you're coming back with this passive aggressive tone about me being a great example.

Funny cos if this vaccine is so safe and effective, what do you have to worry about if a few people like me choose not take it?

You get the shot and I'll take my chances with the Great Plague.

Ah, so you just don’t understand how it works then?

I’m not trying to tell you what to do, I have no intention to tell you what to do. I’m just delighted there’s such a great example of a person who is consciously opting to prolong the situation we’re all in.

The attitude displayed above is something that will become more prevalent as time goes on and more people are vaccinated. “Shur, if everyone else gets vaccinated then why should I get it too?”. It’s best to be prepared and know what’s coming down the line ether than be surprised when they become a problem, slowing down the process of getting back towards normality.

Ah, so you just don’t understand how it works then?

I’m not trying to tell you what to do, I have no intention to tell you what to do. I’m just delighted there’s such a great example of a person who is consciously opting to prolong the situation we’re all in.

The attitude displayed above is something that will become more prevalent as time goes on and more people are vaccinated. “Shur, if everyone else gets vaccinated then why should I get it too?”. It’s best to be prepared and know what’s coming down the line ether than be surprised when they become a problem, slowing down the process of getting back towards normality.

Hmm, not passive aggressive, arrogance is the term for you perhaps.

How will it slow the process of getting back to normal if healthy young people like me say no to the vaccine?

Won't all the high risk people be protected?? Coronavirus is a sniffle for people like me. What am I missing here?

And since I'm such a great example, well what are going to do with me? Show my posts to your friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,346 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

How will it slow the process of getting back to normal if healthy young people like me say no to the vaccine?

Won't all the high risk people be protected?? Coronavirus is a sniffle for people like me. What am I missing here?

And since I'm such a great example, well what are going to do with me? Show my posts to your friends?

Tell that to the 19-year-old who died recently, and all the others under 50 or 60 who have died (to pick an arbitrary number, writing anyone off because of their age is just obnoxious).

And what about those who can't, for various reasons, get the vaccine, but are vulnerable. Do they not count?

You're just demonstrating your ignorance, and that you really don't have a clue how vaccines and herd immunity work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,015 ✭✭✭Russman

Would it bother you if you were to pass it on to someone less healthy than you ?
    Would it effect you if vaccination passports stopped you travelling ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭Dickie10

some people just dont want it to end. Keep saying it but no replies or arguments against , when vulnerable and over 70s are vaxxed , deaths and hospitilistions will plummet and personally i think cases will as well as when people vulnerable relatives get it a lot of them those with symtoms wont bother getting tested. so cases will drop too.

Russman wrote: »
    Would it bother you if you were to pass it on to someone less healthy than you ?
    Would it effect you if vaccination passports stopped you travelling ?

How do you know I haven't already passed it on? Don't I pass on the flu every year? And won't the vulnerable people be vaccinated soon? So if choose not to vaccinate I'm only risking myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,346 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

How do you know I haven't already passed it on? Don't I pass on the flu every year? And won't the vulnerable people be vaccinated soon? So if choose not to vaccinate I'm only risking myself.

Not everyone who is vulnerable can get vaccinated.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Tell that to the 19-year-old who died recently, and all the others under 50 or 60 who have died (to pick an arbitrary number, writing anyone off because of their age is just obnoxious).

And what about those who can't, for various reasons, get the vaccine, but are vulnerable. Do they not count?

You're just demonstrating your ignorance, and that you really don't have a clue how vaccines and herd immunity work.

Young people dying are outliers. The majority dying are 80+. The people getting killed by covid can easily die from the flu.

Don't give in to fear. Most people are not at risk from covid.

Not everyone who is vulnerable can get vaccinated.

Why not?

The median age of a very large number of deaths recently was 80. That means half of them were under 80.

Because the younger victims are "outliers", do they not count or something?

And again, what about those who can't get vaccinated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

What Are the various reasons why someone can’t get the vaccine but are vulnerable?

The median age of a very large number of deaths recently was 80. That means half of them were under 80.

Because the younger victims are "outliers", do they not count or something?

And again, what about those who can't get vaccinated?

Why can't they get vaccinated? And if they can't, well that sucks for them but you ain't gonna guilt trip me into a vaccine.

