Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

quarryman wrote: »
    So it's all Norma's fault.

What exactly was suggested that was not safe?

Why are the majority of Europe schools open to vulnerable children but Ireland is not?

Why are creches and other childcare services open but schools are not?

Why is every other essential service in the country open with safeguards but every single school is completely shut?

Why can't schools open with teachers willing to volunteer their service?

It seems that no one is saying exactly WHY it's not safe to open.

You sound just like so many other posters who have been on here spoiling for an argument. It's lazy posting at this stage. For someone who seems so 'invested', you seem to be woefully uninformed about the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

Why are the majority of Europe schools open to vulnerable children but Ireland is not?

Why is every other essential service in the country open with safeguards but every single school is completely shut?

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/reply/2058147916/post/116105165

https://m.independent.ie/

https://www.rte.ie/

https://www.irishexaminer.com/

https://www.irishtimes.com/

https://www.forsa.ie/

https://www.asti.ie/home/

https://www.education.ie/en/

All the information you seek!
    Start with the first one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

You sound just like so many other posters who have been on here spoiling for an argument. It's lazy posting at this stage. For someone who seems so 'invested', you seem to be woefully uninformed about the situation.

Still not answering the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Clouron

I think Quarrymans question is fair. It's a fair fair question. Its mainly teachers on defence on this thread. Which I appreciate too..not nice to be on defence either.

But kinda pointless having those fair questions posed here....the house always wins!!

quote="wirelessdude01;116105213"]You sound just like so many other posters who have been on here spoiling for an argument. It's lazy posting at this stage. For someone who seems so 'invested', you seem to be woefully uninformed about the situation.[/quote]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

You have asked a lot of questions, and you have been given answers. It's only fair you answer some too. This topic has been discussed widely here, social media, national news media, in the Dail, etc.

If you have such an interest in this, how in the name of jaysus are you asking such uninformed questions?

Are you living in this world during a global pandemic, in this country in which our stats were the WORST in the world, knowing there are now more serious mutations, and you have access to the internet and/or multiple news sources? If the answer is yes, then why are you asking why it's not safe to open.

I don't think you're a serious poster, tbh, and you're just looking for a fight.

Clouron wrote: »
    I think Quarrymans question is fair. It's a fair fair question. Its mainly teachers on defence on this thread. Which I appreciate too..not nice to be on defence either.

But kinda pointless having those fair questions posed here....the house always wins .
    [/quote]

You are well aware having been on this thread a while that all of these questions have been answered over and over and over again as best they can be
    Mainly for posters who pop in spoiling for a fight with no genuine interest in any of it .
    It takes away from the people who are invested in it . Namely students parents and education staff .

Stateofyou wrote: »
    you have been given answers.

No I haven't.
    our stats were the WORST in the world,

I don't think you're a serious poster, tbh, and you're just looking for a fight.

They aren't now:
    https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea
    why are you asking why it's not safe to open.

Because no one here seems to be able to provide the information. If it's so easy to find and I'm "uninformed" then how come no one can inform me.

km79 wrote: »

Those links are just generic news websites. Where is the detail regarding safety limitations preventing schools opening?

No I haven't.

Yes you have. And you have all the sources at your fingertips, too.

That's why I used the word "were." Reading comprehension is important.
    Because no one here seems to be able to provide the information. If it's so easy to find and I'm "uninformed" then how come no one can inform me.

Inform yourself. You seem to have internet access and modest ability so I suggest you spend some of your own time on it and then if you have more questions maybe ask those for deeper discussion.

Those links are just generic news websites. Where is the detail regarding safety limitations preventing schools opening?

Start with the first one
    Kind of annoying when one person just keeps repeating the same thing over and over again without making any effort themselves isn’t it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Random sample

I’ll bite.

I will feel safe going back to school when close contacts are being tested.

Norma needs to learn that consultation means talking to the people involved about the specific issue at hand and coming to an agreement. A chat with a stakeholder about the weather is not consultation. Announcements should not come as a surprise to the people she has been consulting with.

As already told to you, the government have decided to keep school buildings closed. Neither Forsa or the INTO closed them or have kept them closed.

