Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

I work in the hospitality sector and it's a nightmare the minute but can see the reasons why...if we are locking down then it's needs to be a total lockdown

Was out in 2 pubs in Swords on Saturday night. Both pubs were well set up and everyone in them were well behaved. Plenty of spaces between tables, and loads of hand sanitizer. First pub we were in we had food. The 2nd pub we didnt need to get food. Nice to get out for a few pints with friends

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Was out in 2 pubs in Swords on Saturday night. Both pubs were well set up and everyone in them were well behaved. Plenty of spaces between tables, and loads of hand sanitizer. First pub we were in we had food. The 2nd pub we didnt need to get food. Nice to get out for a few pints with friends

Thought you had to order a 9euro meal

sasta le wrote: »

We didnt in the 2nd pub.When we got there they asked if we wanted food and we said no. They said grand and showed us to our table. Stayed there for 4 hours

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

We didnt in the 2nd pub.When we got there they asked if we wanted food and we said no. They said grand and showed us to our table. Stayed there for 4 hours

Should have been reported.

Why should they be reported? They were still serving food. As i said in an earlier post the place was well set up and everyone was well behaved. If you left your table to go to the bathroom without a face mask the staff were quick to tell you to put it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,216 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

sasta le wrote: »

Thats only in the respectable businesses.

Where?

Mo's Tavern,have you heard of it :D

Why should they be reported? They were still serving food. As i said in an earlier post the place was well set up and everyone was well behaved. If you left your table to go to the bathroom without a face mask the staff were quick to tell you to put it on

If you didn`t want food you should have been told to leave the premises straight away without being served any alcohol. The rules were flouted.

You know whats wrong with this country. Theres too many people like you that cant keep there nose out of things. As i said before. The place was well run and no one was acting the bollox. If we had to get food we would have got some but we didnt need too

Irrelevant.The rule is no food no booze.

It wouldnt have bothered me if i had to have ordered food. I still got to enjoy a few nice pints for 4 hours :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

What's wrong with this country is that too many people are flouting the rules actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

It wouldnt have bothered me if i had to have ordered food. I still got to enjoy a few nice pints for 4 hours :D

People like you and the pub that served you are the driving force behind this epidemic. Shame on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Oops!

People like you and the pub that served you are the driving force behind this epidemic. Shame on you.

No... They are not.

No we are not. Maybe you have been hiding under your bed for the last nine months but the pubs have been closed for most of the time during the pandemic so how the hell are they the driving force behind it. Show me the numbers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭Dub81

i wasnt asked to have food either but seen as i hadnt eaten and i was expecting them to put a menu in front of me i ordered food anyway, like yourelf the pub well set up,plenty of spaces and hand sanitizer there great aul session was had, the anti pub brigade are insufferable still droning on about the "dangers of the pubs" despite the actual facts saying the opposite :rolleyes:

Pubs are safe environments, anyone who says otherwise is deluded and clearly has it in for pubs, a bit like a certain Dr of misery.

Dub81 wrote: »
    i wasnt asked to have food either but seen as i hadnt eaten and i was expecting them to put a menu in front of me i ordered food anyway, like yourelf the pub well set up,plenty of spaces and hand sanitizer there great aul session was had, the anti pub brigade are insufferable still droning on about the "dangers of the pubs" despite the actual facts saying the opposite :rolleyes:

Pubs are safe environments, anyone who says otherwise is deluded and clearly has it in for pubs, a bit like a certain Dr of misery.

That's the pubs you were in, but you can't say all pubs will do what is required.

SAMTALK wrote: »
    That's the pubs you were in, but you can't say all pubs will do what is required.

lets not fool ourselves here,the vast majority of pubs will do as required, and have bent over backwards to ensure safety is paramount whilst in the pub.

Any pub ive been in has abided by every single thing required.

lets not fool ourselves here,the vast majority of pubs will do as required, and have bent over backwards to ensure safety is paramount whilst in the pub.

But all it takes is for the minority not to do it right. This is what causes the problem for the rest.

lets not scrape the barrel here, the same can be said about any industry not just pubs.

Absoutely, but we were discussing pubs here were we not ?

yes indeed, but lets not deflect from that fact that it can happen anywhere, not just pubs, so lets not demonise pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭Russman

I'm sure some are safer than others, but to say anyone who suggests that a relatively poorly ventilated space, with people in close proximity, consuming alcohol, might not be safe in the midst of this pandemic, given what we know about the spread of it, is deluded and clearly has it in for pubs is surely a bit off the wall.

Any thoughts as to why most European governments have closed bars and indoor dining ?

yes indeed, but lets not deflect from that fact that it can happen anywhere, not just pubs, so lets not demonise pubs.

Yes it can happen anywhere and is as I have agreed, but also let's not deflect from the fact that alcohol plays a bigger role in this scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

GT89 wrote: »
    Won't be happening for much longer unfortunately. My only hope is that when the next lockdown is imposed more businesses including pubs and induviduals ignore it and open their doors and people gather in large groups sticking the two fingers up to anymore covid related social austerity.

The fact of the matter is if everyone breaks the rules imposed the Gardai cannot do anything. They cannot shut every pub or bsuiness that breaks any restructions and they cannot arrest everyone. The more non compliance the better.

you think yeah?
    very easy to implement enforcement if it is needed.
    doesn't need to involve arresting everyone.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Except the food requirement :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

There's no reasoning with these lockdown curtain twitching fanatics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I think you'd be fooling yourself thinking that most pubs will abide by the restrictions to the point they wouldn't cause an issue. Yes, some might.. But many won't. Every time the country starts to open up again the pubs are jammed to the rafters. Drunk people don't have the same mentality and same boundaries attached as when they're sober and who's going to enforce the guidelines in every pub in the country? You can expect door staff to be everywhere at once, can't rely on people to social distance themselves, can't expect the guards to be in every pub in the country and the bar staff definitely can't do it! While it could be said of any business its obvious alcohol is a major factor in the spread of covid. If its not in pubs its house parties at home. It's so sad and devastating to many business owners up and down the country but leaving pubs and restaurants open.. Where people can mingle.. Is obviously gonna add to an upsurge in cases.

I’ve yet to see, even a video, of a pub jammed to the rafters since March of this year.