Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    An opposition spokesperson becoming a Minister lol

I'd walk to Mars quicker

Unfortunately we can only dream of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    An opposition spokesperson becoming a Minister lol

I'd walk to Mars quicker

Yup, that's the level I'm at here. And I even swore never to vote Labour again after 2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Smacruairi wrote: »
    Yup, that's the level I'm at here. And I even swore never to vote Labour again after 2010!

Dont trust any of em as they are all great in opposition but this is the closest to what has happened I have seen talk about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

I really enjoy how one small question has brought out a seething hatred of in-service in us all, btw. Nice change of pace for the thread.
    Bunch of us left one year, they were using a meta-analysis they had clearly never read in a powerpoint they clearly hadn't made. I had read the paper so I asked a bunch of relatively basic questions about why they were drawing conclusions the author had cautioned against drawing. It was great craic, they then got very hot and bothered, became very defensive and were unbelievable rude and dismissive to another member of staff.....so we left! I'd actually question if you are available for work in the building and doing any useful work you'd have a good shot at it being impossible to actually do anything to you.

Some of the subject specific ones can be very good, depends on the subject and the person but you get the odd really brilliant one. I can think of one series that was so practical and routed in teaching that in an hour at it than I learned in a decade of other "active leaning" inservices

Running them at the moment is sheer madness though, the kids would still need emails answered about work, passwords reset etc

I walked out of a Seesaw one this year. I don't think I'm incredibly techy but I can figure out my own damn way around an app. I don't need to sit for two hours while the tech illiterate are handheld through every step by an only slightly less inept facilitator. Especially when the answer to every question was "oh I don't know actually, I must look that up". I have a classroom to set up, set me free!

Went off, learned the ropes in 10 minutes and spent the rest drinking coffee and doing something useful. Don't regret a moment of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Honestly, junior cycle inservice training is one of the best examples of how absolutely set in its ways the higher echelons of education in ireland are. I can totally see why they did absolutely nothing in the blind faith that schools would never close again.

Anyone here have to sit through ludicrous inservice training days when there was no subject specifications yet for the later subjects? The first subjects were getting proper training in their subject and rather than let the school be open for the teachers and subjects who didn’t need to be at it yet, rather than let us do work in the schools ourselves (there is ALWAYS admin that there is no time for), no.... They literally made up inservice for us rather than admit it wasn’t necessary

And then to make matters worse.... my subject Music had a draft published the week before. I was sitting at a table with multiple music teachers but we were not allowed to discuss it because it wasn’t on the agenda for the day. So I had to sit through a whole day of walking debates and post it’s and absolute rubbish and miss my double sixth years when I could have had a really productive day with other music teachers figuring out what our spec was going to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

I presume the PTSD crowd know its a load of cobblers but play the game to sit on the gravy train?

Like they hardly believe in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭History Queen

Honestly, junior cycle inservice training is one of the best examples of how absolutely set in its ways the higher echelons of education in ireland are. I can totally see why they did absolutely nothing in the blind faith that schools would never close again.

Anyone here have to sit through ludicrous inservice training days when there was no subject specifications yet for the later subjects? The first subjects were getting proper training in their subject and rather than let the school be open for the teachers and subjects who didn’t need to be at it yet, rather than let us do work in the schools ourselves (there is ALWAYS admin that there is no time for), no.... They literally made up inservice for us rather than admit it wasn’t necessary

And then to make matters worse.... my subject Music had a draft published the week before. I was sitting at a table with multiple music teachers but we were not allowed to discuss it because it wasn’t on the agenda for the day. So I had to sit through a whole day of walking debates and post it’s and absolute rubbish and miss my double sixth years when I could have had a really productive day with other music teachers figuring out what our spec was going to be

I've asked at union meetings to request a figure for how many teaching hours have been wasted on JCT inservice. Also the earlier subject ones weren't any better, the first three I went to for English comprised of hearing how many ways a presenter could say "we don't know".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭alroley

What are peoples opinions on schools taking days off for inservice etc?

3 local schools off next friday, just think its slightly cheeky.

I have mine next week too. Would choose teaching every single time over training days.

Actually since the parents are on this thread I’d like to let them know if they don’t already about the difference between a specification and a a syllabus which is the brainchild of the new junior cycle.

Every teacher is expected to unpack the learning in the specification themselves. In other words, there’s very little clarity at times as to whether something is ‘examinable’ or not.

When queried on this they appear to think this is a wonderful idea because we will all teach it differently and different content. At one of my inservices for music they gleefully explained how one school in a locality could specialise in classical music and teach all the content using that and another could use pop music.... when our jaws hit the floor we were assured this is all wonderful even if all students don’t actually learn the same thing

When I raised my fear that maybe I wouldn’t teach something to the level needed for the final exam I got a shoulder shrug and a ‘you’ll be fine’.... I am terrified I will teach something wrong or to an insufficient level as are most teachers I know. And they do not care that we are nervous, or that students are worried or that parents will blame us if we interpret wrong... instead we get told that we might teach to the exam if they give more detail

If you know anything about music here’s an indicator of just how VAGUE those learning outcomes are:

1.5 read, interpret and play from symbolic representations of sounds

The music specification literally does not mention that you need to read the treble clef, the bass clef or what clefs should be taught. What kind of a course outline is missing these details? Well the junior cycle. Because all of us interpreting it ourselves is apparently a good use of our time.

