Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cavan v Dublin Semifinal in Navan?

• 22-11-2020 8:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭

Surely there is no need for Croke Park for the Semi final particularly in the year that's in it. How about playing this in Navan?
    As if Dublin do not have enough advantages.

And I'm long standing a Dubs fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

patob wrote: »
    Surely there is no need for Croke Park for the Semi final particularly in the year that's in it. How about playing this in Navan?

Quality of pitch has to be a factor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Just play it in Croke Park, saying that as a Cavan man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Very fair to the Cavan lads who might never get a chance to play in Croker again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

You are not.

If you think the match should be Navan, fair enough.

Lies make little Baby Jesus Cry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Or maybe Dublin just play them with ten men after all the advantages they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,960 ✭✭✭billyhead

Op. Will you go away with this ****e. Without crowds there is no advantage to Dublin. If you ask any Cavan player they would prefer to play at Croker. They probably won't get the chance of playing an AI semi their again.

• Site Banned Posts: 7 I_NoScoped_JFK

Can't believe a thread was actually started on this. Wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Play it in croker, that way the dubs can't complain about getting beaten

• Site Banned Posts: 7 I_NoScoped_JFK

billyhead wrote: »
    Op. Will you go away with this ****e. Without crowds there is no advantage to Dublin. If you ask any Cavan player they would prefer to play at Croker. They probably won't get the chance of playing an AI semi their again.

That's a great signature, very strong

In fairness he did throw in the obligatory, ....'and I am a long standing Dublin fan.'

• Registered Users Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭munster87

Play it in a country that allows crowds in the stadiums at the moment. You might get a few dubs flying over. If flights were cheap enough Cavan might get a crowd too for a bit of atmosphere

munster87 wrote: »
    Play it in a country that allows crowds in the stadiums at the moment. You might get a few dubs flying over. If flights were cheap enough Cavan might get a crowd too for a bit of atmosphere

Cavan lads wouldn't pay for the flights.

I think the OP might be venting his frustration over another dire performance by the rugger goys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,222 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Cavan would want to play in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

Dubs are up against it ,as it is... Give them a chance and play it in Croker... :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

Will be croke park
    Owing to the fact supporters will be allowed if we go back to Level 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

billyhead wrote: »

I feel like the crowd isn't a huge advantage to dublin in terms of their performance. While it will make the opposition more nervous it also puts pressure on dublin to perform. Maybe it's an advantage who knows.

It's definitely an advantage to them in terms of the referees performance. In sport the home team with a vocal crowd gets a biased ref most days and that's always been the case with Dublin.

Doesn't get highlighted much now because they win by so much anyway but back when they were winning leinster championships narrowly it made the difference on some occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

On the day Tipperary and Cavan win their provincial finals for the first time in years and people are still talking about "Dublin's advantages"

RoyalCelt wrote: »

Doesn't get highlighted much now because they win by so much anyway but back when they were winning leinster championships narrowly it made the difference on some occasions.

Your own county not only voted on Leinster Council to move Dublin games to Croke Park in late 1990s, but also chose to play Dublin in Croke Park in both the first round draw and replay in 1983.

Meath thrived in Croke Park and indeed the worst hammering they got from Dublin between 1955 and 1995 was in Navan in early 80s.

You can pick and choose whatever suits your case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭piplip87

Would ya stop with the ****e. Navan is a ****hole, the pitch does be in a bad way in June never mind November. The last time we where in an all Ireland Semi the streets of Navan and Kells where lined with scum throwing stones at Cavan cars on the way home and abuse been hurled at us. On the off chance we get fans into the stadium I think Croker with 5000 fans would be ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭tanko

Navan is a dump, play it in Breffni.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

C__MC wrote: »
    Will be croke park

Is there a chance fans would be allowed go to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,505 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

tanko wrote: »
    Navan is a dump, play it in Breffni.

Wouldn't really be fair giving Cavan home advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

Jesus this is a sad thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,254 ✭✭✭✭km79

C__MC wrote: »
    Will be croke park

What’s this now !!!!
    And by the time of the final it will be less than a week before Xmas so level 2 or 1

Insert dumb and dumber gif about there being a chance

Also what a ridiculous thread to be set up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭mobby

dobman88 wrote: »

Its that time of year, its normally August/September time they arrive and moan and groan about Dublin. a bit late this year ,so a few more strange ones around.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭patob

I heard today that the Dublin v Cavan Semi final in 1920 was in Navan. Obviously the GAA had a good sense of fair play on that occasion.
    Some former players in the media incl Peter Canavan and Mike Quirke also calling for a neutral venue today, but accepting that it is up to the Cavan players to make a call on this first.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

I think we should just bulldoze croke Park and sell it off as it seems football people are fixated on the only way of beating Dublin is playing all games anywhere but croke Park! Actually better idea reserve it solely for the hurling and let the football off somewhere else!

I heard today that the Dublin v Cavan Semi final in 1920 was in Navan. Obviously the GAA had a good sense of fair play on that occasion.
    Some former players in the media incl Peter Canavan and Mike Quirke also calling for a neutral venue today, but accepting that it is up to the Cavan players to make a call on this first.

It's actually not up to the Cavan players to make the call. At least pretend you know what you're talking about when you start a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Mehapoy wrote: »
    I think we should just bulldoze croke Park and sell it off as it seems football people are fixated on the only way of beating Dublin is playing all games anywhere but croke Park! Actually better idea reserve it solely for the hurling and let the football off somewhere else!

Should build a 100,000 seater over in Britain somewhere for all the GAA finals, no one would have home advantage then.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭rrs

Navan hasn't floodlighting so that would rule it out. There is not many alternatives. Mullingar, Clones no lighting either. Unless they were to bring it to Tullamore or Newry. Or Breffni ��

The Cavan players themselves would probably like to test themselves in Croke Park. It's best surface in country, obviously Dublin are use to it but that's Leinster Councils fault

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Fann Linn wrote: »
    It's actually not up to the Cavan players to make the call. At least pretend you know what you're talking about when you start a thread.

