Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭uli84

brookers wrote: »
    Too much, why would you bring that kind of stress into your lives, we are in a global pandemic, not competing for the nobel peace prize, your children will get to university, they will get great jobs and have a huge mortgage and we will all be old and frail. It is a few short months out of their long lives. We didnt stay for the second call today or yesterday, we headed to the beach, the sun was shining and they got their feet wet, the waves were fantastic, hopefully they will turn out to be well adjusted adults. I know another parent and their kids jumped into a lake today, got soaking wet and went home all soggy in the car.

Fair play, i was at work until 5 pm, and there is nothing like that within 5 km of my house either way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭brookers

I know of a principal in a large urban school who spent the day delivering workpacks to children who are unable to engage with online learning.
    Amongst the households they visited were a family where the parent has mental health issues and addiction issues, a family of five where the parents don't speak English, the family of a healthcare worker where the parent has to isolate from the child because the child is high risk, the home of a convicted drug dealer who is Covid positive all topped off by a member of a minority community who was having a panic attack in front of her young son. The principal stayed with the mother for over an hour until help arrived.
    But holidays, lazy teachers who don't care etc.

Put them all on the PUP payment, teachers sure they dont want to work, it is the teachers who are closing schools, they were all drinking at christmas, had 50 on christmas day and then the cheek of them to say close all the schools. Sure no other country in the world is doing that.....I dont know where did we get these terrible teachers from....tut tut tut. im off to facebook now to rant about teachers and then write numerous articles for the irish times.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

uli84 wrote: »
    Will schools be willing to allow the kid to repeat the year if a PARENT feels it’s needed (?)

The DES actively discourage it.

https://www.education.ie/en/Circulars-and-Forms/Active-Circulars/pc32_03.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Going back to the idea of allowing autonomy to schools to open voluntarily.... I would be concerned that it’s Norma deciding **** the unions let them take the flack for not being able to open. She doesn’t seem to be particularly even tempered or even care about schools stsfd

What exactly have they been discussing since Wednesday? How long does it take for her to give a yes or no answer to the requests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

Isn't it a recipe for disaster allowing schools make those decisions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

jrosen wrote: »

What’s this now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,057 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

brookers wrote: »
    Too much, why would you bring that kind of stress into your lives, we are in a global pandemic, not competing for the nobel peace prize, your children will get to university, they will get great jobs and have a huge mortgage and we will all be old and frail. It is a few short months out of their long lives. We didnt stay for the second call today or yesterday, we headed to the beach, the sun was shining and they got their feet wet, the waves were fantastic, hopefully they will turn out to be well adjusted adults. I know another parent and their kids jumped into a lake today, got soaking wet and went home all soggy in the car.

That’s great! Did you take the afternoon off work aswell yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

jrosen wrote: »

Allows Norma to say, well schools were asking for autonomy, there ya go. Alternatively, it's Norma's way of giving the middle finger to the unions and trying to bypass them. Another theory would be that Norma is continuing on the divide and conquer strategy, directly putting school against school(those who don't open might be depicted in the local media as wasters and this might lose numbers next year to the school that opened), splitting staff into those who will/won't/can't acceed to going in.

The pitting schools against each other I actually witnessed last year. School in our region was blatantly promoting themselves on local media about how great they were. Local principals group had to tell them to wind in their neck as it wasn't appropriate given the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

km79 wrote: »
    What’s this now ?

allowing schools autonomy on opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭political analyst

Why would the DES discourage what was considered normal just over 2 decades ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭History Queen

Allows Norma to say, well schools were asking for autonomy, there ya go. Alternatively, it's Norma's way of giving the middle finger to the unions and trying to bypass them. Another theory would be that Norma is continuing on the divide and conquer strategy, directly putting school against school(those who don't open might be depicted in the local media as wasters and this might lose numbers next year to the school that opened), splitting staff into those who will/won't/can't acceed to going in.

The pitting schools against each other I actually witnessed last year. School in our region was blatantly promoting themselves on local media about how great they were. Local principals group had to tell them to wind in their neck as it wasn't appropriate given the circumstances.

There seems to be exactly that scenario playing out in the Scotland with special schools, schools pitted against each other.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-55695568

Why would the DES discourage what was considered normal just over 2 decades ago?

Money. "Considerable supports" =money. More students in the system = more funding needed. Maybe I'm wrong but I'm a cynic when it comes to the Dept.

Point 2.2 from the document.

The Department is providing considerable support for pupils with learning
    difficulties in schools. Learning support teachers, resource teachers, special
    needs assistants and a wide range of resources under the various schemes
    for schools in areas designated as disadvantaged are among the forms of
    provision allocated to schools for these pupils. The level of provision
    available should enable pupils to make progress in keeping with their needs
    and abilities and to move consecutively through the different class levels in
    the school along with their peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭political analyst

There seems to be exactly that scenario playing out in the Scotland with special schools, schools pitted against each other.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-55695568

I don't see an indication of inter-school hostility in that article.

I didn't mean inter school hostility but the inference that some schools made efforts to accommodate whole cohorts while others didnt.