I will acknowledge that there has been some clarity since from the State Exams Commission thankfully

But the whole specification lark is absolutely outrageous in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

I've asked at union meetings to request a figure for how many teaching hours have been wasted on JCT inservice. Also the earlier subject ones weren't any better, the first three I went to for English comprised of hearing how many ways a presenter could say "we don't know".

At the English one. "the literature is a seed from which the skills of communication grow". That sounds good,think thats fair. So I ask the question, "so why is there a necessity to examine the literature so heavily on the exam". She replies, "there is not". I point to the sample paper just published which asked students to use the soliloquays of a chosen Shakespearean drama to explain character traits...we then went back to dotmocracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

alroley wrote: »
    I have mine next week too. Would choose teaching every single time over training days.

God I'm sorry, there's a lot to be said for muting them and just continuing to help and support your student students who need it. We've so many sort of hanging on at the end of classes for a chat, to tell you it's their birthday or whatever, these are sexondary kids but they are so out of place at the moment. A full day of JCT nosense would be much better spent just having a chat with these kids and asking about whatever their dog did and encouraging them to try the online work, and getting the laptops and food packages and books out to them that are needed.

For non teachers on this thread, this is what the department is. In the middle of a lockdown in a global pandemic they are going to try and make all members of a teaching staff unavailable to their students (many of whom are extra vulnerable) so they can fill virtual post it's out about skills based teaching or digital natives or 21st century learning or whatever the new buzzword is.

No one in the department cares about students

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Primary Language Curriculum inservice days were also woeful for us primary teachers. We picked so many holes in the final draft that entire sections of it had to be binned and it sort of reimagined. It is useless and adds huge amounts of paperwork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Primary Language Curriculum I service days were also woeful for us primary teachers. We picked so many holes in the final draft that entire sections of it had to be binned and it sort of reimagined. It is useless and adds huge amounts of paperwork.

Awful that and the team teaching days:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Teachers, geez that inservice and specification stuff sounds dire.

khalessi wrote: »
    Awful that and the team teaching days:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Must have somehow missed those team teaching days!!!

Smacruairi wrote: »
    At the English one. "the literature is a seed from which the skills of communication grow". That sounds good,think thats fair. So I ask the question, "so why is there a necessity to examine the literature so heavily on the exam". She replies, "there is not". I point to the sample paper just published which asked students to use the soliloquays of a chosen Shakespearean drama to explain character traits...we then went back to dotmocracy

They usually ignore me after 10 minutes. Suits me fine.

Teachers at a JCT day...

Primary Language Curriculum inservice days were also woeful for us primary teachers. We picked so many holes in the final draft that entire sections of it had to be binned and it sort of reimagined. It is useless and adds huge amounts of paperwork.

Wait...they LISTENED to ye?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

Teachers at a JCT day...

I was sitting beside him
    But I went for a “ghost walk “

km79 wrote: »
    I was sitting beside him
    But I went for a “ghost walk “

Hahahaha! Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭lulublue22

I don’t think they had a choice - it was genuinely dire - a step beyond the usual WTF to be fair.

ETA - 2nd version wasn’t great but at least it was somewhat readable.

Well the lady who did the initial day with us and another school left at lunchtime and never came back, such was the level of questioning that she faced. Every single gle thing she said we took apart. Pretty much every question we asked she was unable to answer. Similar to the scenarios described by my secondary colleagues above.

Guessing something similar was replicated across-the-board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I was more confused about the PLC after the inservice than I was before it. An absolute waste of a day. We worked it out ourselves in school!

lulublue22 wrote: »
    I don’t think they had a choice - it was genuinely dire - a step beyond the usual WTF to be fair.

ETA - 2nd version wasn’t great but at least it was somewhat readable.

Less cumbersome would be the way I'd describe it. Still rubbish though.

Well the lady who did the initial day with us and another school left at lunchtime and never came back, such was the level of questioning that she faced. Every single gle thing she said we took apart. Pretty much every question we asked she was unable to answer. Similar to the scenarios described by my secondary colleagues above.

Guessing something similar was replicated across-the-board.

JCT weren't for turning...and it wasn't for the lack of trying on our behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

Definitely unique to primary.....we said obvious things "like Maths requires repititiom for proficiency" and "students need actual definitions so we have a common understanding with the scientific community" or, my favourite "critical thinking required you learning information that you can critically think about". We were wrong about all of this apparently and actually the problem with teenagers is that they don't think their opinions are important enough ............the new science paper is a literacy test with a bit of cspe

It’s genuinely madness. I mean it’s lovely to have a new specification in music because the old one really wasn’t well structured. The change to the practical are welcomed. However I hate the lack of clarity on whether my interpretation of what’s necessary is appropriate. There was a term on the music sample paper I have never seen before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭lulublue22

Less cumbersome would be the way I'd describe it. Still rubbish though.

I think it went from how do I use 40 words for this word to ok lads 40’s a bit much lets make it 20 words where 1 would do. Concise and to the point it aint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Murple

lulublue22 wrote: »
    LoL - every table after the unlucky feckers who go first steals that line. Even though there's always one eager beaver table TG. I need copious amounts of coffee to cope. ;)

We always start the day warning each other not to ask questions...but someone always does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

A part of me dies when I see an A3 page, post-it's and highlighters

Must print a t-shirt "I think all the other tables covered what we discussed"

I don't know you. But I like you.