This constant and frequent line of questions is repetitive and boring at this stage. Read the thread as it has already been talked and talked and talked some more about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Another day in the schools closed til February thread......

I’ll bite.

I will feel safe going back to school when close contacts are being tested.

Norma needs to learn that consultation means talking to the people involved about the specific issue at hand and coming to an agreement. A chat with a stakeholder about the weather is not consultation. Announcements should not come as a surprise to the people she has been consulting with.

Being told 20mins before said announcement, what is being announced isn't consultation. I see COB has been briefed off the record again with regards to the LC.

I'd love to be pleasantly surprised and see them come out with a plan and an overhaul going forward that knocks it out of the park. Just once.

Being told 20mins before said announcement, what is being announced isn't consultation. I see COB has been briefed off the record again with regards to the LC.

Agree. It’s like the definition of consultation has been lost on her.

As already told to you, the government have decided to keep school buildings closed. Neither Forsa or the INTO closed them or have kept them closed.

This constant and frequent line of questions is repetitive and boring at this stage. Read the thread as it has already been talked and talked and talked some more about.

And it’s these kind of “conversations “ that make the thread twice as long as it needs to be and makes it so hard for genuine posters to find the information they are looking for

Round and round we go
    Bad lazy teachers BOOOOOOO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Another day in the schools closed til February thread......

Did this clueless government actually come out and formerly announce a new school opening date yet?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

That's why I used the word "were." Reading comprehension is important.

That's why i said "aren't now". Reading comprehension is important.
    Inform yourself.

Doing my best. Clearly this thread is not the place to get this information.
    modest ability

Can you elaborate what you mean here?

Did this clueless government actually come out and formerly announce a new school opening date yet?

Surely if you are interested you follow the media and already know the answer to your question...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Would it be possible in people’s opinion here to do a reset on schools i,e. Every student to restart their current year next September?

Two years with large chunks missing, little data for teachers of LC students to give continuous assessment etc.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

That's why i said "aren't now". Reading comprehension is important.

Doing my best. Clearly this thread is not the place to get this information.

Can you elaborate what you mean here?

So you are here to argue, not engage?

Good to know.

It's like someone going on to the coronavirus thread and trying to argue what the big deal is when it's only a flu, and asking for data, graphs, and links to try and change their mind. :-s

Would it be possible in people’s opinion here to do a reset on schools i,e. Every student to restart their current year next September?

Two years with large chunks missing, little data for teachers of LC students to give continuous assessment etc.

No. There are kids ready to go into school in September, some of whom may have been kept home a year longer to get over this mess. They need to get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

I don't know that I can answer these questions, but I will try and give you a bit more context around them as best I can/know.

So it's all Norma's fault. Not all her fault, but she did a pretty poor job communicating - not just with teachers - but with anyone it seems. I'm still reserving my judgement on her tbh ... I wonder how much she believes in the things she is mandated to do.

What exactly was suggested that was not safe? Full return to school was not safe. Returning SNAs (the most at-risk group within the school community) is not safe. With the new variant, a partial return may not be safe either and once it is safe for schools to reopen, it will need to be staggered and I'd imagine the grade of PPE used will have to increase too.

Why are the majority of Europe schools open to vulnerable children but Ireland is not? I don't know their numbers, but given we were worst in the world only a month ago and our proximity to Britain, I'm guessin that this has played a role. I don't have these figures but I think it would also be worth finding out how many children are recognised as 'vulnerable' in the European schools you mention. Which countries too? I don't know myself by the way

Why are creches and other childcare services open but schools are not? Have they unions? That could be the reason. The govt were the ones to extend the closure of mainstream to Feb and with that they paused the ECCE scheme so I'd say the ones that are left open are the ones who have bills to pay

Why is every other essential service in the country open with safeguards but every single school is completely shut? I might be wrong or am forgetting something here, but with the exception of the health service I think they are all private industry who make a profit. That is why they are still open and it is probably why they have better safeguards than schools. I saw a video that a local physio had made about the safety procedures they have put in place. They are unreal and they'll only be in the room with one person for 30mins max.