"Some local authorities have kept their special schools open but some other councils seem to be providing just one or two days of special school support to families and I think that's a huge concern."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

I know of a principal in a large urban school who spent the day delivering workpacks to children who are unable to engage with online learning.
    Amongst the households they visited were a family where the parent has mental health issues and addiction issues, a family of five where the parents don't speak English, the family of a healthcare worker where the parent has to isolate from the child because the child is high risk, the home of a convicted drug dealer who is Covid positive all topped off by a member of a minority community who was having a panic attack in front of her young son. The principal stayed with the mother for over an hour until help arrived.

That's a very sad post. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭C__MC

Smacruairi wrote: »
    The pair of them need a win at this stage. Norma is now a meme, and Madigan, who fancied herself as a shrewd operator, is now being exposed for the vacuous blouse she is. Her past comments and campaigns are all being dredged up, and she needs to come out with something concrete.

How Harris has managed to avoid any scrutiny of his role with 3rd level is amazing actually.

Harris became a cult hero last spring as Health Minister when the virus first hit. People like to lay off him because of his perceived actions during this time.

Online learning is grand, good and bad days, can be tedious and repetitive at times. A few classes knackered as well given their on a device most of the day. I didn't think engagement levels would be as good but it has been and collaboration during each lesson of mine has been good, students communicating as good as in a classroom

Stateofyou wrote: »

I think it is quite the opposite. Schools plays essential roles in their communities. Teachers, happily, go well beyond the call of duty. Despite some of the rubbish posted, especially today, the vast majority of teachers are caring individuals who, even in the current difficult circumstances, will offer support where possible to the most vulnerable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Sadly it's the reality in many urban schools, not so much in rural areas but they often have their own issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

This is the complete norm in some areas. Stories would turn your stomach. Social services are less than useless, I know of kids where schools have organised doctors and brought them, sat and waited after organising dental surgery, dropping food and medicine to houses and everything in between. It's incredibly sad, as a society would could really do better. Schools closing should not mean no respite, or no food or emotional support for kids, or no adults to listen to their problems or no person they feel safe with but that's the reality

I will worry about a number of my students until I lay eyes on them again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

This is the complete norm in some areas. Stories would turn your stomach. Social services are less than useless, I know of kids where schools have organised doctors and brought them, sat and waited after organising dental surgery, dropping food and medicine to houses and everything in between. It's incredibly sad, as a society would could really do better. Schools closing should not mean no respite, or no food or emotional support for kids, or no adults to listen to their problems or no person they feel safe with but that's the reality

I will worry about a number of my students until I lay eyes on them again

Absolutely. People really have no idea what life is like for some kids. When I worked in DEIS, I had a young lad who used to take the spare free lunches home for his toddler sister. He'd wait around the room til everyone else was gone so that the other kids wouldn't see.

Unfortunately school is a sticking plaster for so many of life's problems. Teachers and principals do their best but we're just not set up to cater for the level of need out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Absolutely. People really have no idea what life is like for some kids. When I worked in DEIS, I had a young lad who used to take the spare free lunches home for his toddler sister. He'd wait around the room til everyone else was gone so that the other kids wouldn't see.

Unfortunately school is a sticking plaster for so many of life's problems. Teachers and principals do their best but we're just not set up to cater for the level of need out there.

I think schools cover up so many cracks in Health care social care. You see it, everytime there is an issue give it to schools to teach. Even now we are Tusla's watchdogs, education re RSE because it was not being covered in certain homes, more and more each day piled onto schools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

Just to add, for those arguing the toss for school autonomy on his, on which I actually haven't made up my mind. It depends on how long term your vision is.

Allow schools the opportunity to open and close as many clamour for, you'll end up with grind schools not inhibited by DES guidelines open full time, and schools in less affluent areas facing the decision to close for health and safety or a risky open to try to keep pace.

That's why the unified platforms were called for. It might push some school with awful broadband reception a bit past their capability, but stops sth Dublin schools tearing away with even more economic advantages.

Where you live shouldn't dictate your education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭uli84

For that very reason the schools should be opened asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭alroley

1 million+ people moving around - what could go wrong?

During the last lockdown schools that needed too continued to do food parcels.

As an aside, I fell asleep for a few hours today after school exhausted, and have banging headaches,

Anyone else the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

khalessi wrote: »
    As an aside, I fell asleep for a few hours today after school exhausted, and have banging headaches,

Anyone else the same?

I've been enjoying the occasional nap alright! No headaches so far but I hope yours clear soon. I do find myself very tired at the end of the day.

Naps, the Mute All button, no commute and teaching in your PJ bottoms. I can't say that there's absolutely nothing good about online teaching...

Because schools are going well beyond their call of duty, being socially responsible and supporting the marginalised they should be open. Ok.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

khalessi wrote: »

Anyone else the same?

Yep - but that was all from dealing with this thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

I think it is quite the opposite. Schools plays essential roles in their communities. Teachers, happily, go well beyond the call of duty. Despite some of the rubbish posted, especially today, the vast majority of teachers are caring individuals who, even in the current difficult circumstances, will offer support where possible to the most vulnerable.

Of course I absolutely agree, but I meant the stories that you told and what people and children are going through right now, makes for sad reading. Thank god for those kind hearted teachers and principals.