I'd be inclined to give the poster the benefit of doubt.

He/she was likely stating that if it was ruled that the game could be played at a neutral venue then and only it would the Cavan players decision as to where they'd have a preference to play the semi final.

Be that Croke Park or a neutral venue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,960 ✭✭✭billyhead

In all honesty Cavan aren't going to beat Dublin irrespective of where it's played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Akabusi wrote: »
    Just play it in Croke Park, saying that as a Cavan man.

The analogy here for me would be a Dundalk or Bohs player in Europe, saying yeah its a pity about the result but hey I got Ibra's jersey so I'm happy out.

Croke Park suits Dublin's play. Its more like an astro pitch than grass. They will cut Cavan open with ease in Croke Park. It could be a worse beating than Meath got.

The only chance Cavan has to make a game of this is a mudfest in a regional ground.

So your choice - do you want a 'day out' (and lets not forget, it will be an empty stadium) or do you want to give yourself the best possible chance of making a game of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭bocaman

Why not play it outside of Croke Park. As long as both sides are happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

but isn't gaelic football the only sport in the world where home advantage is irrelevant? that's the narrative out there from a certain side...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭bennyl10

gourcuff wrote: »
    but isn't gaelic football the only sport in the world where home advantage is irrelevant? that's the narrative out there from a certain side...

Sure Croke Park isn’t home for one team
    It just hosts all their home and neutral games, crowds or not

But remember it’s not a home ground.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Sure Croke Park isn’t home for one team
    It just hosts all their home and neutral games, crowds or not

But remember it’s not a home ground.

Other teams can rent it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭bennyl10

dobman88 wrote: »

Systematic of the current attitude in the most part, towards the football championship.

The excuse has always been it has to be Croke park for the ‘attendance’.

That’s no longer a problem, Dubs should win anyway, take it too a proper neutral venue

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

"Neutral venues suitable to both Cavan and Dublin are few and far between. Páirc Tailteann in Navan no longer has floodlights which rules it out for an evening throw-in."

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/take-the-dubs-out-of-croker-cavan-boss-graham-wants-neutral-venue-for-semi-final-39783206.html

How or why did they get rid of the floodlights in Navan?

Pretty much means it's Croker, not much alternative stadiums that suits both teams.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Systematic of the current attitude in the most part, towards the football championship.

The excuse has always been it has to be Croke park for the ‘attendance’.

That’s no longer a problem, Dubs should win anyway, take it too a proper neutral venue

Other Leinster teams can opt to play Dublin at their home ground when the draw is made.
    However THEY refuse to, hence the reason Dublin haven't played outside Croke Park since 2006.
    Royal Celt and others on these forums should put the same effort into criticising their own County Boards and seek answers as to the reason why.

Dublin GAA and their fans have no problem hitting the road in Feb, March and April for league games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Other Leinster teams can opt to play Dublin at their home ground when the draw is made.
    However THEY refuse to, hence the reason Dublin haven't played outside Croke Park since 2006.
    Royal Celt and others on these forums should put the same effort into criticising their own County Boards and seek answers as to the reason why.

Dublin GAA and their fans have no problem hitting the road in Feb, March and April for league games.

Gate receipts is the primary reason, its not to play in Croker.

Hoboo wrote: »
    Gate receipts is the primary reason, its not to play in Croker.

So is that Dublin's fault?
    It's so daft, complaining about Dublin playing all their games in CP and then saying that ye want the games held in CP so that ye can get the share of the gate receipts that the Dubs bring to CP.

At least you answered the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭willabur

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    The analogy here for me would be a Dundalk or Bohs player in Europe, saying yeah its a pity about the result but hey I got Ibra's jersey so I'm happy out.

Croke Park suits Dublin's play. Its more like an astro pitch than grass. They will cut Cavan open with ease in Croke Park. It could be a worse beating than Meath got.

The only chance Cavan has to make a game of this is a mudfest in a regional ground.

So your choice - do you want a 'day out' (and lets not forget, it will be an empty stadium) or do you want to give yourself the best possible chance of making a game of it.

Going on the evidence of last weekend Cavan are a far better team than Meath. Armaghs pitch held up very well on sunday, in no way was it a mudfest. No doubt Dublin will in all likelyhood win the game well but I think your comparison with Meath is both lazy and ill informed

So is that Dublin's fault?
    It's so daft, complaining about Dublin playing all their games in CP and then saying that ye want the games held in CP so that ye can get the share of the gate receipts that the Dubs bring to CP.

At least you answered the question.

It is possible for it not to be Dublin's fault and at the same time be very advantageous situation for Dublin

willabur wrote: »
    It is possible for it not to be Dublin's fault and at the same time be very advantageous situation for Dublin

It still in the others counties remit to resolve it.

given the costs involved it probably isn't - you are essentially saying let them ('other counties') eat cake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Is that really true that county boards are giving up home advantage to play Dublin in Croke Park in the Leinster championship ? It might be for Kildare as they don't have capacity. What does that say about fairness? Smaller teams are having to sacrifice home advantage just for a bag of money to pay the bills? The GAA shouldn't be like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,721 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Does Navan have Hawkeye? or any other stadiums other than Croke Park?

recyclebin wrote: »
    Is that really true that county boards are giving up home advantage to play Dublin in Croke Park in the Leinster championship ? It might be for Kildare as they don't have capacity. What does that say about fairness? Smaller teams are having to sacrifice home advantage just for a bag of money to pay the bills? The GAA shouldn't be like this.

That's the way it is.