Why can't schools open with teachers willing to volunteer their service? In the interest of being fair, let's not call it volunteering because we are being paid. The fact of the matter is that it hasn't been deemed safe, that is why. It would be like me 'volunteering' to head 5km out of my zone to get chips for the estate. Bad example I know, but I hope you can see the point I am (badly) trying to make. If this was allowed, there would - understandably - be even more anger and frustration from parents whose children couldn't access a teacher or SNA. Does that mean it shouldn't happen for those we could make it work for? No, it doesn't, but sadly this is the way it has gone. Not just with education, with everything. People can't see beyond their own circumstances and if I can't have it, Paul down the road sure as hell can't either. Think of those the days of your youth when your brother got a strawberry icecream but you didn't and it wasn't fair and you'd cry and whinge that you wanted a strawberry icecream too because he got one and it wasn't fair, so your mam took the icecream off your brother and nobody got one.

It seems that no one is saying exactly WHY it's not safe to open. It isn't safe to open because the ICU numbers are too high and they are not sure what the craic is with the new variant. If the ICU numbers are low, they gradually return the schools and there is a spike in ICU admmissions, at least we have the capacity for them, we learn the lesson, we close again. A bit reckless to open the schools while ICU is strained. If it goes wrong, there are big numbers needing to be admitted and we run out of space - well, that is not good. It doesn't matter how much the virus itself affects children and school-goers. They transmit it just like everyone else and that is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Pringles123

Every sector in this country that works from home gets praised by government and the people in general for taking one for the team and doing whats right. This decision is made with knowledge that people may not be as effective in their work.

3 weeks ago we have one of the highest if not the highest covid 19 rates in the world! Teachers work from home and receive criticism as a result.

People need to understand that teachers, students, parents and the general public all want schools to return. I for one HATE teaching from home! But in a climate where we are only beginning to test close contacts I dont believe its safe.

I'm not talking about special education because I will be the first to admit i do not have a lot of experience with it, so will not comment on it like some ill informed idiot.
    Guards cannot arrest someone from their home. Doctors and nurses cannot administer medication from their home the list goes on. I can teach from my home, sure its not as effective as in the class but it can still be done from home.

In a word no. System isn't capable of facilitating something like this. At the very bottom of the tree, there isn't enough space to hold incoming junior infants for an additional year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Surely if you are interested you follow the media and already know the answer to your question...

No actually I have given the news a skip in recent days. Besides, every time Norma announces something, it doesn't come to pass. And she is prone to hiding. I know they aren't opening on Feb 1 as originally planned, my question was around the replan date. Ok smarty?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

A new report issued by the CSO and tucked away in the back pages of the times,course it wouldn't make the front page was interesting.

8/10 dying have an underlying illness and many if them had 3 serious underlying issues. Now dont worry the other 2 well let's break it down.

NOT A SINGLE RECORDED covid death between 0-24. There have been 25 deaths out of 194k positive clashes between the range of 25-45 as a percentage that is.....0.012 yes 1/10th of a percentage and yet schools are not opening...how os this in anyway an issue as long as single family bubbles are adhered to.

The bottom line here is teachers do not want to work and this is evident in the constant homework given out with little feedback.

In most schools a teacher has their laptop hooked to an interactive white board, why can they not give PPT presentations over Zoom or Webex or teams...actually teach the children the concepts rather that shrieking the responsibility over to parents.

It's a disgrace the way kids are being abandoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭History Queen

Some of the concerns in my colleague circle:

Numbers going way up and no sign of the following safety issues changing at school:
    Lack of coordination re ppe standards
    Lack of social distancing
    Parental complaints about the cold trumping advice to keep windows open

Confidence undermined by the following:
    Teachers and students diagnosed with covid and obvious links between them being put down as community transmission
    Teachers not being told of positive cases in their classes
    Limited view of close contacts in schools
    Being told "schools are safe" and ignoring teachrs and schools staff's lived experience that this isn't necessarily the case
    Cut to ppe budget

Department of Education proving again and again they can't be trusted:
    Hand sanatiser issue
    Ordering schools hugely infected by covid to remain open

There are other issuesbut these are the ones affecting my school the most.