Thought Ireland was all about my body, my choice these days?

fin12 wrote: »
    What Are the various reasons why someone can’t get the vaccine but are vulnerable?

People with severe allergies, people who are immuno-compromised, people undergoing chemo to name a few.

Maybe make an effort to educate yourself a bit before making blanket ignorant statements?

Why can't they get vaccinated? And if they can't, well that sucks for them but you ain't gonna guilt trip me into a vaccine.

Thought Ireland was all about my body, my choice these days?

Well, that there just says it all.

I'm out before I get myself banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,015 ✭✭✭Russman

I don’t know if you’ve passed it on, or if you pass on the flu, nor do I particularly care in fairness.
    It’s a mistake to think that only the elderly are vulnerable to covid though, certainly they’re most vulnerable to death from it, but look at all the healthcare staff or Gardai out of work in the last month with covid - they’re hardly elderly & “vulnerable” now are they ?

Well, that there just says it all.

I'm out before I get myself banned.

If people can't get the covid vaccine, surely then they're vulnerable to many viruses and diseases? Pneumonia, influenza?

The only hope then is for these people to live in total isolation, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭Dickie10

few people there saying, what about people who can get vaxxed? what about people under 70? restrictions are not based on biographies of people or claire byrne features or late late show doom and gloom segments, or at least they should never be. they are based on numbers, number go down we get less restrictions when the go up we need them. it really is not useful to personalise the cases /deaths or hospitalisations, irs all about managing risk , vacccines bring risk down. people of 30 could get sick from covid and even die, will many 18-50 years old be sick ? NO. Of course theres absolutly nothing wrong with people who feel the risk is too much from keeping there mask, hand washing, staying away from crowded settings such as restauraunts, pubs, concerts, races etc. thats self imposed restrictions and thats what ill people do all day everyday well before covid19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,749 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

actually no, all the high risk people won't be protected fully unless a certain amount of herd immunity is reached.
    therefore by you not taking the vaccine, restrictions will have to stay because a certain amount refusing to take it may mean the required immunity is not reached.
    so that is how you slow the process down.
    what will happen is more and more companies will look for proof of vaccination before providing their services to you, it has already started i believe with some airlines among others.
    so if you want to get back to normal, take the vaccine, if you want to keep lock down and restrictions, then go ahead and don't take it, but either way you are losing this battle.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

actually no, all the high risk people won't be protected fully unless a certain amount of herd immunity is reached.
    therefore by you not taking the vaccine, restrictions will have to stay because a certain amount refusing to take it may mean the required immunity is not reached.
    so that is how you slow the process down.
    what will happen is more and more companies will look for proof of vaccination before providing their services to you, it has already started i believe with some airlines among others.
    so if you want to get back to normal, take the vaccine, if you want to keep lock down and restrictions, then go ahead and don't take it, but either way you are losing this battle.

Nah I'll pass thanks. As I said, it's not Communist China. I really don't think companies in a capitalist society are going to refuse to do business with you because you don't have your vaccine doc

Like a bank won't give you a mortgage? Tesco won't sell to you? Let's be real, the airlines would fly right now if they could, vaccine or no vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,342 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

One of my locals started doing takeaway pints again this evening.
    Did something change/announcement made? I dont read/listen to covid news anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

retalivity wrote: »
    One of my locals started doing takeaway pints again this evening.
    Did something change/announcement made? I dont read/listen to covid news anymore

Ye must be thirst?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I think we need to have some class of a memorial or national day of rememberance for the day the pints stopped in the normal pubs, March 16th will be a Tuesday, perhaps black armbands worn or wreaths on front doors of houses.

https://www.newstalk.com/news/covid19-pubs-asked-to-close-from-sunday-night-in-ireland-983397
    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-51901372

I think we need to have some class of a memorial or national day of rememberance for the day the pints stopped in the normal pubs, March 16th will be a Tuesday, perhaps black armbands worn or wreaths on front doors of houses.

https://www.newstalk.com/news/covid19-pubs-asked-to-close-from-sunday-night-in-ireland-983397
    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-51901372

Bring back Arthur's Day ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

We should definitely be having a pint in the gastropub by May bank holiday.