Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,367 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Stephen Donnelly will have to be replaced if this vaccine doesn't get going fast tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭LRNM

What county are you in?

I'd rather maintain my anonymity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

rooney30 wrote: »
    Your living up to your username with this question!

Getting too old picking up on username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I've been doing anything and everything I can not to catch covid. What can I do when I have to go into work and mix with people? It's causing me a huge amount of anxiety seeing and mixing with so much people who doesn't care.

Don't go to work. Pretty simple solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

Ah, I want somebody to stick something into me this year.

Be careful what you wish for :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

niallo27 wrote: »
    I'm not sure would putting 500k people out of work would gain back the public by in, they would need the banks to suspend all loans and mortgages as well.

The majority of public has supported lockdown measures despite government narrative.

https://twitter.com/andrewflood/status/1345829817002979329?s=09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

LRNM wrote: »
    I'd rather maintain my anonymity.

Sure. That's why I went county rather than hospital.
    But then some counties only have one hospital?

Look, I'll be over here slowly processing my thoughts. You, please continue to share your info. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,425 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Getting awfully like March 2020 on here again... scary stuff :-( my mum, who I said yesterday had told me she had no intention of not going shopping anymore just told me that she thinks I should go myself tomorrow...

Don't go to work. Pretty simple solution.

Simple solution is people following guidelines, would be much easier to work from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

smurgen wrote: »
    The majority of public has supported lockdown measures despite government narrative.

That graph shows over 70% supported the opening up in December. Interesting.

This did include closing schools, construction and click and collect though. Plus who does these polls, how big of a sample size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

yaknowski wrote: »
    St. Judes GAA apparently had a 40-person lockin in the clubhouse over the Xmas. Some of these then went to work in the Orwell Supervalu. The local takeaway has decided to shut for a few days.

They're denying it on Facebook if it does turn out to be true I hope they lose their bar license

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

LRNM wrote: »
    This is the worst I've seen covid present yet. Back during March was nothing compared to now.

The amount of obvious and very sick patients we're getting is next level compared to last year.

It's quite frightening. And people are so used to it at this stage, nobody seems to care. It's truly is the "new normal". People are being so casual about it. It reminds me of England back during the initial outbreak.

The labs can't cope. We're hemorrhaging staff.

We had 1 ambulance for a one of the top 15 largest counties the other night.

Please be careful. Nows is not the time to be busting into the shops. Nows not the time to be visiting family and friends for drinks at home. People really don't give a flying fck at the moment. MM is an perpetually absent disgrace and I'm so angry at how this **** show is going thanks how the entire country and goverment let their guard down over christmas.

Please mind yourself and stay as safe as possible. I'm sorry people and the government have let you and your colleagues down so badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭jams100

Restrictions need to change. I work for a well known coffee company that is currently doing take away only. All of us staff are on top of each other with no separation whatsoever and when busy there can be a huge amount of people congregating in the cafe waiting to order or collect their drinks.

Takeaway only should be order online and collect at a hatch, not allowing people to be in the premises congregated together. And that’s not even getting started on how there is no separation between members of staff whatsoever.

Whilst they are all valid points why don't you say this to the manager in your shop and suggest only a certain amount are allowed in at a time?

I get this should be done on a national level etc. But everyone seems to pan things onto the government, when I went to the chipper I ordered and waited outside whilst others waited inside, a bit of cop on from everyone is all that's needed.

I'm becoming tired of the government line, were 9 months in we all individually know what to do so just start doing it. Of course the government need to really step up with the vaccinations and testing/tracing too

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Simple solution is people following guidelines, would be much easier to work from that.

Yes but they are not, so the poster has to take personal responsibility for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭boardise

That was my wife’s exact response, especially when you have the senior HSE staff on saying- cut contacts stay, at home.
    She works in a small midlands town. One day before Christmas the guards were called because some drunk dude was going around insisting on giving out free hugs :)
    I hope one day I can regale these types of stories to my grandchildren and have them look at me like I’m telling tall tales.

The Drunken Hugger ....great name for a jig.:D

Bubbaclaus wrote: »

If you read it wrong it does I suppose lol.

PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    Please mind yourself and stay as safe as possible. I'm sorry people and the government have let you and your colleagues down so badly.

Will you go away with the horse**** blaming the government, sure we were the best in Europe a month ago. Hospitals were empty most of the year due to this government.

Yes but they are not, so the poster has to take personal responsibility for himself.

So your answer to that is don't go to work?? Because others don't do what they should be doing. I'm sorry but ..

On the 7th of December 63% were happy with restrictions which had retail and hospitality open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,099 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

This did include closing schools, construction and click and collect though. Plus who does these polls, how big of a sample size.

Where did you get that insight from?
    The survey didn't include anything not in force. It asked about the restrictions as applied at that point in time.

Usually they are 1000 or 2000 panel members across a range of demographics like age, location, occupation, etc.

63% + 12% = 75% on 7 December
    61% + 12% = 73% on 14 December

Both during the period where hospitality and retail had reopened. What is being read wrong exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭jams100

Bubbaclaus wrote: »

I hate these polls. The questions are so vague that it doesn't really give u any insight into what people actually think. Also depending on how these questions are asked it influences how people would vote.

Often you might agree with some restrictions but one in particular u don't agree with but your presented with a binary yes/no answer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Will you go away with the horse**** blaming the government, sure we were the best in Europe a month ago. Hospitals were empty most of the year due to this government.

The government who ignored NPHET's advice in December.

On the 7th of December 63% were happy with restrictions which had retail and hospitality open.

You'd wonder if people even analyse these sort of things themselves before sharing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Str8outtaWuhan

xtal191 wrote: »
    They're denying it on Facebook if it does turn out to be true I hope they lose their bar license

Not a chance seeing as two of the local AGS are members of the club, one is under age coach. It is known:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,860 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I saw a tweet the other day that 2,000 vaccines had been distributed but 1,800 used.no panic lads.nothing to see here .will be all vaccinated by 2030/2035

Saw on the vaccine thread that 1800 were administered up to Friday, but another 2000 were going to be administered over the weekend in Cork with balance being shipped to Limerick tostart there tomorrow ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Are masks making **** all difference lads, used all of Europe and states and numbers still crazy or would numbers be double without it.
    Masks are part of a solution. They were never going to work on their own. Like washing your hands - reduces some risk, but by no means all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I do follow the guidelines. Can you tell me where I'll get money if I give up with work? Because I'm not entitled to claim the dole if I leave my job.

And 10% had it as too extreme. If people were irresponsible the blue line would be higher .The narrative we're hearing today is personal responsibility. So if people supported government restrictions and government restrictions were insufficient has how are the public to blame?