Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭Jb1989

whelan2 wrote: »
    Did any of ye do Movember?

Not here anyway. What about yourselves?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,048 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

What's that poem of the author keeping Kerry cattle and they looking across the valley at their neighbours herd of Jerseys and being a bit envious?

I read it in secondary school but for the life of me I don't know the author or poem.

This is going to be a tough one.

Google says it could be a poem called "The Black Stripper" .
    I don't think it's in text online or the author given.
    Or it could even be As Gealige.

Anyways moving on..:pac:

Edit: I'm sure it was an Irish poem. As above..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

My sister did it- walked 500000 steps. Big effort from her. She did a great job. Sponsored her but didn’t sign up to see it.

I didn’t do Movember- I’d go mad with facial hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,079 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

My sister did it- walked 500000 steps. Big effort from her. She did a great job. Sponsored her but didn’t sign up to see it.

I didn’t do Movember- I’d go mad with facial hair.

I did the 500000 steps. Feel alot better for it. Nephew did movember, he might need a few more months to be able to see the moustache. I sponsored him

See Kelleher is starting for liverpool, great inspiration for all the young footballers out there

• Registered Users Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I did the 500000 steps. Feel alot better for it. Nephew did movember, he might need a few more months to be able to see the moustache. I sponsored him

That's a great achievement. Fair play to you

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

What's that poem of the author keeping Kerry cattle and they looking across the valley at their neighbours herd of Jerseys and being a bit envious?

I read it in secondary school but for the life of me I don't know the author or poem.

Don't remember that one. This one comes to mind though.

https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/the-kerry-cow/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Great programme on the famine on now, on RTE 1.
    Is there a second part?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,633 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Got a beard u would lose a badger in so no good... noticed the Cavan Team had several Freddy Mercury lookalikes the last day:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Is there a second part?

yes

• Registered Users Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Not personally but contributed to a few.

Junior farm manager raised just under 500

• Registered Users Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

yes

When is it on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭zetecescort

When is it on

sorry. next Monday at 9:30

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,870 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Well done to all involved. What sort of steps would people be clocking up daily? 500,000 sounds a lot and it is but broken down over the month it's under 17,000 daily. I'd surpass the daily target of 10,000 steps most days but I know a lot of office worker's who'd struggle to hit 5,000 without making an effort.

We have a group on another forum. I set up the challenge at the start of November. Some of them were on way under 10k steps a day. I would post on a Sunday morning that I had 5k gone at 9am, some of them had no steps. A few just tried to get more than they'd normally get. Going for it again in December . My aim is 5000 steps by breakfast time, another 5000 by dinner time. 5000 more by tea time. Then clock up whatever I can after

• Registered Users Posts: 11,057 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I walk about10000 steps every morning with the dogs, Love every minute of it,
    It takes about 90mins, OH does it a few times a week but does it in an hour.
    It seems to be no help to losing weight though. :(

Would do about 2-4000 steps then in the rest of the day

wrangler wrote: »
    I walk about10000 steps every morning with the dogs, Love every minute of it,
    It takes about 90mins, OH does it a few times a week but does it in an hour.
    It seems to be no help to losing weight though. :(

Would do about 2-4000 steps then in the rest of the day

Walk faster. Aim to do it in an hour

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

We have a group on another forum. I set up the challenge at the start of November. Some of them were on way under 10k steps a day. I would post on a Sunday morning that I had 5k gone at 9am, some of them had no steps. A few just tried to get more than they'd normally get. Going for it again in December . My aim is 5000 steps by breakfast time, another 5000 by dinner time. 5000 more by tea time. Then clock up whatever I can after

Work in front of a computer all day - if I didn’t make an effort, I could easily get through the day on less than 3k steps...

Would try to get between 5-10k but would have to make a special effort, and it’s not always possible to fit it in...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Fair play Whelan.

I started in Jan to walk/run 2020km by end of December. I used a couch to 10km app. Hit the target about a month ago. Reset my target to run a half marathon.

Started on Sunday- ran 15km- was delighted- wrecked but delighted.

I had stopped running during the lock down as was afraid of twisting ankle (broke it before when I was 17) but said feck it once I saw there was no rush on the hospitals.

I have lost around 12kg-from 114 to 102kg. I would love to get to under 100kg by Christmas but happy with maintaining it also.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Fair play Whelan.

I started in Jan to walk/run 2020km by end of December. I used a couch to 10km app. Hit the target about a month ago. Reset my target to run a half marathon.

I had stopped running during the lock down as was afraid of twisting ankle (broke it before when I was 17) but said feck it once I saw there was no rush on the hospitals.

I have lost around 12kg-from 114 to 102kg. I would love to get to under 100kg by Christmas but happy with maintaining it also.

I think I am living the exact opposite life to you College... :):(

Walk faster. Aim to do it in an hour

Can you do it in an hour, OH is walking fairly fast to do it in an hour, that's about 5mph, it's not bad
    I have heart failure, I'm getting hard enough to maintain what fitness I have.
    I don't have any fancy equipment just what was on a new phone. I entered in my age and weight and it set 30 heart points/day and 7000steps/day, most days I'd almost double those

• Registered Users Posts: 6,877 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Does it take into account height, I have long strides

• Registered Users Posts: 21,114 ✭✭✭✭Water John

kevthegaff wrote: »

Ah I can beat you there. My phone tells me I did 8K yesterday (correct) and took 1,400 steps.

Fair play Whelan.

What height are you

Water John wrote: »
    Ah I can beat you there. My phone tells me I did 8K yesterday (correct) and took 1,400 steps.

every step would have to be 6 metres, you're a mighty man .......surely you mean 14000 steps

No, it's gone daft with about a week.

kevthegaff wrote: »

I think it's the number of actual steps, it doesn't measure your steps. distance is by GPS

Ah that explains me. Iv'e being going round in circles.

Ah walk is good for the body and mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Normally pass 10000 here. Days we are at concrete it would normally be closer to 20000.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,870 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Normally pass 10000 here. Days we are at concrete it would normally be closer to 20000.

My daily average is a bit over 16,000 so far this year but I walk a lot on busy sale days. When the big sheep sales were on in August/September I crossed 40,000 steps a few times.