Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,626 ✭✭✭straight

Jjameson wrote: »
    Anyone from Sligo know if the weanling in the mart was just stunned or broke his neck?

Looked dead to me. Maybe he hit his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭orm0nd

wrangler wrote: »
    Well done to Farmer of the year Dara Killeen.
    A good operator

And a gentleman as well. (if the term still exists)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

wrangler wrote: »
    It''s got a lot of criticism on the Late Late toyshow Megathread too, just had a gawk there now.
    It's being repeated on sunday , so it's difficult to see why childrens programs are put on after 9pm

Ah, sure half the craic for the kids is the chance to stay up late. That’s as much a treat as anything... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,499 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

orm0nd wrote: »
    And a gentleman as well. (if the term still exists)

+ 100
    I was on a commitee years ago with the father, seemed a good guy too
    Worked very hard too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,936 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Total disaster of a day here today, I've been waiting on a part I ordered for the last 10 day's that was supposed to be delivered in 2-4 working day's. I'm badly stuck for it and upon it's eventual delivery this morning it's not the right one and it will now be another week before I'm back up and running.

One of the terrier's belonging to the better half got hit by the post van and I don't think he'll make it tbh. She's beyond distraught as the dog's mean the world to her and I've always maintain she'd take my death better. We're awaiting news from the vet although he took me aside and told me the outlook wasn't good, I'm dreading the call as I know it won't be good news. I'm off checking the stock now and I'm afraid as to what I'll find with the way the day is going. I was doing a bit of fencing yesterday morning and a robin spent the entire time from branch to branch watching me from a few feet away and I took it to be a bad sign. I'm awaiting the third disaster of the day atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Total disaster of a day here today, I've been waiting on a part I ordered for the last 10 day's that was supposed to be delivered in 2-4 working day's. I'm badly stuck for it and upon it's eventual delivery this morning it's not the right one and it will now be another week before I'm back up and running.

One of the terrier's belonging to the better half got hit by the post van and I don't think he'll make it tbh. She's beyond distraught as the dog's mean the world to her and I've always maintain she'd take my death better. We're awaiting news from the vet although he took me aside and told me the outlook wasn't good, I'm dreading the call as I know it won't be good news. I'm off checking the stock now and I'm afraid as to what I'll find with the way the day is going. I was doing a bit of fencing yesterday morning and a robin spent the entire time from branch to branch watching me from a few feet away and I took it to be a bad sign. I'm awaiting the third disaster of the day atm.

Fingers crossed for good news for rest of day for you Albert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Fingers crossed for good news for rest of day for you Albert

I like having a robin near hand. Hope your dog makes a good recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭Odelay

Whenever I see a robin watching me work I say to myself that’s Dad keeping an eye on me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,936 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Thanks for the good wishes, there much appreciated. The vet rang me to say he didn't make it which I was expecting to hear tbh. I'm glad he's not suffering and he was always well looked after and doted on by her. She has other dogs and will come to terms with it in time.

It's strange but I've never associated robins with much positivity. Usually there close presence has coincided with bad news of some sort in my experience. Strangely other older family members have told me similar stories so I don't know if it's bias or what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Ah Albert, sorry to hear that. Dogs are part of the family. Hopefully it will survive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,611 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

straight wrote: »
    Looked dead to me. Maybe he hit his head.

Who would be liable for the animal there? Seller or mart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,345 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Here's an interesting clip on smelting iron African style.
    * Just in case ye were wondering how the Zulu's made their spears..as ye do on a Saturday evening. :D

https://youtu.be/RuCnZClWwpQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,687 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Great hurling game on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Some second half from Waterford.

Toy show now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,418 ✭✭✭tanko

Some second half from Waterford.

Unreal, they were possessed. I'd love to see them win the All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,445 ✭✭✭Grueller

Liam Cahill must be some manager to have reined Austin Gleeson in and made a team player out of the ultimate individual.
    At half time you felt that Waterford were every bit as good as Kilkenny or better but the missed chances, fumbles, overcarrying and general silly mistakes were costing them. Just didn't see that 3rd quarter coming.

Yeah its seen as a good sign around the midlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,687 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    Toy show now.

That's so yesterday, enjoy

whelan2 wrote: »
    That's so yesterday, enjoy

Sugar fuelled kids here. Less hassle rounding up wild limos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Glad to see Kilkenny gone......I’ve a lot of respect for them just don’t like them:D. There very cynical and the use of the free hand is infuriating. hurling could do with the black card.

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Glad to see Kilkenny gone......I’ve a lot of respect for them just don’t like them:D. There very cynical and the use of the free hand is infuriating. hurling could do with the black card.

I actually thought the ref gave Kilkenny a lot of marginal calls in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,390 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

For a championship that was played off in a rush and kinda 'let's get this over with' attitude, the matches have been brilliant. What would tonight have been like with a crowd present?
    Will Cody go now? Thought he looked frail tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,974 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Reggie. wrote: »
    Sugar fuelled kids here. Less hassle rounding up wild limos

Once one breaks they’re all off.

For a championship that was played off in a rush and kinda 'let's get this over with' attitude, the matches have been brilliant. What would tonight have been like with a crowd present?

To me it shows the disdain for the ordinary club player. They could run the championship in 10 weeks every year and allow some clarity for the club players in scheduling a proper club championship window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,974 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

gozunda wrote: »
    That and the little lad who had brittle bones. God love them. The money raised was a good change from the the usual thing of everyone at the show looking for a load of freebies.

I thought the show was great. More enjoyable than usual amd the level of talent shown by the kids was amazing.

Staggering to see the vitriol online there. Ow against the toy show, people giving out that it was just a covid promotion platform amd brainwashing us to vaccines. Sad people can’t just leave the toy show just be sure it is without trying to politicise it.

Raising the money instead of giving away a load of free crap was great too.

I love that it’s wonderful that it’s abkut showcasing great kids not rather than a commercial advertisement for Smyth’s toys.

The munster teams are fresher this year seeing as its knockout. More level playing field for kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,026 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Only time I see robins hanging around is when I'm gardening, they are clever enough to know that I will be unearthing juicy critters for them to feast on.

straight wrote: »
    The munster teams are fresher this year seeing as its knockout. More level playing field for kilkenny.

Wouldn't have mattered to Kilkenny of the noughties. Kilkenny haven't had Leinster yhat easybthe last few years with Galway swimming in their waters, Wexford slightly resurgent and an occasional gallop from Dublin.

Grueller wrote: »
    Wouldn't have mattered to Kilkenny of the noughties. Kilkenny haven't had Leinster yhat easybthe last few years with Galway swimming in their waters, Wexford slightly resurgent and an occasional gallop from Dublin.

Galway entering Leinster definitely helped to level things a bit alright and really helped galway too.