Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Looks more like pepper sauce to me, gravy on steak should be banned. It's a fine looking steak although it would be too well cooked for my liking. You only need the pepper sauce for dipping your chips/onion rings in. A few sausages in the deep fat fryer and some coleslaw and you'd be asleep for the evening afterwards.

My fault, I was late coming in from the sheds.

4 veg - that’s be a very special occasion in my house, I’m not even sure we have ever had 4 veg to be honest :)
    We would tend to have only 2 veg, plus maybe different types of spuds...
    Ha - that’s how we fancy things up - cook the spuds a different way :):)

4 veg minimum in our house daily. Normally a corn on the cob there for the Sunday but she figured there was enough there.

I like an antique willow pattern

Carrig Donn- my aunt couldn’t make our wedding- teapot, sugar bowl and milk jug set. Lovely tea from the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,911 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

_Brian wrote: »

Al Jazeea run great general interest pieces and give a world wide view of news rather than just the same old echo chambers

Yep - its my main source of foreign news and covers the likes of Africa and South America really well

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,936 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

My fault, I was late coming in from the sheds.

Easy it could happen but I hate well done steak especially T-bones. The better half maintains I'd eat it raw but I prefer the term medium rare. My mother wouldn't eat it unless it was basically cooked to a crisp and I always said it was a waste buying good steak to do that to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,974 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

How’s everyone on with Christmas shopping ??

Maybe ye haven’t started?

I feel a bit for stores opening this week, serious amount of shopping has been done online already. I’d say we’re near done and I know lots of folk in similar position. We will avoid actual shops other than groceries for next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

I feel a bit for stores opening this week, serious amount of shopping has been done online already. I’d say we’re near done and I know lots of folk in similar position. We will avoid actual shops other than groceries for next few weeks.

Almost all done here - all of it done online.
    We tried to make a special effort to only buy from Irish shops/websites...

Prob still pick up some small bits and pieces, but similar to yourself Brian - we’ll be avoiding shops a bit I’d say...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,687 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Heard of an outdoor Christmas market locally today. Guards closed it down as there were too many people there. Most of the Christmas shopping is finished here. Dont think I could face Penney's or the likes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,390 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I wonder will they allow people in for the All Ireland finals? They could half fill it with pockets of people, all wearing masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

I wonder will they allow people in for the All Ireland finals? They could half fill it with pockets of people, all wearing masks.

But sure wouldn’t people all mix straight away afterwards - distancing for the duration of the game would be a waste of time...
    Sorry Patsy, think it’d be a terrible idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,066 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Not a problem for you in Clare or me in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,837 ✭✭✭✭Water John

There is research and analysis that shows outbreaks of Covid related to games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,499 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Water John wrote: »
    There is research and analysis that shows outbreaks of Covid related to games.

All the covid in louth was blamed on GAA games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,837 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Problem was more local games. Numbers not adhered to. Also winning teams celebrating for the week.

Mostly done. The second they announced the lockdown, I was in Lidl buying the small lady a vanity table. Oh had bought the rest of the gifts in the toy shops.

Waiting on trampoline from smyths.

OH got a kitchen aid for her birthday so I bought a few attachments for it for her- the meat grinder/sausage maker and the ice cream maker bowl. I’ll get her a few Australian foods in from uk.

I'm banned from buying anything else for the young lad, I think it was the peddle tractor with loader and trailer that broke the camels back :pac:

Herself bought me a big surprise - a new sheepdog!

I've been told what I'm to buy her, suits me fine :D

wrangler wrote: »
    All the covid in louth was blamed on GAA games

Think that was cavan.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Think that was cavan.

I thought the county players were complaining about being put at risk or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,643 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just off the phone with youngest in Galway with a bit of good news. His present research contract is expiring tomorrow (Monday) due to Covid funding restrictions.

He accepted a full time position in a retail outlet in Dublin that is within his field. Happy days, cause I don't have to worry about driving 2 hours to check on the house every few days.

Happy Mammy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

+ 100
    I was on a commitee years ago with the father, seemed a good guy too
    Worked very hard too.

Could second that. They’d be neighbours of my father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I thought the county players were complaining about being put at risk or something

Next thing you'll be blaming Beef Plan for covid as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I'm banned from buying anything else for the young lad, I think it was the peddle tractor with loader and trailer that broke the camels back :pac:

Herself bought me a big surprise - a new sheepdog!

I've been told what I'm to buy her, suits me fine :D

Best present in the world for any youngster :)

Yes there was no testing being carried out on players but we weren't in the competition for long. Local club won the county senior title, they celebrated for about a week and somehow there was no cases

Local club celebrated the County final here too for a week but they didn't win it ??????

Think that was cavan.

It was indeed, was very bad

Good few cases in louth recently. In dundalk south.

Any areas heading into this week with lockets of numbers could be in for a spike when people loose the run of themselves over the festive period.

Had 2 messages from kids at the end of milking. First one was my daughter saying the girl she sits beside at school is being tested for covid. The other from youngest lad saying their maths teacher told them about santa .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,911 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Interesting piece on the future of the SFP in the UK post Brexit on the lunchtime news today on BBC 1 - the current government has announced that by 2026 all payments will be related to public services like Biodiversity, Flood control, water quality etc. Also a certain % for the adoption of new tech that reduces reliance on Chem fert, pesticides and antibiotics. Have to say its pretty impressive if it all sees the light of day. Makes even the proposed changes to the current CAP look rather unimpressive in comparison:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Had 2 messages from kids at the end of milking. First one was my daughter saying the girl she sits beside at school is being tested for covid. The other from youngest lad saying their maths teacher told them about santa .....
    What age is the young lad? I remember our teacher making a throwaway remark to us in 4th class... 'but none of ye still believe in Santa I presume' I nearly went into shock!